Ghostbusters: The Video Game PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 118
  2. Negative: 11 out of 118
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DevinS.
    Jun 19, 2009
    8
    Excellent game play .. very fun and a sure win for any ghost busters fan .. graphics are wonderful story line enjoyable and video clips are of outstanding. However... there is no multiplayer so no ghost busting co-op with friends and the story line is very linear. still worth a good play through everyone should enjoy this game.
  2. TobyD.
    Jun 19, 2009
    8
    You'll notice that the word 'fun' is used a lot in reviews of this game, and for good reason: they nailed that part. From the hilarious writing (the cut scene with the TV toward the end killed me), to the voices, to all the details and destruction you unleash upon it all...WOW. Definitely worth the wait. The bad points are so overshadowed by the good ones, they're You'll notice that the word 'fun' is used a lot in reviews of this game, and for good reason: they nailed that part. From the hilarious writing (the cut scene with the TV toward the end killed me), to the voices, to all the details and destruction you unleash upon it all...WOW. Definitely worth the wait. The bad points are so overshadowed by the good ones, they're almost not worth mentioning. But I will. ;) The ending felt rather hasty...or rough. Or rushed? Not sure. Something felt off, at the very least. Venkman's "love interest", Ilyssa Selwyn was utterly superfluous and her voice actress (Alyssa Milano, I believe) was uninspiring and felt out place. At least some sections of the game (sewers of the Lost Island, and large swaths of the Central Park Graveyard) were verging on being mind-numbingly uneventful. Again, thankfully, these things are relatively minor in the face of all that went right in a product from an industry where these things almost universally go south. Oh, and one additional thing I feel the need to bring up... These people who are marking the game down for not including the multiplayer of the console? Get over it. They didn't have the funds to get multiplayer going on the PC (so I read in an interview). Given the circumstances, they should be PRAISED for doing the right thing and bringing the price down instead of shafting us. Expand
  3. JohnT.
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    THose who loved the movie or cartoon in the 80's will find this game to be absolutely fantastic. If you are unfamiliar with the show in general it may not be your thing. The gameplay fantastic and the recreation and immersiveness is beyond anything I expected. This was well worth the wait.
  4. WilliamR.
    Jun 20, 2009
    0
    It is a travesty and an insult to PC gamers everywhere that Atari and Terminal Reality would release a PC version of this game that does not support multiplayer, while they do support it on every other current gen system. It is a slap in the face and as a PC, PS3 and Wii owner, I will not be buying this game on ANY of the platforms, and I will be thinking long and hard before purchasing It is a travesty and an insult to PC gamers everywhere that Atari and Terminal Reality would release a PC version of this game that does not support multiplayer, while they do support it on every other current gen system. It is a slap in the face and as a PC, PS3 and Wii owner, I will not be buying this game on ANY of the platforms, and I will be thinking long and hard before purchasing any other games from Atari or TR. Expand
  5. Rad
    Jun 18, 2009
    4
    For whatever it does right, PC gamers interested in Ghostbusters: The Video Game, got shafted. The multiplayer co-op that is in every other version of Ghostbusters [PS3, XBox, etc...] is disabled in this game. What's more? Game distributor Atari did not announce this change at all. They had advertised multiplayer co-op for months as a feature, and no one found out about the lack of For whatever it does right, PC gamers interested in Ghostbusters: The Video Game, got shafted. The multiplayer co-op that is in every other version of Ghostbusters [PS3, XBox, etc...] is disabled in this game. What's more? Game distributor Atari did not announce this change at all. They had advertised multiplayer co-op for months as a feature, and no one found out about the lack of it in the PC version until the game shipped. Though Atari lowered the price of the PC version, presumably as a form of compensation, they ultimately caused thousands of fans to cancel their pre-orders of the game. Atari's lack of warning on this issue assures an even greater wrath of fans worldwide and, of course, damning grades to Ghostbusters: The Video Game, regardless of its single-player virtues. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2010
