Game Dev Tycoon PC

Game Dev Tycoon Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 906 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Game Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gainGame Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gain worldwide fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 13, 2013
    85
    This little game of making games is sure to leave it's mark in history with it's witty marketing campaign, which seriously kicked pirate booty. The game itself is really funny little game for a couple of nights, although after the campaign there's only little to keep you entertained. [June 2013]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    80
    What is it like to start with a few thousand dollars and end up in an office full of people producing multi-million gaming hits? This game lets you find out and makes it worth your while. [Nov 2013]
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    75
    If you liked Game Dev Story, you're probably going to like this one. It's not a huge evolution from that game, but still adds it's own vision and depth to the concept.
  4. PC PowerPlay
    Jun 23, 2013
    70
    Far from a perfect sim, but as a commentary on the industry we follow and love, it's enough to give you pause for thought. [July 2013, p.90]
  5. Games Master UK
    Oct 20, 2013
    68
    It's hard to get attached to your creations when they're represented by numbers alone. [Dec 2013, p.73]
  6. Sep 16, 2014
    65
    Taking into account the quite low price and the almost non-existent technical requirements, Game Dev Tycoon is a good and above all original game, albeit without great pretensions.
  7. May 12, 2014
    30
    However, I don't really think Tycoon really wants to be more than ‘a glimpse' at video game production, and any attempt to comment on the industry from this dull, monotonous experience fails to hit its mark.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 314
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    I could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on aI could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on a number of different variety of mixing. The only problem is... the algorithm can be touchy and picky once you starts combining genres and other 'devices' to a certain topic. So it makes it a bit difficult to get around, but once you get the hang of it, you might be playing it more and more. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This little game, bare in mind is made by two men on a tight budget. I think its great and I could, and have, play it for hours. the game starts off simple then gradually works its way up through history until your making your very own console to compete with the next-gen ones. Its not meant to be realistic, its meant to be challenging. we all know that making a game isn't this simple and that a single game cant realistically sell 700 million copies but who cares, all the hard work is all worth it when you achieve a high review score.

    "quirky but good"
    Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    I've been addicted to this game for days on end now. The formula is simple, yet the game executes it well and provides a lot of joy for theI've been addicted to this game for days on end now. The formula is simple, yet the game executes it well and provides a lot of joy for the game. You really can't go wrong with spend a few pounds this way. Recommended! Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    Pretty hard...
    But it's still fun.
    It took my FOREVER to get past the FIRST LEVEL. I'm still stuck on some level, but I have a feel for the
    Pretty hard...
    But it's still fun.
    It took my FOREVER to get past the FIRST LEVEL.
    I'm still stuck on some level, but I have a feel for the game.

    "Played it for days."
    Expand
  5. May 24, 2013
    8
    Game Dev and simulation is a great combination!

    Now on a more serious note, this game was really worth 8 bucks. The large span of different
    Game Dev and simulation is a great combination!

    Now on a more serious note, this game was really worth 8 bucks. The large span of different combinations of game topics, genres, platforms to develop for and engine mechanics made the game very re-playable. The only problem I have with the game is the tiny amount of "immersivness" in the game. Sure you can choose the game's topics and genres and adjust an engine you have made to fit the kind of game you would really create but there is just so little that goes into it.

    The only other problem I had with it was the repetitive nature of the game. Once I got really "into it" with the game I found myself taking breaks from it. But again it was definitely worth the 8 bucks, for some good ol' indie game fun.
    Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2014
    7
    An excelent way to begin, but i thing the game dev tycoon needed to be more original than Game Dev Story. Bring more mechanics to the game andAn excelent way to begin, but i thing the game dev tycoon needed to be more original than Game Dev Story. Bring more mechanics to the game and more things who can make a better game than Game Dev Story Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2014
    0
    I thought this was a remake of a Game Dev Story by Kiarosoft, it's actually a completely mindless unoriginal copycat POS I have ever seen.I thought this was a remake of a Game Dev Story by Kiarosoft, it's actually a completely mindless unoriginal copycat POS I have ever seen. It's one thing to go for the same genre and subject, but another to also steal every single idea. I sincerely hope you guys paid some licensing fee otherwise I hope you get sued and go bankrupt. 0/10, uninspired, unoriginal, disappointing, meh, borderline thieving. Expand

See all 314 User Reviews