User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2060 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    Just finished the game and I have to say that I did enjoy most of it. The story kept me playing and wanting to know what happens next. Characters were well written. Performance was decent, better what I expected. But here comes the big downside; it is a port and not a good one. The aiming felt terrible, everything but precise. I also felt some mouse input lag, though it might be partlyJust finished the game and I have to say that I did enjoy most of it. The story kept me playing and wanting to know what happens next. Characters were well written. Performance was decent, better what I expected. But here comes the big downside; it is a port and not a good one. The aiming felt terrible, everything but precise. I also felt some mouse input lag, though it might be partly because of the occasional slowdowns. Everything above I can deal with, since the story was quite good and the world was somewhat interesting, but there was this huge glitch in the last mission. Probably not news to anyone anymore but god damn was it frustrating. Google it. Never ever again. For the summary: Great story, great characters, decent world and decent frame rate but such a horrible pc port which is the reason why I wouldn't play it again on pc. Expand
  2. Marmoo
    Dec 26, 2008
    5
    i agree with what has been said here on both sides of the arguement
    i will give it a 5 for now as i installed it and game ran and it looks superb but what has been declared on the box for spec is a load of bollocks...you need a quick proccessor(s), VERY LARGE ram and big hard drive and graphics gard...i got it all except ram (i got 1.5 RAM) so off out to buy at least another 2 gig of ram for me
  3. chrise
    Dec 2, 2008
    5
    Had already played and beat this on my brothers xbox.Should of just bought a 360 and took his game.Without a high end gaming machine,you'll most likely not be impressed.Wish i could return it for a refund. Cant play online without getting the MMA10 error which i have already found to be common among the community.
  4. JimboS.
    Dec 3, 2008
    5
    After such a cracking debut on the consoles, the PC version has turned out to be nothing more than a poorly ported turd. This release reeks of a Christmas cash-in rush job. Numerous forums across the internet discussing the PC release will attest to the dismal performance issues experienced across the spectrum. Even the most highly spec'd rigs crumble before this shitty beta release. After such a cracking debut on the consoles, the PC version has turned out to be nothing more than a poorly ported turd. This release reeks of a Christmas cash-in rush job. Numerous forums across the internet discussing the PC release will attest to the dismal performance issues experienced across the spectrum. Even the most highly spec'd rigs crumble before this shitty beta release. Thanks for cashing in Rockstar. I don't think I'll be supporting your products in the future. Expand
  5. MadeMan
    Dec 4, 2008
    5
    Simply brilliant game, let down by absolutely woeful performance issues. On a system that either meets or exceeds the recommended requirements, the game suffers random crashing roughly every 15 minutes requiring a full restart, terrible pop up, and a draw distance that very often doesn't update fast enough. The graphics are also largely unpolished, with heavy amounts of jagged edges. Simply brilliant game, let down by absolutely woeful performance issues. On a system that either meets or exceeds the recommended requirements, the game suffers random crashing roughly every 15 minutes requiring a full restart, terrible pop up, and a draw distance that very often doesn't update fast enough. The graphics are also largely unpolished, with heavy amounts of jagged edges. The controls also feel disconnected and unresponsive, either on foot or in car. Beyond all that, it is an outstanding game in terms of design, and most importantly, it's the game that GTA3 should have been. But at least GTA3 worked (eventually). Expand
  6. ShawnD.
    Dec 4, 2008
    5
    Usually when a game is ported between platforms, the company at least puts some effort into making it run propertly. Rockstar can't be bothered with anything like that. It's as if they took the Xbox version and wrote an emulator to run it; that's how slow this game is. I can run games like Bioshock, Crysis, and Fallout 3 with very high graphical detail and a good frame Usually when a game is ported between platforms, the company at least puts some effort into making it run propertly. Rockstar can't be bothered with anything like that. It's as if they took the Xbox version and wrote an emulator to run it; that's how slow this game is. I can run games like Bioshock, Crysis, and Fallout 3 with very high graphical detail and a good frame rate, but this game can't even run at 20fps. They didn't even beta test this piece of garbage. Expand
  7. JarkkoR.
    Dec 6, 2008
    6
    Bugs and performance make this game unplayable or very unpleasant for 8/10 of the people who i know that have bought the game, unacceptable release. Shame on Rockstar.No matter how good a game is, its completely irrelevant when it just doesnt work.. and considering the amount of trouble seen, its not accident.. they just wanted it out for christmas.
  8. Technicha
    Dec 8, 2008
    5
    A very fun and addicting game. Cops finally have a decent AI which means you can have a strategy against cops now instead of them showing up randomly no matter where you are like the earlier gta series. The storyline is good, not much to say there. The major downside with this game is the graphics and performance. Even with a great computer expect to run this game at low-medium settings. A very fun and addicting game. Cops finally have a decent AI which means you can have a strategy against cops now instead of them showing up randomly no matter where you are like the earlier gta series. The storyline is good, not much to say there. The major downside with this game is the graphics and performance. Even with a great computer expect to run this game at low-medium settings. Even with low settings expect major stuttering and lag. This game is poorly optimized. The graphics are jagged and shadows looks very unrealistic and grainy. There's a application with it called social club that slows the game's startup process and also being a resource hog in the background. There's still no free saving in this game, this is very annoying when the game keeps crashing that can make you lose hours of mission progress. Simply it's a fun game if you can just get it to run like it should. Expand
  9. MatthewB.
    Dec 8, 2008
    5
    I feel cheated by a massively buggy game. ok, the underlying game is great. But if the graphics keep crashing what's the point, because it becomes unplayable. There are other bugs too, but these pale into insignificance next to the terrible graphics problems.
  10. A.N.O.
    Dec 8, 2008
    5
    bugs,Bugs,BUGS!!! so many glitches and bugs that it was almost unplayable. and if you take in account that i have a superb pc with a 9800 GX2 graphics card, 2.4 quad core cpu, and a 4 GB Ram and it still didnt work properly... i have it on the 360 and i got it as an early christmas present, and i was really disappointed. another could have been. (oh yeah, and look at the difference bugs,Bugs,BUGS!!! so many glitches and bugs that it was almost unplayable. and if you take in account that i have a superb pc with a 9800 GX2 graphics card, 2.4 quad core cpu, and a 4 GB Ram and it still didnt work properly... i have it on the 360 and i got it as an early christmas present, and i was really disappointed. another could have been. (oh yeah, and look at the difference between the critics and users score; weird?) Expand
  11. GregH.
    Dec 10, 2008
    6
    Numerous graphical, gameplay and stability problems mean this game only gets a 6. It's hard to shake the feeling that it was rushed out in time for Christmas. But if you can get playing and look past all the uneccessary garbage included in this game you will find the best GrandTheftAuto game yet. Alas quality control has let the team down which means it can never reach the perch it deserves.
  12. BinaryS.
    Dec 10, 2008
    6
    So they're just giving out perfect reviews nowadays, huh? Must be nice being a game reviewer - the game publisher writes the review and you just sign your name to it. Wonderful!
  13. FredB.
    Dec 10, 2008
    5
    This is a game with some nice graphics, unfortunately it's buggy as hell. I have some serious issues with the controls. First, there are too many control keys and it's difficult to map to my liking (in part because, Return, Backspace and Home cannot be used). Also, having to drive with mouse-look is extremely annoying - this is a killer for me, it takes all the joy out of This is a game with some nice graphics, unfortunately it's buggy as hell. I have some serious issues with the controls. First, there are too many control keys and it's difficult to map to my liking (in part because, Return, Backspace and Home cannot be used). Also, having to drive with mouse-look is extremely annoying - this is a killer for me, it takes all the joy out of driving fast and recklass - you can't take a corner without mouselook messing it up - "Mouselook" means you need to control your view with the mouse all the bloody time (in the car). What finally killed my interest in the game, is the totally lacking first "date". Combining this with the rest of missions you get in the start, you realize the game tries to make it out to be so serious, but it's so lacking it just get's annoying. Previous GTA games where much more fun. Expand
  14. JamesL
    Dec 20, 2008
    5
    It's a nice game, if only it utilized the PC better! Low draw distances, the inability to tweak graphical settings to get a balance between frame rate and eye candy lowers the score. In terms of gameplay it is good old GTA with a huge open world concept but with a minimum requirements PC everything goes downhill. Quite unfortunate because they should have made it a little more It's a nice game, if only it utilized the PC better! Low draw distances, the inability to tweak graphical settings to get a balance between frame rate and eye candy lowers the score. In terms of gameplay it is good old GTA with a huge open world concept but with a minimum requirements PC everything goes downhill. Quite unfortunate because they should have made it a little more customizable (in terms of graphical options etc) so that most gamers could enjoy the game better. Expand
  15. MichaelK.
    Dec 21, 2008
    5
    Having played the game on the PS3, I know it's a quality game...but the port for the PC is simply atrocious. On above-the-recommended system requirements the game was simply unplayable even on on 800x600 resolution. It's a horrible, horrible port, and it's rather unfortunate that the BEST platform the game, turns out to be the worst treated. Just makes me sick...
  16. jp
    Dec 26, 2008
    5
    This game could be a 10 if Rockstar wasn't so lazy. They made the most graphically demanding game out for the pc right now, and they didn't include the option of utilizing dual video cards. Also the control options are extremely weak, especially for the helicopter. The fact that you can only map one key per control is just pathetic, and the fact that the game won't This game could be a 10 if Rockstar wasn't so lazy. They made the most graphically demanding game out for the pc right now, and they didn't include the option of utilizing dual video cards. Also the control options are extremely weak, especially for the helicopter. The fact that you can only map one key per control is just pathetic, and the fact that the game won't recognize a joystick is incredibly weak also. But, it's still fun to kill time and the story line is great, just too much to detract from the score until they patch the current problems. *Also, I'm running Vista 64 and with the new patch just released to make the online play work, I have to run the game in compatibility mode for Windows 2000..... that's just really lazy on rockstars part, considering they don't seem to be rushing towards any solutions judging by what I've read lately. Expand
  17. OscarK
    Dec 30, 2008
    5
    Well, im playing it on a 2.2ghz Core 2 duo and a Sapphire 4870 toxic and im getting 30 fps at 800x600 with everything at lowest you can tell there is a slight problem here which is why im gonna deduct 5 points buuuut look past the graphics and all the errors and shizzle and you get an excellent game. Its taken San Andreas taken the best out of it and made it smaller and focused more.. it Well, im playing it on a 2.2ghz Core 2 duo and a Sapphire 4870 toxic and im getting 30 fps at 800x600 with everything at lowest you can tell there is a slight problem here which is why im gonna deduct 5 points buuuut look past the graphics and all the errors and shizzle and you get an excellent game. Its taken San Andreas taken the best out of it and made it smaller and focused more.. it works well and i find myself somewhat addicted to all the missions. The Vehicles handle well the taxi's are a great addition and I actually think the controls are somewhat decent. Shame they took out airplanes tho. they were my favourite things ever =( also.. im not sure about replayability after the missions are finished ive heard there is not much to do and the game grows dull quickly as the thrill of the physics and other new features wears of... So, I gave it 5 for gameplay and 0 for Graphics and bugs etc. Expand
  18. awdrifter
    Jan 19, 2009
    6
    Biggest dissapointment of the year! Don't get me wrong, this is not a horrible game, it's a solid average game. But that's it. All these reviewers giving it 9s and 10s are either never played the previous GTA or they are paid off. Let's start with the technical problems. This game requires XP SP3 to run, so I tried to install SP3, but for some reason it won't Biggest dissapointment of the year! Don't get me wrong, this is not a horrible game, it's a solid average game. But that's it. All these reviewers giving it 9s and 10s are either never played the previous GTA or they are paid off. Let's start with the technical problems. This game requires XP SP3 to run, so I tried to install SP3, but for some reason it won't install, I wasn't going to reinstall my OS for just one game, thankfully I found a registry hack that'll allow me to play the game. Now the game loads, but I had the missing texture problem, so I downloaded the patch, now it has the spinning camera problem. After many tried, I found out that I had to unplug the controller when the game starts, then plug it back it once the game is fully loaded. What a pain in the 455. There's no AA option in this game. This is a really big step back. I mean come on, even GTA:SA have AA. They developed this brand spanking new engine for this game and it can't do AA? Come on, that's bs. I know they are giving the defferred lighting bs, but if engines like Source, Schimitar, and Dunia can do HDR with AA, this is no excuse. I don't understand why they didn't just use one of the existing engine anyways, they clearly can't make a good engine. Now on to the problems with the gameplay and game mechanics. As everyone said, the cars' handling sucks. If I want to play a sim I'd go to play GT4. The cars handles worse that the cars of NFS. The friend system is ultra annoying. I don't mind having to gain their thrust and whatnot, but having them constantly calling me to go out and if I refuse the thumb down me, that's so damn annoying. They too out the planes, the car mods, the ability to buy properties, to own hoods, to level up your character's gun skills. Another thing is earning money is so hard in this game, I couldn't just blast everyone because the rockets and grenades are so expensive, sometimes I come out of an mission losing money. That's rediculous. Overall I think GTA:SA was a much better game. This game is very frustrating at times, and when you finally completed a mission, the rewards just doesn't feel like it's worth the effort. There are a few positive about this game though. The graphics looks better than the previous GTAs. The radio stations are great, and the ability to integrate you own music in the radio is awsome. The city feels pretty alive, especially at night. My advice, if you're a GTA fans, wait for this to hit the bargain bin, then pick it up for $20. Expand
  19. M.Alex
    Jan 21, 2009
    6
    I enjoyed the game immensly. I didn't enjoy the load of software i had to install to play this game (secuROM turned out the least irritating!), the fact that the was not optimised to a satisfying degree, and that it was buggy: if it didn't crash, than a button had to functions and irritating consequences, e.g.: the mouse wheel is used to change weapons. If you phone rings while I enjoyed the game immensly. I didn't enjoy the load of software i had to install to play this game (secuROM turned out the least irritating!), the fact that the was not optimised to a satisfying degree, and that it was buggy: if it didn't crash, than a button had to functions and irritating consequences, e.g.: the mouse wheel is used to change weapons. If you phone rings while changing weapons, you automaticaly hang up. Passed the game, had my fun, uninstalled without regrets. Expand
  20. Oct 6, 2013
    6
    Grand Theft Auto is Grand Theft Auto. It's a game where you get to steal any car you want, murder any person you want and get away with it scot-free (well almost, unless you're caught in the act but the cops are pretty incompetent). It's every misogynist's fantasy and it does it very well. However, the game is pretty dated now so you're probably better off with newer and far superior fareGrand Theft Auto is Grand Theft Auto. It's a game where you get to steal any car you want, murder any person you want and get away with it scot-free (well almost, unless you're caught in the act but the cops are pretty incompetent). It's every misogynist's fantasy and it does it very well. However, the game is pretty dated now so you're probably better off with newer and far superior fare such as Mafia II or Sleeping Dogs, if you're into this sort of thing. Expand
  21. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    Learning nothing about improving the experience for the player but making better graphics and more interesting characters we have GTA IV. It's not horrible but it's blown out of the water by the saints row franchise.
  22. Mar 5, 2014
    7
    It has good graphics and many activities to do, but the missions are repetitive and the plot is not good. Scams and sexual perversion is, something that is not popular video game. 7 and nothing else.
  23. Aug 8, 2014
    6
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a massive, amazing, beautiful game. For consoles, that is.

    It seems that the great aspects of this game, and though there are many of them, are vastly outweighed by the simple fact that Rockstar Games couldn't take the time to even do as much as simply pretend that they care about their PC gaming fans.

    6/10
  24. MarkK
    Mar 21, 2009
    5
    The game is great. It has brilliant graphics, but it is a rubbish port. It doesn't support SLI, and it needs a very high power computer to do what is only above average by modern standards. It's almost as if Rockstar couldn't be bothered with the PC market.
  25. Feb 16, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While playing the game under a GTS450 and an Athlon II X2 260 (Nowhere near the best PC) The game went smoothly, no fps drops nor lags. The controls for the cellphone are awful, in fact. How many times haven't I rejected a call due to be pressing the reject button (that's shared with 2 other commands). Other than that, the movement controls on it's predecessor SA are way better than this one, still the GTA IV movement is more realistic. As I don't really play GTA thinking of realism, the bad movement controls are a problem. Nice hidden content. When I first played GTA III and save the girl, GTA Vice City and you own the world or GTA San Andreas and luck you tempenny! GTA IV makes you wish you hadn't finish the game, the usually warm fuzzy feeling of putting everything in place was ripped from the game. The friends minigames, Ok on the beginning, start to get bad as the game goes on and your phone list increases in size. The graphical quality improved, the radios are still funny, the "friends missions" found throughout the map are the best addition of GTA IV. --TLDR-- Bad Movement controls, boring "relationship quests" and awful story endings kill a good part of playing through GTA IV; But it may still be worthy buying if you find it used for U$15 or less. Expand
  26. VicMac
    Jul 26, 2009
    5
    A disappointing mess of a game, undecided if it wants full-on realism or diverse fun (See San Andreas). Though a very well done game, GTA IV falls short of all expectations, with boring and repetitive missions and badly done gameplay elements. The PC version, also is by far the worst PC port ever, if not the worst PC game ever.
