User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 756 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 756

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 13, 2013
    2
    I really didn't like this game. You can make all kinds of improvements to your game engine and become focuses on making great games in a certain genre but the game penalizes you harshly for repeating genre combinations. So I make a great fantasy role playing game and it gets amazing reviews, I improve my game engine with things like rich backstory, character development, and other aspects pertinent to role playing games but when I make another fantasy role playing game it gives me terrible scores because I'm repeating myself. This isn't at all similar to what game development is like. The fact that I have to go from fantasy role playing games to making a casual virtual pet game for kids in order to have success is ridiculous. If any of this game was reality, companies like Bioware, Blizzard, and Maxis would have tanked after their first game. I'm sorry, but the mechanics in this game are ridiculous and it just makes the game feel clunky and broken. Expand
  2. May 3, 2013
    10
    I could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on a number of different variety of mixing. The only problem is... the algorithm can be touchy and picky once you starts combining genres and other 'devices' to a certain topic. So it makes it a bit difficult to get around, but once you get the hang of it, you might be playing it more and more. Expand
  3. May 6, 2013
    7
    VERDICT: Recommended for fans of business simulators ("tycoon" games) and those who take an interest in the game development industry.

    It's a good game for the low price of $7.99. I have gotten about 10 hours of entertainment out of it in my first 30-year playthrough. Replayability is mediocre as the game becomes repetitive in the late stages, but this is a chronic problem of "tycoon"
    games. Experimenting with different genre/topic combinations is a core element of the gameplay, and it can be both frustrating and rewarding.

    I would have liked to see more transparency in the way your games are scored by the critics, such as showing a breakdown of how the various aspects of your game were rated (engine, gameplay, story, etc). This would make it less frustrating when you receive a low overall score on a game. Another thing that would improve the game is for the timeline to slow down a bit, or for the passage of time to slow as the game progresses. In the mid and late game, it felt like new consoles were coming out too frequently and your game engine basically became outdated upon release. The speed of the game felt rushed all along.

    In general, the game was fun and ran smoothly with no bugs for me. I believe the game should be expanded and tweaked for an optimal experience, so perhaps a cheap DLC (2 or 3 bucks) or free patch would be appropriate in the future. I will probably come back to the game periodically and try playing through it again when the mood strikes.
    Expand
  4. May 14, 2013
    3
    Nice theme but poorly executed. Here is a quote from a wiki about the games most important mechanic the review score of your game: "... Good quality game DOES NOT MEAN good reviews. In this game, you compete EXCLUSIVELY against your own previous high score ....Therefore, in order to get good a review score, you need to perform slightly better than your previous high score....." Which means the worst thing you could do is making the most awesome game ever because you will have a hard time beating yourself afterwards.

    Which makes the game pointless.
    Expand
  5. May 7, 2013
    6
    I had a feeling I didn't have control over a lot of things, especially the rating my game got. You can't choose the time you need to develop a game and make it a good game, so in the sequel (if they'll ever have one) they should let us choose the development time (1 year to 5 years). Also the lack of being able to develop DLC. Also, after you made a lot of sequels it's hard keeping track of what kinda sequels you have made. Also the lack of upgrading engines is horrible. Having to spend a lot of money on developing a new engine 24.7 is really annoying. I also have a feeling employees have no use. Game development takes the same time, and the game's rating doesn't increase, it's just spending more money. Expand
  6. May 4, 2013
    0
    This game starts out fun but as you continue the fun slowly disappears and when it decides that it's gone the game hits you like a train wreck. Suddenly games that would've been doing well are getting 4's and 5's for no apparent reason. You'll try and sink more money into the next game to make it successful however it doesn't end up mattering. In the end the game has you sinking tons of money into everything it can think and you end up bankrupt. You have to pay to make game engines to take advantage of new features then for some ridiculous reason you have to pay each time you want to use the features of your game engine in a game that you're making. All of that while having to pay increasing salary to each of your staff members. This is the only game that has frustrated me to the point of actually making an account and writing a review on how bad it is. Expand
  7. May 7, 2013
    8
    A very fun and challenging game, especially during the first phase when your essentially an indie game studio trying to manage both a financial budget as well as a time one.
  8. May 7, 2013
    9
    Game Development and Simulation are a great combination!
    But seriously, i could (and have) play this game for hours on end. It is fun to watch your company grow from one guy in their garage to having a whole team.
  9. May 14, 2013
    0
    Absolute garbage, beyond the idea and interface. This is essentially a knockoff of the iOS game Game Dev Story and it makes no effort to hide it.

    The major issues with this game are that the ways to make a successful game are almost completely nonsensical, and a viewing through the raw data is the only way, excepting extreme luck, to have much success. These include such oddities as the
    fact that any non-action title on the NES or SNES will flop, or how the PS2 is apparently only for action games and RPGs.

    The only thing notable about this game is the guilting of pirates the devs have done in an attempt to get attention, which I find ironic considering that they've done something far worse than piracy, they've ripped off another game.

    Avoid this, play the original game (Game Dev Story) instead.
    Expand
  10. May 7, 2013
    10
    I don't remember the last time I played 6-hour-straight sessions on a game that costed me less than 10 bucks. That's how good and addictive this game is. It has neat graphics, nice sound SFX and music. You'll revive the console wars os the past 30 years, create your own game engines, hire employees, move to larger studios, design games and be anxious about the critics about them, and have lots of fun. The only thing I think they could improve is the UI. Like for instance when you want to make employee specialized in "Level Design". The UI display the pre-requisites in plain text like this: (D:560 T:360), using icons would be much better here. Expand
  11. May 7, 2013
    10
    I'm a big fan! The Game make fun. Easy to learn, hart to master! The fake game pirat thing was a great
    advertisement and i hope there will not abuse the attention. ALSO i hope there will come updates for the game.
  12. May 12, 2013
    6
    The biggest problem with Game Dev Tycoon is it's crazy resemblance to Game Dev Story. Besides that, (I'll just leave that out there) it's a fun time-waster, you might spend a few hours on it (or even longer) Hard as hell, but still kind of clever. The ratings from the critics inside the game can be pretty random and it's idea that some genres don't or do work with some topics is kind of broken The game hasn't any concept of niche audiences. Expand
  13. May 7, 2013
    1
    This game was really fun for a couple hours but I was bored after that.
    CONs:
    - The notification system is annoying because each message stops the gameplay until you click on "ok" (you can't even use enter to close those messages).
    - Review system is nothing more than just random number generator which is not affected by actual game quality. I don't know how to improve or what should be
    improved in order to get higher scores. (After the 30 year story line review system works as a stupid monkey.)
    - When you have Research Lab and Hardware lab the performance goes under zero. HTML5 and JS may not the best choice.
    - Why I can "update" existing game engines? Seriously, I have plenty of game engines named: 1+, 1++, 1#, 2+
    - The "click anywhere" menu system should be improved because now it's not a user friendly stuff. (eg opens slowly, instantly closes after open).
    -The game itself adds nothing to Game Dev Story's formula. Which is really sad.
    PROs:
    - The graphics is decent for a game like that.
    - Polished interface and gameplay compared to Game Dev Story. (Although not the best.)
    - Potential "Indie Bundle" game for few cents.
    Expand
  14. May 5, 2013
    10
    This game is wonderful, it's fun to experience what real game devs go through when trying to make games. With 3 save spots you can create multiple development teams.
  15. May 7, 2013
    9
    At first I was a little weary about trying such an odd game, but after the first few minutes I was hooked. Every day I find myself playing Game Dev Tycoon making more and more money, still discovering more little things about the game.

    Although, the game isn't quite perfect. Only being able to develop a game for one platform only bugs me a little, and the UI is a little glitchy every
    now and then.

    All in all, a very good effort on Greenheart's behalf
    Expand
  16. May 7, 2013
    10
    We've spent quite a few days on playing it and it's brilliant. They balanced well between technology and design :D and uploading a modified version of the game to a torrent base was a truly great idea... I'm going to spend more time playing it. There are some things that are worth improving, but overall notion and great great sense of humor makes it my #1 now :D
  17. May 7, 2013
    8
    This is one of the "just one more, just one more" game. Simple and addictive. If you are "Tycoon" fan this is "must have" for you I spent about 40h in game and i won't regret.
  18. May 7, 2013
    3
    I am a big fan of simulation game. Game Dev Tycoon is fun at first but after stage 1, it gets repetitive. It becomes a click fest after that, If you enjoy clicking and repeating over and over, then this might be the right game for you. You just keep developing games over and over to keep the money coming in in order to pay the rents. It is fun the first 20 games you develop. No offence to the devs, this is just my honest opinion. Expand
  19. Aug 23, 2013
    0
    This is a complete ripoff of Game dev story.. next in there series of games pocket league story rip off make a football (soccer) team from the ground up and grand prix story make a racing team and get to f1 world championship.. I feel sorry for kairsoft they've been totally ripped off
  20. May 30, 2013
    2
    A neat concept turns out to be one of the worst 'tycoon' games I have played in a long time. The game actually starts out a little fun at first, seeing the tribute to retro gaming and whatnot is quite cool and coming with witty game titles is fun too, but this all gets extremely old and boring once the game ramps up on difficulty, very quickly. The game is too punishing. Every little mistake costs you tons of money, so don't even bother experimenting. Time passes by WAY too quickly. Seriously, a month goes by literally every 20-30 seconds, which just drains you of cash. On top of this, everything is incredibly expensive, from new engines that you constantly have to make, to staff salaries which will be raised out of your control. How is this a tycoon game again? I don't even get to choose whether or not my staff gets a raise? What if I am really short on cash and cannot afford it? Too bad, the game does it for you. Truly, this is pathetic game in terms of 'Tycoon' games. If you want a good tycoon game, go to the ultimate of Tycoon's, Roller Coaster tycoon, which can be bought for quite cheap anyway, given the quality. This game may seem 'cheap', but there is a reason. The quality just isn't there. The presentation is bland beyond belief, the interface is clunky, the way the game is executed is very poorly done, it is just a bad game. Truly though, the biggest flaw by far is the insane difficult and horrid time system, which goes by incredibly fast. I was literally losing 51K every 30 seconds or so and I really did not have much control over it. Then, it went up to 61K, just because my staff member received a mandatory raise due to leveling up. Again, how is this a tycoon game if I cannot even decided that important aspect? Another horrid detail is the 'review' system. We really are never told how it works, what went wrong in the case of a bad game, and how much it affects the sales of a game.

    $7.99 or not, I found this to be a frustrating experience that not only angered me, but, once I went bankrupt for the 7th time early on, it bored me as well. Many will disagree, but I say stay away.
    Expand
  21. May 9, 2013
    10
    Simple, fun, and after all, with lots of content, simply addictive and with a visually very beautiful. I do not see a good tycoon game style so long. I recommend.
  22. May 24, 2013
    8
    Game Dev and simulation is a great combination!

    Now on a more serious note, this game was really worth 8 bucks. The large span of different combinations of game topics, genres, platforms to develop for and engine mechanics made the game very re-playable. The only problem I have with the game is the tiny amount of "immersivness" in the game. Sure you can choose the game's topics and
    genres and adjust an engine you have made to fit the kind of game you would really create but there is just so little that goes into it.

    The only other problem I had with it was the repetitive nature of the game. Once I got really "into it" with the game I found myself taking breaks from it. But again it was definitely worth the 8 bucks, for some good ol' indie game fun.
    Expand
  23. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    Let's get this out of the way first, the whole pirate thing with this game is extremely ironic because it's just a carbon copy of Game Dev Story. Anyways, this game is pretty fun at the early stages, and some in the later stages too. But it gets repetitive and boring really fast. You end up just pushing out game after game just to pay the rent. It quickly stops becoming about what kind of game you want to make into how much money you can make. Especially in the end game the review scores just get ridiculous. It's almost impossible to not over work your workers. If you over work them you get worse reviews and end up with nothing but 1-6s. There are some cool end game things you can do but I don't think a lot of people will waste the time and repetitiveness to get there. This game is below average. Remember 5/10 is average and I agave it a 4 so it is slightly below average. Expand
  24. Jul 3, 2013
    6
    I just don't really get this game, there was a point where I stopped playing because I kept going bankrupt after my games started getting terrible reviews regardless of quality or genre after for reasons I don't understand a game I made for just a small amount of cash got a rating of 9.5 or something and made a couple of million which only lasted to fund my new engines which had better features than the last ones but still managed to help my games get scores of 5-7. Expand
  25. May 6, 2013
    6
    This is OK even though it is an obv rip off. The gameplay gets boring quickly as there not much to it. The save feature does not work, and there are a number of other bugs which ruin the experience.
  26. May 7, 2013
    9
    This is a fantastic indie game and well worth buying. It may not be free like most games of it's type but it doesn't pester you about paying RL money for coins or something similar. I would give it a 10 but this is payback for all the bad reviews I get in-game. >:-D
  27. May 7, 2013
    7
    The game starts out great. But once you've learned the rather simple game mechanics, there really isn't much to the game. What I'm trying to say is, it isn't complicated enough. It needs more depth. But it's still a good game for what it is, and the modest price tag definitively helps.
  28. May 7, 2013
    9
    Utterly fun game, and a highly replayable one, since we can always strive to R&D a bit more, or to pursue different tracks of console/game genres. I wish the timeline popups would be replaced by a ticker on the side. It interferes with my clicking routines. 8)
  29. May 12, 2013
    10
    This is a great game!
    10/10 A great balance between technology and design!
    10/10 A pure masterpiece!
    10/10 Perfect!
    10/10 Amazing!
    +1 Fan

    This game is great, and I'm glad too see more game companies starting out! This game is definitely worth buying.

    Paul Burkart
  30. Aug 23, 2013
    2
    It's an over grown flash game with no depth. The interface boils down to sliders which are ultimately meaningless in terms of scoring and it could just have easily been about any product.
  31. May 7, 2013
    10
    Great Game! Having a simulated game company is really interesting.
    the game follows gaming history from the earliest point of time with the PC and Commodor(called differently in the game) and while the game does not entirely accurately simulate the experience, it does come close, which is pretty impressive for a game that on the surface is relatively simple.
    on the surface its as simple
    as choosing the platform,Genre and name of the game.
    but after playing for awhile its pretty clear that it is a little bit more complicated then just that.
    you also run into the various events that real companies run into like Piracy(even in the legit version) but also little coding competitions within the company and the E3(called G3 in-game)
    the game's various stages,markes as Offices,add some new interesting game elements everytime you enter a new one, like getting employees to work for you and making another division to your company to research stuff.
    all-in-all. its pretty cool to see a game,simulating a game to this degree.
    if you'r a fan of Game Dev Story,then you will love this. it has some of the elements but adds TONS AND TONS of new gameplay elements that will make the experience a worthwhile endovour.
    Expand
  32. May 12, 2013
    7
    The first look and the first game is fun and is motivating to play a stage in one night.
    But after that I don'feel to replay it again, because If you know how it works, the game is no longer a challenge.
    There are no random events such as financial crises and the impact of software piracy .
    Conclusion so far, good idea, but this was presented very clumsy. Hope for a better version in future.
  33. Aug 31, 2013
    0
    Guys, I don't blame you guys giving high scores to a knockoff like this, but if you played Kairosoft's Game Dev Story, you will feel disgusted. At the first sight of the summary and screenshots, I knew it plagiarized Game Dev Story. Everything essential is actually the same, 4 major features as Creativity Fun Music Art (and "bug" aside of course) turns into technology and design and whatever sh!t Really? I cannot believe people vote for this absolute crap on Steam's green light project. You might argue there is no need to compare an iOS game to a PC one. Believe me, Game Dev Story is way better than this. Go figure Expand
  34. Aug 28, 2013
    0
    What a THIEF!!! This game is completely a rip-off of the game ‘Game Dev Story’ developed by Kairosoft. Even poor quality!!! Good idea is a spirit for a game, and this game just plagiarized others'. This game can show up on steam, is a big big big shame in Game industry and history!
  35. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    Not only this game is a clone of a much better game, it´s programmed very badly, slowing down your PC performance to a minimum at higher levels of action. If you critisize the developers or question the legal part of potential copyright infridgement, you might get banned from forum. Censorship is something I don ´t expect from honest developers and this must be mentioned. Selling like thieves and behaving like dictators deserves to be pirated. Don ´t buy this crap. Expand
  36. May 7, 2013
    9
    While you need some time to get around the system, the game is addicting from start. This game is for people who like to manage money like in classic tycoons and those who are interested in game development in general, or just like to be somewhat creative.
    This game isn't perfect for sure, how can you sell 36 million games for a system which sold only 7? This doesn't stop you from going
    on for hours though and try to create the perfect game. The game might seem too repetitive, especially at the beginning, but the limited time (25,30 or 35 years) and limited resources always make you go back to the game and try to make it even better.
    Achievements are a nice touch to an already great game. Let's hope the game will get a few improvements and a sequel with more features.
    Expand
  37. May 5, 2013
    6
    Pretty fun overall, but likely won't hold you for more than a single playthrough, which is about 12 hours long. The first part of the game gives a satisfying challenge and lets you figure out exactly what you're doing right or wrong, the middle part is surprisingly hard and the endgame is a walk in the park. The game also doesn't seem to like it when the player decides to start developing smaller games, which is a shame, because huge games take too long to develop to be much fun. Hopefully the developers will be able to rectify these problems. Expand
  38. May 7, 2013
    10
    Very Similar to Game Dev Story on iOS. This is much polished and smooth graphics! More realistic Consoles like we get in actual life. Overall thanks but PLEASE release for iOS! Much better market for you guys Ignore these comments about copying! Only little features are the exact same but so what! Thankyou :D
  39. Aug 24, 2013
    2
    PC version of an Android game that has already been available for awhile. More importantly it doesn't break any new grounds in an industry already flooded with simulator style games.

    My advice? Get "Game Developer Story" for Android or iOS. It's only $5.00, it's a fun game, it looks better and it plays better. You can get even software that emulates the Android OS on your desktop and
    links to your Google Account so you don't have to re-buy it all. Expand
  40. May 7, 2013
    10
    I am usually not a fan of tycoon games but game dev tycoon is amazing. I bought it on Friday for a mere £6.86v (roughly) and I have played it at every opportunity since.it may not be the most detailed game but it has character which is missing from a lot of games recently.if you are new to tycoon games I recommend buying this game. I cant wait to see what else greenheart comes out with.
  41. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    Really enjoyable little game, bargain for the price, i picked this up at midnight after finishing my weeks work on steam and played until 8am. If you really can't shell out the 7 or 8 dollars for the game then wait for a sale and do yourself a favour and pick this game up.
  42. May 7, 2013
    9
    Great game, fun. played around 7-10 hours. you have game development, research lab and hardware lab. MANY options in the game department to mess around with. frame rate kinda goes down when you get all the departments running at max at the same time. would love to have option to combine two topics like the type of game.

    Looking forward to game dev tycoon 2 with more content!
  43. May 10, 2013
    10
    It's just the best Tycoon I have played ever. It's addicting, I've been playing 10 hours straight! Success of this game is a one thing, that other games mostly don't have good concept for gameplay.
  44. May 7, 2013
    10
    Game is great I love it. It need some upgrades to become excellent but i can play it day and night. Easy to learn, hart to master! The free cracked game thing was a great advertisement
  45. May 7, 2013
    10
    As an active livestreamer on TwitchTV, I am pleased to say that Game Dev Tycoon is one of the most brilliant games I've played in quite some time. Well done, Greenlightgames, well done indeed.

    I recommend this to anyone seeking that next addiction in the video game world.

    -Majeye of Majeye Gaming
  46. May 7, 2013
    10
    Honestly this game is around a 7. Simplistic design and very reminiscent of "Game dev story" it is still very fun at it's core and worth the price, especially seeing as how this is a small indy dev's first game. I gave the 10 because most dickheads on this site post games as a 0 if they don't like them instead of giving a fair representation of the game itself.
  47. May 7, 2013
    10
    I really like the game, and I think it's one of the best indie games I have ever played, and probably the best tycoon game. The mechanics of the game works really well, and I like the parodies of real life-games and consoles.
  48. May 7, 2013
    10
    The amount of time that went into this game shows. It will not only entertain you for hours, but also teach you the history of gaming as you play and go through the years of your company.
  49. May 28, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an amazing game!!! so worth the money. Provides hours of entertainment. And it is pretty cheap. I would recommend this for 12+ or people who like business simulations Expand
  50. Aug 30, 2013
    2
    I'm giving this game the same score I received time and time again in-game. It's not fun, and I don't feel tutorials are required to succeed on the single difficulty. It's ironic as an independent gaming company the developers of this game didn't account for positive in-game reviews that are often given indie games that focus on game design and less on graphics.
  51. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    Game Dev Tycoon starts off with an interesting take on the successful Game Dev Story giving you more control over how you develop your games with sliders and other features.

    First off the gameplay is good but very repetitive, all you do is adjust sliders for different genre. When you get your reviews they tell you next to nothing on to improve your game in the future, but that doesn't
    matter because by Year 30 I had already all the slider settings down, so the complex equations that everyone say you need to get a 10/10 is false, I got many perfect games (5) in my first playthrough. Which brings me to another point; there isn't much replay value in Game Dev Tycoon, it almost exactly the same thing everytime. There is consoles without much difference and no reason to choose one over the other besides personal preference and market share (exceptions being Dreamvast and Oasis.)

    The graphics are okay I didn't like too much, but my friend so your choice on that pretty much, but the sound is a bit different. The music is okay but there's only two tracks that I remember and the sound effects annoying, every time a point goes up there a little blip, but when start getting 10 points it make turn off sound effects.

    Speaking of sound effects that is all the options menu; Music (On/Off), Sound Effects (On/Off), Volume, and toggle fullscreen. Besides options there is your basics (Save, Load, New, Exit),Highscore Help, and Achievements. First off Help is useless the game is pretty much self-explanatory and when click skip tutorial when you start up a new playthrough it only skips the beginning tutorial on how to make games, but everything else is still there which is annoying. For Achievements there hefty amount for a game of its size with many secret ones. Highscores is basically all the things you've done are given points and added up, the trick to be more efficient with making games, research and consoles.

    Overall Game Dev Tycoon was fun at first, but got boring after a while and the lack of content really weigh Game Dev Tycoon down giving it a verdict of 5, it's alright but names a lot of work and I can't help feeling I didn't $8 of fun out of this, if it was $5 it maybe would gotten a 6.
    Expand
  52. Sep 20, 2013
    2
    Just doesn't have the charm and pretty much a rip-off of Game Dev Story. The graphics are boring and generic, and those aspects of games such as creativity and fun are missing. Really quite dissapointing.
  53. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    A blatant rip-off of the much better Game Dev Story by Kairosoft. Ironically, the "makers" of this game saw fit to release a torrent of the game with modified version of the game that causes players go bankrupt at a certain point in the campaign. That's right, they released a system to prevent pirates form enjoying the game they pirated. Irony at its best.
  54. Dec 13, 2013
    0
    This is a lazy, broken, game that is way, way to easy. The game is luck based,not skilled based-if the developer actually put effort into designing this game, it could be really good.But it's not 'really good'. Not anywhere near it.
  55. May 31, 2013
    10
    If you like Game Dev Story and similar games then you will LOVE Game Dev Tycoon. I only wish that there would be expansions for it since when you are at the end game you can only restart the game, which is kind of sad since i really felt like building something important while playing. Anyway, please make a sequel for Game Dev Tycoon!!!
  56. May 10, 2013
    5
    Replayed the DEMO and I'm starting to like it for some of its aspects. It is really a hard to master game, after I realized how the scoring system (seems*) to work (*explained on its wikia) with very nice cross references and graphics (simple, but nice). After all I still miss parts where you do more than pick a combination of setting, genre, etc., adjust some sliders and wait until it's done. Maybe this is part of the full game, but after I don't see it in the DEMO which is to make my buy it this game remains one of those I wait for until it's on discount. Maybe the "cracked version" mentioned in the developers blog offers more insight? Expand
  57. Jul 9, 2013
    1
    this is my worst nightmare, mobile phone game made by a inexperienced developer .

    GDT is up there with game tycoon (2003) for being one the worst tycoon games on a pc ever and i'm not joking, the game is a grind, the years by to fast, whether or not you made a good game is almost completely random and the micromanagement that makes a tycoon game a tycoon game is strip down to the vary
    basics

    overall: on a mobile phone it would get a 6 or a 7 but on a pc it gets 1 because there is better tycoon games on the pc for the same price if not cheaper
    Expand
  58. May 18, 2013
    5
    The game seems very intriguing at the beginning of the game, and it seems as if it will gain much more depth later in the game. However, The difficulty curve is steep because of the algorithm used to calculate game scores, which rates games based not on a constant scale but on how they compare to your previous games. This means that in order to maximize a profit as you enter the 32-bit era of the game you must aim to make each subsequent game about 10% better. The game also introduces many new technologies and ideas but does not give you enough time to research them, causing your employees to become overextended because they don't understand what a cowboy is. Overall, the game is promising and looks to be really fun, but its mechanics are a bit repetitive and the way your games are reviewed is awkward and can be very difficult.

    5/10 "Has its moments" -Me
    Expand
  59. May 12, 2013
    10
    I found this game after Sips (Yogscast) played it. I downloaded the demo, and it is extremely fun! Unfortunately, I have to wait until it is on Steam to buy it. Can't wait!
  60. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    Metacritic as always downgranding a good game, i really love it, good idea game, enjoyable graphis and cool "history" :P good job!

    Please metacritic, when you do a review on a indie game do it with your soul, the money is not what you need to do a good review!!!
  61. May 12, 2013
    9
    I have played the game through twice on 35 year length and the continued for another 20years (ish). This is because in the main time you are given you can't really use the RnD lab fully. The Game is well worth $7.99 as it gives you a lot of gameplay. Can't wait to see this game arrive on steam and see future updates.
  62. May 15, 2013
    6
    The game is fun, yet there is nothing to it. If you are not carefull you quickly wind up in a no win situation. The tech passes you up, you are constantly behind. And there is no way to catch up. OR you push to hard and quickly outpace your own bills. There is to much little fussing to be a time killer type game. And not enough to play seriously.

    To me this game is the type you pick up
    fuss for a while then shelve for weeks on end. Expand
  63. May 7, 2013
    7
    Game Dev Tycoon is an ambitious & challenging game. At first look and while playing through the tutorial, the game seems like it will be a simple grind to make more money, then purchase or train to bigger and better things. This is not how the game functions.

    Don't let the name "Tycoon" fool you. It is not a "Tycoon" game like any previous "Tycoon" games. You don't slowly work your way
    up by making more money to purchase bigger/better things until you have the biggest & best. Then attain all the biggest & best things in the game and just sit there making money. There is a strategy to the game that starts at the very beginning.

    If you stick to the tutorial, you will probably start out fine as a developer and get mediocre reviews & earn mediocre money, but eventually go bankrupt. You might make one or two successful games, but the mediocre & bad ones will kill you. This is partly due to how fast the calendar moves in the game & the monthly expenses you incur ($20,000/month for one level 2 employee?!).

    The best way to succeed at the game is learn how it works and learn what is expected of you. Unless you enjoy trying to figure this out on your own by playing & replaying the game over & over again, I would suggest using the community to help teach you. You can use YouTube videos, message boards, or wikis.

    The game uses an algorithm to gauge what review scores your game will get. This can mean big money, or not making enough to cover the cost of the game (not to mention the monthly expenses). This algorithm is what makes the gameplay so frustrating and ultimately what ruins it. I spent an hour or so reading the wiki on how the algorithm works, it tries hard to get it right, but essentially fails. I feel like I should explain further here, but there is just too much!

    (If you've read the wiki: competing against your own top review score, improper balance of development/tech means bad scores, why can't I focus more time to have great story/quests in my action game without it hurting my score? and more)

    I am not saying it is impossible to be successful in Game Dev Tycoon, but the learning curve is high. You cannot be successful if you just try to go make the biggest & best game by getting as much dev/tech points as you can on every game you make.

    There are some great features to Game Dev Tycoon, but it was too easy to focus on the biggest negative that is: trying to figure out all the appropriate combinations to be successful. But, this hasn't stopped me from playing & trying to master it.

    If Game Dev Tycoon were to review itself it would say there is too much tech, not enough development.

    Pros:
    1. One click interface
    2. Surprisingly in-depth strategy
    3. Some customization
    4. Addictive gameplay

    Cons:
    1. Algorithm that tries too hard (steep learning curve!)
    2. Very little sense that you are competing against other developers
    3. Staff salaries are way too big (Lvl 1: $8,000-11,000/month Lvl 2: $16,000-23,000/month)
    4. Minor interface glitches

    Things I hope change/get updated:
    1. Can only develop for one platform at a time and never pre-launch
    2. Weeks/months speed by a little too fast. I am not talking about adding speed adjustment, but rather slowing down the weeks/months compared to how much development is going on. (I admit this would probably make the amount of work done in a short amount of time non-realistic. But I think it would improve gameplay)
    3. Include better explanation of how reviews are scored in tutorial or in help menu.
    Expand
  64. May 10, 2013
    10
    I played this game 10 hours.I think this game is awasome.And Its a good game.I think very cheap. I have gotten about 10 hours of entertainment out of it in my first 80 year playthrough.Very Funny game and you can't get bored easily
  65. May 10, 2013
    10
    This has to be one of the best games i've played in a long time I find myself making new companies just to get a bit of variety when playing.
    For the price its at as well i was shocked at how low the price is, for the amount of fun i've had and the amount of time i've played for it is well worth it !
    This is a must buy
  66. May 14, 2013
    10
    wonderfull. though my vision may be blinded by the fact i think the developers sound like friggin cool guys. I am gonna say it clear. My purchase of this was impulsive(only 7.99 so why not), and as soon as i had downloaded it i stayed up most of the night just to get my buisness flurishing. But despite all this fun i feel like i would've gotten more out of it if i had actually lived in the 80's and 90's. since history actually has a great impact. Best game of the year:not quite. Best 8$ i have ever spent: hecka yeah. Expand
  67. May 15, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game!
    Game Dev Tycoon was the most entertaining game ever! I'm very picky with games, I enjoyed sitting down and becoming a game developer! I cannot wait for another game by Greenheart Games, most interesting game i have played in a long time (in my opinion).
  68. May 15, 2013
    10
    awesome! play it as much as i can!!some times it gets hard but its too fun to stop playing. buy it you wont regret it. btw if you want the research lab train all of your people a lot!! oh and have fun
  69. May 30, 2013
    9
    Verdict: fans of business simulators like my self will love it and it is fantastic value for money.

    Great value for money, still has me playing the game for hours. Very simple, intuitive and easy to use interface. Replayability is okay but could be better. Could have done more to make the game less repetitive in the latter stages of the game such as add some HR and business to
    business interactions. Expand
  70. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    In short, this game is amazing. There haven't been any proper tycoon games in quite a while, and this game definitely fulfills the many great tycoon games of the past (RCT etc.). Of course this is Greenheart games first game and there are many things that can be improved. First off this game definitely needs some way to properly mod it. Mods could make this game a lot better. Also the game doesn't quite last that long. It's quite easy, and isn't very hard to master. After you beat it, you might not quite have a reason to play it again. Another reason this game needs modding. This game does, obviously, have many positives. The game pretty accurately depicts the history of gaming. It offers pretty unique gameplay. It let's you go from a singular developer to a huge company. You can even develop MMO's and create your own consoles. Creating consoles is pretty limited, however. Overall I'd give it a 9/10. Expand
  71. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this tycoon game. Not only it was extremely addictive and fun, but it actually made me realize I want to specialize as a game developer (I am a programmer). I even left my previous job and now I am starting in a simulation/game studio !

    Now, what makes this game such a gem It's really challenging and your head will be consumed with the idea of making a perfect game (10, 10, 10, 10). Ideas like what genre, what target audience, what kind of gameplay, do I put more graphics, or more intelligence in it Do I want to support gamepad or cloud service Yep, just like that. There is no optimal or safe way through this game, the options in the creation of games are endless and anything can become success or failure. Only the middle part of the game might get slightly repetitive, apart from that it's an amazing and colorful simulation game with very intelligent math and algorithm background that will make you ROCK HAR-

    Oh well, not to mention the guys behind Greenheart Games became famous for the anti-piracy security included in the game (I would only comment that as a "trololol & iseewhatyoudidthere paradox"). Damn, I am looking forward for another game from these gentlemen, now you go and enjoy this one I am sure you will.
    Expand
  72. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Incredibly fun game. What makes me enjoy it the most is the settings. Its an amazing feeling for me to run a game dev company,if you wont like that then its pointless to buy this game. The gameplay mechanics are maybe a bit basic,but I like them and the game has made itself well worth the money.

    Its also a very relaxing game. You can just jump into it and play for 10min if you have time
    over, or play it while watching a movie :)

    EDIT: I rewrote this just to mention that they have now done some major updates for this game. Fixed the most common issues such as lack of feedback!
    Expand
  73. Aug 28, 2013
    4
    Game Dev Tycoon is a clone of Game Dev Story, however that is not the reason for the score i am giving it. The mechanics in this game are WAY to simplistic like it was made by someone who has no idea what they are doing. The way the game determines what review the game you make receives is just plain pathetic all it does is takes the highest review you have gotten and compares the two game dev and tech scores. You are literally competing against YOURSELF there are NO competitors trying to outdo you in this game like their are in Gamebiz and Game Dev Tycoon can not even live up to the quality of Game Dev Story! Expand
  74. Aug 31, 2013
    4
    Well, I was under no illusions, I'm a fan of the Kairosoft "Game Dev Story", popular on android, it just annoys me that it's only a mobile game! I love the concept but wanted more depth, more features and to play on my desktop.

    Then I found this! I didn't expect it to be an original game. bought this because I thought (and hoped) it was an expanded, desktop PC knock-off. And it is, 90%
    of it is just a knock-off of the Kairosoft android game.

    Unfortuantely it's not that good Instead of more, it feels like less. You don't seem to have the same level of control or different ways to do things as you do in GDS. Also, review scores seem to be pulled from nowhere, and there are some issues with balance research points are way too hard to get for example. It's hard to figure out what you can do to improve from within the game itself, and your own thinking, and that's a major sin for a tycoon game.

    Most importantly however, it's just not that fun. It lacks the charm of "Game Dev Story", there's little incentive to keep on playing, and that's the biggest let down :(

    So there we have it. It's only a fiver, I suppose it's almost worth it, but I'd rather pay Kairosoft a tenner for a desktop clone of their game!
    Expand
  75. Aug 27, 2013
    3
    This game is almost exactly the same with kairosoft game dev available in appstore and playstore, I enjoy the kairosoft version more, this one just don't feel right.
  76. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the most addicting games I've played in a while. It is difficult, and while it has a fairly sharp learning curve, it is a very rewarding experience.
  77. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    This is a solid game with great variety. People who complain you can't repeat yourself are being silly, you can repeat and develop sequels, just make sure they are space out by at least a year. The only thing you can't do is repeat the exact same combo, such as fantasy rpg. You can change it up by doing fantasy action and you are fine.

    The game randomizes what topics you can use so
    reply is decent, the goal is to win in 35 years but is sandbox beyond that.

    This game is difficult to lose at, but difficult to win as well.
    Expand
  78. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game. I appreciate the actual difficulty of it. I've yet to discover any easter eggs or sell 100 million copies. :)

    We do not have to be hooked up to a social network to play it.

    Being a developer, I feel it is a very fun overview of the process.

    Thank you!
  79. May 9, 2013
    8
    Challenging and fun game, every move you made can change the results, one day you're bankrupt and the other a success in sales into the masses. You have to read the screen prompts constantly, but also take important decisions every second, until being an expert after a few hours. Need small improvements but has great potential, is re-playable, simple but addictive. Totally recommended for those who love the simulators, while you are getting real knowledge of game development and history. Expand
  80. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    This Indie piece surprised me a lot! There's nothing complicated, yet the decision making is complex and challenging.
    The theme itself and number of references to real life game industry are just brilliant. Authors have shown some really deep understanding of the topic.
    I don't agree, that playthrough is repetitive, it's a great fun for me to play it for the 4th time.
  81. stg
    Nov 4, 2013
    10
    When I bought I wasn't sure it'd be any good but I was pleasantly surprised, as the game turned to be really fun.

    A big part of the game is getting game reports and really paying attention to what they say (which is repeated on your interface choices for games). There are many combinations that are important to a game success, including genre, ages, platforms and topics.
  82. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Great game, way better then I expected. having more fun with this game then I have had with much more expensive games recently. This game is proof that some indie games despite not having a big company behind them, can be better then most triple A games. Definitely worth picking up. LOVE THIS GAME!
  83. Jun 20, 2013
    5
    Shows potential. Could have been better. Startup and strategy is a great combination. Looking forward to the next one!

    It's an OK time waster if you want to spend a lot of time on the wikis to figure out how to actually play. The game doesn't really tell you. (If you haven't played, my first line above is quoting/mocking the reviews you get for the games you create within GDT).
  84. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    This game suffers from a very common problem nowadays: it's all about achievement.... The gameplay itself it's very straightforward, the few things that can be done are hugely influenced by random points you get. Most of the choices, again, do not give you hints on the outcome... All around it's an enjoyable casual game, whit a nice 2d graphic and bad musics, good to play when you have nothing better to do, but nothing more of that. Expand
  85. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Dead simple little casual game, but you know what? I love the hell out of it, there's something massively addictive about building your company up and becoming one of the great game developers.
  86. May 24, 2013
    8
    This game is great, it ain't perfect but it's still fun and addicting. Although I would have enjoyed an award ceremony for your games, a better reviews system, some better statistics for your game and your company and some competition like some rival development studios. But regardless of that its still a deeply enjoyable game for a small price of $8. And you do get to make your own engine, make MMO's, take on contracts, make games for other Publishers and you even get to make your own console, in my opinion this game is worth the buy. And I cannot wait for a sequel, so i give this game an 8/10. Expand
  87. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    Interesting Game Idea started and wanted to try it shortly, but ended up 5hours later deep in the night. It is a pretty simple game, has not much sound and an easy interface. In my first play I made it up to 50Mio and I guess I will try to beat that mark at some time. It's fun for a while, but gets repetitive after 1-2 plays and I highly recommend it to fans of simulations. More topics/genres would have been great. Expand
  88. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    It's a great little simulation on the struggles that game developers face. While it doesn't cover everything, it still provides a bit of insight. It might not be very addictive at first, but it gets progressively better and faster as it goes on. It's far from perfect, but it's still good. 7/10
  89. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    It's a nice, fun game for folks interested in software development processes. It also has a nice chunk of elder gaming history thrown in. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because of its limited replay value. As casual games often go, they're great until you wear yourself out. So, in my opinion... it's a 10 until that happens... and when it does I may not play it again for a year. Until then though, it's a delightful game and more than worth its price. Expand
  90. May 20, 2013
    10
    The guy is pure awesome. it combines between fun and seriousness. You have the chance of making the game of your dreams Sci-Fi RPG game or Fantasy MMORPG or anything you want this game is about making you having fun same time making you learn how to make a successful company. I failed the game like 3 times myself but in the 4th time i made it and now my company Esoft got more than 100 billion. I made 3 successful MMORPG and I managed to make my console have 21% of the market share because of my intelligence. I kept making good games for the console and i made a low amount of money in the first but after some time i made a special MMORPG for each console and that brought me "Arabs monies".
    I can't wait for a future DLC. Thank you Greenheart
    Expand
  91. May 13, 2013
    9
    I don't know what caused me to buy this game but, I am glad I did. I spent over 12 hours ramming my gaming company to the ground and I had a blast. Creating the perfect mix of games is fun. Nothing is more rewarding than seeing your game receive tens across the board. This game makes me appreciate game developers even more now.
  92. Aug 23, 2013
    6
    Not bad, especially if you are interested in game development. However, it's a really simple game, and if you look at it from a mechanical point of view, it is a bad game.It's realy similar Kairosoft game "Game Dev Story", but I wouldn't call it a rip-off. The only reason I have played it so much is the theme and concept. It doesn't have a lot of replayability, but for $8,(I got it on the website)
  93. Nov 28, 2013
    1
    I was about to buy this game on Steam, added it to my cart and all. Then I went over to Metacritic and Wikipedia to read a bit about it and saw their anti-piracy bollocks. So if any of you genius developers/marketing people or whoevers decision it was to be an ignorant are reading this, I guess you can only blame yourselves for losing another sale, eh?

