Gods Will Be Watching PC

Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Aug 4, 2014
    85
    This is a unique game, presented as a traditional point-'n'-click adventure title but more focused on strategy and planning instead of puzzle solving. If you push on and don't give up, you'll be rewarded -- just expect a few heartbreaking moments first.
  2. Jul 30, 2014
    85
    At the end of the day, Gods Will Be Watching is a title I’m sure to remember for some time for its many intense moments, but in the back of my mind, I’ll always ponder what could have been if they’d fully realized their ambitions.
  3. Jul 28, 2014
    85
    Gods will be watching is a personal and retro stylish graphic adventure. A minimalist survival game you either love or hate.
  4. Jul 28, 2014
    85
    It’s hard work to be a hero, Gods Will Be Watching reminds, and invites you to try to answer whether, given the challenges, you might not become a cold-hearted villain instead.
  5. Jul 24, 2014
    85
    A different and clever game, a minimalist survival game where you will feel the weight over responsibility over your actions. It´s a hard trip to swallow, full of nasty surprises and hard as nuts situations, but a worthy experience.
  6. Aug 4, 2014
    81
    As a simulation of complex group dynamics as well as life and death decisions this is a very interesting experiment.
  7. Jul 24, 2014
    81
    Gods Will Be Watching is a very clever idea well executed; one that opts to avoid the branching and overt morality of most similar games in favour of simply asking you to judge yourself as you see fit.
  8. Aug 20, 2014
    80
    It is certainly not a complete success however. Even on the easier difficulty setting players will still be sitting through repeated animations, and the loss of huge swathes of time after each failure can drive one mad. Meanwhile the reliance on chance, while admittedly in fitting with the reality of such situations, feels cumbersome and can really ramp up frustration. In the end it all depends on how much suffering you are willing to devote to a game.
  9. Aug 4, 2014
    80
    Races against time, dramatic decisions, violence and torture. With Gods Will Be Watching you do not mess at all and the pixel art has never been so sinister and misleading.
  10. Jul 29, 2014
    80
    One of the most original indie games we've played in a long, long time.
  11. Jul 25, 2014
    80
    By utilizing time and resource management, inside claustrophobic and violent situations, it builds tension and instills panic like very few games.
  12. Aug 6, 2014
    75
    More an experiment than a videogame per se, it mixes puzzles and micromanaging in an original way. It's frustrating though, and generally quite slow. It's a good choice if you're looking for something entirely different from traditional experiences, but not for everyone.
  13. Jul 24, 2014
    75
    Gods Will Be Watching can be frustratingly difficult, but it's also fresh, unique and aesthetically impressive.
  14. Jul 24, 2014
    75
    I was not a big fan of adventure games, ever. The clicking around in the background, the quirky puzzles and the slow gameplay have always put me off. With Gods Will Be Watching this has changed in one fell swoop.
  15. Aug 22, 2014
    70
    A game with a very high level of difficulty, who relies on an original gameplay and an interesting story. So, it’s all about patience: if you have it, you will go through all the failures and the inevitable repetitions of the stages, and you will get a decent story. If you don’t have it, you will quit after minutes.
  16. Aug 6, 2014
    70
    Gods Will Be Watching is the sort of love it or hate it video game affair that only transformative titles that push the boundaries of their genre can present. It’s not trying to make you kick puppies, it’s not trying to make you hold hands and sing Kumbaya, it’s about finding a mixture of the two that leads to your survival and doesn’t give you too many nightmares afterward.
  17. Aug 5, 2014
    70
    Gods Will Be Watching bleeds into your thoughts, even if the toll feels steep and caustic. The cost can feel too high, the enjoyment too strange and poisoned at times. But ... it's brilliant and different, you know? I just hate it, that's all.
  18. Jul 25, 2014
    70
    Announced as a thriller, it is rather puzzle game, and a very, very hand one. Make sure you understand how it works before buying it, because it's one of those games you either love or hate.
  19. Jul 25, 2014
    70
    Gods Will Be Watching is not necessarily frustrating in its difficult, it's that it really didn't need to be.
  20. Jul 24, 2014
    70
    Calling Gods Will Be Watching "fun" would be a gross misrepresentation. It's not even an experience that one would necessarily recommend, but it is one worth trying. The game is certainly challenging and engrossing in its way, but I wouldn't necessarily call it fulfilling. More often, the game is almost painful to play, and relief comes when you finally manage to make it through a single scenario.
  21. Jul 24, 2014
    70
    The gameplay of Gods Will Be Watching is based on resources, time and human management, during stressful events with lives on the line. You can choose to smash headfirst in the « original » mode incredible difficulty or try the easy way to enjoy the mood and an intriguing story including one mysterious Sgt. Burden. Sometimes a bit delayed and repetitive, Gods Will Be Watching remains an interesting experience, which should inspire other games with more homogenous gameplay.
  22. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 5, 2014
    65
    The game looks gorgeous, boasting an intriguing concept while asking interesting ethical questions. It's a shame that the game is so tedious to play. [Sept 2014]
  23. Aug 20, 2014
    65
    Gods Will Be Watching could’ve been one of the best indie games of 2014. A challenging adventure about making deadly choices. A game we would’ve loved to mention in a single breath together with The Banner Saga, Papers Please and The Walking Dead. Unfortunately, the developers focused too much on a risk management game mechanic, which is more irritating than emotionally moving.
  24. Jul 31, 2014
    60
    Instead of a heavy narrative, the game is more of a resource management sim, with the resource being the other characters. When taken like that, it's a solid puzzle game with some rough, repetitive edges.
  25. Jul 31, 2014
    60
    Gods will be watching is an interesting experiment about ethics and morals, but its frustrating level of challenge makes it almost impossible to enjoy. Also, during the story you don’t feel that your decisions really have an influence in the big picture. We don’t know if it’s an intentional decision but these Gods really love chaos and to make you feel miserable.
  26. Jul 28, 2014
    60
    Gods Will Be Watching was close to being a must-have puzzler, but it's doubtful that even the gods would have the patience to see it through to the bitter end.
  27. Jul 25, 2014
    60
    Gods Will Be Watching is an interesting and novel little game, but one that's quite horribly flawed in a number of ways.
  28. Jul 24, 2014
    60
    Where Gods Will Be Watching is really testing, though, is in its almost impenetrable difficulty. There’s a fine line between challenge and frustration, and sadly, with all of its positives, Gods Will Be Watching will leave you questioning whether its really worth it.
  29. Aug 24, 2014
    58
    Resource management for the masochist.
  30. Aug 13, 2014
    55
    The premise is solid, but the game relies too much on chance and trial and error, so it's hard to recommend this title to anyone but masochists and those who are hell-bent on experiencing the story — no matter what.
  31. Aug 6, 2014
    55
    Gods Will Be Watching shows a lot of thematic and gameplay dynamical promise, but the whole package let down by its lack of polish and consequence.
  32. Aug 8, 2014
    51
    Gods Will Be Watching is a frustrating puzzle in which player doesn't seem to have the control of the situation. An intriguing atmosphere and an inspired soundtrack aren't enough to get a pass mark.
  33. games(TM)
    Aug 20, 2014
    50
    The goalposts are moved without warning. [Sept 2014, p.127]
  34. Aug 20, 2014
    50
    Gods Will Be Watching is a test of patience told in six violent acts. What could have been a fascinating glimpse into a cool sci fi universe is unfortunately sabotaged by mechanics that give the illusion of control but often makes you feel like a helpless bystander. Whether this is by design or by accident, it ends up being a frustrating experience.
  35. Aug 5, 2014
    50
    Gods Will Be Watching strives to be meaningful. The story ruminates on how hard it is to find purpose in a world where things are often outside of our control. Many may never get a chance to appreciate that message, since the game ruins its own potential. At no point does Gods Will Be Watching make the struggle worth the effort.
  36. Jul 30, 2014
    50
    When reduced to a puzzle to be solved rather than a world to be experienced, the emotional impact of Gods Will Be Watching evaporates, leaving the sense that it wasn't interesting enough to justify the amount of work that went into making or playing it.
  37. Jul 30, 2014
    50
    The score alone doesn't fully mirror how I feel about Gods will be watching. It represents what I think about it as a fair and entertaining game, which is what most people will be looking for. As an experiment and a lesson in adventure design, though, it's worth so much more.
  38. Jul 28, 2014
    50
    It's impossible to recommend to anyone but the most masochistic players.
  39. Games Master UK
    Aug 24, 2014
    49
    A laudable concept let down by poor design. [Oct 2014, p.79]
  40. CD-Action
    Oct 22, 2014
    40
    The idea behind Gods Will Be Watching is not bad at all, the prototype was promising, the Kickstarter campaign was successful, but after 15 minutes of playing I was furious. Gods might be watching, but whether you live or die is decided by a random number generator, not them. [10/2014, p.60]
  41. Aug 11, 2014
    40
    It’s an experience that will undoubtedly draw a cult following, but without some kind of universally applicable lesson the rest of us can skip it.
  42. Aug 6, 2014
    40
    An unfulfilled ideal of a hardcore adventure sci-fi game with a catchy story. Its gameplay is based on doing the same thing over and over again, it is downright frustrating, and not even brilliantly written game characters may save its shallow narrative.
  43. Aug 4, 2014
    40
    The crux of the issue is simply this: Gods Will Be Watching thinks it is smarter than it actually is. It tries to weave commentary into its story but only succeeds in imparting pessimism.
  44. Jul 24, 2014
    40
    Perhaps it shouldn't come as such a surprise, though, that a once-praised game inspired by minimalism would falter so completely after being heavily built upon and expanded.
  45. Aug 27, 2014
    35
    In 2013, Deconstructeam entered a Ludum Dare competition with a bare bones concept of a game. Now, a year later, this game has a price tag, but it’s bare just as it was back then.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 28
  2. Negative: 11 out of 28
  1. Jul 28, 2014
    0
    Awful, awful, awful. I liked everything that I heard and read about this game. The dark sci-fi setting, the decision-based point and click,Awful, awful, awful. I liked everything that I heard and read about this game. The dark sci-fi setting, the decision-based point and click, the intense and dramatic music...and then I started playing. I figured, I'm a decent gamer, I'll try it on "original" difficulty. After twelve tries on the first task I gave up and switched to "easy" difficulty, figuring that I was much more interested in the storyline than the gameplay anyway. After six more tries on "easy" I finally made it through the first chapter. I was then introduced to chapter 2, where my character is being interrogated in violent fashion, I was soon informed that I would be performing the same torture sequence TWENTY TIMES! The game actually tells you that you have to survive, performing the same repetitive task, TWENTY TIMES in a row, each one taking about two minutes. And screw up once, you get to go back and do it all over again. The original writing wears itself out once you've read it four times, and can look forward to doing it two dozen more times before you get it right. I understand the idea of a game with consequences or where your character can die forcing you to try again, but the whole premise of this game is try the same task over and over and over and over again. Even on EASY DIFFICULTY. My patience wore out, having not even finished chapter two. This is a complete waste of money, do not buy this game unless you enjoy the idea of performing the same tedious thing over and over and over and over again. This game will appeal to the same kind of people that enjoy going to the dentist for a root canal. I seriously cannot stress enough how awful a game experience this "game" provides. If you're intrigued by the story, and I know that I was before playing it, then go on youtube and watch someone else play through the game for the story, then come back and thank me for sparing you the aggravation of actually dealing with this game. DO NOT BUY THIS "GAME". Full Review »
  2. Jul 27, 2014
    9
    It was interesting to me that this game was so simplistic and yet so very complex.

