Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    90
    Twisted Dreams is the ultimate mash up between modern game design and old school platformer. The common usage of power-ups is left behind when everything is unlocked from the very beginning. Instead it's your way of playing that has to evolve in sync with the gradually higher difficulty on later levels.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    90
    In the here and now,Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams is not only the best-looking platformer, gameplay-wise it's also one of the best of its kind. It's a modern game in the best of senses, and it's cheap, coming at a price tag that is hugely allowance-compatible. Fans of platforming: If you don't buy this, what the hell do you want?
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    89
    Giana Sisters may seem to be an ordinary brightly coloured platformer, but behind the beautiful surroundings there is a devilishly difficult old-school game, that takes nothing for granted. [Dec 2012]
  4. Nov 11, 2012
    85
    Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams is an excellent platformer with an original twist. Being able to switch between a 'good' and 'bad' version of the game's world make for challenging puzzles and a test of your in-game dexterity. The amazing soundtrack and visuals complete the package and provide it with a great atmosphere. We just wish it was a bit longer.
  5. Nov 4, 2012
    85
    It might not satisfy the needs of action gamers, but for those who appreciate a classic style platformer with plenty of challenge and responsive controls in the vein of Donkey Kong Country and Genesis-era Sonic the Hedgehog, it's an essential purchase, with plenty of history attached and an ironic twist of fate by breaking new ground with Steam Greenlight and Kickstarter.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    83
    With an incredible level design and a wonderful graphic, Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams is one of the great examples for the indie industry; maybe one of the most difficult platform games of recent years.
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    82
    Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams is a hardcore platformer made with love, but with some flaws. It isn't perfect, but it worth the price.
  8. Dec 14, 2012
    80
    If you find contemporary platformers too difficult, with Giana Sisters you are going to change your opinion, regardless of the game's unlimited number of lives. Giana Sisters is, despite its higher difficulty level, an interestingly designed and entertaining platform game, counting on your precise coordination and the ability to quickly change between the heroines and their worlds.
  9. 80
    Conventional platformer offers smart playability and charming visuals. What has begun as Mario-copycat back in 80ties is now the perfect example of a successful Kickstarter title. [Dec 2012]
  10. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    It is a very entertaining platformer but it's missing the genius of a Super Mario Galaxy or the sheer craziness of a Rayman: Origins. But what's there is definitely enough for a spot in the hall of fame of the best revivals.
  11. Oct 29, 2012
    80
    Pure old school. Giana Sisters it is a great platforming game with all the charm of the classics 2D adventures.
  12. Oct 27, 2012
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    Giana stopped copying Mario and found its own, charming, and successful identity, all the while remaining in the old-school platforming genre. Caution: the game is hard and unforgiving.
  14. May 7, 2013
    75
    Twisted Dreams is as old school as it gets. It’s also long and offers some additional modes for really hardcore gamers who should like Black Forest’s platformer. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.73]
  15. Dec 3, 2012
    75
    So there you have it: a sequel 25 years in the making that was crowd funded and released digitally for $15. Well played, Black Forest (no pun intended).
  16. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    Twisted Dreams brings back an unlikely product of a derivative time and gives it unique life. It's a positive early argument for Kickstarter revivals and while it still works in known quantities, it provides a hellishly difficult and sweet platformer that finally provides a non-ironic reason to enjoy the Giana Sisters.
  17. Nov 10, 2012
    70
    Though it slightly misses that mark, this is still one adventurous journey that is worth the few bumps along the road.
  18. Oct 23, 2012
    70
    Despite being a little rough around the edges, this is a true sequel to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Giana Sisters series. It's fun, it's fresh and it's so much more than a Super Mario clone.
  19. Feb 1, 2013
    63
    Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams may provide a few hours of polished puzzle-platforming, but don't be surprised if you ultimately end up estranged.[March 2013, p.65]
  20. Dec 6, 2012
    60
    It's a good homage to old genre favourites, but it clearly can't compete against the greatest platform games published in recent years.
  21. Jan 19, 2013
    40
    Fans of the Giana Sisters likely Kickstarted this game, thus earning a copy of it in the process. However, for those who don't already own a copy, there's no way that I can recommend it without it weighing on my conscience. Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams is simply not worth the time.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    A new star is born in the platformer genre with great gameplay,visuals and level design.The controls are great with a gamepad. The soundtrack is awesome, it took me some minutes to be comfortable with the music switch, but at the end it's so great. It's been a while I haven't seen a platformer of this quality on PC, and the price is very low.
    The first levels are very easy, but the difficulty grows rapidly. I played the 2 first world so far with 2 awesome boss fights.
    More you progress in the game better and longer the levels are.
    The game has nothing to do anymore with the original mario clone I played when I was young on amiga, it's fresh and innovativ
    I want more of those kind of games,really great job.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    So many indie platformers out there.. which ony to play first? This one! Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams is an extremely challenging but also very forgiving platformer with a twist. Whenever you want it to, the game changes its music from a bright and sunny world into a dark place with demons for example instead of owls. It does not only affect the graphics and the soundtrack (which changes from retro-ish music by Chris Hülsbeck (the guy who created the music for the original Giana Sisters game in the 80s) to a faster (sometimes) metal-like soundtrack by Machinae Supremacy) but also it does affect the whole gameplay. Normal plants change into spikes or castle gates open to let you advance through the level. And sometimes even secrets are revealed by transforming the world. The level design is astonishingly good. Rich of detail (like really rich, most detailed game I have seen in a long time), cool puzzles, fast-paced (if you want to go for a speed run (or Time Attack mode), cool new game mechanics added every two levels or so... it just never gets boring and the levels get better and better and more varied as you progress but also harder and harder.

    Your characters can jump on top of enemies to kill them (the classic way) or you simply dash into them by pressing a button. Another button let's you twirl which makes you stay in the air for a longer time so you can precisely land on enemies or overcome obstacles.

    You will also collect gems throughout all the levels. After the first five levels there is a boss fight which is pretty tough but the checkpoint save system of the game is really fair. But after a level you will always get a rating. To unlock a boss level you will need an average of three stars per level.
    You can get up to five stars in every level: Three for collecting gems, two for not dying a lot.
    So even if you die 100 times in a level but collect around 85% of the gems you will still get three stars, pretty fair. But if you want 5 stars you must not die more than three (upcoming patch on 10/30/2012 changes this to five) times.

    Why should you want more than three stars? Well, if want to unlock Hardcore mode (only one life per level) you will need four stars in the boss level(s). But other than that it's only for achievements I guess.

    Other than that it only lacks a real story. There's around the same amount of story as in Super Meat Boy.. so .. not much. But the game really does not need it. Why 9 ouf of 10 and not 10 out of 10? Sometimes the game gets a little bit frustrating so it can happen that you die like 20 in the same level segment. But still, there are checkpoints and the devs promised more checkpoints and removing unfair placed enemies in a patch coming next week.

    The customer support by Black Forest Games is amazing. So far they answered every single question I had, every tweet I made, and I have not seen a single suggestion thread on the forums that has not been commented by a developer. Fantastic work. Also I heard of a free DLC coming... okay, screw it, the game and the company just deseverd another 10/10 user review.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    Overall I'm incredibly satisfied with this game from the money spent. I'm very happy with the gameplay and it has good quality controls. The switch gimmick is visually really cool, I'm sure some people will get sick of it but I thought it was always interesting to see, everything changes, even little designs in the background. The difficulty is harder than I originally thought, and it takes a good amount of time to get through it. From the hours of gameplay I've had, it was money well spent. Full Review »