Game Dev Tycoon Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 798 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Game Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gainGame Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gain worldwide fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    85
    This little game of making games is sure to leave it's mark in history with it's witty marketing campaign, which seriously kicked pirate booty. The game itself is really funny little game for a couple of nights, although after the campaign there's only little to keep you entertained. [June 2013]
  2. 80
    What is it like to start with a few thousand dollars and end up in an office full of people producing multi-million gaming hits? This game lets you find out and makes it worth your while. [Nov 2013]
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    75
    If you liked Game Dev Story, you're probably going to like this one. It's not a huge evolution from that game, but still adds it's own vision and depth to the concept.
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    70
    Far from a perfect sim, but as a commentary on the industry we follow and love, it's enough to give you pause for thought. [July 2013, p.90]
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    68
    It's hard to get attached to your creations when they're represented by numbers alone. [Dec 2013, p.73]
  6. Sep 16, 2014
    65
    Taking into account the quite low price and the almost non-existent technical requirements, Game Dev Tycoon is a good and above all original game, albeit without great pretensions.
  7. May 12, 2014
    30
    However, I don't really think Tycoon really wants to be more than ‘a glimpse' at video game production, and any attempt to comment on the industry from this dull, monotonous experience fails to hit its mark.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 294
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    I could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on aI could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on a number of different variety of mixing. The only problem is... the algorithm can be touchy and picky once you starts combining genres and other 'devices' to a certain topic. So it makes it a bit difficult to get around, but once you get the hang of it, you might be playing it more and more. Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    It is really the best game that i have ever played!
    I bought it on Steam Autumn Sale, so, you must to buy it too, because there are no games
    It is really the best game that i have ever played!
    I bought it on Steam Autumn Sale, so, you must to buy it too, because there are no games that like this one.
    Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    The game is awesome! Long time did not play a game "Tyco". From the Roller Coaster Tyco I've never heard of a game "Tyco" success. But GameThe game is awesome! Long time did not play a game "Tyco". From the Roller Coaster Tyco I've never heard of a game "Tyco" success. But Game Dev Tyco overcomes espectavivas, the game is amazing! Pressure in the game leaves you impolgado with notes of their future games Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    Game Dev Tycoon is a great casual game, and for the price I really can't complain. It's an indie endeavor, and while it doesn't achieve greatGame Dev Tycoon is a great casual game, and for the price I really can't complain. It's an indie endeavor, and while it doesn't achieve great technological marks it is very entertaining and will keep you occupied for hours (unless you pirated it! Shame!) as you progress through the different levels of the game. The mechanics can be a little obscure at first, but once you master managing your staff and achieving balance it becomes much easier to produce hits and dig into the deeper end-game level content. All in all I give it a solid 8. Great fun, great price. Expand
  5. May 7, 2013
    8
    A very fun and challenging game, especially during the first phase when your essentially an indie game studio trying to manage both aA very fun and challenging game, especially during the first phase when your essentially an indie game studio trying to manage both a financial budget as well as a time one. Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2013
    7
    While the desire to replay this game after finishing the first time may be lacking, it's still something that has a little uniqueness in theWhile the desire to replay this game after finishing the first time may be lacking, it's still something that has a little uniqueness in the massive amount of games that try to teach you something. It's not everyday that a game teaches you about not just other games, but other consoles in terms of who tend to go for what types of games on them. Countless hours obviously went into research of the topics, the consoles, and the overall storyline, but the only thing that will make this game more enjoyable will be the mods that are just now starting to be developed.

    Then again, I cheated with the game before there were any mods ;3 but that's just me. I tend to break games after I go through the main parts of them. That's part of my own enjoyment. Also, I think they need to optimize the code a little better, as it tends to lag after you hit certain numbers in the game save files ;3
    Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2014
    0
    I thought this was a remake of a Game Dev Story by Kiarosoft, it's actually a completely mindless unoriginal copycat POS I have ever seen.I thought this was a remake of a Game Dev Story by Kiarosoft, it's actually a completely mindless unoriginal copycat POS I have ever seen. It's one thing to go for the same genre and subject, but another to also steal every single idea. I sincerely hope you guys paid some licensing fee otherwise I hope you get sued and go bankrupt. 0/10, uninspired, unoriginal, disappointing, meh, borderline thieving. Expand

See all 294 User Reviews