Grand Theft Auto III Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 943 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The PC version features enhanced 3D audio. Environmentally scaled and referenced from the player's perspective. Create your own customizable Liberty City radio station, using the built-in mp3 player. State-of-the art visuals utilizing the latest PC hardware render the city more beautifullyThe PC version features enhanced 3D audio. Environmentally scaled and referenced from the player's perspective. Create your own customizable Liberty City radio station, using the built-in mp3 player. State-of-the art visuals utilizing the latest PC hardware render the city more beautifully than ever in 32 bit color. The skinnable player character enables fans to create and upload their own skin textures and to use a scanned-in photo to play as themselves. [Rockstar] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Grand Theft Auto III - 10th Anniversary Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    If you’re an action gamer like me you will probably play every last penny of this AWESOME game!
  2. 100
    The perfect gaming experience. Anyone who doesn't like it is a pansy wuss who needs sense beating into them with a baseball bat, and that's a fact. Capiche?
  3. A stunning, involving experience that, though not for everyone, will appeal to both the gamer looking for a long, structured action/adventure game and the one looking for loosely organized chaos.
  4. PC Gamer
    92
    One of the very best things about this game is its almost total lack of any visible interface. [July 2002, p.56]
  5. 90
    What started out as a 10-minute compatibility check turned into an all-night rampage, after I got past all the bugs that is.
  6. The number of different ways you can play GTA III is astonishing.
  7. 80
    As shocking, unsettling, and addictively compelling as a viewing of HBO's "The Sopranos." It's just that brilliant of a game. Capiche?

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 6 out of 77
  1. NickS.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    This game is the best game iv ever played.
  2. AnonymousMC
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    one word Masterpiece....I think the main reason why
    upgraded my pc twice is that game...beyond being
    very demanding on u r pc if u can max
    one word Masterpiece....I think the main reason why
    upgraded my pc twice is that game...beyond being
    very demanding on u r pc if u can max everything u
    will really feel like u are there...so many details and
    so much ingenuity has been put on this game that if i had a choice of only one pc game for the rest of my life...this would be the one cause there so much possibilities beyond the storyline...waiting desperatly for an extension on this game for pc...
    just amazing...
    Expand
  3. DanielV.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    I first played it on PS2 and couldn't get enough. When I saw it on PC, me being a PC gamer, I *bought* it without hesitation. At first, I first played it on PS2 and couldn't get enough. When I saw it on PC, me being a PC gamer, I *bought* it without hesitation. At first, I was sorta flustered about the lock-on system, or, rather, lack thereof, but after a while, I came to find the aiming system was far better. Rockstar made the right move. And with the option of skins, mods, and the very cool mp3 radio station, it makes the PC version better than even its PS2 counter-part. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2018
    9
    Безупречный переход от 2D с видом сверху, в 3D с видом из за спины. С этого перехода и началась массовая популярность франшизы. Тогда еще вБезупречный переход от 2D с видом сверху, в 3D с видом из за спины. С этого перехода и началась массовая популярность франшизы. Тогда еще в GTA можно было отстреливать конечности и головы, а копы не были такими адово злобными и неубиваемыми. Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2014
    8
    The first time I played in the computer room ... somewhere in 2004 I was so amazed, that I began to stand for hours just to get it done. But,The first time I played in the computer room ... somewhere in 2004 I was so amazed, that I began to stand for hours just to get it done. But, my young age and my experience in gaming, barely able to cope. In a few days only managed to finish 2-3 missions. It is the first GTA in 3D. It is simply amazing. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2011
    7
    This game could have been much better. Still, the mood of liberty city and the music on the radio save the game. The missions have vagueThis game could have been much better. Still, the mood of liberty city and the music on the radio save the game. The missions have vague instructions and many are impossible to do on the first few attempts due to limitations put in by the game makers. Overall, the radio is great, some cars are nice, graphics not too good, and too many bad missions. The map is extremely bad and doesn't help that much. Great voice acting by the street characters of liberty city and talk show radio people. A nice game overall, even with its issues. Rockstar games is one of the worst game makers out there. The metascore is way too much. Should be around 72, not more. Expand
  7. WillamS.
    Jun 23, 2004
    0
    It's way to laggy and it's very boring.

See all 77 User Reviews