Gone Home PC

Gone Home Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2019 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eldest daughter of the Greenbriar family returns after a year abroad. She expects her parents and sister to greet her. Instead she finds only a deserted house, filled with secrets. Where is everyone? And what's happened here?

    Find out for yourself in Gone Home, a first-person game
    The eldest daughter of the Greenbriar family returns after a year abroad. She expects her parents and sister to greet her. Instead she finds only a deserted house, filled with secrets. Where is everyone? And what's happened here?

    Find out for yourself in Gone Home, a first-person game entirely about exploration, mystery and discovery.

    The house is yours to explore as you see fit. Open any drawer or door to investigate what's inside. Piece together the mysteries from notes and clues woven into the house itself. Discover the story of a year in the life of the Greenbriar family. Dig deeper. Go home again.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    Its unconventional, non-violent subject matter and gameplay also skilfully and confidently prove that not all games need an "attack" button to be enjoyable and interesting -- and given the growing sense of weariness a lot of us have been feeling with super-violent experiences, that's something that should be celebrated.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    98
    In Gone Home, there are moments of fear, moments of joy, moments of sadness, and moments of peace. In the end, there is acceptance, the kind which comes from a tale naturally concluded and a chapter neatly closed.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 5, 2013
    91
    Gone Home is a first class adventure, very well written and quite charming. [Oct 2013]
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    90
    Gone Home does only one thing but does it superbly, telling a touching story solely through exploration that makes it well worth experiencing.
  5. Sep 15, 2013
    85
    Leans heavily on nostalgia and sentimentality, but Gone Home is an affecting game that challenges you like no other.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Gone Home is a fascinating, surprising and indispensable experience.
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    60
    As a statement of intent, Gone Home is laudable; as a technical exercise in game narrative, it's compromised, but it definitely has its strengths and is worthy of study. But you can't escape the sense that Gaynor, Zimonja and Nordhagen started on this project with grand designs for games as a storytelling medium, yet without a story they desperately wanted to tell.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    I don't usually give games a 10. In fact, there are only 2 other games that I would consider to be perfect 10s: the original portal andI don't usually give games a 10. In fact, there are only 2 other games that I would consider to be perfect 10s: the original portal and pacman ce dx. Those aren't necessarily the best games I've played, but they are the most perfect, if that makes sense. And that is a word that I would use to describe Gone Home: perfect. It is a game purely comprised of exploration and discovery, with virtually no other gameplay components with the exception of some very simplistic puzzles. And yet, Gone Home manages to make seemingly mundane exploration into some of the most engaging and emotional storytelling I have ever seen. Gone Home will be remembered for its brilliant design and execution, but also as a game that bravely led the charge in addressing contemporary social issues that have not as of yet found much representation in the medium.
    This game is not for everyone. If all you play are shooters and fast paced action games, then Gone Home will bore you. However, if you like slower games or games with interesting ways of telling stories, such as Journey, Heavy Rain, Dear Esther, or even mods like The Stanley Parable, than Gone home is certain to grab you and not let go for its 3 hour duration.
    Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    This is such a beautiful game; it literally took my breath away. It's heartbreaking, terrifying, and hopeful all at once, and it will surpriseThis is such a beautiful game; it literally took my breath away. It's heartbreaking, terrifying, and hopeful all at once, and it will surprise you at every turn. Don't buy into the BS negative reviews. From what I've seen, all those people were expecting Gone Home to be something it's not. It is exactly what it professes to be: a story exploration title. Not an adventure, not a survival horror, but an interactive storytelling experience. If that's not what you're looking for, then spend your money elsewhere.

    However, if you want to be thrilled, touched, and even a little terrified without firing a gun or running from zombies, PLEASE play this game. I can't even remember how many times I teared up, even cried a bit. Even if you can't directly relate to the characters in this story, you can surely empathize with them. And I'll bet that by the end, you'll care more about them than you might want to admit. I sure do.
    Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This is one of those few "believe the hype" games. A unique and interesting way to tell a story but... As the mixed reviews on here show, ifThis is one of those few "believe the hype" games. A unique and interesting way to tell a story but... As the mixed reviews on here show, if you're not willing to immerse yourself in a gentle story of discovery then this isn't for you. I found it touching, satisfying and bold. A turning point for what games can be. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2016
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Never have I ever played any form of video game before I knew about Gone Home. However, just the fact that it was an adventure game made me very interested in it, especially that I'm deeply leaning more towards these kinds of games rather than the conventional ideas incorporated in most video games.

    Gone Home may not be considered a game because, in my opinion, there is always a way to lose and to repeat all over again in a game. That is not the case here in Gone Home. I would have enjoyed this game more if it included that type. Nevertheless, it has included a bunch of stories intertwining to give us a deeper understanding of the family's relationships inside and out, as well as how it connects to the players. It embodies the current situation of the world that some families or people in the society will encounter, such as LGBT, feminism, teenage angst and even interfamily problems. I felt like Gone Home succeeded in incorporating these concepts and how it affects one family in specific. I have met people whose parents were in denial of their sexuality, females who were deprived of their rights simply because of their gender, and young people who have tendencies of being misdirected because they could not understand why their parents act the way they do. Through this game, people will have a clearer image of these problems as they progress. What makes me appreciate this game is that it effectively used virtual reality for a greater cause. This game has broken the stereotypical mindset I had about video games. Moreover, it gives you the thrill of wanting to know more about the characters especially that the vibe that the game displays has a spooky, thriller effect on it.

    However I would frankly not suggest this for people leaning towards adventures to play. To begin with, this game could be finished in less than a week at most, considering that you're a hardcore video game player, or just a newbie finding your way into some interesting games. Yes, the game is thrilling and it encompasses a wide array of ideas that really stimulate your thoughts and pull you more towards the family's story, but I felt like the game could have been developed more so that it contains more elements of what most people like about games. This game was just plainly focused on searching for evidences to collect the pieces of the story, but most of what people want in a game was to literally play and win it, not just simply scrambling over scattered objects in a large, creepy house. I'd obviously not spend money just to buy this game. Nevertheless, I still applaud the creativity of this game in terms of the unconventional ways it has done compared to typical video games.
    Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2013
    4
    I am very disappointed with the critics on this one. Gone Home was misrepresented every step of the way. All of the advertizing implied thisI am very disappointed with the critics on this one. Gone Home was misrepresented every step of the way. All of the advertizing implied this was a horror game. It's not. You will find yourself liking this game at the start but that's about it. The story is well done and well executed "until the end" but nothing we haven't seen before "in movies not video games anyway". Anyone who has played this game knows full well its fatal flaws and I don't want to spoil anything about the story. Critic have given this game overwhelmingly positive reviews and that's just scary. The New York Times "people who probably have never played a video game" called this the greatest love story in a video game...SIGH. All I will say is that if this game was made in the mid 90s "when this game was set" the love story would have been edgy but this is 2013! Just setting the game in the 90s doesn't make you "edgy" or "progressive" just boring yes BORING the main problem with this game is just how dull it is. Please don"t wast $20 on this 4 hour long movie with no payoff at the end. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2016
    2
    Gone Home is walking simulation game. A girl, which we are playing, comes back her family’s new home from one year trip but there is no one inGone Home is walking simulation game. A girl, which we are playing, comes back her family’s new home from one year trip but there is no one in home. She looks for some evidence and stuffs to find out what happened to her family and where they are. We walk around the house and find hints and keys. As we play the game, we can play game as fast as we can, but we can read, listen and follow the story line.
    Well, since it’s a game, it has some good and some bad like every other games. For the good aspects, it gives us well-implemented cultural stuffs in 20th century such as teenager rock group. We can also play this game as we want. We can clear the game as soon as possible. We can go inside every room, throw every things we can, read every papers and letter, and find every stories about this family. Also, its story line consists of some conflicts in real society, such as teenager standing against their parents, mother’s new boyfriend, and widespread taboo for homosexual love. This is very meaningful that dealing with such sensitive issues in the game.
    This game, gone home, has some negative points. To finish this game, we have find some paper and read about secret passage in this home. But this paper doesn’t indicate exactly where it is. I first found it by coincidence, and it may take much time to find it. This can be a big problem. Also, it is so non-addictive. When we first play the game, we are interested and concentrated to find a hint and strictly follow the story. But when we first clear the game and play it again, it has nothing new. We know where the every hint and key is and every passwords for safe. Place for hint and key are never changed and also the passage. There’s even video for clearing this game in less than one minute! I think we will play this game at most 5 times.
    Well, this was very new game for me. It was very fresh and interesting, but for the first time. Its story is profound and this game can be played in various ways. I think we have to take a very long time to play this game for each turn, reading and listening papers and find the storyline.
    Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2016
    0
    Entediante, sem emoção nenhuma... uma historinha bem fraquinha contada de uma forma chata. Nada de inesperado, nada de revelador, nada capazEntediante, sem emoção nenhuma... uma historinha bem fraquinha contada de uma forma chata. Nada de inesperado, nada de revelador, nada capaz de lhe envolver ou emocionar. Expand

See all 820 User Reviews