User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 86
  2. Negative: 48 out of 86

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 8, 2011
    7
    I actually really liked it in its present state now that it's been patched a lot. Freeing Orc held towns is great fun. It's also huge (probably where they went wrong in being too ambitious). Still got a lot of bugs but I could get round them. Certainly gave me a lot of fun for a long time.
  2. Apr 18, 2012
    8
    My review is based on the Enhanced Edition from Steam.
    I just finished playing Forsaken Gods and honestly I did not find that many bugs if any noteworthy ones.
    I play games for the Gameplay and the story and I played Gothic 3, so to finally after many years, to buy the standalone expansion was a must. I cannot understand the low score people give this game, but I guess most of it is
    My review is based on the Enhanced Edition from Steam.
    I just finished playing Forsaken Gods and honestly I did not find that many bugs if any noteworthy ones.
    I play games for the Gameplay and the story and I played Gothic 3, so to finally after many years, to buy the standalone expansion was a must. I cannot understand the low score people give this game, but I guess most of it is based on the original edition and not the Enhanced one. If you like me loved the game and the story of Gothic 3 and even the Gothic Saga, then do not cheat yourself out of this experience. Forsaken Gods is the final link between Gothic 3 and Gothic 4.
    Just make sure you get the Enhanced Edition, then you should be flying. vanAndesen
    Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2011
    0
    Im not gonna say its the worst game in the series, because i dont even consider it as a part of the glorious Gothic franchise. Im gonna say though that its one of the worst games ever made. Im giving it a 0 due to the amount of bugs, which might make the game LITERALLY unplayable. If you even get this thing to work, you might not even be able to beat it, because the quests and NPCs areIm not gonna say its the worst game in the series, because i dont even consider it as a part of the glorious Gothic franchise. Im gonna say though that its one of the worst games ever made. Im giving it a 0 due to the amount of bugs, which might make the game LITERALLY unplayable. If you even get this thing to work, you might not even be able to beat it, because the quests and NPCs are bugged. Even if they ever fix the bugs, it still has terrible gameplay, story, art design, everyhing. Its just a failure. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2011
    1
    First and foremost. I am an avid fan of the Gothic universe. I love all of the games... except this one. MORE bugs that require the download of a 1.5GB community patch, the dialogue is HORRIBLE, the voice actors are amateurs who did not take the time to put an effort into their emotions, the main story as well as the side quests lack any sort of direction and are entirely redundant and notFirst and foremost. I am an avid fan of the Gothic universe. I love all of the games... except this one. MORE bugs that require the download of a 1.5GB community patch, the dialogue is HORRIBLE, the voice actors are amateurs who did not take the time to put an effort into their emotions, the main story as well as the side quests lack any sort of direction and are entirely redundant and not very well planned or written. Aside from NPC's and Quests; there is hardly any new gear. This game is a disgrace to Gothic overall and shames Dreamcatcher/JoWood. THANK GOD Piranha-Bytes had nothing to do with it as it would have further tarnished their reputation after JoWood FORCED them to release Gothic III when it wasn't ready.

    BOTTOM LINE: Not worth your time, or money. If you want to give it a go, look at more of these reviews or go find it somewhere for free, but don't waste a single penny on this shabby attempt at a Gothic game, I'm stripping it from my library as a Gothic game, all the others are fine but I'm not even going to bother to sell this excuse for a game, it's going straight into the trash.
    Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2013
    5
    There is very little that needs to be said about this. IT DOESN"T WORK. I bought this in late 2012. Installed it and tried to play. Couldn't so anything and it CRASHED. So four years after release the developers never fixed this garbage, but Steam still sells it. This is not a game, its a FRAUD! AVOID at all costs! May I remind you that 5/10 in my present scale is truly a 0/10 according toThere is very little that needs to be said about this. IT DOESN"T WORK. I bought this in late 2012. Installed it and tried to play. Couldn't so anything and it CRASHED. So four years after release the developers never fixed this garbage, but Steam still sells it. This is not a game, its a FRAUD! AVOID at all costs! May I remind you that 5/10 in my present scale is truly a 0/10 according to standard reckoning. Even respect for the process of game design cannot extend when a game is as fundamentally broken as this.

