Galaxy On Fire 2 Full HD Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Galaxy On Fire 2 Full HD is an outer space adventure with over 20 solar systems and dozen of planets.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Galaxy On Fire 2 HD - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 14, 2012
    84
    Fishlabs' retro space adventure is a joyous tribute to masterpieces such as Elite and Freelancer. It isn't awfully long and the combat system could be more polished, but updating your space ship and traveling to uncharted star systems is still a treat. [Sept 2012]
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    80
    Galaxy on Fire 2 Full HD is a well made conversion of a good smartphone game. Although the game has some flaws, it keeps you glued to the screen. A fairly big amount of freedom and a very pleasant gameplay model are the game's biggest assets. You could want it to be a more complex, "bigger" game, but you need to remember, that it's not an AAA title and its simplicity should appeal to many players. If you play for no more than 2-3 hours at once, you should have a very good time – especially if you treat GoF2 as an arcade action game and not a space fighter simulator.
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    67
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    The shallowness of combat and the repetition of everything eventually become wearying. This is a decent game, but it doesn't measure up to the great games from years gone by that clearly inspired it.
  5. Sep 6, 2012
    60
    Despite the great graphics that could suggest otherwise, Galaxy on Fire II is a game conceived for mobile platforms, and should've stayed right there.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 28, 2012
    50
    Admirably essential in its space-tradingness, but should have stayed on the tablets. [Nov 2012, p.80]
  7. Aug 23, 2012
    39
    It was a futile idea to release this on the PC. It just shows you the difference between an entertaining, but meaningless mobile spacetrip and a full-fledged space opera à la Elite. In this case almost everything is missing.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    This game united all best of space simulators. On a tablet looks super, but on the computer is something divine! The simple scheme of thisThis game united all best of space simulators. On a tablet looks super, but on the computer is something divine! The simple scheme of this game - huge advantage. Not to come off! Fishlabs,thanks! Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    Very nice and fun game i was looking for a game like this after i finished Darkstar one .
    Its not so huge offcource like freelancer or
    Very nice and fun game i was looking for a game like this after i finished Darkstar one .
    Its not so huge offcource like freelancer or darkstar one because this one is developed for the ipad I just bought the pc version it on Steam and played now for 9 hours and just bought a new ship and going mining and freelancemissions and storyline missions very addictive and fun I hope Fishlabs will also make expansion packs for the pc version Briljant miningsystem Like this its not booring to mine
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Ever since I bought the game on my mobile phone, quite some years ago, and upgraded to iPod I have loved the game. The design is reallyEver since I bought the game on my mobile phone, quite some years ago, and upgraded to iPod I have loved the game. The design is really astonishing, it gives the game this realistic look. The story might seem short, but people who are still doubting should buy it and wait for the expansion packs (Valkyrie and Supernova) to arrive as they pack a lot of action, new star systems and more storyline! The action might seem lame when you just started the game, but when you rise through the levels the difficulty increases a lot. Those who still seek a challenge should try hardcore. Anyway I REALLY recommend buying this game as it just blows you away! Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2014
    7
    Grabbed it while it's on sale, i was expectin to play boring shooter in space but this game is more than this. There are a lot of ships,Grabbed it while it's on sale, i was expectin to play boring shooter in space but this game is more than this. There are a lot of ships, weapons, equipments, stations, systems... Controls are a little bit weird but you'll get used to it in 30 mins. Main storyline not long enough but there a tons of side missions in every space station. If you ask me, game isn't worth $19.99 but if you buy it on sale for less than $10 this would be better for you. Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    Okay GOF2 has problems. The autopilot will fequently drive you straight into asteroids (more annoying than a problem), the economy differenceOkay GOF2 has problems. The autopilot will fequently drive you straight into asteroids (more annoying than a problem), the economy difference between systems doesnt vary enough, the voice acting is decidedly hammy, certain "freelance" missions will make you an enemy with one faction or another and it's never clear which or why, mining is great fun but will quickly be abandoned when you realise you can make money far faster just by looting from everything you kill, and it doesn't really offer anything new compared to other space trader games available. Despite all these faults it has the customary addiction factor of this kind of game, the graphics are passable if not amazing, and the storyline will gently pull you along without thrusting you into situations with impossible odds as long as you've done a little side questing along the way. The ship classes are interesting and varied with each faction having an easilly recognisable style as are the varies customisation possiblities regarding shields weaponry and other gadgetry. All in all an entertaining piece of software as long as you don't take it too seriously. Unfortunately, there are better games in the same mold already available at less than half the price (such as DarkStar 1 and Freelancer). If you've already played these (and the great X2:) and want a fresh delve into something very similar then this is for you. In my opinion it's certainly better than the original X and the botched X3 which was ruined by a terrible "new" control mechanism straight from the console scrapheap. Collapse
  6. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    This game has so much potential to be a legendary game; if only it would expand beyond what it is now. The graphics are beautiful on my 27"This game has so much potential to be a legendary game; if only it would expand beyond what it is now. The graphics are beautiful on my 27" iMac. The Mac version allows me to use my old USB Joystick, which makes combat a lot of fun. The storyline is silly in a fun/entertaining sort of way. Unfortunately, the storyline is kind of linear, though you can leave it and come back to it, as you see fit.
    It is annoying that the opponents' ships don't have the same upgrades that are available to you. I would have expected a pirate flying a Veteran to have a turret on his ship and the same array of weapons and missiles that the user could pick up.
    One thing that baffles the mind is why they wouldn't give us the ability to form a small fleet of ships under our control, through either capturing other ships or purchasing additional ships. Since the game already allows for wingmen, to whom you can issue orders, it makes little sense. I guess I have a dream of having a game that has all the features of the Escape Velocity series of games, but has the 3D flying and wonderful graphics like GOF2 Full HD has.
    I have put a lot of time into playing GOF2 and have finished the expansion packs. Now, I am left with nothing but a handful of repeating missions and a very limited number of solar systems to visit. Once you finish the storyline, it would be really nice to be able to dominate systems with the armada that you wish you could build from captured or purchased ships and take over the galaxy, once system at a time.
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2014
    4
    For the price, it is HELLA not worth it. You're basically paying $20 for a game that plays and feels like a game made for a mobile phone,For the price, it is HELLA not worth it. You're basically paying $20 for a game that plays and feels like a game made for a mobile phone, because that's exactly what it is.
    There is no PC support. All updates and patches are MAC only.
    The biggest glaring flaw that you will run into is the fact that you will target lock allies over enemies, meaning that using guided weapons of any kind is worthless..

    I'd also like to emphasize that, because the addons aren't available on PC, and never will be, the game is incredibly short, with half it's content, and ships, missing as a result.
    The developers previously used the excuse "Sales weren't good enough on PC". Of course, with a $20 pricetag ($15 more than the mobile phone counterpart), its a wonder why, on top of the fact that most negative reviews about this game stem from the fact that none of the DLC has been, or ever will be ported to PC.

    I hope this helps anyone looking into this game. There are better space games out there. This is essentially a non-multiplayer version of Star Conflict with worse controls.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews