Game Dev Tycoon Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 835 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Game Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gainGame Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gain worldwide fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    85
    This little game of making games is sure to leave it's mark in history with it's witty marketing campaign, which seriously kicked pirate booty. The game itself is really funny little game for a couple of nights, although after the campaign there's only little to keep you entertained. [June 2013]
  2. 80
    What is it like to start with a few thousand dollars and end up in an office full of people producing multi-million gaming hits? This game lets you find out and makes it worth your while. [Nov 2013]
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    75
    If you liked Game Dev Story, you're probably going to like this one. It's not a huge evolution from that game, but still adds it's own vision and depth to the concept.
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    70
    Far from a perfect sim, but as a commentary on the industry we follow and love, it's enough to give you pause for thought. [July 2013, p.90]
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    68
    It's hard to get attached to your creations when they're represented by numbers alone. [Dec 2013, p.73]
  6. Sep 16, 2014
    65
    Taking into account the quite low price and the almost non-existent technical requirements, Game Dev Tycoon is a good and above all original game, albeit without great pretensions.
  7. May 12, 2014
    30
    However, I don't really think Tycoon really wants to be more than ‘a glimpse' at video game production, and any attempt to comment on the industry from this dull, monotonous experience fails to hit its mark.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 299
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    I could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on aI could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on a number of different variety of mixing. The only problem is... the algorithm can be touchy and picky once you starts combining genres and other 'devices' to a certain topic. So it makes it a bit difficult to get around, but once you get the hang of it, you might be playing it more and more. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This little game, bare in mind is made by two men on a tight budget. I think its great and I could, and have, play it for hours. the game starts off simple then gradually works its way up through history until your making your very own console to compete with the next-gen ones. Its not meant to be realistic, its meant to be challenging. we all know that making a game isn't this simple and that a single game cant realistically sell 700 million copies but who cares, all the hard work is all worth it when you achieve a high review score.

    "quirky but good"
    Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is really fun. It gets harder when you progress which I like. I like games that are easy ,but they get harder and harder. I mean I don't know what to say. It's like giving you an easy start and then they give you a challenge.... I don't care what other say. You don't like tycoon games is what I say ,but this game is really fun... How can you hate on such a fun game? Game Dev Tycoon needs an 10/10 and here it is. I rate it 10/10. Really fun I can play it for hours which I agree. 3 hours spend on this game says everything Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2013
    8
    fun game to play while you learn about the life of game developers
    the story follow what happened in real life add the fun i this game
    a
    fun game to play while you learn about the life of game developers
    the story follow what happened in real life add the fun i this game

    a lot of room for improvement though waiting for updates or sequel
    Expand
  5. May 7, 2013
    8
    This is one of the "just one more, just one more" game. Simple and addictive. If you are "Tycoon" fan this is "must have" for you I spentThis is one of the "just one more, just one more" game. Simple and addictive. If you are "Tycoon" fan this is "must have" for you I spent about 40h in game and i won't regret. Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    Developing a games from early 80's to next-gen consoles and beyond is fun. Review algorithm can be a problem when you make the game withDeveloping a games from early 80's to next-gen consoles and beyond is fun. Review algorithm can be a problem when you make the game with 9.75/10 score, and 5 years later you make a sequel with revolutionary engine and get only 7/10 or lower. When you are playing the game for the first time, it can pass 6 hours in a row and you still want to play more. When you finish a 35-year long story, you can continue playing, but it gets boring after 50 years. This game will only remain replayable if you replay it only when new updates are released. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2014
    0
    I thought this was a remake of a Game Dev Story by Kiarosoft, it's actually a completely mindless unoriginal copycat POS I have ever seen.I thought this was a remake of a Game Dev Story by Kiarosoft, it's actually a completely mindless unoriginal copycat POS I have ever seen. It's one thing to go for the same genre and subject, but another to also steal every single idea. I sincerely hope you guys paid some licensing fee otherwise I hope you get sued and go bankrupt. 0/10, uninspired, unoriginal, disappointing, meh, borderline thieving. Expand

See all 299 User Reviews