User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 590 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 590

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LebT.
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    There are too many "leet" PC gamers out there who couldn't wait to bash the hell out of this game. Notice all the comments about how "console gamers don't know what good games are" and so on. Not saying this is a masterpiece sitting next to all other PC games, but this is definitely up there and not deserving of a measly 5!
  2. Aug 20, 2014
    6
    I can (sort of) understand why this game was perceived as a revolution. However, the single-player campaign suffer's from offering a likable story and enduring atmosphere. Technically, this game has aged well. The game engine is in good shape, with solid graphics (even up to this date) and I have not encountered any errors, bugs, etc. What stands as a positive remark is it's gameplay. TheI can (sort of) understand why this game was perceived as a revolution. However, the single-player campaign suffer's from offering a likable story and enduring atmosphere. Technically, this game has aged well. The game engine is in good shape, with solid graphics (even up to this date) and I have not encountered any errors, bugs, etc. What stands as a positive remark is it's gameplay. The shooting is generally satisfying, treating the reload quick-time as an opportunity to boost your damage attack. There is a great variety of scenarios, that offer different perspectives to the shooting mechanics. Unfortunately, the story is underdeveloped. No details regarding the world or the characters. The protagonists are just stereotypes of soldiers that you can hardly relate and the atmosphere dissipates from the very first level because the maps feel more like levels for shooting and not situations for people to survive the war. So, the storytelling is poorly executed. This game is certainly not for those people who seek a story driven campaign. The atmosphere can't serve it's purpose because Gears of War is gameplay-oriented. In conclusion, it has disappointed me from offering me a story-driven experience. Expand
  3. FrikaseeJ.
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    I didn't really think it was a ten, just trying to even it out because this game deserves way more than a five. Sure it's pretty and uninovative, but there are some games, such as the first Halo, that just give you that epic hero feeling, and those games deserve praise seeing as few in numbers they are.
  4. SteveF.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    This is definately a console game. However, not owning a console, i found this game fantastic on the PC. I won't give it a 10 for the fact that the DX10 support is pretty buggy, and it's not Half-Life 2.
  5. FrancisF.
    May 4, 2008
    8
    This is a fun game but don't go into it expecting too much. I've noticed that a lot of the pro reviews seem to be over hyping this game and i think it is this game's down fall. Potential buyers expect way too much from the game. Play it as it is, mostly like an arcade shooter, and you will have fun with this game. Although there's not much in terms of story and This is a fun game but don't go into it expecting too much. I've noticed that a lot of the pro reviews seem to be over hyping this game and i think it is this game's down fall. Potential buyers expect way too much from the game. Play it as it is, mostly like an arcade shooter, and you will have fun with this game. Although there's not much in terms of story and character development, the game play is satisfying. There's just something about shooting from behind cover and seeing the blood of your enemies splashing around indicating that they are taking hits. Expand
  6. MarkS.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    I don't know why users are rating this game so low. I'm not a console port fan at all, but this one had intrigued me, when I saw it being played on the XBox 360 at a local EB. I run the game maxed with a 8800 GTS with no hitches. The game has never crashed on me, and I'm more than half way through the game. Some points are vailid. Installation took a very long time. Windows I don't know why users are rating this game so low. I'm not a console port fan at all, but this one had intrigued me, when I saw it being played on the XBox 360 at a local EB. I run the game maxed with a 8800 GTS with no hitches. The game has never crashed on me, and I'm more than half way through the game. Some points are vailid. Installation took a very long time. Windows Live is pointless, and the lack of a quicksave option or more checkpoints is sometimes frustrating. However the game play is excellent, and well worth the price. Expand
  7. AlexD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    It's good game, that also looks good. Sotryline a bit lacking in terms of detail and controls not as good as they should.
  8. AustinC
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    This game is very good. It is really exciting to play with a friend in Co-op. Great maps and gameplay, also you can almost hide behind anything which is great. Not to mention, the weapons in this game are fantastic. See this game on the shelf? Get it, play it, then enjoy yourself for several hours.
