• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Gothic II Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 388 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gothic II takes you on an even greater journey of adventure and discovery. The plot continues from the cliff-hanger of the original: After the imprisoned colony members are victorious, collapsing the magical barrier, the former Prison Colony is struck by a terrible earthquake, claiming the lives of many. The majority of survivors seize this opportunity to escape with only a handful of people remaining in the derelict prison. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Finally, this game deserves the highest score I can give. The things that really matter are here. For those who enjoy this type of RPG, this game offers an experience you shouldn't pass up.
  2. This game will change what you think about RPGs. The immense world provides hours of gameplay and there are enough different paths to take that the game could be won in any way you want.
  3. The storyline, while cliché, has some interesting twists, and the progression of the narrative through the chapters, and increased sense of doom that occurs midway through the game as you face a orc horde backed by dragons leads to some interesting moments.
  4. The world feels less generic and more immersive than even "Morrowind's." [Feb 2004, p.88]
  5. Anyone who appreciates action-oriented RPGs in which the focus is on creating your own story rather than following one that has been predetermined, this game is required playing. Not only is it open-ended, but also it is massive.
  6. Provided you have the necessary levels of patience, Gothic 2 inexorably draws you in. It’s resolutely old-fashioned without being tired, and credits you with, gasp, some intelligence instead of handing over every little thing on a plate. Now if just one single MMORPG could be this good.
  7. With character models that look like they crawled off the Dreamcast, muddy textures and minor but frequent collision issues, this is not exactly a pretty game. [Jan 2004, p.70]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 61
  3. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. RunarJ.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    This game is simply stunning. It's just... It's my favorite game of all time. It has everything. It's story is very involving, and unlike a lot of other RPGs, you really feel that you are living within the world of Gothic 2, making decisions with consequences. Just this will keep you going for hours and hours once you settle after the rather hard and unforgiving opening minutes. Give it 30 minutes to one hour, and you'll be lost in the world of Gothic 2 forever. Expand
  2. MichalW.
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    This game was released in my country ( Poland ) in June... This game is one of the greatest ever!!! But be careful - this game will take you out of the real world It's so addictive... Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Strange thing is: This game had a user rating of about 8.8- 9.2 some months ago! If you look at the reviews you will notice that written reviews are almost all very positive. But there seem to be many people who dislike the game but didnt't tell us why. And believe me: these negative ratings were not there half a year ago. My personal conclusion is: THE RATING IS MANIPULATED by haters/ other developers etc... This makes me sad because Gothic and Gothic II are masterpieces of game experience and one of my favourite games of all time! Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    This game is so good the music the style the gameplay the world everything is beautiful,immersive,exciting and full of dangers and adventures.The world is huge but beautifuly crafted the music just fits every time.I must say i developed a close relationship with some npc's in the game like Lee or Wolf who are just great fellows in the game.This game is good on every front and i suggest even now in 2011 to play it.You won't regret trust me. Expand
  5. OzielLG
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    simply the best in the series, the story is great and the gameplay is pretty good, the game will suck you in for Weeks!
  6. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    This is my all time favorite game of all genres, it's simple epic. It just has everything one good RPG should have (maybe even more on top of it :P) fantastic world with good textures (for year game was realised in) and yet again textures don't make game, story does!!! Interesting NPCs that are going to stay with you even few year after playing game, engaging story (which is not flat-ended as most new games (especially RPGs) *shame*), 3 different communities to join with 3 different classes. Choices that actually matters, different quests (not just "go kill something, loot it and bring it to me" but quests that have multiple ways of ending and quests that require interacting with other NPCs and that will affect your relations with other NPCs) hours of playing (my first gameplay took me 150 h, thought I've done it all *silly me*, but even after 5th gameplay I find out some new things *What more can you want?*) I can go for hours lol and if original story and multiple endings weren't enough from you, there a lot of mods for it (apart from official add-on Night of the Raven which i highly recommend to everyone!)
    I just don't understand from where all these negative reviews come from... those guys either wasn't ready for all that Gothic has to give or they thought... I don't know i can't find one thing to verify their acts.
    All they say is "oh they let me in the big city saying do x, y and z and now i'm supposed to talk with everyone just to find out what to do" no! we'll serve you everything on a plate! That's what makes this game funny- learning about what's going on in the world you're in!!!
    "oh, games too hard" that's because it hardcore not something you play now-a-days! And it's because of story from G1 who played- knows!! One more thing if it's too hard for you just try Heights of Power mod...
    "oh controls are to hard" oh really?! that the point you're thrown into the game you need to SURVIVE in it! Back in G1 it took me half an hour to find out how to pick stuff from a chest! That was fun! That and not when you get a full manual about game!
    "oh combat is too hard" maybe because it not "hack'n'slash" or "smash that button" but it's tactical and pretty engaging...
    "quests fell just like running around..." or maybe you like just to kill and not do something for you fellows convicts!
    this wasn't so much of a review it was more of a defending my favorite game from corruptive people and companies!
    Hope that this will have influence on someone who will buy this game and enjoy it forever!
    Take care fellows Gothic lovers!
    Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2012
    3
    Looks like all of the negative scores don't have any reviews, so I'll be brave and post the first one. Only tried the game out recently and was hoping it'd be an improvement over the first Gothic. As a matter of fact, there were some improvements. The controls are a bit better now and aren't as tricky as in the first game. Also the story carries on from the first right away and I generally thought that the music and the atmosphere were as good as in the first one. However, nothing else had improved. In fact, in terms of pacing it got even worse. Much worse. Now you're thrust right into a huge city without any direction as to what to do. Or in fact, you are told to go and do x, y, and z. However, when you try to find out how to get those tasks done, the game just shrugs and tells you to find it out by yourself. Now this is incredibly boring. Do I have to go around and talk to every NPC in the city in a hope that at least one of them can tell me something useful? I understand open gameplay and all, but it still needs some direction. If the game isn't going to bother to captivate and immerse me, then why should I continue to plough on, hoping that eventually it would get interesting? It's just incredibly slow paced. If you are someone who wants to get right into the game and do interesting stuff, then I'd avoid Gothic 2 for sure. Now I've still got Gothic 3 left. I'm just hoping at least that would be an improvement over 1 and 2. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews