User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 129
  2. Negative: 35 out of 129

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    This is the future of gaming. You pay to win, a vast majority of the guns require minimum aiming and it's free to play which means that no one who plays the game actually cares about it.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    6
    The short version is: "Ask yourself if you like Call of Duty" if so, then you will like this game. The game feels a LOT more like a mod for Call of Duty than anything like team fortress. Youtube "Gotham City Impostors Beta - Gameplay 1 - Fumigation on Crime Alley" for a more accurate feel for the gameplay, the promotional vids make it look more crazy than it is. I really wanted to like itThe short version is: "Ask yourself if you like Call of Duty" if so, then you will like this game. The game feels a LOT more like a mod for Call of Duty than anything like team fortress. Youtube "Gotham City Impostors Beta - Gameplay 1 - Fumigation on Crime Alley" for a more accurate feel for the gameplay, the promotional vids make it look more crazy than it is. I really wanted to like it and even playing the challenges I can see huge potential, but in multiplayer it just feels like call of duty with a few movement mods. I think the main problem is the machine guns & gunsights, they just dont seem to -fit- with the fun goofy atmosphere and make the game feel serious. ****Some Minor issues relating to it being a console port. Matchmaking & game menus are not good enough for a PC game, but once you have set your keys and get into a game, it's fine. Team balance is a little odd too (one team can outnumber the other 3 to 1 and you can't swap teams to balance it). [Note: It's still very early, maybe things will change] Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    5
    Ok. I set up a metacritic account just to share my impressions about this game on Steam, because I read all kinds of reviews, but none of them mentions the flaws that I ran into. So here we go. I don't think at this point I would recommend someone getting this game on Steam. I am going to start off with the negative, because I wish someone would have told me the negative, and then theOk. I set up a metacritic account just to share my impressions about this game on Steam, because I read all kinds of reviews, but none of them mentions the flaws that I ran into. So here we go. I don't think at this point I would recommend someone getting this game on Steam. I am going to start off with the negative, because I wish someone would have told me the negative, and then the positive. First of all the PC matchmaking is BAD! It takes about 10 to 15 minutes to find a match. I found one match within 2 minutes, but then it was back to waiting 10 to 15 minutes between matches. Also it is a Window live Game. So if you don't have a Windows Live Account you will have to sign up... Like I did... Which took some time. My biggest complaint of the game is that there is NO gamepad support. This is a huge let down for me as I don't enjoy keyboard mouse, as much as gamepad. I have also read that they don't plan to support gamepad controls? Thats right... I don't know why, but get used to keyboard... On a positive note, the game itself is good. I enjoyed the matches that I was able to join. I can't say that I was any good...because I am not good with a keyboard mouse combo, but it was still fun. The controls felt very smooth, and the leveling system seems to be very compelling. It was very easy to pick up and play, and enjoy. In short... If they fixed the matchmaking, and added gamepad support, i would give this game a 8.5 compared to a 5. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    Let's get one thing straight. This game is not bad, but it's certainly not the best FPS out there. To say that it should be rated against games like BF3 or COD is a complete farce and I'm not even sure it would be fair to rate it against something like TF2. What I would call it though is a decent way to waste a couple of hours releasing your inner vigilante rage. While the graphics areLet's get one thing straight. This game is not bad, but it's certainly not the best FPS out there. To say that it should be rated against games like BF3 or COD is a complete farce and I'm not even sure it would be fair to rate it against something like TF2. What I would call it though is a decent way to waste a couple of hours releasing your inner vigilante rage. While the graphics are nothing to scream about, having known the game was running on Directx 9.0, it's to be expected. The characters have some fun customization potential and leveling up isn't too daunting making the pace of unlocks generally good. While weapons selection and load-out slots are rather limited, the pre-determined "classes" give you a good base-line to figure out what works for you when building custom characters and playing styles. As for game modes, this game was more or less meant for Multiplayer (like TF2) so if you were hoping for an engaging single player, you'll be disappointed. The game modes are generally straight forward with versions of capture the flag, point control and team death match. Maps, (only 5...I think) are a bit like nascar, so if you need diversity you won't find that but if you're just looking for a straight forward FPS the game play can be quite enjoyable.

    The one major downside I've found is the Xbox360esk method of finding playable games. The reason I play PC games is for dedicated servers (...and graphics) and not having to wait to find more players which at times can be frustrating, as well as the inability to mute annoying players on their mics in the player lobbies.


    Overall though Gotham City Impostors is generally a pretty easy game to pick up, after about a half hour I'd say its fair you can get a good sense of the controls and how play works. If you're smart enough not to get wrangled by all the "buy-now" DLC then for $15 it's certainly not the worst purchase I've made.