  9. Maslab
    May 16, 2008
    8
    I enjoy this game very much. I only ever tried the console version for about 15 minutes before, and I feel as though it held up, even if I am a sucker for extra content. This game has great graphics and good controls. It isn't a great PC game, but I can't think of any way to make the controls better than actually having a chat option, instead of opening the console and typing I enjoy this game very much. I only ever tried the console version for about 15 minutes before, and I feel as though it held up, even if I am a sucker for extra content. This game has great graphics and good controls. It isn't a great PC game, but I can't think of any way to make the controls better than actually having a chat option, instead of opening the console and typing "say etc." That just gets plain annoying. Enemies are really tough though. The basic locust will take half a Lancer clip before dropping on the easiest difficulty, and most of a full one on the hardest difficulty. If I empty even a quarter of a clip in to a marine from an AK47, he's still going to at least be grievously wounded. Then the tougher ones aren't any tougher. A Boomer take three headshots to drop on Normal with a sniper, three to drop on Insane. Difficulty sky-rockets once you get on to the Insane difficulty. You die very fast and enemies die half as fast. There isn't much variety in weapons, so you just need to worry about one for the situation. Its a gore-fest too. How many games allow you to run up and stick a grenade to an opponent. I've heard about a lot of very good PC games, but as I have only recently started gaming on the PC, I haven't played them. But I liked this game. If you're looking for a good tactical game with a lot of gore, go for it. If you want an actual FPS, this isn't for you. As PC games go, its not the best, but it is still fun. Expand
  10. KenS
    Jul 21, 2009
    7
    If you're looking for a 3rd person shooter where you can shoot the bloody crap out of every one, GoW is pretty fun. I cant understand how people can give this game a 2, the graphics are good and at least run smoothly even if you don't have a High-end Pc. The gameplay is actually surprisingly fresh but indeed IS a bit repetitive, and to be honest, the story, even if it has If you're looking for a 3rd person shooter where you can shoot the bloody crap out of every one, GoW is pretty fun. I cant understand how people can give this game a 2, the graphics are good and at least run smoothly even if you don't have a High-end Pc. The gameplay is actually surprisingly fresh but indeed IS a bit repetitive, and to be honest, the story, even if it has interesting ideas isn't really appealing. All-in-all: its a good shooter, worthy to be played. Expand
  11. PB.
    Nov 13, 2007
    8
    Very very nice port imho.. No problems so far, running under Vista 32bit with a core2duo e6600, 2gb ram, x1950pro. It took a little while to tweak the graphics so it would run fine, but after that it ran pretty good and the cinematic quality of the game is vastly superior to other shooters on the PC.
  12. SamN.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    Have had a few sound issues, but other than that, what's not to like? The control system is great, the duck'n'cover works seamlessly, and the action is intense.
  13. DarioD.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    A most excellent game to begin with, and a very good port (if not somewhat buggy with the AI behavior - characters will often get stuck or just stand around). Controls also work excellently, unlike some are saying. (I have mine custom-bound to the Numpad) Aiming is smooth, and overall game performance is good on a wide range of computers (the settings are very scalable). I played through A most excellent game to begin with, and a very good port (if not somewhat buggy with the AI behavior - characters will often get stuck or just stand around). Controls also work excellently, unlike some are saying. (I have mine custom-bound to the Numpad) Aiming is smooth, and overall game performance is good on a wide range of computers (the settings are very scalable). I played through Gears on the 360 as well, and can easily say that the PC version is better, what with the keyboard/mouse controls, super-duper-high-resolution you can set it at, and extra levels at the end. This is simply a good game. Expand
  14. JimmusM.
    Nov 15, 2007
    8
    Fantastic game. Runs reasonably well on my system, despite the fact that I don't have absolutely top-of-the-line gear. The textures and models are absolutely gorgeous, and the gameplay is fast and exciting. I can't speak to any of the multiplayer elements, since I don't often subject myself to the frustrations of gaming with angst-driven teens online.
  15. ChristopherH.
    Nov 17, 2007
    8
    An enjoyable game, but it does very much feel like a console port (which it is) along with the slightly dodgy controls apparently common with ports. Like many of the XBox 360 to PC ports this game seems to have disproportionally high system requirements in compared to native PC games. The use of cover in the game is very cool, though you do rather fell like you are playing Halo at times An enjoyable game, but it does very much feel like a console port (which it is) along with the slightly dodgy controls apparently common with ports. Like many of the XBox 360 to PC ports this game seems to have disproportionally high system requirements in compared to native PC games. The use of cover in the game is very cool, though you do rather fell like you are playing Halo at times complete with the weak, inaccurate weapons. Gears of War makes a half-hearted attempt at giving you control of AI team-mates but it Expand
  16. MehmetT.
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    I honestly don't understand why some people give this game such a low score. This is a solid port to the PC people. The single button system that allows you dodge, dive, scale and cover works great; it spices things up without complicating this shooter game. The campaign revolves around a simple and cliché story, but it is told really well with top-notch voice acting and I honestly don't understand why some people give this game such a low score. This is a solid port to the PC people. The single button system that allows you dodge, dive, scale and cover works great; it spices things up without complicating this shooter game. The campaign revolves around a simple and cliché story, but it is told really well with top-notch voice acting and exciting music. The graphics and sound effects are of high quality. Nothing beats the sound of your enemy being ripped apart by your chainsaw equipped rifle! I had the scale the game to medium graphic settings to keep a smooth framerate, but the game still looks impressive. So make sure that you have at least a decent PC by today's standards. The multiplayer is really fun (but tough, be prepared for your butt to be kicked for a while until you start gaining some good experience), and this is coming from a guy who really doesn't like to play multiplayer. The only reason why this game doesn't get a 10 or 9 from is due to some instability and bug issues. The game has a nasty habit of sometimes crashing to desktop during loading the savegames or intense gunfights in the campaign. And in the multiplayer you sometimes come across this weird bug which makes you and other players "phase" from place to place. Also, some people may find the really long installation process and the not-so-simple on-line sign-up procedure annoying. But any score lower than 8 would be an insult to the developer Epic and their game. Expand
  17. Zach
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Excellent port to PC, including new maps, and great gameplay. Ingenious cover system used allowing you to take cover behind anything, anywhere. The system requirements are correct, as I am running bare minimum on XP, but can run the game on highest settings, averaging 40 frames a second. Singleplayer is not where this game shines. If you want to get this game, get it for the multiplayer, Excellent port to PC, including new maps, and great gameplay. Ingenious cover system used allowing you to take cover behind anything, anywhere. The system requirements are correct, as I am running bare minimum on XP, but can run the game on highest settings, averaging 40 frames a second. Singleplayer is not where this game shines. If you want to get this game, get it for the multiplayer, because that's where all the action is at. Expand
  18. Felix
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    I agree. The single player is repetitive and boring. However, multiplayer is where the game shines. People almost never take cover in multiplayer. However...it works really well on the 360. Just not the PC so much, because the animations make it WAY too easy for headshots.
