Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: God Mode is a humorous co-op third person shooter with non-linear gameplay, fast and frantic shooting, hordes of on-screen enemies, and stunning visuals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. May 7, 2013
    71
    God Mode is great mindless entertainment, until you start paying attention and are left wanting more...
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    70
    God Mode is the type of game that grows on you. The biggest complaint I have is a lack of variety, which is to be expected of a budget title. What Old School Games did include in this straightforward, arcade-centric shooter shows promise of a more fleshed-out project. There's also a hint of personality with a goofy narrator, but the execution isn't quite there.
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    God Mode is a likable run-of-the-mill effort that can offer a couple of enjoyable hours, but nothing more. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.64]
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    If you’re looking for a fun way to spend a few hours on the cheap, then God Mode is a decent investment. The gameplay is solid, and there are plenty of little extras to keep things fun and interesting—though the meager selection of maps means there’s a good chance the game will become stale after a few hours.
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    60
    At the end of the day, though, there are simply better games to spend one's time with than God Mode. Sure it's ten bucks, but for the same amount one could just wait for something like Left 4 Dead or Killing Floor to go on sale, and have a much more enjoyable experience.
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    50
    God Mode tries to find some kind of Painkiller gameplay, but it can't really make it. It is to much repetitive and limited. The whole experience would deserve some refinements... like changing this damn "standing still" sensation.
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    44
    The aesthetics of the game create an illusion of quality. God Mode, at its core, feels as cheap as the price tag might suggest. The one-note shooting can’t sustain the game through all five maps.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 48
  2. Negative: 8 out of 48
  1. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    This game is a whole lot of fun if you got a few pals to gang up with. I was skeptical when I bought it, but after the first round, I was hooked... And that's saying a lot since I'm not usually the shooter kind of gal. I don't think you could spend your $10 better anywhere else! Expand
  2. May 13, 2013
    10
    Great mindless killing fun. Very much worth the price. The different test of faiths keep it varied and interesting.
    Would be nice if you
    could customize your avatars appearance more though. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    It's perfect to one third person game, the graphics are not surprising however are not bad. The gameplay is not bad however could be better. The game is cool for co-op, the abilities that can be shared with friends, and upgrades. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    For $10 you certainly get your moneys worth. God Mode is a 4 person co-operative shooter made by a new developer, published by Atlus.

    Yes,
    THAT Atlus. The one who's product line consists purely of games that are BALLS HARD. Don't fret, though, the difficulty is rarely, if ever, cheap. The gameplay itself straddles the line between co-operative third person shooter and competitive third person shooter. Kill XP and gold are not shared between players, which pushes everyone to one-up eachother, yet enemies will flood the arenas making it nigh impossible for a single player to survive by themselves (Note: Single player is an exercise in frustration)

    Core gameplay consists of picking between one of five maps (three of which end in boss fights) Players move from one (gorgeous) arena to another mowing down hordes of undead roman/greek creatures. A unique feature of these arenas are the "Tests of Faith", basically each arena alters the rules slightly to modify the experience, e.g. one arena might give you the "Armored" test of faith which causes all damage to be shared between players, another will swap your current weapon out for a random one every 10 seconds (even if you haven't unlocked the weapon yet), or one that reduces everyones maximum health by half but gives everyone health regeneration. Sometimes you get completely silly ones like "Party" which gives all enemies party hats!

    The game includes a sizable portion of unlockables, giving it more than 10 USD worth of longevity. In game you earn XP and Gold, which are used to unlock new weapons, weapon upgrades and clothes respectively. If the game isn't challenging you enough, you can choose to activate "Oaths", which make the game harder in exchange for increased gold and XP gain (The higher level you are, the more you'll be needing to use Oaths if you want to see any significant progress towards advancement) An example of the oaths are "The Thief", which makes it so you do not have armor in game and cannot pick up armor, but you get a 15% increase to XP and 20% increase to gold, or the "Warrior" oath, which makes it so your Special Ability cannot be used for similar XP and gold gain increments.

    While that all may sound fine and dandy, this game DOES have some issues. If you do not have a very good connection expect to see other players lagging (NPC lag compensation works well enough though) Another issue, and perhaps my BIGGEST grievance, is that voice chat is ALWAYS enabled with no option to turn it off, either for you or any of the other player. You can disable your mic through your hardware settings, but nobody should have to do that. The final issue I have with the game is that it has a rather weak start. The two weapons and one special ability you start off with are nigh useless (The SMG has RIDICULOUS spread making hitting anything outside of point blank an exercise in futlity, the shotgun has too TIGHT a spread and reloads like a snail riding a turtle, and the Shield ability doesn't even do what it's namesake says) Fortunately, you can upgrade the SMG and Shotgun into uberweapons once you finish a few matches.

    Other than those three grievances, I would highly recommend this game to anyone who likes "Horde Mode" shooters with cooperative and competitive elements. For only $10, you get more than your moneys worth!
    Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    An arena based 3rd person shooter, player's take on the role of lost souls in the depths of the after life, fighting for the freedom of their spirits.

    Each stage players take on swarms of undead monsters as they fight for their after life. You'll collect XP and gold in order to upgrade your character.

    The game looks good and has native Xbox 360 controller out of the box. I feel it has limited game play, but even then it's hard to argue at the $10.00 USD price point.
    Expand
  6. May 31, 2013
    5
    Addition: I am going to leave the rest of the review as I originally wrote it, but I needed to add that Atlus has completely abandoned this game and the playerbase as of now. They have given absolutely no response to the community since Apr 26th, and players are extremely pissed and raising hell in the Steam forums.

    First of all, despite my rating and complaints, I am having a blast playing this game. However, a few simple things keep this game from being amazing regardless of its price. Most of all is the matchmaking system, the queue times get extremely tedious way too fast. Second is the completely ridiculous fact that you get booted from a match if/when your last partner decides to leave. This is ridiculous, happens way too often, and will be the reason I stop playing God Mode. That being said, the very simple gameplay winds up being extraordinarily fun, they added some really intuitive touches to the arena style matches that make them unique. I also really like the "Oaths" system that allows you to handicap yourself for greater potential reward. Overall, for a 10 dollar game, this game could be a 9/10 if it fixed the two major issues involving co-op matches and matchmaking queues. It is just too important and annoying in a 100% co-op style game like this. I would also like to see much more customization and equipment options. I am disappointed in the lack of selection. Even for 10 bucks, these things need to be addressed in order to be a worthy rated game.
    Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    0
    Boring, bland, poorly made multi-player only third person shooter.

    You and three other crappily designed characters wander around a small
    area that looks like it belongs more in one of Painkiller's many shovelware standalone expansions. You stand in place mostly, waiting for the same few enemies to pop up to be killed, then you get to move on and do the same.

    This isn't a $10 game. There's about 40 minutes worth of content and a surprisingly long list of bugs compared to that small amount of content. Overall I'd say asking anything more than $2.50 is ridiculous.
    Expand

See all 48 User Reviews