Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    38
    Lost highlights are ever-the-same clashes of enormous fleet formations, during which tactical orders are either ignored or negated by mistakes in AI behavior. Lots of shortcomings as well as a number of bugs add to the frustration.
  2. 40
    As much as I love playing a good RTS game, this isn't one of them. Too many things hold it back from being enjoyable and standing out in a crowd.
  3. Jun 14, 2012
    40
    Unfortunately, I spent most of my experience with the title cursing in frustration at all the bugs, or wishing I was doing something -- anything -- other than sitting in front of my PC, watching ships move with the haste of a geriatric. With enough patches it could be a perfectly serviceable RTS, if not a particularly fun one.
  4. May 28, 2012
    59
    You end up waiting an age for some action. [July 2012, p.90]
  5. Sep 16, 2012
    60
    A solid enough effort, but pacing issues and a sense of obsolescence leave it firmly in 'if you like that sort of thing' camp. [Sept 2012, p.63]
  6. Dec 28, 2012
    50
    Overall a bad game. No pleasure at all in playing it even if you're a huge fan of space RTS.
  7. May 29, 2012
    65
    There's still a bit of extra polish needed, not to mention, well, the rest of the game. If you like story and want to take yourself through the tale of the Gemini sector, then by all means give this game a go.
  8. Jun 4, 2012
    65
    Gemini Wars sadly offers only a singleplayer campaign. A multiplayer or even a skirmish mode is nowhere to be seen. Players who love RTS-games with a nice story will however enjoy Gemini Wars.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    0
    Well I'm glad I got this at a discount. I was disappointed in the whole game. Yes it was very buggy, the ships moved like snails in frozen molasses in wintertime. Combat was tedious, Capital ships were not capital ships. I had more use from the frigates than I did from the destroyers. The destroyers had only 40 hit points more than a frigate, wow, with the destroyers only doing 2-4 points of damage per shot it's gonna take a while to kill stuff. With the ships moving so slow? Oh wow. If you like sitting in front of your computer for hours watching ships move off and attack on there own, or attack after they are given a Move order. I wish I could get my money back. This game isn't going to stay on my system for long. Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    Gemini Wars reminds me of these old school RTS games that had a (real) storyline and objectives, combined with strategic missions.
    I just
    finished the campaign, and I must say that I'm eagerly waiting for the skirmish mode. Acording to the devs, it's going to be released soon as free DLC. Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2013
    2
    Do yourself a favor and skip this one. I truly regret that I spent my hard-earned money on it. It's just bad, poor options menu, clunky and aggravating interface and camera controls. Every once in a while I buy a game and wish I could return it, this is one of those times. Full Review »