Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    92
    It is a great finish to a truly original tale, and a trilogy that anyone not already familiar with the series should absolutely purchase and enjoy.
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    91
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    90
    Goodbye Deponia sends off the series in the most profoundly memorable way. While there are some pacing concerns and minor technical issues here and there, these are overshadowed by the comical story and clever puzzle designs.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Goodbye Deponia is a fantastic episode to end this point 'n click saga... Let's just hope that it is not completely finished and that we will find Rufus and Goal in new adventures soon! If you like adventure games, you definitely have to play this trilogy.
  5. Oct 16, 2013
    90
    All in all, Daedalic have crafted an excellent adventure that does justice to the series, topping it all off in a satisfying manner. It even leaves quite a bit of room for interpretation in the end.
  6. Oct 11, 2013
    89
    Goodbye Deponia is the final part of the epic Deponia-trilogy. Rufus and his companions manage to give players a satisfying conclusion with lots of humor and tricky puzzles.
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    88
    This is one of the best graphic adventures we've played in the last few years, at least with classic gameplay mechanics. Great story, great characters, great puzzles… and one of the best closures for a trilogy we've seen in a while.
  8. Goodbye Deponia tells a beautiful story without losing its humor. A must buy for adventure fans.
  9. Nov 18, 2013
    87
    Goodbye Deponia is a wild rollercoaster ride - a bigger, smarter and funnier adventure than the previous Deponia games. It will earn a place in your heart even after it totally fails to deliver a proper cathartic ending.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Oct 19, 2013
    4
    Great humour but a huge step back when compared to Memoria. Don't expect anything to ever make sense in this game; it never does. Only randomGreat humour but a huge step back when compared to Memoria. Don't expect anything to ever make sense in this game; it never does. Only random guesswork will get you anywhere, as it suffers from the worst "puzzle" design i have seen in a long time. Very disappointing. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    Goodbye Deponia is well written in that it does make your emotionally involved with the plight of the characters in the story. There are someGoodbye Deponia is well written in that it does make your emotionally involved with the plight of the characters in the story. There are some laughs here and there as well as some comical references pulled from many other games and TV shows and while it seems to be worth playing, I personally thought so too until the dramatic climax. I had flashbacks to the horrible ending of Mass effect trilogy it was the same thing all over again a Non-ending. One that leaves you with a disgust for the entire series after seeing it. It very quickly goes from something you liked to play and were fond of to a bitter memory that you shake your head and try to forget when it pops into your mind. Do your self a favor and don't play any of these three games you will just be disappointed at the end. Any way you look at how this thing ended they are all horrible. I believe the author of the story even deliberately gloated the fact at the end. Basically saying look I made this awesome story watch as I destroy it with a baseball bat.

    There was also several things in the story itself that made me cringe.

    #1 separating two love birds and forcing one of them into indentured servitude.
    #2 convincing kids to touch a pedophiles penis, and also doing it yourself. Then convincing woman to get the pedophiles penis tattooed on there arms.
    #3 killing baby dolphins and turning them into cat food for a puzzle.

    There were others but this is all I can point out without adding spoilers.
    Don't buy the game
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    Just awesome quest. Lovely characters and story. A lot of humor and even a bit of drama. And all this at the highest level of performance.Just awesome quest. Lovely characters and story. A lot of humor and even a bit of drama. And all this at the highest level of performance. Bravo, Daedalic Entertainment! Full Review »