User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 100
  2. Negative: 10 out of 100

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2010
    3
    Kinda cheap on the publisher to not have multiplayer in the PC release. It is a cool game otherwise, funny plot, good graphics, and great voice acting from the kings of ghostbusting themselves. That is, if your computer can actually play the game. If you visit the official forums you will see horror stories of gamers that have never been able to get past the loading screen because it will crash their rig, among other things. Worst of all is that there is no support for the PC game as a patch hasn't been released yet, and this game is nearly a year and a half old. With these kinds of gameblocking bugs and no show of support from the publisher or devs, one can only say that this game is nothing but a bargain bin item. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This is what a real action adventure is all about.. you can get yourself immerse in the story easily due to the excellent production in graphics, sounds, effects, animations, life like scenario/buildings, movie like story direction, incredible creative ghosts and weapons, kinetix ai, etc.. Intensive care was given to make it feel like a funny - trilling - mystical experience and with an awesome replay value. I would also say that the game was made for 2012 computers (when the movie is supposed to be released), because It kind of gets slow in my 2008 - 24inch iMac.. And this was with low level detail settings.
    When I purchase my next upgrade I will definitely play it again with high detail.

    Also It took me a little bit to get hooked when I played it the first time, but Its worth it.
    Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2011
    6
    Well, to be all honest, I'll choose the original movie over the pc game... Don't get me wrong the game isn't that bad, but there are downsides.... >>>1st: the controls are 'sticky' and it's not easy to control the character. Running seems difficult because you just can't turn quick enough. Also, you can't custom set mouse buttons for 'Jump', etc... >>>2nd: I think having it in 1st person view instead of 3rd person view would have fit this game better. When it's in 3rd person you have to see yourself and it blocks the view, it's an unnecessary obstruction, and 3rd person decreases performance since the PC has to render the character data along with everything else.... >>>3rd: The game is a bit heavy on my hardware and it made my 9600 GT vCard too hot and caused a shutdown, so far just one time it happened. However, overall performance plays and appears OK (avg 42fps).. OVERALL it's a neat and fun game, but just not one of my favorites.. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2012
    8
    Let me start off by saying that I like the Ghostbusters. I'm not a Ghostbusters nut, but I grew up with the movies. This game is really a lot of fun if you like the Ghostbusters. The voice-acting is obviously amazing as the whole cast (pretty much) shows up for the game, and if you're a fan of well done dialogue and story -driven gameplay; then you'll probably enjoy this game. The only hurdles for me were the controls were a little tough to master, but that was mostly remedied by the wireless xbox controller (which I found to be waaay easier than mouse/keyboard in this case). The ghost catching, while well done and authentic, does get a bit repetitive after a while. The graphics are a plus as well; art style is good, and the characters are immediately recognizable (a failing in another franchise title). I even found myself sitting around in the Ghostbusters firehouse listening to the phone calls that come in. I enjoyed this game quite a bit. Collapse
  5. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    Despite a slightly clunky interface and gameplay the thing that makes this game shine is the plot and dialogue backed up by some good graphics. I honestly think this is about as close as I have ever felt to being in a well loved film franchise. The dialogue initially started a little ropey but the cast soon settle in and you get to roam through some classic Ghostbusters scenarios which all build to a fantastic ending. One fault, the cherubs. I have no idea what the hell they were thinking. Purely on the immersion though. 10/10 for me. Bravo. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    Surprisingly good but far from perfect. There are no issues with the game mechanics and the actual act of catching a ghost in a trap is fun, challenging and appropriate to the movies. Weirdly the problem lies in the linear content which rarely points you in the right direction, locks you in place and has some rather rum dialogue choices.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    6
    I want so badly to love this game. On the surface it has everything going for it. The credits read like they were ripped directly from the original film. The plot and dialogue are funny with plenty of great one-liners throughout (especially by Bill Murray). The weapons are punchy and fun to use. Music and sound effects are top-notch. Plenty of fun secrets to find. BUT... It's the god-awful REPETITION that wounds this game and drags its rating down. Zap and trap ghosts, run around reviving your completely worthless companions, rinse and repeat until a cinematic plays. After you clear your first few rooms of ghosts you'll quickly find yourself wishing you could just skip ahead to the SIGH... Expand
  8. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    There are a few nifty innovations in gameplay, at least for a game based off a movie, and having most of the original cast involved in its development doesn't hurt either; however, this only helps save the game from being totally average.

    If possible, I recommend buying a boxed copy of the game if you can get it cheap, it'll allow you to setup a shortcut to lower the game's process
    priority saving you the trouble of manually doing it each time before a game starts. Expand
  9. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    From the perspective of a video game, the interface is clunky at best and the rinse repeat of catching x amount of ghosts and moving to the next area can get old quickly.

    From the fan's perspective, this game is a dream come true. Do I care about the above? Not in the slightest. In between fighting ghosts you are listening to the well written, well voiced acting of all the major
    characters involved in the movies. The one-liners are fantastic. Fighting said ghosts is an absolute blast, and the included damage meter really shows how destructive fighting ghosts can be. There are escort missions, iconic boss fights, dimensional travel, etc, ie: all the stuff you would expect being a paranormal investigator. The graphics are fantastic and the control scheme works for what it is. This game is a far cry than its predecessor on the NES. Must buy for any real Ghostbuster fan. This is essentially Ghostbusters 3, and will bring a smile to your face. Expand
  10. Apr 25, 2012
    6
    I absolutely loved the Ghostbusters movies when I were younger, and I still think they hold up pretty good. My personal opinion is that even though the game is quite good, and is written and voiced by some of the original actors, it's not as good as the movies. But with it's own, original story it's not too bad either. If you're a fan - GO! If not you can just as well let this game slide.
  11. Jan 22, 2013
    6
    The gameplay is great- wrangling ghosts and shooting particle beams is fun, but it gets old after some time. That, and the fact that the same music from the movie is rehashed on every level (it's fun the first three times or so, but then you get tired of it) are the only downsides. The voice acting is good, the humor is pretty solid, and it's definitely an all-around ghostbusters experience.
  12. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    i wasn't expecting much since games off movies are terrible. but this one was pretty good. its a 3rd person shooter type gameplay but instead of guns, you will use some type of suction device to get ghosts. interesting and new form of gameplay. you play as a new recruit, a rookie. and you follow the other members or the ghostbuster crew to capture ghosts terrorizing the city.
  13. Jan 26, 2012
    0
    Let me start off by saying that I like the Ghostbusters. I'm not a Ghostbusters nut, but I grew up with the movies. This game is really a lot of fun if you like the Ghostbusters. The voice-acting is obviously amazing as the whole cast (pretty much) shows up for the game, and if you're a fan of well done dialogue and story -driven gameplay; then you'll probably enjoy this game. The only hurdles for me were the controls were a little tough to master, but that was mostly remedied by the wireless xbox controller (which I found to be waaay easier than mouse/keyboard in this case). The ghost catching, while well done and authentic, does get a bit repetitive after a while. The graphics are a plus as well; art style is good, and the characters are immediately recognizable (a failing in another franchise title). I even found myself sitting around in the Ghostbusters firehouse listening to the phone calls that come in. I enjoyed this game quite a bit. Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Ghostbusters: The Video Game largely accomplishes what it set out to do by telling a humorous tale and bringing fans back into the fold on the franchise's 25th anniversary.
  2. There are some flaws, including the lack of a local co-op mode, however there is just so much that was done right that you can't help but have a blast. It may not be everything you ever wanted out of a Ghostbusters game, but it's as close as you're going to get to perfection at this point.
  3. 76
    I felt that the game's ending was a bit flat and the romantic interest was forced, but Ghostbusters was fun -- too bad you don't get the multiplayer action the home consoles do.