Game Dev Tycoon PC

Game Dev Tycoon Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 939 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Game Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gainGame Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gain worldwide fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 13, 2013
    85
    This little game of making games is sure to leave it's mark in history with it's witty marketing campaign, which seriously kicked pirate booty. The game itself is really funny little game for a couple of nights, although after the campaign there's only little to keep you entertained. [June 2013]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    80
    What is it like to start with a few thousand dollars and end up in an office full of people producing multi-million gaming hits? This game lets you find out and makes it worth your while. [Nov 2013]
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    75
    If you liked Game Dev Story, you're probably going to like this one. It's not a huge evolution from that game, but still adds it's own vision and depth to the concept.
  4. PC PowerPlay
    Jun 23, 2013
    70
    Far from a perfect sim, but as a commentary on the industry we follow and love, it's enough to give you pause for thought. [July 2013, p.90]
  5. Games Master UK
    Oct 20, 2013
    68
    It's hard to get attached to your creations when they're represented by numbers alone. [Dec 2013, p.73]
  6. Sep 16, 2014
    65
    Taking into account the quite low price and the almost non-existent technical requirements, Game Dev Tycoon is a good and above all original game, albeit without great pretensions.
  7. May 12, 2014
    30
    However, I don't really think Tycoon really wants to be more than ‘a glimpse' at video game production, and any attempt to comment on the industry from this dull, monotonous experience fails to hit its mark.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 320
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    I could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on aI could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on a number of different variety of mixing. The only problem is... the algorithm can be touchy and picky once you starts combining genres and other 'devices' to a certain topic. So it makes it a bit difficult to get around, but once you get the hang of it, you might be playing it more and more. Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    I got the game the day it came out and I fell in love with it. The game full of imagination and encourages you to experiment with theI got the game the day it came out and I fell in love with it. The game full of imagination and encourages you to experiment with the different combinations. A small flaw with the game is that it is incredibly difficult, but there is a sweet taste of victory when you get a good game. I've invested over 43 hours into this game and have unlocked everything, also have an estimation of 3,485,187,534,823 in the bank so no Norwegian Scammers are going to put a dent in my budget! Long story short you should get this game if you play it as long as I have it is well worth your 10 bucks! Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Great game, way better then I expected. having more fun with this game then I have had with much more expensive games recently. This game isGreat game, way better then I expected. having more fun with this game then I have had with much more expensive games recently. This game is proof that some indie games despite not having a big company behind them, can be better then most triple A games. Definitely worth picking up. LOVE THIS GAME! Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2013
    8
    fun game to play while you learn about the life of game developers
    the story follow what happened in real life add the fun i this game
    a
    fun game to play while you learn about the life of game developers
    the story follow what happened in real life add the fun i this game

    a lot of room for improvement though waiting for updates or sequel
    Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    Really enjoyable little game, bargain for the price, i picked this up at midnight after finishing my weeks work on steam and played until 8am.Really enjoyable little game, bargain for the price, i picked this up at midnight after finishing my weeks work on steam and played until 8am. If you really can't shell out the 7 or 8 dollars for the game then wait for a sale and do yourself a favour and pick this game up. Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2014
    7
    An excelent way to begin, but i thing the game dev tycoon needed to be more original than Game Dev Story. Bring more mechanics to the game andAn excelent way to begin, but i thing the game dev tycoon needed to be more original than Game Dev Story. Bring more mechanics to the game and more things who can make a better game than Game Dev Story Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2016
    0
    This game was perfect when it first came out but as of the latest version they've actually increased the difficulty. I've been playing GDT forThis game was perfect when it first came out but as of the latest version they've actually increased the difficulty. I've been playing GDT for days and I hire good staff, adjust the sliders appropriately, etc, but I always get poor reviews.

    This game is not fun anymore, it's just too difficult and no way to win.
    Expand

See all 320 User Reviews