    3
    Kinda cheap on the publisher to not have multiplayer in the PC release. It is a cool game otherwise, funny plot, good graphics, and great voice acting from the kings of ghostbusting themselves. That is, if your computer can actually play the game. If you visit the official forums you will see horror stories of gamers that have never been able to get past the loading screen because it willKinda cheap on the publisher to not have multiplayer in the PC release. It is a cool game otherwise, funny plot, good graphics, and great voice acting from the kings of ghostbusting themselves. That is, if your computer can actually play the game. If you visit the official forums you will see horror stories of gamers that have never been able to get past the loading screen because it will crash their rig, among other things. Worst of all is that there is no support for the PC game as a patch hasn't been released yet, and this game is nearly a year and a half old. With these kinds of gameblocking bugs and no show of support from the publisher or devs, one can only say that this game is nothing but a bargain bin item. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2013
    6
    The gameplay is great- wrangling ghosts and shooting particle beams is fun, but it gets old after some time. That, and the fact that the same music from the movie is rehashed on every level (it's fun the first three times or so, but then you get tired of it) are the only downsides. The voice acting is good, the humor is pretty solid, and it's definitely an all-around ghostbusters experience.
  8. EricB.
    Jun 20, 2009
    5
    Terrible gameplay, repetitive and simplistic. Good graphics and ok sound don't help the bad story, bad humor and boring experience. If you're a die hard GB fan, go ahead, but I never really was that big of a fan.. not enough to warrant this tragedy.
  9. DavidO
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Great game and great game play. Really had a a lot of fun playing the game from start to finish. Worth every penny
  10. Benoit
    Jun 18, 2009
    8
    The game became a great way to get back in time. I loved the original soundtrack, the complet team, the spirit of Ghostbuster is in there for sure! But the game isn't anought deep. Whit the googd time i'll give a 8/10 anyway.
  11. TimB
    Jun 21, 2009
    9
    I am really enjoying playing Ghostbusters. The game starts slow IMO but the story is top notch and the graphics and physics make for some great action.The trapping ghosts and flinging objects around is awesome. lots of upgrades and gadgets, the "hot and cold" PKA meater works well to help the player through the levels. Probably the best movie game of all time, the one to break the mold.
  12. AnonymousMC
    Jun 20, 2009
    9
    Although i think multiplayer should be implemented, at least in the future if anything. This game stays true to the movies and as a big fan i am very satisfied with the experience. It's like a Ghosbusters 2.5. So awesome, and great job Atari on not ruining a movie to videogame, game.
  13. MkkeKelley
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    As a long time fan of the movie who even wrote his own Comodor 64 (Basic) version of the movie this game entertained me on all levels. Many have decried the lack of multiplayer or co-op mode on PC. I didn't mind at all. I thought it was well scripted, well animatedm abd the gameplay flowed smoothly. I'm just grateful it was released for the PC at all since I won't go near aAs a long time fan of the movie who even wrote his own Comodor 64 (Basic) version of the movie this game entertained me on all levels. Many have decried the lack of multiplayer or co-op mode on PC. I didn't mind at all. I thought it was well scripted, well animatedm abd the gameplay flowed smoothly. I'm just grateful it was released for the PC at all since I won't go near a console. Expand
  14. DeborahB
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    My husband, two boys, and myself have found this to be terrific from the voices of the real actors, to the graphics, storyline, its just refreshing that a video game, got EVERYONE, I mean every actor, together from the Ghostbuster's movies, to do a game like this. The graphics, for a first time run game, and only 1 or two bugs.... terrific game for all!!!
  15. jamie
    Sep 5, 2009
    5