    I downloaded it and it's okay,
    nothing special, I expected a bit more to be honest. The only reason I'm giving it 1 instead of 0 is because I'm nice like that. This is one of those rare games that I most definitely wouldn't buy, even if I did end up liking it because of the developers' moves.

    So congratulations to the developers for losing a sale!
    Expand
  94. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    This Game is Amazing. It allows you to go back to 1980 build a game company from your garage to office to big office. This game has various possibilities and can be hilarious at time cause you can name anything anything and the game doesnt notice. You can make any kind of game you want in genre and topic terms. This game only has a one slot save system and an autosave so you may lose a lot. All the consoles are real but in parody names. This game is very hard and recommended you have a guide because this game is alot of guessing. The music is nice and not annoying like other sim game like civilization. The game has no bugs at all and never crashes. Buy it its a good game for the collection Expand
  95. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    The game is awesome! Long time did not play a game "Tyco". From the Roller Coaster Tyco I've never heard of a game "Tyco" success. But Game Dev Tyco overcomes espectavivas, the game is amazing! Pressure in the game leaves you impolgado with notes of their future games
  96. May 8, 2013
    9
    Probably the best thing I have ever spent 8 dollars on. It kept me coming back. Some of the most fun I have had gaming for a while. It kept me coming back.
  97. May 7, 2013
    8
    Game Dev Tycoon was really fun, I've logged hours into the game already and I STILL haven't managed to keep a company out of the red, it's really hard work but it is really fun and extremely addictive!
  98. nwd
    May 7, 2013
    7
    For the price, the game is fantastic. Very addictive to begin with, almost perfect gameplay. After a few play troughs you will probably start questioning how the games mechanics work. The mechanics seem very random and there is little information available to really explain how the game comes to certain conclusions. A few things make no sense at all, for example, why do you get an option to add a mouse or gamepad to a Gameboy game? And if you do decide to add mouse and gamepad function does it actually add to the game at all? does it help or hinder your review scores? It's questions like this that will start to gnaw at you the longer you play. My own beleif is, most of it is random and review scores are as much to do with luck as they are your design build. I understand exactly why Greenheart won't want to explain the mechanics all that much, if they do, the curtain is lifted and the illusion will probably be shattered. Expand
  99. May 7, 2013
    5
    The big plus in this game is the price, I mean it costs barely more than an App. I use the game on Mac OS and have not stumbled into a lot of bugs. There are definitely some in the end stages (final building), where the software can't differ between you clicking on a developer or just anywhere on the screen bit annoying but okay. Also a minimize function that works would be helpful.
    I
    studied the algorithm behind the game a little bit (what makes a high rating, what sells best) and ever since just keep making ridiculous amounts of millions, prior to that though figuring out what sells best is a stupid guessing game. For example military as an adventure game on the PlaySystem will get you a horrible game, even if good configured, because the raw algorithm data shows that's a bad combination.
    Also the game gets boring quickly, you can't start again and take a different approach (like other tycoon games) since it has an extremely linear story. It was said before but updating game engines would be a good idea, also more interactions with your fans. Here are some more basic ideas:
    Being able to set up a fanshop for continuous money, being able to set the price for games, being able to release downloadable content, release games for many platforms at once, ...
    I like the game but I feel like it is far from finished, since playing it gets boring quickly due to the very limited options you get.
    The graphics are nice, music is good nothing special for a 2013 game though.
    Very excited what the game will be like in a year. I hope for major updates.
    Expand
  100. May 7, 2013
    0
    A very fun and challenging game, especially during the first phase when your essentially an indie game studio trying to manage both a financial budget as well as a time one.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Sep 16, 2014
    65
    Taking into account the quite low price and the almost non-existent technical requirements, Game Dev Tycoon is a good and above all original game, albeit without great pretensions.
  2. May 12, 2014
    30
    However, I don't really think Tycoon really wants to be more than ‘a glimpse' at video game production, and any attempt to comment on the industry from this dull, monotonous experience fails to hit its mark.
  3. 80
    What is it like to start with a few thousand dollars and end up in an office full of people producing multi-million gaming hits? This game lets you find out and makes it worth your while. [Nov 2013]