  19. Jun 17, 2011
    6
    By far one of the funnest shooters I have ever played on the PC. The simplicity and the cover system seem like they would hinder the experience, you'd think that this was a detriment, but really once you get into it, they provide a skill cap that is ridiculously high, pressing a single button to take cover and leave cover seems like a waste, but it takes a ridiculous amount of skill toBy far one of the funnest shooters I have ever played on the PC. The simplicity and the cover system seem like they would hinder the experience, you'd think that this was a detriment, but really once you get into it, they provide a skill cap that is ridiculously high, pressing a single button to take cover and leave cover seems like a waste, but it takes a ridiculous amount of skill to master this in multiplayer. This was one of those few games that had so much potential for a competitive shooter scene, multiplayer was fantastic, out of the few people who played the PC version online, I was certainly a name you would see frequently, and high on the scores at that. The reason I stopped playing this game is two fold, both problems stemming from poor PC support, first off, the game causes my graphics card to glitch out and crashes my display drivers, so I uninstalled it, and lastly, the game itself has unbelievably poor PC support. You have to do some ridiculous things to simply download the patches for the game so you can play multiplayer, getting the game to work properly is just finicky as hell. This game would most certainly still be installed on my computer and I'd still be playing it, if Epic games would have taken their time to properly support their PC version so it is reliable. It's a shame I have to give a great game a 6 for this, but it is just touch and go, and the people who play this game online are dwindling because of it. Expand
  20. Nov 4, 2016
    6
    Gears of War is a decent action game that refined the TPS cover system. But honestly i dont see why so many people see this game as a masterpiece of some sorts. Its shooting feels pretty weak and very arcady which is somewhat redeemed by awesome chainsaw executions, story doesnt do anything particularly good either. Characters are very bland and forgettable. There are some pretty cool setGears of War is a decent action game that refined the TPS cover system. But honestly i dont see why so many people see this game as a masterpiece of some sorts. Its shooting feels pretty weak and very arcady which is somewhat redeemed by awesome chainsaw executions, story doesnt do anything particularly good either. Characters are very bland and forgettable. There are some pretty cool set piece moments, but theyre too far and in between. Also i have the feeling this was one of those games which inpired the abysmal age of brown, black and grey looking games in late 00's, i really hated that trend. Expand
  21. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    It looks like a great game for the first few hours with slick graphics and smooth gameplay, but gets too repetitive and formulaic later.
  22. DorianB.
    Jul 8, 2008
    5
    Horrible game: repetitive gameplay (just duck for cover, pop out and shoot, repeat until credits roll), no story (same old SF crap universe that isn't helped in any way by its bland characters), and basically, that's it, there isn't much to talk about GoW, because it doesn't have anything other than shooting. One of the most overrated games ever, alongside with Crysis. Horrible game: repetitive gameplay (just duck for cover, pop out and shoot, repeat until credits roll), no story (same old SF crap universe that isn't helped in any way by its bland characters), and basically, that's it, there isn't much to talk about GoW, because it doesn't have anything other than shooting. One of the most overrated games ever, alongside with Crysis. If you like the graphics you can try Bioshock or Unreal Tournament 3, that use the same engine, but actually have some gameplay stuck to it. Expand
  23. Apr 15, 2016
    6
    The game borrows heavily from Resident Evil 4 in both pacing and game structure. The cover based combat works fairly well and the interactive weapon reloads adds a nice touch. Movement controls are rigid and a little clunky. Your squad-mates have no proper AI and the weapons, while interesting, lack weight. At first, the game puts you in a variety of interesting situations and theThe game borrows heavily from Resident Evil 4 in both pacing and game structure. The cover based combat works fairly well and the interactive weapon reloads adds a nice touch. Movement controls are rigid and a little clunky. Your squad-mates have no proper AI and the weapons, while interesting, lack weight. At first, the game puts you in a variety of interesting situations and the environmental brain-teases are fun. The enemies are absolute bullet sponge. When behind cover, you are virtually invincible which encourages you to coward behind and shoot from afar; This goes against the grain of the experience in terms of dynamism and pace. The difficulty spikes and the battles become repetitive and start to drag halfway through; This is likely a budgeted attempt to make up for the lack of interesting new set pieces and design scenarios. The hit detection system is unreliable, especially in third person mode, often leading to unfair deaths. The checkpoint system is questionable since it will have you often replay through entire sections previously beaten, artificially lengthening the game time. The story and characters are comically bad; This is very much a product of its time, likely designed to encourage young Americans to go in Irak. The environment and overall graphics are very detailed and aged quite well; That said, the game is visually monotonous, and the locations are quite repetitive and lifeless. GOW is not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination, I had a descent time with it, and there are some commendable design choices and game-play innovations. In Co-op, this game must have been quite fun. Expand
  24. strangerdanger
    Jan 27, 2008
    4
    as has already being said, formulae does not work well for pc. premise is go into small areas, take cover, then shoot, pause for cutscene, go into next area then repeat. you'd think come on theres GOT to be something more to the game cos its got a overall 8+, but thats it. thats ALL there is to this game. graphics and environment is well polished and vv nice but gameplay is bland.as has already being said, formulae does not work well for pc. premise is go into small areas, take cover, then shoot, pause for cutscene, go into next area then repeat. you'd think come on theres GOT to be something more to the game cos its got a overall 8+, but thats it. thats ALL there is to this game. graphics and environment is well polished and vv nice but gameplay is bland. probably the blandest and most mindnumbing gameplay ive ever encountered. Expand
  25. Sep 4, 2010
    4
    I really don't understand all the fuss about this game. The graphics were kind of nice I guess, but everything else was quite underwhelming. The game crashed several times while I was playing and then wiped all my progress. All in all I found the whole game quite a chore and very frustrating. I was glad to finish it, so that I would never have to play it again.
