Gone Home PC

Gone Home Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1985 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eldest daughter of the Greenbriar family returns after a year abroad. She expects her parents and sister to greet her. Instead she finds only a deserted house, filled with secrets. Where is everyone? And what's happened here?

    Find out for yourself in Gone Home, a first-person game
    The eldest daughter of the Greenbriar family returns after a year abroad. She expects her parents and sister to greet her. Instead she finds only a deserted house, filled with secrets. Where is everyone? And what's happened here?

    Find out for yourself in Gone Home, a first-person game entirely about exploration, mystery and discovery.

    The house is yours to explore as you see fit. Open any drawer or door to investigate what's inside. Piece together the mysteries from notes and clues woven into the house itself. Discover the story of a year in the life of the Greenbriar family. Dig deeper. Go home again.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    Its unconventional, non-violent subject matter and gameplay also skilfully and confidently prove that not all games need an "attack" button to be enjoyable and interesting -- and given the growing sense of weariness a lot of us have been feeling with super-violent experiences, that's something that should be celebrated.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    98
    In Gone Home, there are moments of fear, moments of joy, moments of sadness, and moments of peace. In the end, there is acceptance, the kind which comes from a tale naturally concluded and a chapter neatly closed.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 5, 2013
    91
    Gone Home is a first class adventure, very well written and quite charming. [Oct 2013]
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    90
    Gone Home does only one thing but does it superbly, telling a touching story solely through exploration that makes it well worth experiencing.
  5. Sep 15, 2013
    85
    Leans heavily on nostalgia and sentimentality, but Gone Home is an affecting game that challenges you like no other.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Gone Home is a fascinating, surprising and indispensable experience.
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    60
    As a statement of intent, Gone Home is laudable; as a technical exercise in game narrative, it's compromised, but it definitely has its strengths and is worthy of study. But you can't escape the sense that Gaynor, Zimonja and Nordhagen started on this project with grand designs for games as a storytelling medium, yet without a story they desperately wanted to tell.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    I don't usually give games a 10. In fact, there are only 2 other games that I would consider to be perfect 10s: the original portal andI don't usually give games a 10. In fact, there are only 2 other games that I would consider to be perfect 10s: the original portal and pacman ce dx. Those aren't necessarily the best games I've played, but they are the most perfect, if that makes sense. And that is a word that I would use to describe Gone Home: perfect. It is a game purely comprised of exploration and discovery, with virtually no other gameplay components with the exception of some very simplistic puzzles. And yet, Gone Home manages to make seemingly mundane exploration into some of the most engaging and emotional storytelling I have ever seen. Gone Home will be remembered for its brilliant design and execution, but also as a game that bravely led the charge in addressing contemporary social issues that have not as of yet found much representation in the medium.
    This game is not for everyone. If all you play are shooters and fast paced action games, then Gone Home will bore you. However, if you like slower games or games with interesting ways of telling stories, such as Journey, Heavy Rain, Dear Esther, or even mods like The Stanley Parable, than Gone home is certain to grab you and not let go for its 3 hour duration.
    Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2015
    10
    The most powerful game I have ever had the privilege of playing. It changed me, truly. Some people complain about the price, but I can tellThe most powerful game I have ever had the privilege of playing. It changed me, truly. Some people complain about the price, but I can tell you with no uncertainty, if this were a book or a movie I'd pay whatever I had to to get it. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Straight off the bat, the people who rant about Gone Home not actually being a game may be absolutely right. While there are a few "puzzles" for the player to work out, these are hardly a challenge to work out, and Gone Home can hardly be called a game any more than a film or a novel can. However, the important thing to remember is that this doesn't matter! It is a form of media that aims to deliver a story to a player and cause an emotional response, and Gone Home does that better than the vast majority of books I've read or films I've watched.

    Many people seem to be saying, "If the story is all that matters, then why would you bother making a game, (or an interactive narrative experience, if you want to be a dick)?" Let me put it this way. have you ever seen a horror film. Now, I don't know about you, but I find that horror films never have much of an effect on me. They make me jump, sure, but they very rarely cause me to fee fear. Horror video games, on the other hand, are a different matter entirely. While watching a young defenseless woman hide in a cupboard, with a horrendous monstrosity only feet away, I feel very little. Put me in Amnesia however, and suddenly the drop of a pin can have me cowering in fear. Interaction, for many people at least, helps a form of media to get to them. Immersion is the word. Without immersion, a story such as this would be nothing more than average, maybe even boring. However, put the player into the story, make them feel as if they are part of it, and everything becomes a little more real, and because of this it has a greater effect on your emotions. I can honestly say that Gone Home had a greater effect on my emotions than any form of storytelling I've experienced in the last year.

