Gothic II PC

Gothic II Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 696 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gothic II takes you on an even greater journey of adventure and discovery. The plot continues from the cliff-hanger of the original: After the imprisoned colony members are victorious, collapsing the magical barrier, the former Prison Colony is struck by a terrible earthquake, claiming theGothic II takes you on an even greater journey of adventure and discovery. The plot continues from the cliff-hanger of the original: After the imprisoned colony members are victorious, collapsing the magical barrier, the former Prison Colony is struck by a terrible earthquake, claiming the lives of many. The majority of survivors seize this opportunity to escape with only a handful of people remaining in the derelict prison. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Finally, this game deserves the highest score I can give. The things that really matter are here. For those who enjoy this type of RPG, this game offers an experience you shouldn't pass up.
  2. This game will change what you think about RPGs. The immense world provides hours of gameplay and there are enough different paths to take that the game could be won in any way you want.
  3. The storyline, while cliché, has some interesting twists, and the progression of the narrative through the chapters, and increased sense of doom that occurs midway through the game as you face a orc horde backed by dragons leads to some interesting moments.
  4. 80
    If you can ignore the acting or enjoy it for camp, the rest of Gothic II is an incredible experience.
  5. Provided you have the necessary levels of patience, Gothic 2 inexorably draws you in. It’s resolutely old-fashioned without being tired, and credits you with, gasp, some intelligence instead of handing over every little thing on a plate. Now if just one single MMORPG could be this good.
  6. Computer Gaming World
    80
    The world feels less generic and more immersive than even "Morrowind's." [Feb 2004, p.88]
  7. Play Magazine
    50
    With character models that look like they crawled off the Dreamcast, muddy textures and minor but frequent collision issues, this is not exactly a pretty game. [Jan 2004, p.70]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 78
  2. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. AlexG.
    Nov 12, 2003
    10
    A great RPG. Good grapics, cool NPC to talk to. A very good skill and Magic system and a good story. It has everything most of the newer RPGs A great RPG. Good grapics, cool NPC to talk to. A very good skill and Magic system and a good story. It has everything most of the newer RPGs did not. If you like a GOOD RPG..try this and toss the rest. Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best rpg that I ever played. It is even better than the Gothic I which is near perfect. Play the three diferent roles is like playing three different games but the best one is to became a mage! Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Strange thing is: This game had a user rating of about 8.8- 9.2 some months ago! If you look at the reviews you will notice that writtenStrange thing is: This game had a user rating of about 8.8- 9.2 some months ago! If you look at the reviews you will notice that written reviews are almost all very positive. But there seem to be many people who dislike the game but didnt't tell us why. And believe me: these negative ratings were not there half a year ago. My personal conclusion is: THE RATING IS MANIPULATED by haters/ other developers etc... This makes me sad because Gothic and Gothic II are masterpieces of game experience and one of my favourite games of all time! Expand
  4. DavidC
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    An absolutely mind-blowingly great game, at least it was for me. At the time I stumbled across this, while bored and looking for a random An absolutely mind-blowingly great game, at least it was for me. At the time I stumbled across this, while bored and looking for a random game to kill time with, I had never experienced such a detailed and cohesive world. This game still highly impresses me, as does its expansion, The Night of the Raven. Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    How come such an epic game in RPG genre is associated with such a low user score? This game is much better than the games following itsHow come such an epic game in RPG genre is associated with such a low user score? This game is much better than the games following its original ideas, namely Gothic 3, 4, and Risen series, which are all just sub-par in comparison, with either boring combat or linear plot.

    On the other hand, this game has the best atmosphere, an alive world, and a good quest mechanic.
    It is quite punishing to newbie in terms of combat, but once you learn the basic, an enjoyable experience is waiting for you.
    Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    best rpg after gothic I, i cant understand why people rate this game so negative - i think it must be casuals than play more games frombest rpg after gothic I, i cant understand why people rate this game so negative - i think it must be casuals than play more games from ea/activsion, thats the reason. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2012
    3
    Looks like all of the negative scores don't have any reviews, so I'll be brave and post the first one. Only tried the game out recently andLooks like all of the negative scores don't have any reviews, so I'll be brave and post the first one. Only tried the game out recently and was hoping it'd be an improvement over the first Gothic. As a matter of fact, there were some improvements. The controls are a bit better now and aren't as tricky as in the first game. Also the story carries on from the first right away and I generally thought that the music and the atmosphere were as good as in the first one. However, nothing else had improved. In fact, in terms of pacing it got even worse. Much worse. Now you're thrust right into a huge city without any direction as to what to do. Or in fact, you are told to go and do x, y, and z. However, when you try to find out how to get those tasks done, the game just shrugs and tells you to find it out by yourself. Now this is incredibly boring. Do I have to go around and talk to every NPC in the city in a hope that at least one of them can tell me something useful? I understand open gameplay and all, but it still needs some direction. If the game isn't going to bother to captivate and immerse me, then why should I continue to plough on, hoping that eventually it would get interesting? It's just incredibly slow paced. If you are someone who wants to get right into the game and do interesting stuff, then I'd avoid Gothic 2 for sure. Now I've still got Gothic 3 left. I'm just hoping at least that would be an improvement over 1 and 2. Expand

See all 78 User Reviews