• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2003
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Finally, this game deserves the highest score I can give. The things that really matter are here. For those who enjoy this type of RPG, this game offers an experience you shouldn't pass up.
  2. It is the most captivating game I have played lately.
  3. Provided you have the necessary levels of patience, Gothic 2 inexorably draws you in. It’s resolutely old-fashioned without being tired, and credits you with, gasp, some intelligence instead of handing over every little thing on a plate. Now if just one single MMORPG could be this good.
  4. 80
    If you can ignore the acting or enjoy it for camp, the rest of Gothic II is an incredible experience.
  5. This game time is artificially prolonged by ridiculous amounts of difficulty. The clunky and unresponsive control scheme is bad enough, but you start so weak that you're forced to do a lot of mindless leveling up before you can do anything interesting.
  6. This game will change what you think about RPGs. The immense world provides hours of gameplay and there are enough different paths to take that the game could be won in any way you want.
  7. The storyline, while cliché, has some interesting twists, and the progression of the narrative through the chapters, and increased sense of doom that occurs midway through the game as you face a orc horde backed by dragons leads to some interesting moments.
  8. On a broader scale, there is little here to frighten away the average RPG gamer and Gothic II is presented in such a way that those who and not "Role Players" but like a little story with their action will be pleasantly surprised Gothic II.
  9. Despite Gothic II’s problematic inventory system, as well as its sometimes-difficult battles, it is still a very fun RPG.
  10. Considering both its many quests and its trial-and-error gameplay, Gothic II is a substantially long game, and its different quests and different professions allow for some good replay value.
  11. 80
    Has some great content and quest progression lying underneath an incredibly clunky exterior. If the combat didn't have such a high learning curve, the difficulty ramped up a bit slower, and the interface wasn't terrible, this would be a pretty good game.
  12. A good follow up to an original RPG. Here's hoping Bethesda does "Gothic III" and fixes the inventory shortcomings.
  13. Anyone who appreciates action-oriented RPGs in which the focus is on creating your own story rather than following one that has been predetermined, this game is required playing. Not only is it open-ended, but also it is massive.
  14. It's similar to games like "Morrowind," so if you enjoy a somewhat slow paced game that's open-ended and challenging, you'll also enjoy Gothic 2.
  15. 60
    Gothic II's biggest problem: it's simply slow going.
  16. One of the biggest design differences between Gothic II and practically all other RPGs is that it doesn't ramp up in difficulty as you go. Encounters are tough in the beginning, often overwhelming, and don't get easier as your skills improve.
  17. Its dynamic world is one of the most interesting RPG settings ever. [Feb 2004, p.78]
  18. The world feels less generic and more immersive than even "Morrowind's." [Feb 2004, p.88]
  19. Rarely inconsistent, often frustrating, and always flexible, the world of Gothic II is, for lack of a more appropriate term, the most believable virtual place you can visit. [Feb 2004, p.59]
  20. With character models that look like they crawled off the Dreamcast, muddy textures and minor but frequent collision issues, this is not exactly a pretty game. [Jan 2004, p.70]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 481 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 1 out of 68
  1. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Strange thing is: This game had a user rating of about 8.8- 9.2 some months ago! If you look at the reviews you will notice that writtenStrange thing is: This game had a user rating of about 8.8- 9.2 some months ago! If you look at the reviews you will notice that written reviews are almost all very positive. But there seem to be many people who dislike the game but didnt't tell us why. And believe me: these negative ratings were not there half a year ago. My personal conclusion is: THE RATING IS MANIPULATED by haters/ other developers etc... This makes me sad because Gothic and Gothic II are masterpieces of game experience and one of my favourite games of all time! Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    Can someone explain why nobody who gave a negative rating, could be arsed to actually write a review? Few words at least? Care to explain whyCan someone explain why nobody who gave a negative rating, could be arsed to actually write a review? Few words at least? Care to explain why hate it so much? No? I suppose those are trolls and probably multi-accounts, and not real players. This game is brilliant and deserves 9/10 (but i give 10 to counter those trolls), its one of best RPGs i've played, even to this day, and a big part of my childhood. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    This is really an amazing continuation of the first Gothic game. It has pretty much everything what Gothic 1 had plus many improvements. TheThis is really an amazing continuation of the first Gothic game. It has pretty much everything what Gothic 1 had plus many improvements. The graphics look better now. Fighting is similar yet got some technical improvements which make it even more enjoyable now. The world is bigger, and the areas we get to explore are really interesting to see. We even get back to the colony from the first Gothic, although much has changed there. What I complained about in my review for Gothic 1, is also fixed here. I mean, side quests. With each chapter we will encounter new side quests. Overall there are many in game. Also, the game is more difficult than Gothic 1, especially if we also have Gothic 2: Night of the Raven expansion. This expansion is really worth the money, because it not only adds whole new world to explore, but also makes the game more difficult. Also, changes and adds stuff to the original world from Gothic 2, too. Gothic 2 + Gothic 2: NOTR expansion make the most awesome RPG ever made in my opinion. The storyline is still linear yet we still make some choices here and there. Yet again we get to pick which faction we join, and this affects the game more than it did in the first Gothic game. Even the NPCs will treat us differently. We get to choose between the monastery of fire magicians, mercenaries, and town militia. Further in the game we advance to higher rank, depending which faction we chose. Story line is still amazing and I don't have much more to say to it. Music is better than in the previous game. Not a single bad word I can say to it. If I was reviewing Gothic 2 alone, I would give it 9, but together with G2: NOTR they make purely epic game which is almost flawless. Sometimes we can encounter some bugs but really rarely. We were able to forge weapons in Gothic 1 but in Gothic 2 now we can learn to forge various types of swords. We are able to learn alchemy and brew potions, too. We even need to create runes as a mage in order to be able to use new spells. Let me do a summary.

    Pros:
    -Everything that was in first Gothic 1, plus many fixes and improvements to the game.

    Cons:
    -Linear storyline.
    Full Review »