    Beyond that, I'd say if you can hold off the impulse to purchase (unlike myself), I'd say wait until the price drops to $4.99 on steam and then pick it up, at that point I'd say it'll probably be priced appropriately (for more critical players) and there might be more FREE content...maybe.
    Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2012
    7
    ignore the older reviews based on bad matchmaking etc. all of these problems have been solved from the patch. The gameplay is actually very fun, and I have enjoyed it immensely, but the novelty may wear off fairly quickly.
  6. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    the game is a fun little way to pass time, nothing too intense and fun mainly in short bursts. it would score much higher (like an 8 or 9) if it werent for a few gaping problems in the game. 1. auto match-making that rarely works, and no option to choose your own server, 4 out of 5 times you will not get into a game, and will have to retry, and that really is a time waster 2. verythe game is a fun little way to pass time, nothing too intense and fun mainly in short bursts. it would score much higher (like an 8 or 9) if it werent for a few gaping problems in the game. 1. auto match-making that rarely works, and no option to choose your own server, 4 out of 5 times you will not get into a game, and will have to retry, and that really is a time waster 2. very unbalanced, i admire the create a class system and the wacky over-the-top-ness of this game's weapons, but there are serious imbalances. 90% of players go for big body (max health), body armor (more health), rocket launcher, and glider cape loadout, and that seems to be the winning combo, you will just hoarde points much faster with that combination of things, and it really makes any other choice of class a masochistic decision.