  26. DanyT
    Feb 4, 2008
    8
    I was not sure to try this game since my experience with games ported from console to pc is not really good but I'm glad I did.
    I like this game a lot, loads of action and nice graphics even on my dell laptop with a GEF7950 gtx and 2 gig of ram on windows vista 32.
    The way you can hide and shoot is really nice. The third person view is not too bad even if I dont like it normaly in
    I was not sure to try this game since my experience with games ported from console to pc is not really good but I'm glad I did.
    I like this game a lot, loads of action and nice graphics even on my dell laptop with a GEF7950 gtx and 2 gig of ram on windows vista 32.
    The way you can hide and shoot is really nice.
    The third person view is not too bad even if I dont like it normaly in this kind of game.
    Expand
  27. AntonioF.
    Dec 25, 2007
    9
    Great game if you can overcome its flaws. its hard to reccomend after there are so many good shooters this year but never the less this is a good one. and with some nice weapons that give oyu some real killing satisfaction.
  28. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    Pure fun to play. Reminds of Mass Effect 2, just without the whole levelling up etc. Good recreation after a hard working day. Just a pity they won't release the other parts for pc.
  29. Aug 22, 2014
    4
    M$ does make a good decision in further development of this franchise. Mediocre, repetitive, corridor and cover based TPS should be just left for the xbox console kiddie to enjoy. This is a kind of relief and salvation for the PC community. Disappearance of such kind of mindless TPS franchise in PC is a welcome move.
  30. EricA.
    Nov 11, 2007
    5
    The game is good. The max graphics are a little taxing on my gaming rig (4GB RAM, 8800 XTX, 3.2 C2D, Striker Extreme). DX10 graphics show litlte to no improvement over DX9 graphics. The game crashes on occasion (other PC games do not do this). Downloading and installing the title update after installing was a hassle. Without knowing a trick, the patch would not install. The install The game is good. The max graphics are a little taxing on my gaming rig (4GB RAM, 8800 XTX, 3.2 C2D, Striker Extreme). DX10 graphics show litlte to no improvement over DX9 graphics. The game crashes on occasion (other PC games do not do this). Downloading and installing the title update after installing was a hassle. Without knowing a trick, the patch would not install. The install process took about 30 minutes. I could not play the game while installing (a feature that's been touted for GfW-Live titles). Games for Windows - Live is a mess. PC gamers have very little to be excited about when having to use the GfW-Live - which is relatively featureless compared to Live for XBOX 360. Live for the original XBOX has more features than Games for Windows - Live. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. With upgraded graphics, exclusive campaign chapters and a handful of new multiplayer features (handled through Games for Windows Live), Gears of War is a very desirable shooter.
  2. 80
    While all the added content is damn good, ironically, the greatest gameplay addition to this PC port is also responsible for one of the bigger annoyances: the interface.
  3. Gears of War on the PC is still the same ground breaking game it was a year ago just now on the PC. The same innovative gameplay and breathtaking events are included along with five new campaign levels exclusive to the PC.