Gotham City Impostors Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gotham City Impostors is a multiplayer game unlike any other, giving players the opportunity to rebel against conformity as they customize their own characters. Posing as amateur vigilantes or villains, gamers will create their very own Bats and Jokerz characters using unprecedentedGotham City Impostors is a multiplayer game unlike any other, giving players the opportunity to rebel against conformity as they customize their own characters. Posing as amateur vigilantes or villains, gamers will create their very own Bats and Jokerz characters using unprecedented customization options including insane costumes, homebrewed gadgets and a wide range of traditional and imagined weapons. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    80
    Crazy and wild, Gotham City Impostors is a great multiplayer action game with great personality, a very good sense of humor, endless customization options and a very direct and intense gameplay that has enchanted us.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    75
    Gotham City Impostors is frantic fun for shooter fans who want something a little different.
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    70
    A functional shooter with a sense of humor and a Batman license. It's got plenty to unlock, but it's not all that deep. Go, shoot, win. Over and over. If you're looking for a first-person shooter that doesn't take itself seriously, have at it, but don't expect a FPS revolution.
  5. Apr 28, 2012
    60
    Gotham City Imposters is nothing more than a simple first person shooter, that mainly has an interesting levelsystem and a large number of weapons, gear and special items to unlock. The absurd style that mocks the Batman-universe is entertaining, but doesn't make the average gameplay more interesting.
  6. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 12, 2012
    60
    We found matches to be a little hectic, with very little teamwork going on. [May 2012, p.75]
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    30
    When I was able to get connected, I would often stay connected for three or four matches before something would slip and I'd have to restart the matchmaking process.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 62
  2. Negative: 13 out of 62
  1. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    The free patched/1st DLC version of this game (1 month after release) is a superb online FPS. The graphics and theme itself are a sight toThe free patched/1st DLC version of this game (1 month after release) is a superb online FPS. The graphics and theme itself are a sight to behold. Audio is excellent, and the numerous voice options and personalities are a real treat. I love the humour that runs throughout this entire production, from the quirky gadgets to the outfits and funny lines spoken by the characters. The match making/joining process has been upgraded and now works flawlessly. There are plenty of matches that can be joined quickly and easily. The online community is large, and will only get larger. Gotham Impostors is a refreshingly original new intellectual property (IP). This is a AAA online multiplayer FPS that runs very smoothly, is fun to play, and makes you laugh. It is a very addictive game, and at just $15 USD, it's a real bargain. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    I played this game during few hours. I wasn't on beta. I finded it so FUN! after few minutes, the game is yours. The fun is in your hands. SoI played this game during few hours. I wasn't on beta. I finded it so FUN! after few minutes, the game is yours. The fun is in your hands. So much of fun for $15...(sry for my english, not my native language...) Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    This game is a blast and so much fun to boot. You'll be in items, unlocks and customisation heaven before you know it. A FPS for people whoThis game is a blast and so much fun to boot. You'll be in items, unlocks and customisation heaven before you know it. A FPS for people who don't like FPS. Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    i played the game for some hours now. the game is great. it's fast paced, nice looking and it is greatly mixing the character modifcation ofi played the game for some hours now. the game is great. it's fast paced, nice looking and it is greatly mixing the character modifcation of team fortress 2, the level up system of brink with the weapon modification system of call of duty. the only downside is the matchmaking system. i waited twice the time searching for a game to start than actual playing it. i wish they would immigrate the system of team fortress 2 (that i can search my own games and join them whenever i want.) Expand
  5. May 15, 2014
    8
    Sense they updated and they actually listened to the issues players were having.
    I now recommend this game to anyone who likes Batman / The
    Sense they updated and they actually listened to the issues players were having.
    I now recommend this game to anyone who likes Batman / The Joker but enjoys a good first person shooter with unique weapons and style of playing.
    Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    the game is a fun little way to pass time, nothing too intense and fun mainly in short bursts. it would score much higher (like an 8 or 9) ifthe game is a fun little way to pass time, nothing too intense and fun mainly in short bursts. it would score much higher (like an 8 or 9) if it werent for a few gaping problems in the game. 1. auto match-making that rarely works, and no option to choose your own server, 4 out of 5 times you will not get into a game, and will have to retry, and that really is a time waster 2. very unbalanced, i admire the create a class system and the wacky over-the-top-ness of this game's weapons, but there are serious imbalances. 90% of players go for big body (max health), body armor (more health), rocket launcher, and glider cape loadout, and that seems to be the winning combo, you will just hoarde points much faster with that combination of things, and it really makes any other choice of class a masochistic decision.

    rocket launcher takes off more health, has a wider area of impact than, has as much ammunition as, and reloads faster than the shotgun, which is astounding, the weapons are very unbalanced. there is a sniper rifle that can insta-kill even if you hit the person in the foot. the glider cape move where you pounce down and instantly kill an enemy is over powered too, some serious balance needed. there should be a cap on 1 rocket per team, and the impact of the rocket should kill teammates too as well as the person firing the rocket. a limit on rocket ammo needs to be put on at least, and reload time should make a person at least consider not firing rockets so willy nilly. people should recieve added damage if shot while gliding towards a target, since its very difficult to hit them gliding anyway, and makes it damn near impossible to avoid being air stomped. 3. the countdown to matches is all messed up, it counts down from 20, then when it gets to zero, always goes back to 10 and counts down again.. why? if the game was better balanced and didnt have the silly automatch only setup, then i would recommend this game to anyone at full retail price, as it stands it just about justifies my â
    Expand
  7. Sep 4, 2012
    0
    I created an account here just to say this. This game is slow. Probably a console port. The matchmaking sucks. I had to wait for ever for aI created an account here just to say this. This game is slow. Probably a console port. The matchmaking sucks. I had to wait for ever for a match, just to get disconnected. Its also good to note that their website is terrible to use, which is bad cause you have to go there to verify your account. This is a bad game. Even for free2play. I had hoped it would be good.. and it looks ok, graphically. Everything else is a load of turd though. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews