Gears of War PC

Gears of War Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 558 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gears of War thrusts gamers into a deep and harrowing story of humankind’s epic battle for survival against the Locust Horde, a nightmarish race of creatures that surface from the bowels of the planet. With Gears of War, Epic returns gamers to the massively scoped worlds, memorableGears of War thrusts gamers into a deep and harrowing story of humankind’s epic battle for survival against the Locust Horde, a nightmarish race of creatures that surface from the bowels of the planet. With Gears of War, Epic returns gamers to the massively scoped worlds, memorable characters, co-operative gameplay, and hyper-realistic combat that gamers have come to expect from the franchise, plus a few new surprises. Gears of War features locations that are unique to the franchise and the genre. Players encounter all of their favorite foes from the Xbox 360 version; however, these intense encounters take place in some new environments and allow players to manipulate the new game modes and technology found only in a Games for Windows title. Boasting three new multiplayer maps, a new multiplayer game type, game editor, five new campaign chapters, and DirectX 10support, Gears of War, challenges and pushes the limits of the PC gaming experience and provide an unparalleled visual presentation. [Microsoft] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. The 360 game's soul shines just as bright now as it did a year ago, and so the PC version, with its improved visuals, lengthened campaign, more multiplayer maps and a game editor at least matches it, and perhaps even exceeds it.
  2. Gears of War on the PC is still the same ground breaking game it was a year ago just now on the PC. The same innovative gameplay and breathtaking events are included along with five new campaign levels exclusive to the PC.
  3. In the end, Gears of War isn't perfect, but it does what it does so incredibly well that you just can't help but love it.
  4. If you were expecting an Oscar story and dialogues that would show you the meaning of life on earth, you’re in the wrong place. But if you want non-stop action, uglier than death enemies, visceral fights and the possibility, in multiplayer, to execute your adversaries in the most barbaric ways ever known, please, do come in.
  5. Gears of War on the PC is an excellent "port" by seasoned industry veterans and a testament to PC gaming. Everything transitioned smoothly, and there's no awful leftovers -- only delicious desserts.
  6. While Gears of War for the PC is a good game, worth playing if only for the collective experience, it will make you angry more than once during your fight to save the world.
  7. 70
    Gears is most likely to appeal to console gamers already in love with the game, who can now see it in glorious high-res detail and at superfast framerates -- with a muscular enough PC, that is.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 71
  2. Negative: 29 out of 71
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Вот из-за такихВот из-за таких занудных рецензентов, декларирующих, что мол "эта формула не работает на ПС", мы похоже и не дождемся продолжения серии. Игра отличная, собранная - нет ничего лишнего. Проходить одно удовольствие. Expand
  2. Felix
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    I agree. The single player is repetitive and boring. However, multiplayer is where the game shines. People almost never take cover in I agree. The single player is repetitive and boring. However, multiplayer is where the game shines. People almost never take cover in multiplayer. However...it works really well on the 360. Just not the PC so much, because the animations make it WAY too easy for headshots. Expand
  3. Maslab
    May 16, 2008
    8
    I enjoy this game very much. I only ever tried the console version for about 15 minutes before, and I feel as though it held up, even if I am I enjoy this game very much. I only ever tried the console version for about 15 minutes before, and I feel as though it held up, even if I am a sucker for extra content. This game has great graphics and good controls. It isn't a great PC game, but I can't think of any way to make the controls better than actually having a chat option, instead of opening the console and typing "say etc." That just gets plain annoying. Enemies are really tough though. The basic locust will take half a Lancer clip before dropping on the easiest difficulty, and most of a full one on the hardest difficulty. If I empty even a quarter of a clip in to a marine from an AK47, he's still going to at least be grievously wounded. Then the tougher ones aren't any tougher. A Boomer take three headshots to drop on Normal with a sniper, three to drop on Insane. Difficulty sky-rockets once you get on to the Insane difficulty. You die very fast and enemies die half as fast. There isn't much variety in weapons, so you just need to worry about one for the situation. Its a gore-fest too. How many games allow you to run up and stick a grenade to an opponent. I've heard about a lot of very good PC games, but as I have only recently started gaming on the PC, I haven't played them. But I liked this game. If you're looking for a good tactical game with a lot of gore, go for it. If you want an actual FPS, this isn't for you. As PC games go, its not the best, but it is still fun. Expand
  4. DorianB.
    Jul 8, 2008
    5
    Horrible game: repetitive gameplay (just duck for cover, pop out and shoot, repeat until credits roll), no story (same old SF crap universe Horrible game: repetitive gameplay (just duck for cover, pop out and shoot, repeat until credits roll), no story (same old SF crap universe that isn't helped in any way by its bland characters), and basically, that's it, there isn't much to talk about GoW, because it doesn't have anything other than shooting. One of the most overrated games ever, alongside with Crysis. If you like the graphics you can try Bioshock or Unreal Tournament 3, that use the same engine, but actually have some gameplay stuck to it. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2010
    4
    I really don't understand all the fuss about this game. The graphics were kind of nice I guess, but everything else was quite underwhelming.I really don't understand all the fuss about this game. The graphics were kind of nice I guess, but everything else was quite underwhelming. The game crashed several times while I was playing and then wiped all my progress. All in all I found the whole game quite a chore and very frustrating. I was glad to finish it, so that I would never have to play it again. Expand
  6. Johnc
    Feb 25, 2008
    3
    I was expecting great things from the cover system...but it sucks!. It's just so restrictive to constantly have to be hitting the I was expecting great things from the cover system...but it sucks!. It's just so restrictive to constantly have to be hitting the spacebar to go in and out of cover stance--otherwise he's glued to his cover. This should all have been done automatically and free up the player for strategy. Also this game is plagued by the heinous windows live system. Which has generated no fewer than than 119 pages (and counting) of crash reports on the the epic games forums. How typical of Microsoft to use people who paid $50 as beta testers for their new compulsory system. Expand
  7. MessiahLee
    Nov 8, 2007
    0
    Oh, look at that. All of the critics aren't hyping this one up anymore despite their claims that it's superior to the 360 version...Oh, look at that. All of the critics aren't hyping this one up anymore despite their claims that it's superior to the 360 version... Gee, I wonder why? Maybe it's because the game wasn't so hot in the first place? Possibly one of the most derivative shooters ever made... Wait for the bargin bin. Expand

See all 71 User Reviews