Game of Thrones PC

Game of Thrones Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 347 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on George R.R. Martin's best-selling 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series, Cyanide has developed games for the PC and next-gen consoles.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Aug 31, 2012
    78
    Fans of the books and the series will be thrilled, as all the classic features are here: multi-faceted characters, schemes, betrayals, incest, twists and genuine anti-heroes that seek redemption desperately, but in vain. [July 2012]
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    There's no denying that Game of Thrones will test your tolerance. There are so many negative idiosyncrasies and cost-cutting measures in place that you'll probably start to wonder when the game will just fall part entirely. But it never actually does. In fact, it stays on course to deliver a compelling parallel narrative to the opening book and HBO series, with characters as morally ambiguous and events just as horrific as any from Martin's pages.
  3. CD-Action
    Jul 6, 2012
    70
    If you're a fan of 'A Song of Fire and Ice' (or HBO's series), get this game, as it tells a great new story set in Westeros and co-created by Martin. [August 2012, p.74]
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    58
    Far from the RPG that Game of Thrones deserves, but still better than its components have the right to be. [Sept 2012, p.58]
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Jul 3, 2012
    50
    Martin's world deserves better than this. [July 2012, p.64]
  6. Jul 1, 2012
    50
    Play this game only if you know A Game of Thrones novel and also if you are willing to forgive that the game hasn't been made properly at all. Only then you are going to be captivated by a thrilling and well-made story with the power to make up all the negative aspects. Simply, Game of Thrones is all about its content, not its form.
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    35
    Once again a Game of Thrones-game disappoints, because the last Game of Thrones-game by Cyanide was also average at best. This role playing game lacks any polish, looks amateurish and lacks a good enough story arc to remain interesting. Even for diehard fans of Game of Thrones we can't recommend this.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 80
  2. Negative: 13 out of 80
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    hugely underrated.best story in a video game. the combat is a poorly-executed version of Dragon Age: Origin's, and is the major drawback here.hugely underrated.best story in a video game. the combat is a poorly-executed version of Dragon Age: Origin's, and is the major drawback here. but if you can overlook this, you'll have a lot of fun. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2014
    10
    this game is rich in story and I love the gameplay, The combat system reminds me of dragon age the original style I truly hope to see more ofthis game is rich in story and I love the gameplay, The combat system reminds me of dragon age the original style I truly hope to see more of this franchise in the gaming community. Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2015
    9
    A competently executed RPG which was not actually as bad as i had expected from other reviews.

    A really engaging example of writing in the
    A competently executed RPG which was not actually as bad as i had expected from other reviews.

    A really engaging example of writing in the ASoIaF universe, it is no surprise GRRM collaborated, it is well worth playing like a Telltale game if that's what you want to do.

    Graphics are pleasant and functional, as is the sound.

    Controls are decent, cinematography in cut scenes surprisingly good (great angles, lighting and modelling of the actors' faces from the HBO series, as well as great performances from them in voice), stats system is so easy to understand, a child could pick it up.

    I also like the way they have gone the Bioware route and allowed the option (which you can enable in the options) to hide the helmet you have chosen in the cinematics - this really makes a difference as you can choose that horned wildling helmet, but still see your character's facial expressions, who they are looking at etc.

    All in all, it's a "modern" RPG with all that entails, but it is well done and it has one of the best stories I've seen in an RPG. I really enjoyed it.
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2016
    8
    Okay... Fighting mechanics are clunky, targeting is difficult as you try and target someone and it decides to target everyone BUT that person.Okay... Fighting mechanics are clunky, targeting is difficult as you try and target someone and it decides to target everyone BUT that person. The graphics are early PS3 standard yet came out much later.
    BUT!
    The story for both characters weave through the world of Westoros in a way any fan of GOT will love.
    This RPG allows you to play your characters how you want. I did a peace loving merciful Priest who sides with the people always. Is it the best way? Probably not, but it is the way I played and the game let me.
    I also did a take no names, kill everyone let the Stranger sort them out, warrior on the wall. Should I have shown mercy in places? Perhaps, but this is how I wanted to play the character and the game let me.

    Game mechanics in battle suck, the graphics weak, but the story more than makes this a playable game for any GOT fan.
    Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2014
    7
    This game definitely suffers from carrying the title of a hugely successful book / TV series. Apart from the disappointing console port of theThis game definitely suffers from carrying the title of a hugely successful book / TV series. Apart from the disappointing console port of the menus and controls, the actual game play is solid enough and it has a fantastic story.

    No world beater by any means but a very enjoyable RPG adventure none the less and even more so for fans of the series.
    Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    You know what, this isn't too bad. The text is a bit blah blah, I mean, why say one sentence and allow the game and story to move on by itselfYou know what, this isn't too bad. The text is a bit blah blah, I mean, why say one sentence and allow the game and story to move on by itself when 20 sentences will do, and the combat is a bad version of Dragon age, and also I could live the rest of my life without seeing that same death animation again but hey, other than that (and there's a lot other than that) this isn't bad at all. Far from great but worth a punt when cheap. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    0
    This game easily boasts the best storyline since the Witcher 2 with a plot full of twists and 'painful' surprises. All characters are veryThis game easily boasts the best storyline since the Witcher 2 with a plot full of twists and 'painful' surprises. All characters are very well constructed, all the quests are exciting, diverse and absolutely fed-ex-free. Combat takes long to get into, but when you really get into, it will be 'annoyingly' addictive (I am starting my 3rd playthrough with different Mors and Alester again). Yes, there are some camera issues, especially when you move underground and the obvious outdatedness of the graphic. But in no way would I ever trade this graphically mediocre but story-immersing game with soullest but shining garbage such as Skyrim. I believe we are witnessing a real cult hit, on par with Gothic 2, that is so trashed by the critics but captures the heart of gamers who appreciate the art of excellent story-telling. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews