Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 481 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gears of War thrusts gamers into a deep and harrowing story of humankind’s epic battle for survival against the Locust Horde, a nightmarish race of creatures that surface from the bowels of the planet. With Gears of War, Epic returns gamers to the massively scoped worlds, memorable characters, co-operative gameplay, and hyper-realistic combat that gamers have come to expect from the franchise, plus a few new surprises. Gears of War features locations that are unique to the franchise and the genre. Players encounter all of their favorite foes from the Xbox 360 version; however, these intense encounters take place in some new environments and allow players to manipulate the new game modes and technology found only in a Games for Windows title. Boasting three new multiplayer maps, a new multiplayer game type, game editor, five new campaign chapters, and DirectX 10support, Gears of War, challenges and pushes the limits of the PC gaming experience and provide an unparalleled visual presentation. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. The 360 game's soul shines just as bright now as it did a year ago, and so the PC version, with its improved visuals, lengthened campaign, more multiplayer maps and a game editor at least matches it, and perhaps even exceeds it.
  2. Gears of War on the PC is still the same ground breaking game it was a year ago just now on the PC. The same innovative gameplay and breathtaking events are included along with five new campaign levels exclusive to the PC.
  3. The PC version of Gears of War is everything the 360 version was and more.
  4. So, it may play better with a 360 controller, it may quirk out, and the new stuff may be good but not great, but it’s still one of the most solid PC games of the year, with a great single-player game that can even be played cooperatively, and fantastic, team-based multiplayer that’s just a few notches below Team Fortress.
  5. Gears of War on the PC is an excellent "port" by seasoned industry veterans and a testament to PC gaming. Everything transitioned smoothly, and there's no awful leftovers -- only delicious desserts.
  6. Looks just absolutely amazing on PC. Too bad the gameplay repeats itself to death: the same static duck and cover firefights get old pretty fast. Luckily the co-op multiplayer is great fun and the brilliant visuals keep players interested enough till the credits roll. [Dec 2007]
  7. 70
    Gears is most likely to appeal to console gamers already in love with the game, who can now see it in glorious high-res detail and at superfast framerates -- with a muscular enough PC, that is.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 67
  2. Negative: 28 out of 67
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Вот из-за таких занудных рецензентов, декларирующих, что мол "эта формула не работает на ПС", мы похоже и не дождемся продолжения серии. Игра отличная, собранная - нет ничего лишнего. Проходить одно удовольствие. Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Odlična je grafika, gameplay također, dužina igre u potpunosti zadovoljava, raznolikost misija........................................................ Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    Pure fun to play. Reminds of Mass Effect 2, just without the whole levelling up etc. Good recreation after a hard working day. Just a pity they won't release the other parts for pc. Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2011
    6
    By far one of the funnest shooters I have ever played on the PC. The simplicity and the cover system seem like they would hinder the experience, you'd think that this was a detriment, but really once you get into it, they provide a skill cap that is ridiculously high, pressing a single button to take cover and leave cover seems like a waste, but it takes a ridiculous amount of skill to master this in multiplayer. This was one of those few games that had so much potential for a competitive shooter scene, multiplayer was fantastic, out of the few people who played the PC version online, I was certainly a name you would see frequently, and high on the scores at that. The reason I stopped playing this game is two fold, both problems stemming from poor PC support, first off, the game causes my graphics card to glitch out and crashes my display drivers, so I uninstalled it, and lastly, the game itself has unbelievably poor PC support. You have to do some ridiculous things to simply download the patches for the game so you can play multiplayer, getting the game to work properly is just finicky as hell. This game would most certainly still be installed on my computer and I'd still be playing it, if Epic games would have taken their time to properly support their PC version so it is reliable. It's a shame I have to give a great game a 6 for this, but it is just touch and go, and the people who play this game online are dwindling because of it. Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2014
    6
    I can (sort of) understand why this game was perceived as a revolution. However, the single-player campaign suffer's from offering a likable story and enduring atmosphere. Technically, this game has aged well. The game engine is in good shape, with solid graphics (even up to this date) and I have not encountered any errors, bugs, etc. What stands as a positive remark is it's gameplay. The shooting is generally satisfying, treating the reload quick-time as an opportunity to boost your damage attack. There is a great variety of scenarios, that offer different perspectives to the shooting mechanics. Unfortunately, the story is underdeveloped. No details regarding the world or the characters. The protagonists are just stereotypes of soldiers that you can hardly relate and the atmosphere dissipates from the very first level because the maps feel more like levels for shooting and not situations for people to survive the war. So, the storytelling is poorly executed. This game is certainly not for those people who seek a story driven campaign. The atmosphere can't serve it's purpose because Gears of War is gameplay-oriented. In conclusion, it has disappointed me from offering me a story-driven experience. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    It looks like a great game for the first few hours with slick graphics and smooth gameplay, but gets too repetitive and formulaic later.
  7. Feb 10, 2013
    3
    I cannot understand why people like this game. The story line is lackluster. The combat is repetitive with little variation. The only variation is with the enemies tactics. The AI team mates obviously have downsyndrome as they try to rush into enemy turrets and get instantly whacked. The weapons are pathetic. While having a chain sword attached to my gun is cool the mechanics behind it make it almost worthless. The body armor the characters wear is worthless and most assault rifles are the equivalent of a pellet gun to the enemies (campaign). They say use the shotgun, but a game that forces one to use a single weapon isn't worth ones time. Despite every ones 'glorious reviews' the game is simply a sub-par shooter that is not worth any ones time. You might like it, I think it is personally over-hyped, over glorified, and sub-par... Expand

See all 67 User Reviews