    Ghostbusters LOOKS like a great game. But I'll never know - because it keeps crashing to desktop. At first it wouldn't run at at all past the intro screen without lowering the resolution to 800x600. Then it would run until I tried to exit the first room - when it crashed again. After reloading I got past that, then the first time I tried to use my gun - crashed again with gun Ghostbusters LOOKS like a great game. But I'll never know - because it keeps crashing to desktop. At first it wouldn't run at at all past the intro screen without lowering the resolution to 800x600. Then it would run until I tried to exit the first room - when it crashed again. After reloading I got past that, then the first time I tried to use my gun - crashed again with gun sound looping. I'm really disappointed, as I'm old enough to have seen GB when it first came out, and I really liked the look of this game - but as it is, it's unplayable. Note that I don't have a top-of-the-line system, but it IS decent, 4 gig ram, XP SP3, dual core e6650, 250gb sata drive, ati hd3850. My setup handles every other game out there so I'm pretty sure it's the game that's the problem. Very poor quality control, as MANY other users have complained about glitches too. Even a five is generous because until it's patched it's unplayable. Expand
  16. [anonymous]
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    Anyone Who hates this game is stupid and must not be allowed to comment on any other game ever again. Ghostbusters Rock hard!
  17. MarkL.
    Jun 17, 2009
    5
    The graphics and game play is really great, but the lack of ANY multi-player or downloadable content is ridiculous. On top of those major deficits, you are required to have an active internet connection to activate the game initially. So in short, don't get the PC port of this game and stick to the console versions. The price cut does not out-weigh its lack of multi-player The graphics and game play is really great, but the lack of ANY multi-player or downloadable content is ridiculous. On top of those major deficits, you are required to have an active internet connection to activate the game initially. So in short, don't get the PC port of this game and stick to the console versions. The price cut does not out-weigh its lack of multi-player functionality or downloadable content. Collapse
  18. HectorM
    Jun 19, 2009
    9
    This game is a champ in my book. As soon as I finished it, I was ready to play it all over again. The pacing is beautiful -- plenty of action, but enough down time between battles to explore and appreciate the levels, which I feel are some of the most amazingly crafted and well polished in any game to date. Visual and audio effects are spot-on in every detail, and music, although somewhat This game is a champ in my book. As soon as I finished it, I was ready to play it all over again. The pacing is beautiful -- plenty of action, but enough down time between battles to explore and appreciate the levels, which I feel are some of the most amazingly crafted and well polished in any game to date. Visual and audio effects are spot-on in every detail, and music, although somewhat repetitive, is very well implemented. Naturally, most of the music comes right out of the original soundtrack, but if you listen closely I believe there are a few new arrangements in there to keep things from getting too stale. Best of all, the writing is solid and very much consistent with the spirit of the movies such that this could easily have been Ghostbusters 3 -- something Dan Akroyd and Harold Ramis were actually hoping to achieve in this game according to press releases. Granted, the story is designed in such a way that you get to "relive" a lot of the classic moments from the original films, so there may be some degree of creativity lacking, but on the other hand I think it's perfectly legitimate since that's what most fans of Ghostbusters have been craving since 1984. As for the comedic value of the writing, the style of humor may not be to everyone's taste (i.e., if you didn't find the original movies funny then don't expect to be blown away here either), but personally I found myself laughing out loud on more than one ocassion at some of the dialogue/one-liners, paricularly from Bill Murray. Kudos especially to all members of the cast for the exceptional voice acting -- I was very pleased to discover that time has not faded their ability to bring these beloved characters back to life. Even though in reality the actors are all much older, suprisingly, you can't really detect that too much in the sound of their voices. To my ears they all still sounded very much youthful. Combine that with rest of the presentation of this game, and it just adds to that illusion that absolutely no time has passed between the end of the last film and now. It's amazing actually how playing this game can make you feel like you've gone into some kind of time warp -- the continuity between the movies and this game is damn near seamless. To sum up -- this is a fantastic game and a must buy for any die-hard Ghostbusters fan. If you're like me and all you've ever wanted to do since you saw the first movie was strap on a Proton Pack and kick some serious ghost butt, then this game will surely not disappoint you (just make sure you've got the system specs to handle it!). Expand
  19. CareyD.
    Jun 20, 2009
    7
    The single player career was obviously the focus of this game. It seems as though multiplayer was an afterthought. The single player plays like a movie which is great. It takes you right back in time and is true to the world that was created. The upgrades and new technology are fun to get but almost too easily spoon fed to you. A little more freedom such as a spoke and hub type of system The single player career was obviously the focus of this game. It seems as though multiplayer was an afterthought. The single player plays like a movie which is great. It takes you right back in time and is true to the world that was created. The upgrades and new technology are fun to get but almost too easily spoon fed to you. A little more freedom such as a spoke and hub type of system would have added much more interesting gameplay and challenge much like the NES version. I really wish that we could experience this world with 3 other friends cooperatively. The only multiplayer mode I found interesting was the survival mode. The other modes are just ok. Really the multiplayer is a pretty big disappointment to me. Overall, the single player makes this game worth the money. I guess we can hope for updates and downloadable content? Ok, perhaps we better pray. Expand
  20. DanielS.
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    What it lacks is Multilayer, but it makes up for it an an amazing story Line. Probably One of if not the best 3rd person game i have ever played.
  21. Aaron
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    Face it, its an old classic reborn, and the game with its first run, it terrific for all us older players! Improvements sure, but can not be perfect in the first launch now can we, or where could the game build to. Great storyline, terrific REAL voices of all original Ghostbuster's!! This game is fun as heck and only one like it and very fun!
  22. firunfrozen
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    Very good Game for Ghostbuster Fan's. The Grafic is good and the Sound fantastic, the hole Game is like a Movie with very funny parts.
  23. PatrickB
    Dec 31, 2009
    8
    Very good game, but it is a little bit short
  24. DerekW.
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    It's fun, amazing graphics.. gameplay and plot.. interesting how it takes place 5 yrs later after Ghostbusters 2. I wish it was a little longer and i wish we had mutiplayer and i wish we had the grey jumpsuits :( but get it! It's FUN! Bust some ghosts.. if you roam the headquarters check everything u'd be surprised what u find.. i found an ghostbusters code inside the It's fun, amazing graphics.. gameplay and plot.. interesting how it takes place 5 yrs later after Ghostbusters 2. I wish it was a little longer and i wish we had mutiplayer and i wish we had the grey jumpsuits :( but get it! It's FUN! Bust some ghosts.. if you roam the headquarters check everything u'd be surprised what u find.. i found an ghostbusters code inside the files.. there has to be a way to unlock the suits via codes.. they are in pc version codes.. dunno how to enable it. Expand
  25. StudleyH
    Jun 18, 2009
    5
    BEWARE: THE PC VERSION DOES NOT HAVE CO-OP. Don't know why they dropped it for PC but they did. Rent it for your console instead. Game is a blast with friends.
  26. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This is what a real action adventure is all about.. you can get yourself immerse in the story easily due to the excellent production in graphics, sounds, effects, animations, life like scenario/buildings, movie like story direction, incredible creative ghosts and weapons, kinetix ai, etc.. Intensive care was given to make it feel like a funny - trilling - mystical experience and with anThis is what a real action adventure is all about.. you can get yourself immerse in the story easily due to the excellent production in graphics, sounds, effects, animations, life like scenario/buildings, movie like story direction, incredible creative ghosts and weapons, kinetix ai, etc.. Intensive care was given to make it feel like a funny - trilling - mystical experience and with an awesome replay value. I would also say that the game was made for 2012 computers (when the movie is supposed to be released), because It kind of gets slow in my 2008 - 24inch iMac.. And this was with low level detail settings.
    When I purchase my next upgrade I will definitely play it again with high detail.

    Also It took me a little bit to get hooked when I played it the first time, but Its worth it.
    Expand
  27. Jun 26, 2011
    6
    Well, to be all honest, I'll choose the original movie over the pc game... Don't get me wrong the game isn't that bad, but there are downsides.... >>>1st: the controls are 'sticky' and it's not easy to control the character. Running seems difficult because you just can't turn quick enough. Also, you can't custom set mouse buttons for 'Jump', etc... >>>2nd: I think having it in 1st personWell, to be all honest, I'll choose the original movie over the pc game... Don't get me wrong the game isn't that bad, but there are downsides.... >>>1st: the controls are 'sticky' and it's not easy to control the character. Running seems difficult because you just can't turn quick enough. Also, you can't custom set mouse buttons for 'Jump', etc... >>>2nd: I think having it in 1st person view instead of 3rd person view would have fit this game better. When it's in 3rd person you have to see yourself and it blocks the view, it's an unnecessary obstruction, and 3rd person decreases performance since the PC has to render the character data along with everything else.... >>>3rd: The game is a bit heavy on my hardware and it made my 9600 GT vCard too hot and caused a shutdown, so far just one time it happened. However, overall performance plays and appears OK (avg 42fps).. OVERALL it's a neat and fun game, but just not one of my favorites.. Expand
  28. Jan 26, 2012
    8
    Let me start off by saying that I like the Ghostbusters. I'm not a Ghostbusters nut, but I grew up with the movies. This game is really a lot of fun if you like the Ghostbusters. The voice-acting is obviously amazing as the whole cast (pretty much) shows up for the game, and if you're a fan of well done dialogue and story -driven gameplay; then you'll probably enjoy this game. The onlyLet me start off by saying that I like the Ghostbusters. I'm not a Ghostbusters nut, but I grew up with the movies. This game is really a lot of fun if you like the Ghostbusters. The voice-acting is obviously amazing as the whole cast (pretty much) shows up for the game, and if you're a fan of well done dialogue and story -driven gameplay; then you'll probably enjoy this game. The only hurdles for me were the controls were a little tough to master, but that was mostly remedied by the wireless xbox controller (which I found to be waaay easier than mouse/keyboard in this case). The ghost catching, while well done and authentic, does get a bit repetitive after a while. The graphics are a plus as well; art style is good, and the characters are immediately recognizable (a failing in another franchise title). I even found myself sitting around in the Ghostbusters firehouse listening to the phone calls that come in. I enjoyed this game quite a bit. Expand
  29. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    Despite a slightly clunky interface and gameplay the thing that makes this game shine is the plot and dialogue backed up by some good graphics. I honestly think this is about as close as I have ever felt to being in a well loved film franchise. The dialogue initially started a little ropey but the cast soon settle in and you get to roam through some classic Ghostbusters scenarios which allDespite a slightly clunky interface and gameplay the thing that makes this game shine is the plot and dialogue backed up by some good graphics. I honestly think this is about as close as I have ever felt to being in a well loved film franchise. The dialogue initially started a little ropey but the cast soon settle in and you get to roam through some classic Ghostbusters scenarios which all build to a fantastic ending. One fault, the cherubs. I have no idea what the hell they were thinking. Purely on the immersion though. 10/10 for me. Bravo. Expand
  30. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    Surprisingly good but far from perfect. There are no issues with the game mechanics and the actual act of catching a ghost in a trap is fun, challenging and appropriate to the movies. Weirdly the problem lies in the linear content which rarely points you in the right direction, locks you in place and has some rather rum dialogue choices.
  31. Jan 26, 2012
    6
    I want so badly to love this game. On the surface it has everything going for it. The credits read like they were ripped directly from the original film. The plot and dialogue are funny with plenty of great one-liners throughout (especially by Bill Murray). The weapons are punchy and fun to use. Music and sound effects are top-notch. Plenty of fun secrets to find. BUT... It's theI want so badly to love this game. On the surface it has everything going for it. The credits read like they were ripped directly from the original film. The plot and dialogue are funny with plenty of great one-liners throughout (especially by Bill Murray). The weapons are punchy and fun to use. Music and sound effects are top-notch. Plenty of fun secrets to find. BUT... It's the god-awful REPETITION that wounds this game and drags its rating down. Zap and trap ghosts, run around reviving your completely worthless companions, rinse and repeat until a cinematic plays. After you clear your first few rooms of ghosts you'll quickly find yourself wishing you could just skip ahead to the SIGH... Expand
  32. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    There are a few nifty innovations in gameplay, at least for a game based off a movie, and having most of the original cast involved in its development doesn't hurt either; however, this only helps save the game from being totally average.

    If possible, I recommend buying a boxed copy of the game if you can get it cheap, it'll allow you to setup a shortcut to lower the game's process
    There are a few nifty innovations in gameplay, at least for a game based off a movie, and having most of the original cast involved in its development doesn't hurt either; however, this only helps save the game from being totally average.

    If possible, I recommend buying a boxed copy of the game if you can get it cheap, it'll allow you to setup a shortcut to lower the game's process priority saving you the trouble of manually doing it each time before a game starts.
    Expand
  33. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    From the perspective of a video game, the interface is clunky at best and the rinse repeat of catching x amount of ghosts and moving to the next area can get old quickly.

    From the fan's perspective, this game is a dream come true. Do I care about the above? Not in the slightest. In between fighting ghosts you are listening to the well written, well voiced acting of all the major
    From the perspective of a video game, the interface is clunky at best and the rinse repeat of catching x amount of ghosts and moving to the next area can get old quickly.

    From the fan's perspective, this game is a dream come true. Do I care about the above? Not in the slightest. In between fighting ghosts you are listening to the well written, well voiced acting of all the major characters involved in the movies. The one-liners are fantastic. Fighting said ghosts is an absolute blast, and the included damage meter really shows how destructive fighting ghosts can be. There are escort missions, iconic boss fights, dimensional travel, etc, ie: all the stuff you would expect being a paranormal investigator. The graphics are fantastic and the control scheme works for what it is. This game is a far cry than its predecessor on the NES. Must buy for any real Ghostbuster fan. This is essentially Ghostbusters 3, and will bring a smile to your face.
    Expand
  34. Apr 25, 2012
    6
    I absolutely loved the Ghostbusters movies when I were younger, and I still think they hold up pretty good. My personal opinion is that even though the game is quite good, and is written and voiced by some of the original actors, it's not as good as the movies. But with it's own, original story it's not too bad either. If you're a fan - GO! If not you can just as well let this game slide.
  35. Oct 30, 2014
    10
    This is the 3rd movie you always wanted and it is a blast.
    We will never see the guys in another film now Harold Ramis has passed away RIP so this game is a treat since he does the voice work in this game.
  36. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    i wasn't expecting much since games off movies are terrible. but this one was pretty good. its a 3rd person shooter type gameplay but instead of guns, you will use some type of suction device to get ghosts. interesting and new form of gameplay. you play as a new recruit, a rookie. and you follow the other members or the ghostbuster crew to capture ghosts terrorizing the city.
  37. Nov 24, 2014
    7
    I had fairly low expectations for this game. I picked it up on sale for £2 to give it a go because I adore the films. Upon getting a few hours in I have found myself to be extremely surprised by just how good the game is.

    Graphically it looks lovely (for a 2009 game, at least), and runs smoothly without any issues. The sound, music and voice acting is spot on (all main cast members do
    I had fairly low expectations for this game. I picked it up on sale for £2 to give it a go because I adore the films. Upon getting a few hours in I have found myself to be extremely surprised by just how good the game is.

    Graphically it looks lovely (for a 2009 game, at least), and runs smoothly without any issues. The sound, music and voice acting is spot on (all main cast members do the voice overs). It "feels" exactly like you are in a Ghostbusters film. The characters chat and joke with eachother and the humour from the films is here in abundance. The sound of zapping ghosts with your proton pack is pure joy.

    You take on the role of a "rookie" Ghostbuster, recruited to help the team. A lot of locations from the original film show up in the game, which are great fun to visit. The combat is refreshingly fun and different.

    Although the multiplayer is sadly missing from the PC version (I was very bummed out by this), I can safely say this game is good - great if you are a fan of the films. For the money I paid, it is WELL worth it. If you fancy a bit of Ghostbusters nostalgia - this is the game to play.

    Jimbo Rating: 7/10
    Expand
  38. Mar 16, 2015
    9
    ‘Are you the key-master?’ It took me almost twenty years to realize that this is a reference to a penis. Alright, Ghostbusters: The Game! But before I say anything more, I must admit that ‘Ghostbusters: The Movie’ is probably my favorite movie of all time. The first one, not the second one…let’s not get crazy here. I must have seen that movie over 100 times by now, and I’ll gladly sit down‘Are you the key-master?’ It took me almost twenty years to realize that this is a reference to a penis. Alright, Ghostbusters: The Game! But before I say anything more, I must admit that ‘Ghostbusters: The Movie’ is probably my favorite movie of all time. The first one, not the second one…let’s not get crazy here. I must have seen that movie over 100 times by now, and I’ll gladly sit down to watch it sometime in the near future, possibly even after I finish this review. Back off man, I’m a scientist. So needless to say, I’m a really big fan. Anyway, this isn't the first Ghostbusters game to have been made, and if you've played the ones for Nintendo, you’ll know that they aren't very good. They’re pretty terrible actually. So when I first picked this one up, I had pretty low expectations, especially since Atari released it.

    Now I have no idea who wrote the story for this game but it’s extremely well done, and playing through it is like watching an entirely new version of the original Ghostbusters movie. It’s all there, just re-arranged and updated to be shown through the eyes of you, a new hire for the Ghostbusters being put through the ringer his first day on the job. It’s wonderful. The cast signed on to do the voices (brand new dialogue with lots of references to classic lines from the movie), t he unforgettable music is present throughout, and there are tons of recognizable landmarks and characters such as the library, old firehouse, Stay Puft Marshmallow Man, Slimer, Walter Peck, etc.

    As for the gameplay, it’s pretty much what you’d expect from a polished, third person AAA title. The controls are fluid and work well, catching ghosts is fun and sometimes difficult, and the camera is perfect. Characters can heal one another after they've fallen, so you don’t die too often, and regular cut-scenes and change in environments are plentiful so you won’t get bored very easily. You really can’t go wrong with the gameplay here if you even remotely like games in the third person perspective. So all-in-all if you’re a big fan of the Ghostbusters movies, then I’d easily recommend playing through this game for the story alone. It truly is worth it…alright, who brought the dog?
    Expand
  39. Apr 6, 2015
    10
    Ghostbuster fans rejoice! We finally got an awesome game!

    This game is considered to be the third Ghostbusters movie since it takes place after the 2nd movie and has a good plot, and the return of some favourite ghosts and some ghosts who were mentioned in the movie like the Sloar but never seen in the movie. You play as a nameless rookie, right of the bat this is awesome because it
    Ghostbuster fans rejoice! We finally got an awesome game!

    This game is considered to be the third Ghostbusters movie since it takes place after the 2nd movie and has a good plot, and the return of some favourite ghosts and some ghosts who were mentioned in the movie like the Sloar but never seen in the movie.

    You play as a nameless rookie, right of the bat this is awesome because it makes you feel like a Ghostbuster, the rest of the group all call you rookie which is a nice touch, this would have been a fantastic opportunity to create your own character like in Saints row or the Sims, however you can't do that, plus the game should have been in first person and you never saw your character, this would make it feel like YOU WERE the new Ghostbuster, not playing AS the new Ghostbuster, but overall I enjoy playing as "Rookie" but I would have loved either character customization or a first person view.

    All the cast is back, Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis and Ernie Hudson all return to their roles and haven't changed a bit, all 4 are funny and just as memorable as they were in the movies and all the chatter in-between them felt like I was really there listening to them.

    All the ghosts are creative, and all of them are fun to take down with your Proton pack, speaking of which your Proton pack has 4 firing modes, but I'm not telling you what they are, why? Because you need to buy this game to find out yourself.

    The attention to detail in this game is amazing, the damage you leave on the walls with your Proton packs, crows flapping in the distance, all the small artifacts you can find in the levels and the best is exploring the Ghostbuster's HQ, trust me I love looking around in the HQ, it might be small but it's amazing. Plus the graphics are really good.

    This game is short and has no CO-OP or multiplayer, which I don't mind because this game already packs a lot of content with secrets, upgrades, the attention to detail, the ghosts, the cast and more!

    This game is a love letter to all Ghostbuster fans, if you enjoy the movies, there's no reason to say no to this game.
    Expand
  40. Nov 2, 2015
    10
    just coll the game in move very like this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i love ghostbusters 4evaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Ghostbusters: The Video Game largely accomplishes what it set out to do by telling a humorous tale and bringing fans back into the fold on the franchise's 25th anniversary.
  2. There are some flaws, including the lack of a local co-op mode, however there is just so much that was done right that you can't help but have a blast. It may not be everything you ever wanted out of a Ghostbusters game, but it's as close as you're going to get to perfection at this point.
  3. 76
    I felt that the game's ending was a bit flat and the romantic interest was forced, but Ghostbusters was fun -- too bad you don't get the multiplayer action the home consoles do.