Global Agenda PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 350 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 350

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IliaG
    Feb 1, 2010
    4
    I was pretty excited at first, but it looks like yet another disappointment. As a MMOFPS it seem to have both fps and rpg elements below average. Character customization is rudimentary. Combat fails to be exciting. Various mission objectives are too much alike. Maps are very plain. GUI is very raw and unfinished. I have not tried PvE aspect, so can't comment on that. Oh and of course I was pretty excited at first, but it looks like yet another disappointment. As a MMOFPS it seem to have both fps and rpg elements below average. Character customization is rudimentary. Combat fails to be exciting. Various mission objectives are too much alike. Maps are very plain. GUI is very raw and unfinished. I have not tried PvE aspect, so can't comment on that. Oh and of course HiRez is following the latest trend of releasing a game without basic features like friend list, voice comms test, private matches, character upgrades, channel and guild management, but with "innovative" subscription model. On that note: having tried AvA in beta I am totally underwhelmed and can't really see why would anyone pay 15$/months for it. Overall it is not terrible, but kinda pale and unexciting all around. I guess I expected a sci-fi version of GuildWars, and instead got MW2 without adrenaline filled combat. Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    0
    Don't even bother. On top of the fact that I did not like this game for what it was advertised (It is not an MMO, more like a third person Team Fortress 2), the developers have abandoned it. The last patch was September 30th 2011. Very few people play it as well anymore.
  3. JohnD
    Feb 2, 2010
    8
    A fun action-mmo-shooter with sound mechanics and class balance. Content is a little sparse as of release, but the game is fun regardless. While subscription to the MMO section is optional and not for everyone, don't let that stop you from trying the basic game which is (in this reviewers opinion) the best part of the game.
  4. Philip
    Feb 8, 2010
    2
    The short: This game offers very little content for your money and is also extremely unpolished. I saw its potential, but the game has yet to deliver on any level. The Long: This game is a 3rd-person shooter, not an MMO RPG--do not let the advertisements mislead you. There are essentially only 5 maps for PVP, about 6 for PVE, and 3 for AVA. All of these maps are terribly constructed, The short: This game offers very little content for your money and is also extremely unpolished. I saw its potential, but the game has yet to deliver on any level. The Long: This game is a 3rd-person shooter, not an MMO RPG--do not let the advertisements mislead you. There are essentially only 5 maps for PVP, about 6 for PVE, and 3 for AVA. All of these maps are terribly constructed, redundant, look horrible, and run even worse unless you have a decent computer. Voice communication is unreliable in the game; you'll experience random crashes for no reason; and the user interface is shoddy and unfriendly. At the time I'm writing this, classes are horribly imbalanced--groups of medics can stay alive almost indefinitely. Additionally, the class skill trees are very poorly constructed and mostly offer lackluster boosts to your abilities. These ingredients result in very little customization, and the game has already adopted cookie cutter builds that seem to work better than others. Also, personal heroics mean very little in this game, so individuals who like to run into groups and try to gun them all down are going to be sorely disappointed. And what's more, the most destructive tactics in the game take nearly no skill to execute--sentries, extremely high damage AoE poison, grenades, and robo drones come to mind. The monthly fee content consists of 3 maps that are laid out exactly the same that you will be playing indefinitely. These are constructed just as poorly as the rest of the game. Couple this redundancy with the fact that you need a large Alliance in order to hold a presence on the PVP maps, and that the game presently favors 'zerg' rushing over player skill (including personal skill) and you have a very unrewarding game to play that is most definitely not worth your $10-15 a month. Expand
  5. mooman
    Feb 9, 2010
    9
    This game is pretty much tf2 with a twist of jetpacks, grenades and other offhand abilities such as healing waves or poisen waves etc. Another hint of tribes kicks in when you're doing the AVA, alliance vs alliance, in the global pvp base where agencies test their abilities against each other for territory. The pvp pve base of this game is also a great feature to hold upon. Although This game is pretty much tf2 with a twist of jetpacks, grenades and other offhand abilities such as healing waves or poisen waves etc. Another hint of tribes kicks in when you're doing the AVA, alliance vs alliance, in the global pvp base where agencies test their abilities against each other for territory. The pvp pve base of this game is also a great feature to hold upon. Although it says that it is an MMORPG, but it is MUCH different from any other "mmo" i have ever played. Much like diablo 2, the players are put into seperate games hosted by the company, no hosting required. This game is a must have for any players who like leveling up as well as skill based games. I've been waiting for an MMOFPS for a long time and it was finally delivered. Nice job Hi-Rez. Expand
  6. C.L
    Feb 9, 2010
    2
    A lower-than-average game. PvE (Player versus environment) has the most repetitive gameplay in GA and has the most poorly designed AI I have ever seen in a PC game. Fight against some enemies, fight the occasional mini-boss, fight the main boss which has the intelligence of a yoghurt pot. I'm not over exaggerating, the AI is completely f****** dumb and barely challenging. The only A lower-than-average game. PvE (Player versus environment) has the most repetitive gameplay in GA and has the most poorly designed AI I have ever seen in a PC game. Fight against some enemies, fight the occasional mini-boss, fight the main boss which has the intelligence of a yoghurt pot. I'm not over exaggerating, the AI is completely f****** dumb and barely challenging. The only challenge is staying alive as the boss shoots the floor and wonders around aimlessly. PvP is also very repetitive. There are 4 game-modes, 3 of which require either standing on a point to capture it or pushing the cart (Like in TF2) to the point. This game fails to include the bare basics of any FPS - Capture the flag (Not CTR), Death Match, team death match and so on. Classes are poorly designed. Medic, Robotics (Think of the engineer from Tf2), Assault (Heavy from TF2), and Recon (A Spy - Sniper from TF2). Medics rely on assaults, assaults rely on medics, medics rely on robotics and robotics rely on Assaults. Recon is literally useless unless you sacrifice the sniper abilities for some bombs which are pitiful at destroying robotic emplacements. AvA, or, conquest as it's called is purely exclusive PvP. It is solely take and hold with some maps that aren't available in regular PvP. Hi-Rez are going to charge monthly JUST for this. Yeah, as if I'm going to pay 20 USD a month to play on 3 maps with the same game mode over and over. After level 19, the useful unlocks have been unlocked; after that there's nothing to look forward to other than the next skill point or some new armour / helmet. Oh by the way, the armour and helmets don't affect you in any way other than changing what you look like. I hate how underdeveloped this game is, over half of the in-game shops are closed as the ideas were scrapped and the content removed. Don't listen to the other reviews! This game is only fun for the first 20 levels of each of the 4 classes, after that it WILL get boring and will seem to be a waste of money and time. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  7. JonathonR
    Feb 17, 2010
    2
    This game is just not good on any level. No world to explore. No loot to find. It's a poor shooter, it's a poor mmo. The muched hyped agency vs agency (clan vs clan) is nothing more than 4 different PvP capture point maps and a 2D hex map to keep track. Don't waste your money.
