Grand Theft Auto III PC

Grand Theft Auto III Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 802 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The PC version features enhanced 3D audio. Environmentally scaled and referenced from the player's perspective. Create your own customizable Liberty City radio station, using the built-in mp3 player. State-of-the art visuals utilizing the latest PC hardware render the city more beautifullyThe PC version features enhanced 3D audio. Environmentally scaled and referenced from the player's perspective. Create your own customizable Liberty City radio station, using the built-in mp3 player. State-of-the art visuals utilizing the latest PC hardware render the city more beautifully than ever in 32 bit color. The skinnable player character enables fans to create and upload their own skin textures and to use a scanned-in photo to play as themselves. [Rockstar] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    If you’re an action gamer like me you will probably play every last penny of this AWESOME game!
  2. 100
    The perfect gaming experience. Anyone who doesn't like it is a pansy wuss who needs sense beating into them with a baseball bat, and that's a fact. Capiche?
  3. A stunning, involving experience that, though not for everyone, will appeal to both the gamer looking for a long, structured action/adventure game and the one looking for loosely organized chaos.
  4. PC Gamer
    92
    One of the very best things about this game is its almost total lack of any visible interface. [July 2002, p.56]
  5. 90
    What started out as a 10-minute compatibility check turned into an all-night rampage, after I got past all the bugs that is.
  6. The number of different ways you can play GTA III is astonishing.
  7. 80
    As shocking, unsettling, and addictively compelling as a viewing of HBO's "The Sopranos." It's just that brilliant of a game. Capiche?

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 70
  2. Negative: 6 out of 70
  1. JasonD.
    Mar 3, 2003
    10
    Where else can you steal a fast car, shoot up thugs, and run over old ladies all in a matter of seconds?
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    ALL modern sandbox games owe their very existence to this revolutionary game. It's not just the fact that it has advanced from top-down 2D toALL modern sandbox games owe their very existence to this revolutionary game. It's not just the fact that it has advanced from top-down 2D to 3rd-person 3D gameplay, but the actual game in itself deserves its own merit, let alone what it has done for gaming. There's as many missions as there are on GTA IV, but there's greater variety in the missions with more variety in the difficulty too. Liberty City isn't visually impressive, and Shoreside Vale can be confusing to navigate through at the best of times. But everything else is done so well. It's fun to play in and out of missions. The only issue is that there's almost as little to do here as there is in GTA IV. You can't really spend money on anything but weapons. But a 6 star wanted level will get a tank to come after you. Hidden packages (of which there are 100) aren't difficult to find, but not too easy either. There is an incentive for getting them: for every 10 you find a weapon is delivered to your safehouse on every island. Even now this game is good. For 2001/2002, this was years ahead of its time. Expand
  3. DanielV.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    I first played it on PS2 and couldn't get enough. When I saw it on PC, me being a PC gamer, I *bought* it without hesitation. At first, I first played it on PS2 and couldn't get enough. When I saw it on PC, me being a PC gamer, I *bought* it without hesitation. At first, I was sorta flustered about the lock-on system, or, rather, lack thereof, but after a while, I came to find the aiming system was far better. Rockstar made the right move. And with the option of skins, mods, and the very cool mp3 radio station, it makes the PC version better than even its PS2 counter-part. Collapse
  4. BitBurn
    Jun 5, 2002
    9
    Very refreshing!! This is a great game. Missions are awesome. The only problem is that I wasn't able to get my Thrusmaster Modena 360 Very refreshing!! This is a great game. Missions are awesome. The only problem is that I wasn't able to get my Thrusmaster Modena 360 steering wheel to work properly with it. But other then this, I highly recommend this game to anyone with a sense of humour...and a sense of madness!! Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2014
    8
    The first time I played in the computer room ... somewhere in 2004 I was so amazed, that I began to stand for hours just to get it done. But,The first time I played in the computer room ... somewhere in 2004 I was so amazed, that I began to stand for hours just to get it done. But, my young age and my experience in gaming, barely able to cope. In a few days only managed to finish 2-3 missions. It is the first GTA in 3D. It is simply amazing. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2015
    7
    You know, as much as I've enjoyed the GTA series GTA3 never really struck that much of a chord with me, my favorite entries would have to beYou know, as much as I've enjoyed the GTA series GTA3 never really struck that much of a chord with me, my favorite entries would have to be (GTA1, Vice City, and San Andreas)

    It's a worthy title, don't get me wrong, and made the transition from top-down to full 3D TPS effortlessly.

    It's visuals I think are the main reasons why I don't like it as much as the others. Everything just looks so dull. I understand it's supposed to be a gritty game, but everything really is just so dull looking and quite lifeless.

    For it's time the graphics themselves were great, pushing gaming foward etc, and I really am not someone who plays games solely for a pretty experience. I just don't feel entertained by GTA3 as much as the other titles, mainly for it's atmosphere I'd say.

    All your favorite mission types, gameplay elements are there which do a great job, radio stations return and can be pretty funny.

    I've just never been a fan of the dull, dark, rain all the time visuals.

    Give me Vice City any day!
    Expand
  7. WillamS.
    Jun 23, 2004
    0
    It's way to laggy and it's very boring.

See all 70 User Reviews