Game Dev Tycoon PC

Game Dev Tycoon Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 968 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Game Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gainGame Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gain worldwide fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 13, 2013
    85
    This little game of making games is sure to leave it's mark in history with it's witty marketing campaign, which seriously kicked pirate booty. The game itself is really funny little game for a couple of nights, although after the campaign there's only little to keep you entertained. [June 2013]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    80
    What is it like to start with a few thousand dollars and end up in an office full of people producing multi-million gaming hits? This game lets you find out and makes it worth your while. [Nov 2013]
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    75
    If you liked Game Dev Story, you're probably going to like this one. It's not a huge evolution from that game, but still adds it's own vision and depth to the concept.
  4. PC PowerPlay
    Jun 23, 2013
    70
    Far from a perfect sim, but as a commentary on the industry we follow and love, it's enough to give you pause for thought. [July 2013, p.90]
  5. Games Master UK
    Oct 20, 2013
    68
    It's hard to get attached to your creations when they're represented by numbers alone. [Dec 2013, p.73]
  6. Sep 16, 2014
    65
    Taking into account the quite low price and the almost non-existent technical requirements, Game Dev Tycoon is a good and above all original game, albeit without great pretensions.
  7. May 12, 2014
    30
    However, I don't really think Tycoon really wants to be more than ‘a glimpse' at video game production, and any attempt to comment on the industry from this dull, monotonous experience fails to hit its mark.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 320
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    I could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on aI could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on a number of different variety of mixing. The only problem is... the algorithm can be touchy and picky once you starts combining genres and other 'devices' to a certain topic. So it makes it a bit difficult to get around, but once you get the hang of it, you might be playing it more and more. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    It reminds me of Airline Tycoon and it still has a lot of potential I would improve but no 2 part Produce improve this item and then you canIt reminds me of Airline Tycoon and it still has a lot of potential I would improve but no 2 part Produce improve this item and then you can think about a second part with a new graphics engine.
    It is great D
    Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    This game really deserves more than it got! It is such an amazing game and its cost is really low considering how much fun you get whileThis game really deserves more than it got! It is such an amazing game and its cost is really low considering how much fun you get while playing.
    I suggest it to everybody that wants to lose hours playing a FANTASTIC game!
    Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    By no means a perfect game, but a truly remarkable one, especially for a first title. I would recommend this to anyone who instinctively canBy no means a perfect game, but a truly remarkable one, especially for a first title. I would recommend this to anyone who instinctively can tell they will like it from the title, and to anyone who loves the industry/wants to change it. Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    This game is pretty amazing, but it's re-playable value is something to argue about. It's genuine, fantastic, and like an advanced Game DevThis game is pretty amazing, but it's re-playable value is something to argue about. It's genuine, fantastic, and like an advanced Game Dev Story at first, but after a couple of games and getting to know about every single corner about this game, it starts getting repetitive, arduous, and plain boring. It's definitely fun to create your own games and get good reviews from it, but at this current moment, it offers too little to play forever. It is a game in development, so I expect great things to come from it in the future, as a game where you can become Nintendo and make mature games and take series like Star Wars is absolutely fun, interesting, and bloody funny can go a long way in the case of an indie game. Oh, and it's only $9.99 worth it indeed if you like this sort of game, but again, it needs updates to become a fabled game like Minecraft. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    A fairly basic game however it is very fun and will offer plenty of entertainment and gives you the chance to finally make that perfect gameA fairly basic game however it is very fun and will offer plenty of entertainment and gives you the chance to finally make that perfect game and console ! Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2016
    0
    This game was perfect when it first came out but as of the latest version they've actually increased the difficulty. I've been playing GDT forThis game was perfect when it first came out but as of the latest version they've actually increased the difficulty. I've been playing GDT for days and I hire good staff, adjust the sliders appropriately, etc, but I always get poor reviews.

    This game is not fun anymore, it's just too difficult and no way to win.
    Expand

See all 320 User Reviews