Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gemini Wars is a Real Time Strategy Game set in space, featuring an epic campaign controlling fleets of ships in massive battles.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    65
    Gemini Wars sadly offers only a singleplayer campaign. A multiplayer or even a skirmish mode is nowhere to be seen. Players who love RTS-games with a nice story will however enjoy Gemini Wars.
  2. May 29, 2012
    65
    There's still a bit of extra polish needed, not to mention, well, the rest of the game. If you like story and want to take yourself through the tale of the Gemini sector, then by all means give this game a go.
  3. Sep 16, 2012
    60
    A solid enough effort, but pacing issues and a sense of obsolescence leave it firmly in 'if you like that sort of thing' camp. [Sept 2012, p.63]
  4. Dec 28, 2012
    50
    Overall a bad game. No pleasure at all in playing it even if you're a huge fan of space RTS.
  5. 40
    As much as I love playing a good RTS game, this isn't one of them. Too many things hold it back from being enjoyable and standing out in a crowd.
  6. Jun 14, 2012
    40
    Unfortunately, I spent most of my experience with the title cursing in frustration at all the bugs, or wishing I was doing something -- anything -- other than sitting in front of my PC, watching ships move with the haste of a geriatric. With enough patches it could be a perfectly serviceable RTS, if not a particularly fun one.
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    38
    Lost highlights are ever-the-same clashes of enormous fleet formations, during which tactical orders are either ignored or negated by mistakes in AI behavior. Lots of shortcomings as well as a number of bugs add to the frustration.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This guys are the Spartans of rts games, only 3 guys made a game that usually another team of 50 or more and bigger budget would have made. All others should be ashamed, I hope seeing more from these guys! Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Awesome game. The gameplay is solid. The graphics are good. The storyline is very compelling if not a little predictable. The voice acting is adequate. The only criticism I could offer is that I wish that the GUI was a little more friendly. Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    Excellent game. Love the campaign and the story going along with it. I just with the characters' motivations could be a bit more explored and explained. Skirmish could have more modes too. Other than that, it's a fun and entertaining title. Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    I didn't know about this game until a few days ago. After checking out a few gameplay videos and trailers I decided to give it a go. It was a very nice surprise. It could have a bit more strategic depth, but it's a great game nonetheless. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    7
    Got this game on sale, it was a great finding (never heard about it before).
    It has a couple of minor glitches, but I'm finding it very
    entertaining so far. Played a couple of missions on skirmish before to get the feel of it, and only then did I start the campaign.
    The first campaign missions begin a bit slowly, but then everything goes up, including the scale of combat.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    5
    While the Steam release brings multiplayer and skirmishing, it feels like a patch job rather than an improvement. The campaign is just as good as it was, but skirmish, at least, is painful. Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2013
    0
    Bought the game for 20$. Began to play, went through the 2 tutorials. Started a skirmish game to get the feel of things.
    First off the
    navigational controls are the worst I have ever seen in 25 years of gaming, well almost the worst. The zoom in and panning constantly freezes and one must constantly click on other functions to unfreeze the nav.- and no it's nothing PC or software related, the game system I am on is a god system with literally the latest of everything 12k rig.
    Ok so the 2nd game breaker is that the speed has only 2 settings, default and 4x. Well the default is much too fast for anyone wanting to do an strategy whasoever, sorry I'm not a teenie bopper joystick jockey.
    So after 1.5 hours trying scoping it out, I have concluded it's not worth further perusing. Deleted from Steam and this is the last I'll think about it. The rest of the game seems interesting, sadly I never got that far. I highly recommend not buying from this Indie until they get the basics figured out, like fundamental navigation for a 4x space game that actually works.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews