Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Mar 2, 2011
    100
    Gemini Rue is equal parts tense, thoughtful, and surprising; it's the single best, most compelling adventure game I've played in years.
  2. Feb 24, 2011
    95
    If you're an adventure game fan or simply like the themes, setting, and story presented, you owe it to yourself to look into Gemini Rue!
  3. Mar 1, 2011
    94
    Gemini Rue is a brilliant lesson. It shows that the genre has room to keep growing and innovating, and at the same time it is an homage to classic games made by someone who feels a deep passion for this world.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    90
    Despite some minor glitches, Gemini Rue delivers one of the best point and click adventures of recent years. We wanted to play this since the end of Beneath A Steel Sky. Now the wait is over.
  5. Apr 1, 2011
    90
    Having done all the writing, animation and programming himself, Gemini Rue took Josh Nuernberger a total of three years to make-the same amount of time it takes some triple-A titles to hit the shelves. If only more triple-A games turned out this well.
  6. Mar 4, 2011
    90
    Something more reminiscent of a gripping, page-turning bestseller than what adventure gaming has come to represent.
  7. Nov 16, 2011
    88
    With its charming atmosphere and its great storytelling, there is no doubt that Gemini Rue is one of the most elegant point-and-click adventures of the year, probably the flagship in the Wadjeteye Games' portfolio and one of the best games made with Adventure Game Studio.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 50
  2. Negative: 3 out of 50
  1. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    Like me other reviewrs here - as well as I - have found this game excentric and interesting. In exceptionally good way.

    It's a
    Like me other reviewrs here - as well as I - have found this game excentric and interesting. In exceptionally good way.

    It's a point-and-click game, looking quite much like "Blade Runner" (PC) which also is a good point-n-click game. The style of the game with the noir-dripping atmosphere is really appealing as well as the conversation choices you'r given.

    After a 4-5 hours of playing the game I might say that the "puzzles" can be quite hard nuts to crack. But still, it's sooo rewarding getting back to the game the next day, with a new perspective of the problem which might just solve it. Great satisfaction.

    Some minor problems (which aren't that big) is that it can be quite hard to find what objects that actually are interactable. You really have to let your mouse pass over all things that stick out just the smallest. This is somewhat neutralized by the games "smallness". There aren't any vast areas to traverse which limits your problem-focused area. Which is good.

    One other thing I noticed is the voice-acting. It sometimes feels/sounds like its recorded by "amateurs". Now do not missunderstand me. It IS good, it just sounds like it was recorded at my place. With a basic mic and not in some expensive studio featuring famous-voice-acter-1 and famous-voice-acter-2.

    I would HIGHLY recommend this game for those who like games with substance.
    Yeah. You know what I mean.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    An excellent retro-graphic adventure with many added enhancements- wounderrfully atmsophere, intriguing world and equally enticing story lineAn excellent retro-graphic adventure with many added enhancements- wounderrfully atmsophere, intriguing world and equally enticing story line - excpt it ended very abruptly. I would call this a very polishing albiet an unfinished game, but worth a look and I very much hope for a sequel to wrap up the captivating story. Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    3
    I'm honestly not sure that other people are reviewing the same game I am. The one comment that seems fit is that the graphics in this gameI'm honestly not sure that other people are reviewing the same game I am. The one comment that seems fit is that the graphics in this game are akin to that in "Beneath a Steal Sky". In other words, horrible even for 10 years ago. Made by a single developer, this game comes across as the type of thing one would find in a developer's portfolio for a job interview, not a released game. The voice acting is stilted and not evocative in any way. To it's credit, the story is somewhat interesting and there is some humor in it. The best news is that there is a demo freely available from the distributor's website. I strongly advise anyone thinking of buying this game to download it and try it out. If you like what you see in the demo, it's probably worth the money. Myself, I could not get past the horrible graphics. Full Review »