Game of Thrones PC

Game of Thrones Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 351 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on George R.R. Martin's best-selling 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series, Cyanide has developed games for the PC and next-gen consoles.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Game of Thrones - Riverspring Update Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Aug 31, 2012
    78
    Fans of the books and the series will be thrilled, as all the classic features are here: multi-faceted characters, schemes, betrayals, incest, twists and genuine anti-heroes that seek redemption desperately, but in vain. [July 2012]
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    There's no denying that Game of Thrones will test your tolerance. There are so many negative idiosyncrasies and cost-cutting measures in place that you'll probably start to wonder when the game will just fall part entirely. But it never actually does. In fact, it stays on course to deliver a compelling parallel narrative to the opening book and HBO series, with characters as morally ambiguous and events just as horrific as any from Martin's pages.
  3. CD-Action
    Jul 6, 2012
    70
    If you're a fan of 'A Song of Fire and Ice' (or HBO's series), get this game, as it tells a great new story set in Westeros and co-created by Martin. [August 2012, p.74]
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    58
    Far from the RPG that Game of Thrones deserves, but still better than its components have the right to be. [Sept 2012, p.58]
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Jul 3, 2012
    50
    Martin's world deserves better than this. [July 2012, p.64]
  6. Jul 1, 2012
    50
    Play this game only if you know A Game of Thrones novel and also if you are willing to forgive that the game hasn't been made properly at all. Only then you are going to be captivated by a thrilling and well-made story with the power to make up all the negative aspects. Simply, Game of Thrones is all about its content, not its form.
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    35
    Once again a Game of Thrones-game disappoints, because the last Game of Thrones-game by Cyanide was also average at best. This role playing game lacks any polish, looks amateurish and lacks a good enough story arc to remain interesting. Even for diehard fans of Game of Thrones we can't recommend this.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 81
  2. Negative: 13 out of 81
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    hugely underrated.best story in a video game. the combat is a poorly-executed version of Dragon Age: Origin's, and is the major drawback here.hugely underrated.best story in a video game. the combat is a poorly-executed version of Dragon Age: Origin's, and is the major drawback here. but if you can overlook this, you'll have a lot of fun. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2014
    10
    this game is rich in story and I love the gameplay, The combat system reminds me of dragon age the original style I truly hope to see more ofthis game is rich in story and I love the gameplay, The combat system reminds me of dragon age the original style I truly hope to see more of this franchise in the gaming community. Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2015
    9
    A competently executed RPG which was not actually as bad as i had expected from other reviews.

    A really engaging example of writing in the
    A competently executed RPG which was not actually as bad as i had expected from other reviews.

    A really engaging example of writing in the ASoIaF universe, it is no surprise GRRM collaborated, it is well worth playing like a Telltale game if that's what you want to do.

    Graphics are pleasant and functional, as is the sound.

    Controls are decent, cinematography in cut scenes surprisingly good (great angles, lighting and modelling of the actors' faces from the HBO series, as well as great performances from them in voice), stats system is so easy to understand, a child could pick it up.

    I also like the way they have gone the Bioware route and allowed the option (which you can enable in the options) to hide the helmet you have chosen in the cinematics - this really makes a difference as you can choose that horned wildling helmet, but still see your character's facial expressions, who they are looking at etc.

    All in all, it's a "modern" RPG with all that entails, but it is well done and it has one of the best stories I've seen in an RPG. I really enjoyed it.
    Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2012
    8
    This game has an excellent plot. Yeah it has nor the graphic or the perfection of these days games, but it is humble with a great heart. IThis game has an excellent plot. Yeah it has nor the graphic or the perfection of these days games, but it is humble with a great heart. I don't suggest it to people who don't know the series or the book, even if it has a gameplay who shares many characteristics with Bioware games (the dialogue wheel, the combat system, the choices along the storytelling). But it is a game with great potential, with a new story, original, well written and very emotional. The fightings are a challange, there is a lot of strategy and timing, the side quests are many and all damnt interesting, not as useness optional quests, you should do them all if you want to live the complete game. The characters are great, all deep and perfectly builded. I've given it an 8 just because, yeah graphic is quite importan and for 2012 this game looks pretty old and there are some glitches and it is difficult to set controls on the pc version, but it could've deserved a 10. Skyrim has a good graphic, physic and all, but it has no story and it has more bugs than this, so screw you fanboys! Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2017
    7
    This is one of my first guilty pleasure games, beforehand games used to be just bad or good. This however, is a flawed game, let there be noThis is one of my first guilty pleasure games, beforehand games used to be just bad or good. This however, is a flawed game, let there be no doubt. The mechanics are plain crappy, there are plenty of bugs and at one point I got stuck as three of my bannermen flogged me at a bridge, which had me sighing as I hadn't saved in a while. The story is, however, grand and R.R. Martin-worthy. The player follows two characters, which you're able to "modify" in a limited way, with varying personalities. Will you give it the Man-of-the-People playthrough, or will you be the rugged, silent type? The story takes you over key locations in Westeros and lesser known lands, but it is a hoot. Yes, the battles are manky, and yes, it all feels too limited, but the story is woven splendidly and feels real. Pick it up in a sale and enjoy the 5-10 dollars you spent on a cool interactive addition to the Game of Thrones franchise. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2017
    6
    This is a very solid attempt at an RPG by a very inspired and driven developer that clearly loves the setting, but the budget simply isn'tThis is a very solid attempt at an RPG by a very inspired and driven developer that clearly loves the setting, but the budget simply isn't there to make something worthwhile. Voice acting falls flat, character models converse like marionettes (Worse even than Bethesda), combat is repetitive at best and frustrating at worst (although some of the build ideas are very innovative).
    The story is captivating and interesting, but not enough to make you want to get through the rest of the game, just to see it poorly expositioned in cutscenes.
    Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    0
    This game easily boasts the best storyline since the Witcher 2 with a plot full of twists and 'painful' surprises. All characters are veryThis game easily boasts the best storyline since the Witcher 2 with a plot full of twists and 'painful' surprises. All characters are very well constructed, all the quests are exciting, diverse and absolutely fed-ex-free. Combat takes long to get into, but when you really get into, it will be 'annoyingly' addictive (I am starting my 3rd playthrough with different Mors and Alester again). Yes, there are some camera issues, especially when you move underground and the obvious outdatedness of the graphic. But in no way would I ever trade this graphically mediocre but story-immersing game with soullest but shining garbage such as Skyrim. I believe we are witnessing a real cult hit, on par with Gothic 2, that is so trashed by the critics but captures the heart of gamers who appreciate the art of excellent story-telling. Expand

See all 81 User Reviews