  8. Niklas
    Feb 19, 2010
    3
    Cant see how they market this game as a mmo. As someone said above, its a fps with a small 3D lobby with a few shops (that doesnt really sell anything of value). Played this game for 1 week, got bored after 3 days because the extreme lack of content. The pve part is very shallow and you runt through those maps in perhaps 10 min. The pvp part is fun for the first few days as you level up Cant see how they market this game as a mmo. As someone said above, its a fps with a small 3D lobby with a few shops (that doesnt really sell anything of value). Played this game for 1 week, got bored after 3 days because the extreme lack of content. The pve part is very shallow and you runt through those maps in perhaps 10 min. The pvp part is fun for the first few days as you level up and gain new abilities but after about half the levels you stop getting new abilities and "talent points". Overall the game feels very unfinished, far from a full price game and more like a budget 50% off game. And on top of that , they want you to pay a subscription för £10 a month to play the main parts (where even paying the initial cost seems to much for what you get). Anyway, lets hope they release some patches with more maps/game modes (atleast something) or this game will crash n burn soon. Expand
  9. MorganB
    Feb 24, 2010
    3
    The game just feels like it was released a year too early. The concept is ok, and the game is fun for a few hours but rapidly becomes fairly repetetive. It has a fairly low skill ceiling as an FPS and being completely unrewarding as a MMO. Plus do not be fooled by any tags on Steam or elsewhere suggesting it is an RPG. It is not in any traditional sense.Even the level progression and loot The game just feels like it was released a year too early. The concept is ok, and the game is fun for a few hours but rapidly becomes fairly repetetive. It has a fairly low skill ceiling as an FPS and being completely unrewarding as a MMO. Plus do not be fooled by any tags on Steam or elsewhere suggesting it is an RPG. It is not in any traditional sense.Even the level progression and loot unlocking is fairly weak as you can max out quickly and there is no content reward for doing so. The nearest comparison would be an FPS like Counter Strike with the RPG mod. And to make matters worse the standard PvP game only lets you form teams of 4 even though its 10v10. So unless you want to become fairly devoted and do AvA you are left with a fairly forgetable experience that just feels half done. In the end, it just lost any "fun" factor after a few hours. Its a stocking filler. A 10 dollar pickup game. If this game is remembered in 5 years, it will be for all the wrong reasons. Expand
  10. JamesB
    Mar 16, 2010
    5
    This game is absolutely mediocre. The graphics aesthetics are excellent, and the game looks great in the screenshots. However, in terms of gameplay mechanics, it falls short on too many fronts for it to deserve anything higher than a 5. I wish I could get a refund because this was a waste of my $50.
  11. IanB.
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    TF2, Tribes, and BF splashed together with excellent community functionality, in a persistent, player driven world. The gameplay alone is enough to buy GA, although the MMO atmosphere gives the matches worth beyond "Oh, I won." 4 classes, Assault, Robotics, Recon, and Medic. Each class has 2 or more skill trees. Medic, for example, can be combat oriented - lol battle medic - although TF2, Tribes, and BF splashed together with excellent community functionality, in a persistent, player driven world. The gameplay alone is enough to buy GA, although the MMO atmosphere gives the matches worth beyond "Oh, I won." 4 classes, Assault, Robotics, Recon, and Medic. Each class has 2 or more skill trees. Medic, for example, can be combat oriented - lol battle medic - although surprisingly they're not at all useless. A great arsenal of poisons and different grenades make sure he is never defenseless. The standard heal gun works like that of TF2, although it can be swapped out for one that group heals (but obviously less at a time). Heal grenades are great for a big cluster team boost. Assault, I haven't played much of yet. Works alot in the way a heavy does in TF2, but is not limited to a minigun. Alot of explosives with this class as well. Robotics I spent most of my time on. You can throw down bots for quick helpers when taking a point, or build a turret for defense. One of the more useful specs is his shields, which only your team can shoot through, for excellent cover. Recon, I did not spend much time on either, although it can be described as a "ninja" class. Very fast, and can cloak for a period of time. The two main specs are sniper and melee. Both are equally useful and effective. Alliance vs Alliance mechanics are great for large scale wars. Territories start out as Commonwealth (the NPC faction) controlled, and can be attacked by other alliances only during a certain time of day. Territories reset at their own times, and you have to retake them from the commonwealth if you've dominated them unchallenged for a month or so. Defenses among other things are customizable for strategic defensive advantages. Coop is -very- fun. It's like those instances in WoW, except you rely on your skill, instead of a level 80 escort. Various bosses and mini bosses, mobs that take thinking to beat, give the coop feature more substance beyond grinding for economic benefits. Agency (guild) headquarters, I haven't seen yet, although one can assume the obvious advantage of having your own place to hang out. Dome cities and social areas are all but functional for their purpose, though they can get slightly laggy with a lot of people. Luckily, these are instanced to keep the population down. That's about as much as I can say, this being an early review and all. I was in closed beta, although I didn't end up playing much more than one or two testing periods (buggy). Hope someone out there finds this useful since there are hardly any other reviews out there for GA on the net just yet. WORTH THE 50$. Expand
  12. ThomasN.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    For $50 you get incredible and engaging online multiplayer gameplay, and for a monthly fee you get an awesome strategy game where your ground forces are your teammates. Global Agenda has realized the online gaming experience I and my friends have sought after for years, and has proven to us all that any shooter is best played with jetpacks.
  13. ChrisB
    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    This is the best time I have had playing a multiplayer shooter since Tribes. I like the newer UT games (2003,2004 and III) and this has that solid combat feel since it's using the same engine. The PvE levels are a good co-op time, short and sweet. And I kept playing for 'just a couple more levels' in order to level. It will take some time to explore all the classes and see This is the best time I have had playing a multiplayer shooter since Tribes. I like the newer UT games (2003,2004 and III) and this has that solid combat feel since it's using the same engine. The PvE levels are a good co-op time, short and sweet. And I kept playing for 'just a couple more levels' in order to level. It will take some time to explore all the classes and see how long it takes to get th higher levels. I haven't subscribed to the territory control yet, but when my skills and level get up there it's something to look forward to. I've been waiting for a persistent world FPS for a looong time... people keep promising it and failing to deliver. With Global Agenda it looks like it has finally arrived!! Expand
  14. PatrickJ
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    Based on Gameplay alone, I would give this game a 9. HiRez has focused on delivering a genuinely fun, thoughtful, and addictive game. Most MMOs out there rely on boring gameplay with obsessive reward cycles to make the game worthwhile. -- I can honestly say that with Global Agenda, the reverse is true. The game is fun on its own merits. Though somewhat shy in content, what is here is Based on Gameplay alone, I would give this game a 9. HiRez has focused on delivering a genuinely fun, thoughtful, and addictive game. Most MMOs out there rely on boring gameplay with obsessive reward cycles to make the game worthwhile. -- I can honestly say that with Global Agenda, the reverse is true. The game is fun on its own merits. Though somewhat shy in content, what is here is polished to a mirror shine. The graphics are stylish without being overbearing, and the animation is top quality. The reason why I am willing to give this game a ten, however, is because of the commitment I've seen on the part of HiRez. They are not a publishing company, they are not run by businessmen. They are an independent studio that loves their game, and has had an excellent dialog with their playerbase throughout all phases of beta. HiRez has already promised many additions to the gameplay- and I do not see those as empty promises. Expand
  15. IsaacSi
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Global Agenda beautifully combines Third Person Shooter action with many of the aspects that are known and loved in the MMO world. From crafting and character customization to fast-paced shooter action, Global Agenda has everything an online shooter fan could ask for in a good game.
  16. BrianW
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    Well polished, well balanced game, released with a respectable amount of content and more has already been confirmed for the following few months.
  17. ShawnR
    Feb 2, 2010
    8
    Fast paced TPS with some RPG elements and a persistent world. It has a lot of promise and so far is holding up. The smaller strike team sizes also help alleviate problems with "zerging". HR has done a great job with this.
  18. PatrickL
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    Launch day was a little rocky But after the bugs got worked out the game is playing smoothly and the queues are short so you do not have to look for party before you go into the matches. I have been looking for a planetside replacement since the BFG's were introduced. Huxley will never come out and this game will give people a good FPS to play that is not run by the idiots at Sony or Launch day was a little rocky But after the bugs got worked out the game is playing smoothly and the queues are short so you do not have to look for party before you go into the matches. I have been looking for a planetside replacement since the BFG's were introduced. Huxley will never come out and this game will give people a good FPS to play that is not run by the idiots at Sony or Blizzard activision. Expand
  19. JensH
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    One of the most entertaining MMO's I have ever played. While most MMO's focus on grinding a character through the levels, and grinding away for loot, Global Agenda focuses on what all games should focus on. Being fun.
  20. JohnM
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Don't go in expecting the typical MMO; nor the typical shooter. Just play the game for an hour and then try to stop playing - Very difficult. I've had a great time levelling 2 different characters already. PvE is fun and PvP (if you have a team) beats anything out there.
  21. CameronB
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    A very good 3rd person shooter with very solid rpg and mmo elements. Extra AvA ( Alliance vs. Alliance) at 13.99 a month is well worth it looking at the content out right now. Good PvP and PvE elements without the monthly fee. In total this game is very fun and it has very good starting character balances. A+ in my book!!!!
  22. JasonM
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Global Agenda is the best high intensity team based game I've ever played. I thought I was getting tired of those types of games until I started laying GA and realized that I was just sick of the games, not the genre.
  23. A-Train
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Game rocks my face. Sure there are plenty of 3rd person shooters out there but innovative additions such as the jet pack, moveable turrets, cloaking devices and nukes add a refreshing element to a generally stale genre. The graphics are fresh and gameplay speed is quick and generally lagless. This game truly optimizes the Unreal engine. Good work Hi-Rez!
  24. Ahlgreenz
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Global Agenda gets a 9,5 from me, because it's an excellent mix between an MMORPG and an FPS. While some people might be mislead by the "MMO" stamp, it's as deep as you could expect an MMO of any kind to be. - No, there is not a great world you can run around and explore, but there are extremely high focus on PvP (yes, more PvP than WAR) and it just works great. This is an Global Agenda gets a 9,5 from me, because it's an excellent mix between an MMORPG and an FPS. While some people might be mislead by the "MMO" stamp, it's as deep as you could expect an MMO of any kind to be. - No, there is not a great world you can run around and explore, but there are extremely high focus on PvP (yes, more PvP than WAR) and it just works great. This is an excellent game, and especially when taken in mind, that it's Hi-Rez' debut title. Global Agenda is the game for any almost any MMO fan, who likes shooters of course. Expand
  25. JorgeR
    Feb 8, 2010
    10
    I have to say despite the rocky launch day, the Devs really pulled through with the promised conquest AvA mode up and running. You'll find some of the most enthralling and competitive yet friendly PvP in Global Agenda. Definitely recommend playing with friends and joining an agency and definitely recommend GA. Thanks HiRez! -RemiX
  26. JimmyJ
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    GA is a whole lot of fun. It's essentially Team Fortress 2 with a semi-persistent world. The classes seem to be very well balanced right off the bat, and while at first, 4 classes seems like a small amount, the skills you choose will make them play differently in a significant way. PvE is weak, but can make for a pleasant distraction from PvP (especially after a losing streak!). GA is a whole lot of fun. It's essentially Team Fortress 2 with a semi-persistent world. The classes seem to be very well balanced right off the bat, and while at first, 4 classes seems like a small amount, the skills you choose will make them play differently in a significant way. PvE is weak, but can make for a pleasant distraction from PvP (especially after a losing streak!). Those of you who enjoyed TF2 but wanted some sort of stats/tracking persistent setting will find a lot to like in GA. Expand
  27. DustinS
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    This is one of the most fun I have had in any MMO in years. There are no major bugs to deal with, everything promised is there and finished, and there is lots more content to come. Not only that, their support team is amazing. If you have any problem with anything, you will get a response in less than an hour and will be looked into until resolved. If you are looking for a game that This is one of the most fun I have had in any MMO in years. There are no major bugs to deal with, everything promised is there and finished, and there is lots more content to come. Not only that, their support team is amazing. If you have any problem with anything, you will get a response in less than an hour and will be looked into until resolved. If you are looking for a game that won't disappoint, Global Agenda is it. Expand
  28. gabh
    Feb 18, 2010
    8