    rocket launcher takes off more health, has a wider area of impact than, has as much ammunition as, and reloads faster than the shotgun, which is astounding, the weapons are very unbalanced. there is a sniper rifle that can insta-kill even if you hit the person in the foot. the glider cape move where you pounce down and instantly kill an enemy is over powered too, some serious balance needed. there should be a cap on 1 rocket per team, and the impact of the rocket should kill teammates too as well as the person firing the rocket. a limit on rocket ammo needs to be put on at least, and reload time should make a person at least consider not firing rockets so willy nilly. people should recieve added damage if shot while gliding towards a target, since its very difficult to hit them gliding anyway, and makes it damn near impossible to avoid being air stomped. 3. the countdown to matches is all messed up, it counts down from 20, then when it gets to zero, always goes back to 10 and counts down again.. why? if the game was better balanced and didnt have the silly automatch only setup, then i would recommend this game to anyone at full retail price, as it stands it just about justifies my â
    Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Fun. Worth buying. But the batmans vs jokers gimmick will become old and boring very quickly, then you will realize there is nothing special about this game to stand off from other FPS games, and you will probably wanna go back playing CoD or whatever the hell you are playing. I still like to come back to this game from time to time, but only for a match or two, its not a game that couldFun. Worth buying. But the batmans vs jokers gimmick will become old and boring very quickly, then you will realize there is nothing special about this game to stand off from other FPS games, and you will probably wanna go back playing CoD or whatever the hell you are playing. I still like to come back to this game from time to time, but only for a match or two, its not a game that could keep me intrested for hours. Expand
  8. Mar 30, 2012
    5
    Interesting COD clone that tries to bring a few new things to the tired FPS genre. It's a very tongue in cheek, violent, comic style shooter with a lot of depth and replay value. It's a shame the game runs so horribly on PC. Even with a decent rig you're going to get frequent and frustrating FPS drops. Underneath all the compatibility issues is a really fun and enjoyable game. However,Interesting COD clone that tries to bring a few new things to the tired FPS genre. It's a very tongue in cheek, violent, comic style shooter with a lot of depth and replay value. It's a shame the game runs so horribly on PC. Even with a decent rig you're going to get frequent and frustrating FPS drops. Underneath all the compatibility issues is a really fun and enjoyable game. However, until a patch is released to fix all the performance problems, this game is more annoying than anything else. Expand
  9. Mar 30, 2012
    6
    Long story short this is more or less aiming to be the love-child of Batman Arkham City and TF2 - Batman for the characters, and TF2 for everything else....hmmm.....I guess I'll rephrase that sentence - its a TF2 which dreams of the stars. BUT! as I very clearly outlined in my TF2 review I more or less compared it to the closest form of multiplayer perfection we could possibly ever seeLong story short this is more or less aiming to be the love-child of Batman Arkham City and TF2 - Batman for the characters, and TF2 for everything else....hmmm.....I guess I'll rephrase that sentence - its a TF2 which dreams of the stars. BUT! as I very clearly outlined in my TF2 review I more or less compared it to the closest form of multiplayer perfection we could possibly ever see and this was not the mere remarking of a Luddite! I launched the game to eagerly give the villains of Gotham the sweet taste of lead filled JUSTICE! And I waited patiently for that virtue. I waited. And waited. And waited. About 15 minutes later and smashing my head against the keyboard to kill time I was thrown into the game to give the villains of Gotham the taste of my sweet lead-fuelled JUSTICE! The experience I got was wholly different to that of the magical goofyness of TF2, and the variety in weapons and experience and modding and general fun that TF2 threw out there. There was a laborious levelling system within the slowest unlocking system imaginable to create my pink covered avenger of the night and an askew team balance to say the least. But I didn't rate it at 0 or lower (...?) because its functional and smooth operating like the smooth operator. The controls and moving plays out very well and fluid-y. The gadgets used to modify your movement play brilliantly, giving you a lot of different options on how you want to approach combat very nicely, and to its credit the weapons and gadgets do unlock at a fair pace, I will say however that there is a REASON TF2 uses a random drop system, it doesn't alienate new players who find they're grossly outmatched by their betters - it adds an element of balance to the game as a whole. And I did have fun with the game but I will add there's a massive big * by that whole sentence, just because I didn't have as much fun as I did with TF2 - its a decent game but not world-breaking, and certainly not worth £15 ($24) off steam. Save your money and get TF2 (which I will add is free! :3 ) Collapse
  10. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    Gotham City Impostors may have flaws and is "broken", but is a great, fun game. The flaws I have tended to notice are: Matchmaking - The problem is it takes quite sometime to find a game with the required amount of players (I believe 8) and sometimes, while "balancing" teams, you get placed on an outnumbered team or an outnumbering team (Ex. 5 v. 3). Another flaw is the connection to aGotham City Impostors may have flaws and is "broken", but is a great, fun game. The flaws I have tended to notice are: Matchmaking - The problem is it takes quite sometime to find a game with the required amount of players (I believe 8) and sometimes, while "balancing" teams, you get placed on an outnumbered team or an outnumbering team (Ex. 5 v. 3). Another flaw is the connection to a lobby - My friend and I notice that most people within a game have terrible ping, but a few do not and it lags to the point of frustration, because you keep getting killed and you're completely oblivious to anything happening due to the lag. These two flaws are terrible, but it has been rumored matchmaking will be fixed, sometime in March. The connectivity issue is something I have not heard fixing about, but who knows, they may fix it sometime in the near future. All-in-all the game has some major issues that will be hopefully fixed sometime soon, but other than that the game is fun and I enjoy it for the cartoony graphics and great gameplay. Expand
  11. Mar 30, 2012
    6
    Long story short this is more or less aiming to be the love-child of Batman Arkham City and TF2 - Batman for the characters, and TF2 for everything else....hmmm.....I guess I'll rephrase that sentence - its a TF2 which dreams of the stars. BUT! as I very clearly outlined in my TF2 review I more or less compared it to the closest form of multiplayer perfection we could possibly ever seeLong story short this is more or less aiming to be the love-child of Batman Arkham City and TF2 - Batman for the characters, and TF2 for everything else....hmmm.....I guess I'll rephrase that sentence - its a TF2 which dreams of the stars. BUT! as I very clearly outlined in my TF2 review I more or less compared it to the closest form of multiplayer perfection we could possibly ever see and this was not the mere remarking of a Luddite! I launched the game to eagerly give the villains of Gotham the sweet taste of lead filled JUSTICE! And I waited patiently for that virtue. I waited. And waited. And waited. About 15 minutes later and smashing my head against the keyboard to kill time I was thrown into the game to give the villains of Gotham the taste of my sweet lead-fuelled JUSTICE! The experience I got was wholly different to that of the magical goofyness of TF2, and the variety in weapons and experience and modding and general fun that TF2 threw out there. There was a laborious levelling system within the slowest unlocking system imaginable to create my pink covered avenger of the night and an askew team balance to say the least. But I didn't rate it at 0 or lower (...?) because its functional and smooth operating like the smooth operator. The controls and moving plays out very well and fluid-y. The gadgets used to modify your movement play brilliantly, giving you a lot of different options on how you want to approach combat very nicely, and to its credit the weapons and gadgets do unlock at a fair pace, I will say however that there is a REASON TF2 uses a random drop system, it doesn't alienate new players who find they're grossly outmatched by their betters - it adds an element of balance to the game as a whole. And I did have fun with the game but I will add there's a massive big * by that whole sentence, just because I didn't have as much fun as I did with TF2 - its a decent game but not world-breaking, and certainly not worth £15 ($24) off steam. Save your money and get TF2 (which I will add is free! :3 ) Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. CD-Action
    May 10, 2012
    70
    A lot of Modern Warfare, a bit of Bioshock 2 and a pinch of Team Fortress 2. It's a pity that Impostors does not share Battlefield Heroes' business model – free download and microtransactions. [June 2012, p.65]
  2. Apr 28, 2012
    60
    Gotham City Imposters is nothing more than a simple first person shooter, that mainly has an interesting levelsystem and a large number of weapons, gear and special items to unlock. The absurd style that mocks the Batman-universe is entertaining, but doesn't make the average gameplay more interesting.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 12, 2012
    60
    We found matches to be a little hectic, with very little teamwork going on. [May 2012, p.75]