Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Apr 11, 2014
    70
    Goat Simulator may be raw, unpolished and one-dimensional at the moment - and this may be enough for many people - but I can’t help but wonder “is this only the beginning for the little goat that could?”.
  2. Apr 11, 2014
    70
    The bugs and general lack of polish do have a negative effect on the game and the short playtime will have some questioning whether it’s worth the asking price. But if you are looking for a couple of hours of fun with a lot of laughs, you cant go wrong with Goat Simulator.
  3. 70
    In the future, the community could mod this to be a truly outstanding experience. And I sincerely hope the developers pitch in some new things as well. So, is it a game for everyone? Absolutely not. But if you're looking for something that's really, really out there, you'll enjoy this quite a bit, if only for a while.
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    70
    Exploring the world and causing trouble was really satisfying, but the appeal disappears as soon as you realise there is only one map. Hopefully Steam Workshop expands on the ideas here, otherwise it may not have much lasting appeal. A multiplayer mod is a must for the future of Goat Simulator.
  5. Eurogamer
    Mar 31, 2014
    70
    It's rough around the edges, and amuses only for a short but sweet time, which may lead some to look askance at the price tag. Yet there are plenty of games which cost more and entertain far less, so while Goat Simulator is a joke, it's at least one in which the player is a willing participant. No kidding.
  6. Games Master UK
    Jun 7, 2014
    66
    Definitely funny, just not quite for long enough to sustain you, and the surrounding game is uneven. [July 2014, p.65]
  7. Apr 3, 2014
    65
    We’ve had a good time with this goat and its bizarre physics and a longing for destruction, despite the countless bugs and scanty content. Lovers of goat simulators definitely should play Goat Simulator, because it’s the best one over made, without a doubt.
  8. Mar 31, 2014
    65
    As a joke, Goat Simulator excels in every single way. As a game, it lacks the content that would have turned it into something more. The games own developers even encourage players to wait for the game to go on sale and trust me, that is a recommendation that I wholeheartedly agree with.
  9. Apr 14, 2014
    60
    It might have started off as a joke, but the funny thing about Goat Simulator is that it’s a much better game than it has any right to be.
  10. Apr 4, 2014
    60
    The game allows for user-created mods, and downloading new levels and tweaks might give this kid some extra legs. But I suspect most players will have a few hours of fun and then file this game away as an occasional novelty to pull out when they’re especially bored, drunk or just need to give their goat a good thrashing. That’s not a euphemism. Probably.
  11. 60
    It's difficult to tell what will happen with Goat Simulator during the coming months. With the right fan-treatment, this could continue to entertain for a long time. As of now though, the content only lasts for a couple of hours before the joke feels old.
  12. Apr 2, 2014
    60
    Testo: There's no way you can escape his fury. This is the ultimate goat simulation game, but also the only goat simulation game.
  13. Does this game deserve a 10/10 because of its ingenuity, or should it be scored a 7/10 because it lacks modes and variation? Is it a 5/10 because it’s not really a game? Or is it a 0/10 because, really, who would pay good money just to run around as a digital goat? In the end, Coffee Stain Studios delivered what it promised, a ridiculous game featuring goats and explosions.
  14. Apr 2, 2014
    60
    Here’s the thing. I can sort of appreciate Goat Sim, but it leaves me a little cold. However, I showed it to some pre-teens, and they thought it was the greatest game they’d ever seen. Their sides still hurt from laughing.
  15. Apr 1, 2014
    60
    More like an elaborate joke than a real game, if you decide to play along with Goat Simulator, you will have a good time. However, it's not much than a fancy tech demo. In the end, Goat Simulator is funny because of the absurdity of the concept rather than because of the game mechanics.
  16. Mar 29, 2014
    60
    It's funny the first time, but there's just not much there beyond the one big goof.
  17. Apr 18, 2014
    55
    Goat Simulator is meant as a joke, and you can tell. It's hilarious, for an hour. When you've seen everything there won't be much to do and the bugs and controls will soon simply annoy instead of delight.
  18. Apr 7, 2014
    55
    Goat Simulator is mostly a big gaming joke, and we'd love to love it. But it needed to be free, or really cheap. With a 10 euros price tag, players can ask for more. As the creators of this UFO said earlier, "you should probably instead buy a hula hoop, a pile of bricks or a real goat".
  19. Apr 16, 2014
    50
    It’s worth a few laughs for the odd hour or two, and possibly more if you’re the kind to tinker with ragdoll physics and game mechanics to comic effect.
  20. Apr 14, 2014
    50
    Goat Simulator is a joke gone too far. It’s utterly broken and hilarious at the same time. Unfortunately the lack of content makes the experience shallow and even the biggest goat fanatic will lose interest after a few hours.
  21. Apr 3, 2014
    50
    Goat Simulator was born from a joke and is exactly that - a silly little game with tons of bugs - but the joke ends after 60 minutes of gameplay. I gave the game a middle grade, but it really has to get extremely cheap very soon. And if you seriously want to buy yourself a goat, maybe consider getting a real one.
  22. Apr 1, 2014
    50
    It’s not a particularly baaaad game, and it achieves what it sets out to do, but there’s not enough content there, nor hilarity outside of its initial gag, to keep you playing for more than an hour or so. It’s fun while it lasts, but it doesn’t last for long.
  23. Apr 1, 2014
    50
    I don’t completely regret playing Goat Simulator, but I also don’t recommend it to anyone looking for more than disposable entertainment involving goats making people fall down and blowing up gas stations. I appreciate that Coffee Stain Studios is in on the joke, but acknowledging a game is bad doesn't suddenly make it good.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 884 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 227
  1. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    This game has truly given me a deeper perspective of life. It has it all, a magnificent story that speaks straight to your heart, stunningThis game has truly given me a deeper perspective of life. It has it all, a magnificent story that speaks straight to your heart, stunning voice acting (baaaa), and a wide room for exploration. Full Review »
  2. Apr 1, 2014
    0
    This is the death of PC gaming. We could've stopped it. Our standards have become so low that we rate indie games that look like they've beenThis is the death of PC gaming. We could've stopped it. Our standards have become so low that we rate indie games that look like they've been made in an hour 1010. Stop for a second and think about the future of video games, please. Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    It's a neat idea, not fixing bugs and making a joke game like this. My problem is it's 10 **** dollars. 10 dollars? Really. for a joke game?It's a neat idea, not fixing bugs and making a joke game like this. My problem is it's 10 **** dollars. 10 dollars? Really. for a joke game? That's like paying $10 for a one-time hand buzzer, and shaking your own hand. If it were free, sure that makes sense, why not make a joke game and have tons of people buy it for free? The thing about this is, it's entertaining for about 20 minutes then you've done everything and it's just another un-touched icon on your desktop. What's worse is that just about EVERY youtube has made a video of this, and playing it doesn't give you any more satisfaction than watching the video does.
    No replay value
    No excitement to play
    No storyline
    This game is just a joke, and I KNOW that's the entire point, but there is no reason for this to cost money other than the designer's greed. $10 for a joke? No thanks.
    Full Review »