Garshasp: The Monster Slayer Image
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The treasure trove of Persian mythology contains within it some of humanity's oldest and most profound myths. They recount a rich and ancient culture, meaningful literature, and exciting legends that bring to life the excitement of Iranian civilization in all its glory-an experience often lost in the daily travails of modern life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    75
    Gashasp: The Monster Slayer reminds me a little of each Prince of Persia, God of War, and Conan the Barbarian, all mixed together to make a pretty nice combination. Once you get a hang of all of the controls, and are able to recognize intractable objects, or even avoidable situations, the game plays so smoothly it's like watching a movie. With its mix of strategy, faced paced action, and attractive visuals, this game is a great buy.
  2. May 18, 2011
    55
    Garshasp shows some sign of promise, but these are soon worn thin as you trudge your way through bugs, frame rate issues, camera hiccups and only about 3 hours of gameplay. With a little more care and attention this could have been a pleasant surprise. Instead Garshasp: The Monster Slayer will leave you feeling out of pocket.
  3. Jul 29, 2011
    52
    Garshasp: The Monster Slayer has nothing to keep you playing for hours. The camera sucks, the fights are boring and there is not enough story.
  4. May 12, 2011
    50
    Garshasp: The Monster Slayer has monstrous ambitions, but it doesn't deliver where it counts.
  5. Jun 1, 2011
    50
    Everything they've thrown in says "look what we can do" - and that' a sentiment New Zealanders can probably appreciate more than most.
  6. Jul 14, 2011
    44
    Garshasp falls short of genre standards in nearly every way, and its shortcomings are too numerous to compensate for. [Sept 2011, p.75]
  7. May 24, 2011
    25
    Rather than a careful exposition of Persian themes and stories we get a shambling mess of a game that fails to deliver on any front. What's most disappointing is that rather than making the classic text accessible, Garshasp's narrative just mires too deep in forgotten lore to be interesting to anyone who doesn't already know what it's about. This is definitely a game about Persians and by Persians but it lacks the fundamentals to be enjoyed by anyone, including Persians.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    It's very good, i like this game for simple texture with good scenario. i think this game can goes better with enhancing graphical scene. the story is really fascinating. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    I give 8-9 points. Great slash game with good graphics & views. Easy getting close & intuitively combat system w. X-Box controller. Beautiful ugly monsters 6 Persian kind of ornamentation... very cheap price with 5 Expand
  3. May 19, 2011
    8
    For an indie team of just 9 people this is really great.
    Graphic: One of the best looking indie games, and some sort of uniqueness about art
    style, Persian mythology looks interesting in this title for me.
    Gameplay: There is nothing new in this title, but combat and other mechanics are good enough for 4-5 hours of gameplay time. Not so bad for an indie game.
    Sound and Music: SFX is good enough too but music sounds interesting for me.
    Overall: The game was some sort of fun for me to play, this hack n slash type games are new for PC and I think a price cut can help to sell better.
    Expand
  4. May 26, 2011
    4
    The game plays well for me so I have no issues with the gameplay, however, the camera angles are sometimes ridiculous and I'm currently at on point where I cannot progress any further in the game as I cannot see where I am supposed to be jumping too due to the camera angle.

    The game has had updates but the response from the devs is poor, I asked one question regarding a changelog as the game was being updated but I had no idea what was being changed and to date I have had no reply to that request, this is my first and last game bought from this dev.

    It's a shame as the game could be great with a few camera tweaks and a little more feedback from the devs but I refuse to support a game I cannot complete due to issues.
    Collapse
  5. Aug 23, 2012
    2
    Garshasp the monster slayer feels extremely dated and does not deliver what you come to expect from a fighting/adventure game. The visuals are outdated, the camera get annoying, the fighting feels shallow and unresponsive and the games has some bugs. Overall the game feels outdated and though it could have been good a couple of years ago it just doesnt feel up to todays standards. I would only recommend this title to those who really love the genre and are looking for something new to try out for a cheap buck. Expand
  6. May 11, 2011
    2
    A long time player of Ubisoft games, it was immediately apparent not even minutes into the opening cutscene that this game is a blatant ripoff of Prince of Persia. (I've also played God of War, but saw no similarities with this game) Garshasp (the protagonist) looks EXACTLY like the Prince, and combat, movement, graphics - everything looks like Prince of Persia, allbeit with a different scale, lower quality graphics, and a poorer engine. The skybox was nonexistant, and the sound was bad both in quality and choice. It was painful to listen to.

    Combat was absurdly easy and simplistic to the point of being boring, and the graphics just caused the game to be an eyesore. It straddles this awkward line of being more advanced than a 2d platformer, but so unpolished and simplistic that it became ugly. Aliasing was a HUGE issue, and movement felt clunky. There were several times I would be attacking an enemy as it approached, only to end up ON TOP of the enemy - LITERALLY standing on its head.

    Understandably, it's from an Iranian indie studio, which carries its own set of connotations, however they could've really stood to do some further playtesting to iron out small (but annoying and longstanding) bugs and to improve game balance to provide something more challenging and fun to play. AND SOMETHING MORE ORIGINAL PLEASE.

    It loses most of its points for me strictly for being an obvious ripoff of Ubisoft games that predate it, and loses the rest of the points for general lack of polish. This FEELS like it's from an indie studio, unlike other indie games that are very polished, beautiful, and fun to play. Instead of inventing their own "gimmicks" to draw players, they rely on ones created by other companies, which entirely ruins the game for me.
    Expand
  7. MTR
    Jun 15, 2011
    1
    Pesimo control (ir en linea recta o saltar es dificil), simple sistema de combate (repetitivo hasta la saciedad), problemas grabes con la camara (no la controlas y ella sola se ma moviendo), intento de hacer QTE (esta gente no ha jugado a 1 juego con QTE), ... Es el tipico juego que dudas de que los mismos desarrolladores se lo hayan pasado. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews