User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 123
  2. Negative: 34 out of 123

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely Worthless, The game it's just not interesting, its an rpg game where you shoot persons and you have a level, all games you play online you'll receive some amount of xp that will upper your level, and coins that you use to buy guns and buy clothes for your character, Online you'll play randomly, you could be play against a 1000 level guy and you're just level 1, the 1000 level guy has SUPER good guns that will kill you much more easily then you will kill him with super bad guns. All the type of online types for playing, all of them are just super normal, normal rpg game, nothing new, Just one of many bad rpg games... Horrible, hated it, nothing good in the game, not one single thing. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    1
    Graphics are pretty alright/smooth. That's the only thing I'm giving this game a one for. This f2p was.. quite a slap to the face, to be honest. Gotham City Impostors? How does this game have anything to do with Batman if Batman's full 3d rendered character isn't even shown once, or for that matter, playable, as like a special character? At least that would add some flair to the game. ItGraphics are pretty alright/smooth. That's the only thing I'm giving this game a one for. This f2p was.. quite a slap to the face, to be honest. Gotham City Impostors? How does this game have anything to do with Batman if Batman's full 3d rendered character isn't even shown once, or for that matter, playable, as like a special character? At least that would add some flair to the game. It is very mediocre beyond belief, and CONFUSING. Weapons, matchmaking, etc. To one, he/she may think right off the bat that this game is a fighting style sort of game, with actual third person fist-fighting similar to LA Noire. But no, it's another free typical fps shooter. Cmon steam. First off, matchmaking, horrendous. Takes at least a 10 minute wait on good internet speed, and this game does not have a beginners server, no. They immediately throw you in with higher ranking players and you have no damn clue how to play properly. Sprinting in this game? JOKE. It's exactly like walking almost! Even I could run faster in other shooters. And weapons, unbelievable. Starter rifle, is a con. Very weak, but somehow other players manage to make it overpowered. Everything is WEAK in this game, and deaths are more likely. Overall, you gotta pay the price in money to get the good weapons you want to wreck havoc. In my honest opinion, lame. Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2012
    0
    I created an account here just to say this. This game is slow. Probably a console port. The matchmaking sucks. I had to wait for ever for a match, just to get disconnected. Its also good to note that their website is terrible to use, which is bad cause you have to go there to verify your account. This is a bad game. Even for free2play. I had hoped it would be good.. and it looks ok,I created an account here just to say this. This game is slow. Probably a console port. The matchmaking sucks. I had to wait for ever for a match, just to get disconnected. Its also good to note that their website is terrible to use, which is bad cause you have to go there to verify your account. This is a bad game. Even for free2play. I had hoped it would be good.. and it looks ok, graphically. Everything else is a load of turd though. Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2012
    1
    Terrible graphics, way over the top childishness, cheesey characters, rubbish weapons, awful mechanics for shooting and movement, overcomplicated and treats the player like a noob. There's so much rubbish in this game and not enough simplicity for gun on gun action. There's no point in create a class in a free shooter. I am a fan of CoD games and I think this game sucks so hard. Not as badTerrible graphics, way over the top childishness, cheesey characters, rubbish weapons, awful mechanics for shooting and movement, overcomplicated and treats the player like a noob. There's so much rubbish in this game and not enough simplicity for gun on gun action. There's no point in create a class in a free shooter. I am a fan of CoD games and I think this game sucks so hard. Not as bad as MW3 online but in terms of quality it's a whole lot worse. And not many games have a worse online than MW3. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2012
    1
    The game itself is completely unremarkable (intro video is the only thing worth taking a look at). What IS definitely interesting about the game is that it's perhaps the most shameless pay-up-for-sh***y-DLCs project ever! AFAIR on the day of release GCI already had DLCs worth twice the game's cost.

    Last week GCI went "free-to-play" on Steam, with the whole marketing team hoping that
    The game itself is completely unremarkable (intro video is the only thing worth taking a look at). What IS definitely interesting about the game is that it's perhaps the most shameless pay-up-for-sh***y-DLCs project ever! AFAIR on the day of release GCI already had DLCs worth twice the game's cost.

    Last week GCI went "free-to-play" on Steam, with the whole marketing team hoping that some more gamers will pay for almost 40 tiny and poorly done DLCs. Nice final attempt to squeeze a little more dough out of an unremarkable FPS, poorly disguised as an act of generosity.
    Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2012
    4
    Simply put not a very good game. My favorite part was the intro. After that, being constantly losing connections to servers, being "kicked" by the host before the game has even started, and random game crashes are big annoying problems that need to be fixed. It takes too long to get to a game for me to have to restart the whole process over again. Once you are over all that you have aSimply put not a very good game. My favorite part was the intro. After that, being constantly losing connections to servers, being "kicked" by the host before the game has even started, and random game crashes are big annoying problems that need to be fixed. It takes too long to get to a game for me to have to restart the whole process over again. Once you are over all that you have a mediocre shooter that tries to be different. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2012
    4
    I wanted to like this game. I really did; the zany concept, the colourful characters, it felt like the old days of FPS's where a sense of humour was more important than how space your powered marine armour was. It looked as though it was going to be as much fun as Left 4 Dead, with frantic mayhem being the rule of the day.
    The game is presented well enough, with cute animations for
    I wanted to like this game. I really did; the zany concept, the colourful characters, it felt like the old days of FPS's where a sense of humour was more important than how space your powered marine armour was. It looked as though it was going to be as much fun as Left 4 Dead, with frantic mayhem being the rule of the day.
    The game is presented well enough, with cute animations for introducing the various elements, and transitions between the screens that makes the game feel like there was some care put into it. However, it's when you actually try to play the game that things start to become unhinged.

    Firstly, there's only a few maps to play on. Yes, this is a budget title, but they're the same kind of maps you could play in any shooter, they're not nearly as colourful as the promos and opening intro lead you to believe. They're boring old buildings that don't even feel like they're part of Gotham... I was expecting traps or environmental effects to take advantage of. Secondly, matches take FOREVER to start. During average hours I'd EXPECT to be able to play with other people, it still takes 5-20 minutes to find enough people to play with, and even then, the teams are almost never even. Not even AI bots to at least PARTIALLY assist in a match when you're shorthanded. Thirdly, the game isn't even very well optimized. I have to launch the game directly from its .exe, or I'll get 10-20 fps despite having an i5-2500K CPU and a reasonably powerful mid-range graphic card with ram to spare. The in-game micro-economy is nothing to write home about.... it is what it is, and if I enjoyed playing the game more... I wouldn't have minded the hours I would have needed to invest just so I could have my character tricked out to appear and sound exactly how I wanted it.

    The game sorely needs drop-in game joining to resolve uneven team sizes, a faster, better matchmaking protocol, and better hardware/software optimization... when it comes to frantic, fast-paced VS mayhem, you'll get more enjoyment out of TF2 or L4D than you will this game. It was squeezed out before it was finished baking, and frankly, if the game isn't good at launch, then patches aren't going to make it any better. Even at $15, this game feels more like I was only begrudgingly playing it because I bought it than because I felt it was genuinely fun.
    Expand
  8. Feb 21, 2012
    2
    You have to undrestand my frustration. I've bought the game, started it... got through registration, finally launched the proper game... I've waited 10 minutes in freaking matchmaking lobby... And then... Match starts.. LAGS!!! This game is terribly optimized... Pc port sucks major ass. How can i review Gotham City Impostors, if my game lags like hell ? It's totally unplayable,You have to undrestand my frustration. I've bought the game, started it... got through registration, finally launched the proper game... I've waited 10 minutes in freaking matchmaking lobby... And then... Match starts.. LAGS!!! This game is terribly optimized... Pc port sucks major ass. How can i review Gotham City Impostors, if my game lags like hell ? It's totally unplayable, framerate drops BELOW 20fps. That's a total DISGRACE. There's no actual explanation for such bad performance, this game seems to lag without any reason. Yes, devs promised patching this and other issues. IN MARCH. Suck my %^(#. Really. Two points, because this game seems like a great fun... I will change this grade to higher IF IT'LL ACTUALLY WORK. Expand
  9. Feb 12, 2012
    0
    Don't buy, the game is broken. Its not even possible to get into a game, you will wait 10-15 min to find people, then either it REMOVES YOU from the lobby and joins you into a new one where you are alone, and a 60s countdown starts to join a match, after that ofcourse you return to a new lobby or you will just sit an hours, staring at the empty lobby. after few hours, if youre lucky, youDon't buy, the game is broken. Its not even possible to get into a game, you will wait 10-15 min to find people, then either it REMOVES YOU from the lobby and joins you into a new one where you are alone, and a 60s countdown starts to join a match, after that ofcourse you return to a new lobby or you will just sit an hours, staring at the empty lobby. after few hours, if youre lucky, you might have a full party but then you will get connection failure and have to repeat the process. overall, if youre lucky, you might play one game a day if chose to spend 6 hours in the lobby. this is broken crap, dont buy even if it looks funâ Expand
  10. Feb 12, 2012
    0
    The game looks fine, but it's not possible to play it in multiplayer (which is a big problem for pure multiplayer game!). Matchmaking is not working, you can spent 15minutes for waiting to other players (i hope, this will be fixed in March). After this waiting, if you join to the game, your FPS will be very low even on average PC on low graphic settings (so, they don't care of PC versionThe game looks fine, but it's not possible to play it in multiplayer (which is a big problem for pure multiplayer game!). Matchmaking is not working, you can spent 15minutes for waiting to other players (i hope, this will be fixed in March). After this waiting, if you join to the game, your FPS will be very low even on average PC on low graphic settings (so, they don't care of PC version and made very lazy console port for PC). But point of this game is very simillar like free to play model (you can buy double XP, more player models, etc..). But you have to buy this game to joint to lazy free to play game.. If Monolith fixed this issues, i will updated this score, but now ... sry Expand
  11. Feb 11, 2012
    1
    This game is pathetic. You have to wait in matchmaking system for at least 30 minutes before you can play and when you get into the map the team are unbalanced. It's almost impossible to hit the opponent due to the awful hit reg. The player with least skill gets on top. Do yourself a favor, do not buy this game!
  12. Feb 9, 2012
    0
    The game sucks, I am giving it a 0 since that is what the experience will be like after the new factor of this game wears off. It is a shameless attempt to cash in on the recent success of Batman games, and the $200+ worth of day one DLC is proof of the fact that the developers were more concerned with making a quick buck than they were with actually making a good game. The Graphics areThe game sucks, I am giving it a 0 since that is what the experience will be like after the new factor of this game wears off. It is a shameless attempt to cash in on the recent success of Batman games, and the $200+ worth of day one DLC is proof of the fact that the developers were more concerned with making a quick buck than they were with actually making a good game. The Graphics are extremely poor for todays standards, and the gameplay leaves much to be desired. The fact that the matchmaking is somewhat broken only adds to how terrible and genuinely boring the game is to play. I would avoid this unless you enjoy bad games. There isn't any single player content, so once the online community dies out, you won't even be able to play the thing. Expand
  13. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    pathetic game,sniping is no nerfed it is a joke
    and scope zoom animation is a joke also,is it that hard to copy mw2,mw3 scope animation?!
    and the scope crosshair also sucks,just use two crosed black lines kids

    developers really are a littel ....
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. May 10, 2012
    70
    A lot of Modern Warfare, a bit of Bioshock 2 and a pinch of Team Fortress 2. It's a pity that Impostors does not share Battlefield Heroes' business model – free download and microtransactions. [June 2012, p.65]
  2. Apr 28, 2012
    60
    Gotham City Imposters is nothing more than a simple first person shooter, that mainly has an interesting levelsystem and a large number of weapons, gear and special items to unlock. The absurd style that mocks the Batman-universe is entertaining, but doesn't make the average gameplay more interesting.
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    60
    We found matches to be a little hectic, with very little teamwork going on. [May 2012, p.75]