Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1694 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eldest daughter of the Greenbriar family returns after a year abroad. She expects her parents and sister to greet her. Instead she finds only a deserted house, filled with secrets. Where is everyone? And what's happened here?

    Find out for yourself in Gone Home, a first-person game
    The eldest daughter of the Greenbriar family returns after a year abroad. She expects her parents and sister to greet her. Instead she finds only a deserted house, filled with secrets. Where is everyone? And what's happened here?

    Find out for yourself in Gone Home, a first-person game entirely about exploration, mystery and discovery.

    The house is yours to explore as you see fit. Open any drawer or door to investigate what's inside. Piece together the mysteries from notes and clues woven into the house itself. Discover the story of a year in the life of the Greenbriar family. Dig deeper. Go home again.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    Its unconventional, non-violent subject matter and gameplay also skilfully and confidently prove that not all games need an "attack" button to be enjoyable and interesting -- and given the growing sense of weariness a lot of us have been feeling with super-violent experiences, that's something that should be celebrated.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    98
    In Gone Home, there are moments of fear, moments of joy, moments of sadness, and moments of peace. In the end, there is acceptance, the kind which comes from a tale naturally concluded and a chapter neatly closed.
  3. Oct 5, 2013
    91
    Gone Home is a first class adventure, very well written and quite charming. [Oct 2013]
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    90
    Gone Home does only one thing but does it superbly, telling a touching story solely through exploration that makes it well worth experiencing.
  5. Sep 15, 2013
    85
    Leans heavily on nostalgia and sentimentality, but Gone Home is an affecting game that challenges you like no other.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Gone Home is a fascinating, surprising and indispensable experience.
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    60
    As a statement of intent, Gone Home is laudable; as a technical exercise in game narrative, it's compromised, but it definitely has its strengths and is worthy of study. But you can't escape the sense that Gaynor, Zimonja and Nordhagen started on this project with grand designs for games as a storytelling medium, yet without a story they desperately wanted to tell.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    I don't usually give games a 10. In fact, there are only 2 other games that I would consider to be perfect 10s: the original portal andI don't usually give games a 10. In fact, there are only 2 other games that I would consider to be perfect 10s: the original portal and pacman ce dx. Those aren't necessarily the best games I've played, but they are the most perfect, if that makes sense. And that is a word that I would use to describe Gone Home: perfect. It is a game purely comprised of exploration and discovery, with virtually no other gameplay components with the exception of some very simplistic puzzles. And yet, Gone Home manages to make seemingly mundane exploration into some of the most engaging and emotional storytelling I have ever seen. Gone Home will be remembered for its brilliant design and execution, but also as a game that bravely led the charge in addressing contemporary social issues that have not as of yet found much representation in the medium.
    This game is not for everyone. If all you play are shooters and fast paced action games, then Gone Home will bore you. However, if you like slower games or games with interesting ways of telling stories, such as Journey, Heavy Rain, Dear Esther, or even mods like The Stanley Parable, than Gone home is certain to grab you and not let go for its 3 hour duration.
    Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2014
    10
    This is one of my most enjoyable gaming experiences of the past year.

    The story is good, the exploration and the setting are great. It's a
    This is one of my most enjoyable gaming experiences of the past year.

    The story is good, the exploration and the setting are great. It's a joy to play a game that feels like it's story is good enough without having to fluff it with repetitive kill stuff or solve overly complex and out of place puzzles.
    I mean, my house isn't like a typical adventure game where you have to figure out how to make a troll drop a banana, to give to a monkey to drop a socket wrench set, to fix a car so you can to upstairs and continue the story. It's nice to see an exploration game be all about exploration and the story. I will definitely be checking out the next game that Fullbright makes.
    Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2014
    9
    Fundamentally about family conflicts Gone Home is a game that focuses on the family of Katie Greenbriar, whom you assume the role of in game.Fundamentally about family conflicts Gone Home is a game that focuses on the family of Katie Greenbriar, whom you assume the role of in game. Set in 1995 in the eerie setting of an old, empty mansion in the middle of the night with a thunderstorm raging the player is set up for jump scares. Told through personal notes between members of the family you learn about each of the family member’s deep secrets and hidden relationships. Arriving back from Katie’s trip around Europe and exploring the house that your family moved into while you were away it slowly becomes clear that some major developments have occurred.
    This game, or as I like to think of it interactive book, was developed by four people, most of whom met through their work on Bioshock. They left to start Fullbright and Gone Home is their first game. Steve Gaynor the seeming leader of the company has been praised for his story telling through adventure-based, detailed worlds in his previous endeavour Minerva’s Den, dlc for Bioshock 2. This experience is worthy of equal praise. The point of Gone Home is to provide a meaningful story about growing up and conflict through an engaging format, but it does double duty to remind the ever growing list of fps’s that first-person doesn’t have to be so rough.
    The graphics in this game are another major talking point. Today, for a game to be considered modern it generally has to have state of the art graphics and high-level engines, neither of which Gone Home has. (You can’t even jump!) For me this actually added to the experience because it led the player to look past the visuals, some of which were stunning anyway, and focus on the story. It also let the developers put in some quirky references. It’s partially because of the graphics limitation that the story came about (one more argument for indie games) because of the low poly graphics rendering and animating humans would have been clunky and looked stupid, so poof! empty house and interesting story line.
    The final area that needs to be mentioned is the musical score. Throughout the game it changes but always fits the mood and just sounds pleasant. The Riot Grrl sound scene that accompanies Sam in the game is both applicable and historically accurate, something that resonates with a lot of the games players.
    In all I would say I enjoyed playing this as an interactive story not a game. If that appeals to you, great, if not you might feel cheated by getting this. The game requires a lot of deep thinking and is meant to connect with the player, everyone has something.
    Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    5
    I'm rating this game a five in protest to rave scores from professional critics. Oh, I'm perfectly fine with indie games, as well asI'm rating this game a five in protest to rave scores from professional critics. Oh, I'm perfectly fine with indie games, as well as 'experience' 'games' in general, but giving this short collection of interactive notes (that's what this really is) anything over 60 or 70 is ridiculous. Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I gave this 3 stars instead of zero, because it was an innovative way to tell a story and I love stories. I was tempted to give this a zero for the same reason I love stories. And this one sucked.

    Gone Home is a literary bait and switch that promises a spooky mystery, a haunted mansion with secret passageways, misguided teens who dabble in the occult, and a family gone missing. It has a dark and stormy night, creaky floorboards, and mysterious pentagrams and candles. And while all of this sounds good, it's not what this game delivers.

    *major spoilers*
    And where are the missing parents? They went away for the weekend presumably to add a little spark to their marriage. And where is my lost little sister? She ran off with her girlfriend. That's it. No ghosts. No mystery. No plot twists. Nothing.

    Yawn.

    Those are two hours I'll never get back.
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2013
    1
    Garbage. Too short for one I beat it in less than two hours. The story is boring and the writing on the notes were nearly impossible toGarbage. Too short for one I beat it in less than two hours. The story is boring and the writing on the notes were nearly impossible to decipher so I couldn't quite feel personally affected by the character. I wasn't sure if the story was supposed to reflect lesbianism or grunge music in the upper class (I'm not against lesbians for the record) in a decade that was less accepting or WHAT this was really supposed to be about. First-world problems? Major disappointment.!! Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2015
    0
    This is not a game. At all. Tetris is a game. Fallout 3 is a game. This is a walking-around-the-house-when-you-have-nothing-better-to-doThis is not a game. At all. Tetris is a game. Fallout 3 is a game. This is a walking-around-the-house-when-you-have-nothing-better-to-do simulator. Expand

See all 673 User Reviews