    A fun shooter rolled with a mmo, ive enjoyed this game since the preorder beta. There are of course the expected bugs from time to time but otherwise, a stable and "shiny" game with plenty of replay value if you decide to pay the monthly AVA fee for the global combat system. DOWNSIDE- the fee for AVA (which they say isnt done yet) seems a bit much for the limited extra gameplay. Pve maps A fun shooter rolled with a mmo, ive enjoyed this game since the preorder beta. There are of course the expected bugs from time to time but otherwise, a stable and "shiny" game with plenty of replay value if you decide to pay the monthly AVA fee for the global combat system. DOWNSIDE- the fee for AVA (which they say isnt done yet) seems a bit much for the limited extra gameplay. Pve maps need more variety. UPSIDE- the appearance of your character or "epeen" has nothing to do with your gear, the armor that makes your guy look like a supersoldier isn't gonna save him if he sucks at twitch targeting. -skill, not time played decides who wins or loses. -well balanced classes. -built in voice chat helps (when it works). Expand
  29. MikeS
    Feb 19, 2010
    9
    This game has massive potential! It still is comming out of it's beta shell but when all the patches are up and the bugs are ironed out this will be up there with WoW and CoD4! Brilliantly mixes fast past point and aim combat with talents and "spells" to make a beautiful hybrid of enjoyment. Anyone who says this game is a failure or mediocre really need to get their head looked at. This game has massive potential! It still is comming out of it's beta shell but when all the patches are up and the bugs are ironed out this will be up there with WoW and CoD4! Brilliantly mixes fast past point and aim combat with talents and "spells" to make a beautiful hybrid of enjoyment. Anyone who says this game is a failure or mediocre really need to get their head looked at. Admitedly there are a few bugs in the game and a few missing areas but the content that is up and working and playable is absolutly amazing! They've done something that makes me want to come back over and over again to be better then my mates - that's for sure! Expand
  30. AlexW
    Feb 19, 2010
    9
    GA has a great balance to it. Combat is quick. The third person perspective feels fresh and works great. The graphics aren't groundbreaking but they get the job done. Every class has a different feel, and all of them feel capable of standing up to the others. Come for the great PvP, enjoy the PvE as it expands. Also, don't feel the need to subscribe if you don't want to GA has a great balance to it. Combat is quick. The third person perspective feels fresh and works great. The graphics aren't groundbreaking but they get the job done. Every class has a different feel, and all of them feel capable of standing up to the others. Come for the great PvP, enjoy the PvE as it expands. Also, don't feel the need to subscribe if you don't want to (worth the initial investment for the standalone game). Expand
  31. Dec 17, 2012
    0
    Hi-Rez abandoned this game in favor of working on Tribes:Ascend, which they in turn abandoned to work on SMITE, which will also probably get dropped for GA2. Everything about this game is at best average. Athough they advertise it as a MMO, everything is super instanced including the single hub town making it feel more like TF2 in space with a visual lobby. PvE content consists of tutorialHi-Rez abandoned this game in favor of working on Tribes:Ascend, which they in turn abandoned to work on SMITE, which will also probably get dropped for GA2. Everything about this game is at best average. Athough they advertise it as a MMO, everything is super instanced including the single hub town making it feel more like TF2 in space with a visual lobby. PvE content consists of tutorial zones, timed instances where higher difficulties yield better rewards for completion, and hourly raids which were survival against waves and then a boss. PvP matchmaking was really terrible and the gameplay was basically TF2 with less hats. No updates for over a year and then the devs sent out a survey email about a GA2, effectively killing the game. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    65
    Global Agenda is a good game, with some good ideas that may have been pushed harder by the development team to make it more than a simple hybrid. You will probably enjoy in the beginning and for some time, but the lack of original elements may lead you away from it quite soon.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    78
    In the world of Global Agenda it's your turn to help the agency to fight the regime of terror: unit with the thousands of other agents and defeat the enemy in various multiplayer battles. And as long as you keep playing the game in multiplayer-mode, it's quite entertaining – but nothing more.
  3. PC Zone UK
    65
    Uninspired levels. [Aug 2010, p.88]