    The writing is superb and the story is filled with
    It was interesting to me that this game was so simplistic and yet so very complex.

    The writing is superb and the story is filled with unknown mystery, that in my opinion, only serves to make me feel more immersed into the game. Yes, you will hate this game, but I implore you to finish it and then I can guarantee that you will end up loving it. Has re-playability, great soundtrack, brilliant graphic design, fantastic premise and hard yet fair situations to painstakingly manage. If you like anything that resembles a challenge in your games like Dark Souls etc... this is for you.

    The story is compiled into small cut scenes and chapters in which you will play, not necessarily understand straight of the bat, but will certainly enjoy. The thing that drives the story forward above all else is the characters. Each of them feel unique and real, even some of them that may only turn up for small parts of the game are developed more-so than some characters I have seen in triple A games these days.

    Music is godly.

    It jumps right into the action and in every scenario it will give you several tasks that you must complete in a certain matter of time. It makes for a fast clicking frantic mess that slowly but surely will turn into precise actions and subtle key choices that can make or break your characters. For those who complain about characters always returning in every chapter, even if they were previously killed, then all I can say is that they didn't understand the story so watch out for that one.

    Overall this is a great investment of your time and money, if you can overlook little underlying miss-polishes then you will have a horrific blast with Gods Will Be Watching and I can only hope that they make more.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 26, 2014
    3
    Despite a fantastic art style and soundtrack, Gods Will Be Watching never amounts to anything more than a pretentious resource managementDespite a fantastic art style and soundtrack, Gods Will Be Watching never amounts to anything more than a pretentious resource management simulator. The Hotline Miami of point & clicks, this game is not. Full Review »