Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Mar 2, 2011
    100
    Gemini Rue is equal parts tense, thoughtful, and surprising; it's the single best, most compelling adventure game I've played in years.
  2. Feb 24, 2011
    95
    If you're an adventure game fan or simply like the themes, setting, and story presented, you owe it to yourself to look into Gemini Rue!
  3. Mar 1, 2011
    94
    Gemini Rue is a brilliant lesson. It shows that the genre has room to keep growing and innovating, and at the same time it is an homage to classic games made by someone who feels a deep passion for this world.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    90
    Despite some minor glitches, Gemini Rue delivers one of the best point and click adventures of recent years. We wanted to play this since the end of Beneath A Steel Sky. Now the wait is over.
  5. Apr 1, 2011
    90
    Having done all the writing, animation and programming himself, Gemini Rue took Josh Nuernberger a total of three years to make-the same amount of time it takes some triple-A titles to hit the shelves. If only more triple-A games turned out this well.
  6. Mar 4, 2011
    90
    Something more reminiscent of a gripping, page-turning bestseller than what adventure gaming has come to represent.
  7. Nov 16, 2011
    88
    With its charming atmosphere and its great storytelling, there is no doubt that Gemini Rue is one of the most elegant point-and-click adventures of the year, probably the flagship in the Wadjeteye Games' portfolio and one of the best games made with Adventure Game Studio.
  8. May 11, 2012
    84
    For better and worse, Gemini Rue might best be described as a "neat little game." For whatever reason, the game feels short of its potential, and every facet seems sullied by flaws both minor and moderate. Still, the cyberpunk tone, engaging story, and varied gameplay make more of an impression than those flaws.
  9. Apr 3, 2011
    83
    Developer Joshua Nuernberger has crafted a smart, thoughtful tale that keeps introducing fascinating new ideas and characters.
  10. Jan 9, 2012
    82
    Overall, Gemini Rue is a solid effort. The story is excellent, the puzzles are good enough, and while the graphics aren't anything to write home about, they score high marks in nostalgia, and they do a reasonable job in setting the mood.
  11. Mar 1, 2011
    81
    An exciting, surprising and thought-provoking adventure rendered in a beautiful art style. Gemini Rue earns respect.
  12. May 22, 2011
    80
    Clever storytelling makes this an essential addition to the collection of any sci-fi or adventure gaming fans. [June 2011, p.64]
  13. Apr 25, 2011
    80
    It may be a little rough around the edges, but it's still better than most contemporaries that are polished to a shine. [Issue#108, p.130]
  14. Apr 4, 2011
    80
    Stands out among the throng of generic point-and-click adventure games. The atmosphere remains tense and dark throughout the entire game, and when you finally plow through the story's last couple of twists, you'll be glad you played the whole thing.
  15. Apr 4, 2011
    80
    It doesn't have a great design and the puzzles feel sometimes even too easy, yet it's a deep and interesting experience, more suited to the old style oriented gamers.
  16. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    Provides the thinking gamer with a satisfying adventure experience.
  17. Mar 4, 2011
    80
    Gemini Rue gets things right from the off by virtue of set piece intrigue, inclement weather, sharp writing and half-decent voice acting. And unlike most modern day point and clickers, it doesn't hold your hand at every opportunity.
  18. Feb 24, 2011
    80
    Gemini Rue is an imperfect adventure game, but a triumph of DIY adventure development and a marvelous feat of interactive storytelling.
  19. Oct 9, 2011
    79
    This is a brandnew adventure game in the style of old school games in the tradition of Sierra. It doesn't matter how pixilated the graphics or how complicated the controls are once the story and atmosphere managed to captivate you.
  20. Jul 1, 2011
    75
    Despite some flaws Gemini Rue is an extraordinary game that will offer good times not only to point'n'click fans but also to those gamers who lost track of the genre around the Beneath the Steel Sky era. [June 2011, p. 71]
  21. Mar 1, 2011
    75
    Gemini Rue is a truly great adventure game, with its clever mix of puzzles, logic and action, marred only by a convoluted aura.
  22. Jun 22, 2011
    70
    Gemini Rue is an intriguing adventure game with an excellent story that outshines its basic puzzle-solving.
  23. Apr 7, 2011
    70
    Gemini Rue is yet more proof that you don't need expensive budgets to make good games. This retro-styled adventure delivers a great story and fun point & click-based gameplay. It's probably not for everyone, but adventure fans will find plenty to like here.
  24. 70
    Further evidence that a smart independent developer can surpass any "professional" gamedev studio. Retro style successfully strums on a nostalgic chord. [Mar 2011]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 3 out of 51
  1. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    Like me other reviewrs here - as well as I - have found this game excentric and interesting. In exceptionally good way.

    It's a
    Like me other reviewrs here - as well as I - have found this game excentric and interesting. In exceptionally good way.

    It's a point-and-click game, looking quite much like "Blade Runner" (PC) which also is a good point-n-click game. The style of the game with the noir-dripping atmosphere is really appealing as well as the conversation choices you'r given.

    After a 4-5 hours of playing the game I might say that the "puzzles" can be quite hard nuts to crack. But still, it's sooo rewarding getting back to the game the next day, with a new perspective of the problem which might just solve it. Great satisfaction.

    Some minor problems (which aren't that big) is that it can be quite hard to find what objects that actually are interactable. You really have to let your mouse pass over all things that stick out just the smallest. This is somewhat neutralized by the games "smallness". There aren't any vast areas to traverse which limits your problem-focused area. Which is good.

    One other thing I noticed is the voice-acting. It sometimes feels/sounds like its recorded by "amateurs". Now do not missunderstand me. It IS good, it just sounds like it was recorded at my place. With a basic mic and not in some expensive studio featuring famous-voice-acter-1 and famous-voice-acter-2.

    I would HIGHLY recommend this game for those who like games with substance.
    Yeah. You know what I mean.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    An excellent retro-graphic adventure with many added enhancements- wounderrfully atmsophere, intriguing world and equally enticing story lineAn excellent retro-graphic adventure with many added enhancements- wounderrfully atmsophere, intriguing world and equally enticing story line - excpt it ended very abruptly. I would call this a very polishing albiet an unfinished game, but worth a look and I very much hope for a sequel to wrap up the captivating story. Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    3
    I'm honestly not sure that other people are reviewing the same game I am. The one comment that seems fit is that the graphics in this gameI'm honestly not sure that other people are reviewing the same game I am. The one comment that seems fit is that the graphics in this game are akin to that in "Beneath a Steal Sky". In other words, horrible even for 10 years ago. Made by a single developer, this game comes across as the type of thing one would find in a developer's portfolio for a job interview, not a released game. The voice acting is stilted and not evocative in any way. To it's credit, the story is somewhat interesting and there is some humor in it. The best news is that there is a demo freely available from the distributor's website. I strongly advise anyone thinking of buying this game to download it and try it out. If you like what you see in the demo, it's probably worth the money. Myself, I could not get past the horrible graphics. Full Review »