Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1691 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eldest daughter of the Greenbriar family returns after a year abroad. She expects her parents and sister to greet her. Instead she finds only a deserted house, filled with secrets. Where is everyone? And what's happened here?

    Find out for yourself in Gone Home, a first-person game
    The eldest daughter of the Greenbriar family returns after a year abroad. She expects her parents and sister to greet her. Instead she finds only a deserted house, filled with secrets. Where is everyone? And what's happened here?

    Find out for yourself in Gone Home, a first-person game entirely about exploration, mystery and discovery.

    The house is yours to explore as you see fit. Open any drawer or door to investigate what's inside. Piece together the mysteries from notes and clues woven into the house itself. Discover the story of a year in the life of the Greenbriar family. Dig deeper. Go home again.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    Its unconventional, non-violent subject matter and gameplay also skilfully and confidently prove that not all games need an "attack" button to be enjoyable and interesting -- and given the growing sense of weariness a lot of us have been feeling with super-violent experiences, that's something that should be celebrated.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    98
    In Gone Home, there are moments of fear, moments of joy, moments of sadness, and moments of peace. In the end, there is acceptance, the kind which comes from a tale naturally concluded and a chapter neatly closed.
  3. Oct 5, 2013
    91
    Gone Home is a first class adventure, very well written and quite charming. [Oct 2013]
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    90
    Gone Home does only one thing but does it superbly, telling a touching story solely through exploration that makes it well worth experiencing.
  5. Sep 15, 2013
    85
    Leans heavily on nostalgia and sentimentality, but Gone Home is an affecting game that challenges you like no other.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Gone Home is a fascinating, surprising and indispensable experience.
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    60
    As a statement of intent, Gone Home is laudable; as a technical exercise in game narrative, it's compromised, but it definitely has its strengths and is worthy of study. But you can't escape the sense that Gaynor, Zimonja and Nordhagen started on this project with grand designs for games as a storytelling medium, yet without a story they desperately wanted to tell.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    I don't usually give games a 10. In fact, there are only 2 other games that I would consider to be perfect 10s: the original portal andI don't usually give games a 10. In fact, there are only 2 other games that I would consider to be perfect 10s: the original portal and pacman ce dx. Those aren't necessarily the best games I've played, but they are the most perfect, if that makes sense. And that is a word that I would use to describe Gone Home: perfect. It is a game purely comprised of exploration and discovery, with virtually no other gameplay components with the exception of some very simplistic puzzles. And yet, Gone Home manages to make seemingly mundane exploration into some of the most engaging and emotional storytelling I have ever seen. Gone Home will be remembered for its brilliant design and execution, but also as a game that bravely led the charge in addressing contemporary social issues that have not as of yet found much representation in the medium.
    This game is not for everyone. If all you play are shooters and fast paced action games, then Gone Home will bore you. However, if you like slower games or games with interesting ways of telling stories, such as Journey, Heavy Rain, Dear Esther, or even mods like The Stanley Parable, than Gone home is certain to grab you and not let go for its 3 hour duration.
    Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2014
    10
    Gone Home is a wonderful demonstration of just how well a virtual game can resemble reality. Kaitlin Greenbrier, the protagonist you play asGone Home is a wonderful demonstration of just how well a virtual game can resemble reality. Kaitlin Greenbrier, the protagonist you play as through first-person view, is a twenty-year-old returning from a trip abroad to a new home her family has mysteriously inherited. As you enter the home, a strange note awaits you on the door saying that your younger sister is sorry and that she has left home and may never come back. As soon as you enter the house, you want to believe something horrible has happened to your family. Fear grips you as you listen to a crying female’s message left on an answering machine calling for help; the house seems alive with creeks and groans. The masterful use of sound creates an ambiance of horror will lead you will believe that something ghastly or ghouly is hidden around every corner, in every closet, waiting to strike. But the only thing to fear in Gone Home is fear itself; there is only the illusion of fear masterfully created by the strange and eerie music and the randomized claps of thunder and flashes of lightning. As you progress through the house, soda cans, half eaten bags of potato chips, and empty pizza boxes litter the floors. All this garbage everywhere reminds me of my own house, and how my mom would leave garbage out to rot because I never used to clean up after myself. Almost every little piece in the Greenbrier household contributes to one member of the family’s life in some way, if not being used in a comical way by the game creators *cough* purple basketball *cough*. At the beginning of Gone Home, the evidence left around the house points to you sister being a lonely troubled young girl who is struggling fitting in at school. As you progress through the house, the evidence you find suggests that she is developing into a rebellious free spirit with the help of her new friend Lonnie. If I go into any further depth on Sam and Lonnie, it will spoil the storyline of the game.
    Overall, Gone Home is an excellent game that does not require you to kill anyone to enjoy it.
    Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2014
    9
    Framed as a mystery, The Fulbright Company took a different approach when tackling the odd life of a family living in the mid to late 1900s.Framed as a mystery, The Fulbright Company took a different approach when tackling the odd life of a family living in the mid to late 1900s. Gone Home kicks off with Katie Greenbriar, a young woman who had been travelling Europe for a year, arriving back at home on June 7th, 1995 – on a dark and stormy night – to a deserted house. With her parents missing, and her sister nowhere to be found, Katie’s only resort is to snoop around the house for any clues or objects that are seen to be out of the ordinary in which can help her come to a conclusion.