    THE GROT REVIEW CRITERIA: After a long time writing reviews like an anus, think its time to set a few bad habits straight: Stop insulting designers. Show some respect for the design process and getting games in circulation. Hence (1) No Red scores. (2) Game scores as follows: Bad Game 5/10. Poor Game 6/10. Mediocre Game: 7/10. Good Game 8/10. Great game 9/10. Stella Game 10/10. To get 10/10 it must be a game that can be (theoretically) play-able for 1000+ hours. Not only great but near endless fun. Games may be bad or poor but making them should earn respect. Thus even the worst POS will still be a 5/10. 0/10 no longer exists in my vocabulary. Yellow is the new red. For the sake of accountability: you can reply if needed: Orctowngrot: Tim Rawlins: timtimjp@yahoo.com
    Expand
  6. May 15, 2011
    0
    Piranha dumped JoWood because they blamed them for a buggy game. However, on my Alienware Desktop that I ordered last year (2010), Forsaken Gods crashes non-stop in the first 5 minutes. No matter what I do, it will not run. However, the original Gothic 3 runs okay. Bugs taken into account, I am glad I got this as a bundle for $5 with all existing Gothic Games on steam. Gothic 1 is great.Piranha dumped JoWood because they blamed them for a buggy game. However, on my Alienware Desktop that I ordered last year (2010), Forsaken Gods crashes non-stop in the first 5 minutes. No matter what I do, it will not run. However, the original Gothic 3 runs okay. Bugs taken into account, I am glad I got this as a bundle for $5 with all existing Gothic Games on steam. Gothic 1 is great. Gothic 4 is definitely fun. Other than that, I would avoid the other Gothic games all together. Piranha thought they were improving on a buggy game, but ended up creating a worse one by changing things and adding more bugs. This game is simply non-playable. Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2013
    4
    Very similar play to Gothic 3 (no surprise). Game save/load times are greatly decresed from Gothic 3. However, there are gamebreaking bugs (such as certain characters being absent from their designated areas) that can occur even at the beginning, yet won't be know until being hours into the game. For my example I was missing Gorn. The only preventative measure to this issue is to literallyVery similar play to Gothic 3 (no surprise). Game save/load times are greatly decresed from Gothic 3. However, there are gamebreaking bugs (such as certain characters being absent from their designated areas) that can occur even at the beginning, yet won't be know until being hours into the game. For my example I was missing Gorn. The only preventative measure to this issue is to literally run to every city and check if all the required main questline characters are there, and this is time consuming/challenging at best. The game would range around an 8 for overall playability for me, but given that the missing character issue ruined 40+ hours of game time (I like to take my time and do all the available quests in each area. Plus I restarted the game a 2nd time to start over and did it again in a streamlined way before I discovered the character was missing and I just hadn't done something wrong (I try to play w/o guides and hints when I play). The issue was actually bad enough I couldn't complete the game (and kept reappearing despite repeated installs) so the score is halved. Expand
  8. Mar 4, 2014
    3
    I bought this thinking it was Gothic 3 + an expansion, but it turns out it was just the stand alone ''Forsaken Gods'' expansion.. Where to start.. the game as a whole feels like an RPG full of clichés with nothing new to offer, the voice acting is horrible, especially the main character, the script isn't better and the story is god forsakenly awful. Get it ?? The only thing I enjoy in theI bought this thinking it was Gothic 3 + an expansion, but it turns out it was just the stand alone ''Forsaken Gods'' expansion.. Where to start.. the game as a whole feels like an RPG full of clichés with nothing new to offer, the voice acting is horrible, especially the main character, the script isn't better and the story is god forsakenly awful. Get it ?? The only thing I enjoy in the game right now is the nice scenery and graphics and sometimes a little of the fighting game play. I paid 2 $ for the game and wouldn't wish it on anyone, good day ! Collapse
  9. Mar 4, 2014
    0
    I bought this thinking it was Gothic 3 + an expansion, but it turns out it was just the stand alone ''Forsaken Gods'' expansion.. Where to start.. the game as a whole feels like an RPG full of clichés with nothing new to offer, the voice acting is horrible, especially the main character, the script isn't better and the story is god forsakenly awful. Get it ?? The only thing I enjoy in theI bought this thinking it was Gothic 3 + an expansion, but it turns out it was just the stand alone ''Forsaken Gods'' expansion.. Where to start.. the game as a whole feels like an RPG full of clichés with nothing new to offer, the voice acting is horrible, especially the main character, the script isn't better and the story is god forsakenly awful. Get it ?? The only thing I enjoy in the game right now is the nice scenery and graphics and sometimes a little of the fighting game play. I paid 2 $ for the game and wouldn't wish it on anyone, good day ! Collapse
Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. 35
    This title is outright disastrous. It was obviously released without thorough or perhaps any testing. The game is rife with design and performance problems and ultimately is unplayable.
  2. 16
    And in the process of keeping it real, I have to comment on Forsaken Gods' combat system, which is -- without a doubt -- the worst I've ever encountered in a game.
  3. A downright frightening army of bugs both scares away any potential fan of Gothic and eliminates any fun that could have been had with the game. [Issue#17]