    Another complaint I've heard is that although the story focused element is fine, more gameplay could easily be added alongside. References to Heavy Rain, or The Walking Dead are often present. These people have once again missed a crucial detail, Gone Home is not a game. It does not need gameplay. While it is true that I find Telltale games' content more enjoyable than Gone Home, One thing I honestly believe their games could go without are the few incidences of gameplay the game has to offer. I am of course referring to the Quick Time Events. Every gamer knows that quick time events are pretty much the worst thing you can put in a game. They're Boring, repetitive, fluctuate from extremely hard to insultingly easy with the drop of a hat, and worst of all, they break immersion. Nothing takes you out of a game faster than a bunch of letters flashing onto your screen. While The Walking Dead and Heavy Rain waste time trying to be something they're not, Gone Home focuses entirely on what matters, the story.

    In regards to the story, you can take it or leave it. Whether you enjoy the story, or think it's a load of pigswill is completely subjective. I would personally be in the former, but don't take that as any sort of proof.

    Overall, if you're solely a gamer, look elsewhere. Gone Home has little to offer you, other than possibly a different perspective on the gaming media. However, if you're feeling pretentious and want to be thoroughly absorbed into a mundane yet moving story, settle down for an hour or two of Gone Home.
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2016
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This short story is about this girl, Kaitlyn, which comes home from her trip to Europe. When she comes home she finds that her whole family is gone. In the story you (Kaitlyn) are going to look for traces after your family and where they might can be.
    I think the main message in the game is that your family can be more unknown to you than you think. You can think that you know them very well, when they actually keeps a lot of secrets from you. It can be hard to live in a house that everyone thinks is “the crazy house” because of the earlier history from the house. The very main message is actually about the love story between Samantha and Lonnie.
    The way this short story goes is very chronologic, at least how I understood it, and I think that was great. The game was very exciting and I liked it when it got a little scary but still exciting. It was kind of hard to move the avatar because you couldn’t walk and change direction in the same time, you had to take brakes to change directions. It also were kind of hard to find the important traces so it took a while to really understand what the short story were about. I don’t think they used any symbols, at least I didn’t find any.
    In the game you’ll hear about your sister/Samantha, mom, dad, Lonnie and your uncle. There are a lot of different relations between all of them. Especially mom, dad, Samantha and Lonnie. The main character in the game is not actually in the game, but the game is about to find out where Sam, the main character is. I think the game is supposed to be romantic, and exciting in the same time, because it is a love story with some twists.
    If you are going to take screen-prints in the game I think that is kind of difficult because if you just do it as normal, you`ll get a picture of your home screen. The gameplay was great, but the graphic was bad sometimes, it had great sound effects which made the game more exciting.
    My experiences with the game was that the game was exciting, but I think you were way too free to go where you wanted, so you could end the game before you ever got a thing from the actual short story. But if you wanted to get the whole short story it could`ve taken hours before you`d end it.
    Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2016
    4
    The game is about a girl name Katie who been in Europe, and when she came home the house was empty. And she had no idea where her parents andThe game is about a girl name Katie who been in Europe, and when she came home the house was empty. And she had no idea where her parents and sister could have been. She started to look after information on where they are. She found out that her parents had moved to new house and her sister Samantha was gone. And she found a lot of information about her sister that she don’t know before.
    The game is a typical mysterious game, and the house was fully with a lot of secrets. The house was huge, and we had to go everywhere to find out what we was looking for. The graphic was really good, and it was like we are there in real life. The narrator tell in chronological time, but you can find a lot of information that are in past time.
    I think the key message is when you are gone for a while, and when you came back everything could have been changed. You have to accept that not everything was as before, because everything can changes.
    Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2013
    1
    I would like to say that this is a horrible game. But if I'm going to be honest, I can't say that, since "Gone Home" really is not a game atI would like to say that this is a horrible game. But if I'm going to be honest, I can't say that, since "Gone Home" really is not a game at all. It is remarkably short (around 2 hours) and yet still boasts repetitive gameplay. All you do in this game is explore a house and examine the notes, pictures, documents, and artefacts contained therein. The house is big, and is well done by the developers, but to make a good game in today's video game industry, you're gonna have to make a bit more than a house. The story is very uninteresting and uninspired. It is also very predictable, as you can probably predict the ending around 10 minutes into the game. That is not to say that Gone Home's story is generic. Actually, this game is actually quite original. But at the end of the day, originality is overrated if you can't produce good gameplay, story, or atmosphere. It also doesn't help that this short, excuse-for-a-game, costs $18 on steam. So, if you are looking for a cost-effective game to purchase, stay away from "Gone Home" like the plague. Perhaps this game's only redeeming feature is that the voice acting of the ONLY character that speaks is done well (Yes well, not amazingly, but well nonetheless). Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2016
    0
    Entediante, sem emoção nenhuma... uma historinha bem fraquinha contada de uma forma chata. Nada de inesperado, nada de revelador, nada capazEntediante, sem emoção nenhuma... uma historinha bem fraquinha contada de uma forma chata. Nada de inesperado, nada de revelador, nada capaz de lhe envolver ou emocionar. Expand

See all 799 User Reviews