    Arriving at her families newly moved into house, never before seen by Katie Greenbriar, Katie is left to reminisce the halls, sifting through objects, notes, photos and so on, in search for answers. The player takes on a first person role as Katie Greenbriar, whose task is to use the clues around the house to figure out where her family’s whereabouts are. The game-play leads you through dark, long hallways throughout the house, not knowing what is going to happen next – if someone is going to kill you, or if someone is going to pop out of the darkness and scare the living hell out of you. Gone Home does nothing but leave you on the edge of your seat, but without the first-person shooter or thriller aspect users have always been used to.

    Gone Home always keeps the player in up most awareness at all times because of the intense features of very realistic gameplay throughout the entire game. From the story line, to hearing Sam’s actual voice, Gone Home makes the player feel like he is actually in the mansion searching and reminiscing for clues. It is very easy to get swept up in Gone home because the environment is so realistic and convincing that it makes you feel as if you are searching through a real mansion, at very specific points in time. All of these realistic features help capture a player’s attention for hours on end, adding depth and excitement no matter where you are in the house.

    Gone home attempts to explore the boundaries in a video game that have never been explored before. The Fulbright Company took a risk, and with an accomplished risk, there is always a large payoff. Despite the very short experience, the accumulative acts of walking through hallways, examining objects and searching for clues become a bitter adventure dealing with a families personal issues which feel as if they are your own. For that, Gone Home has displayed a brilliant storyline with a strong basis for a great video game and is definitely worthy of anyone’s time.
    Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    5
    I'm rating this game a five in protest to rave scores from professional critics. Oh, I'm perfectly fine with indie games, as well asI'm rating this game a five in protest to rave scores from professional critics. Oh, I'm perfectly fine with indie games, as well as 'experience' 'games' in general, but giving this short collection of interactive notes (that's what this really is) anything over 60 or 70 is ridiculous. Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I gave this 3 stars instead of zero, because it was an innovative way to tell a story and I love stories. I was tempted to give this a zero for the same reason I love stories. And this one sucked.

    Gone Home is a literary bait and switch that promises a spooky mystery, a haunted mansion with secret passageways, misguided teens who dabble in the occult, and a family gone missing. It has a dark and stormy night, creaky floorboards, and mysterious pentagrams and candles. And while all of this sounds good, it's not what this game delivers.

    *major spoilers*
    And where are the missing parents? They went away for the weekend presumably to add a little spark to their marriage. And where is my lost little sister? She ran off with her girlfriend. That's it. No ghosts. No mystery. No plot twists. Nothing.

    Yawn.

    Those are two hours I'll never get back.
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2013
    1
    Garbage. Too short for one I beat it in less than two hours. The story is boring and the writing on the notes were nearly impossible toGarbage. Too short for one I beat it in less than two hours. The story is boring and the writing on the notes were nearly impossible to decipher so I couldn't quite feel personally affected by the character. I wasn't sure if the story was supposed to reflect lesbianism or grunge music in the upper class (I'm not against lesbians for the record) in a decade that was less accepting or WHAT this was really supposed to be about. First-world problems? Major disappointment.!! Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2015
    0
    This is not a game. At all. Tetris is a game. Fallout 3 is a game. This is a walking-around-the-house-when-you-have-nothing-better-to-doThis is not a game. At all. Tetris is a game. Fallout 3 is a game. This is a walking-around-the-house-when-you-have-nothing-better-to-do simulator. Expand

See all 672 User Reviews