  27. May 13, 2011
    6
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a game I can respect but not appreciate. The enormous sandbox city and lifelike interaction are definitely impressive, but much of what I loved about GTA San Andreas was lost to me here. The game shifts very far from cars now as you no longer have a garage and customization is limited if not completely removed. Fortunately the graphics are fantastic, especially withGrand Theft Auto IV is a game I can respect but not appreciate. The enormous sandbox city and lifelike interaction are definitely impressive, but much of what I loved about GTA San Andreas was lost to me here. The game shifts very far from cars now as you no longer have a garage and customization is limited if not completely removed. Fortunately the graphics are fantastic, especially with a good PC, and the story is pretty good. I hope to see more of an automobile focus in GTA V, because c'mon, the game is named Grand Theft Auto! Expand
  28. JF
    Mar 21, 2009
    6
    The storyline and gameplay are amazing, but once you include all the some times extreme glitches, stuttering framerates in certain areas, and terrible load times, the PC version really failed. Even with a high-end PC, you are doomed to +/-25fps, and it drops severely in multiplayer, rendering it unplayable at times. All in all, a great but horribly put together port put together by a team The storyline and gameplay are amazing, but once you include all the some times extreme glitches, stuttering framerates in certain areas, and terrible load times, the PC version really failed. Even with a high-end PC, you are doomed to +/-25fps, and it drops severely in multiplayer, rendering it unplayable at times. All in all, a great but horribly put together port put together by a team that takes weeks to respond to support issues. Expand
  29. Apr 20, 2011
    5
    Caved and downloaded it from Steam over the weekend given they were giving it away for just $5. Now that I have the game up and running it seems like fun but yes it was a PITA to get working. Windows Live took several installs and reboots to get running. I've skipped the "Social Club" entirely. I have a dual core OC'd to 3.6Ghz, 4 meg of ram and a GTX460 1Mb video card and I can just aboutCaved and downloaded it from Steam over the weekend given they were giving it away for just $5. Now that I have the game up and running it seems like fun but yes it was a PITA to get working. Windows Live took several installs and reboots to get running. I've skipped the "Social Club" entirely. I have a dual core OC'd to 3.6Ghz, 4 meg of ram and a GTX460 1Mb video card and I can just about get a steady 40fps at 720p. This is following the presumably several patches it has undergone previously. Like Crysis this is a system taxer to the point of ridiculousness. Unlike Crysis, even with everything cranked up it still doesn't look good. In the end I added the ENB mod which adds anti-aliasing and now it finally looks like a semi-decent game. GTA games were never known for their steady frame-rates or stellar graphics but at least you could jump in and enjoy the great gameplay on consoles. I'm happy with the install now but man it took some tweaking to get it to a point where now I can "just jump in." Expand
  30. Dec 10, 2012
    6
    Annoying and boring missions, that try to draw you in, but fail and little action, the story falls flat. The mechanics are not very good either, but that what makes this game fun because of the goofy mechanics. Only buy at a low price.
  31. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    Dear Grand Taxicab Auto, please, please, stop with the cut-scenes already! Give your script editor a red pen and ask him/her to "X" out big chunks of dialog next time, won't you? And won't my darn phone ever stop ringing? Especially when I answer it and then I can't run but instead have to walk... slowly... oh so very slowly....? I play games to escape from everyday chores such as deletingDear Grand Taxicab Auto, please, please, stop with the cut-scenes already! Give your script editor a red pen and ask him/her to "X" out big chunks of dialog next time, won't you? And won't my darn phone ever stop ringing? Especially when I answer it and then I can't run but instead have to walk... slowly... oh so very slowly....? I play games to escape from everyday chores such as deleting texts, ignoring emails and pointlessly driving across town during rush hour with a car load of social lowlifes. Only to arrive at my destination and be served a mediocre third person shooter. I never finished GTA San Treadmill for much the same reasons, and I was hoping your older siblings would've taught you a few lessons, but alas, I guess not. At least you let me hail taxis to skip the Auto part and get right to the Theft bits, but why oh why isn't there a cab around when you really, really need one? All said, you're a pretty game to look at and even to play sometimes, but only when you'll stop boring me with mundane tasks and actually let me escape with you, that is. Expand
  32. SethB
    Dec 23, 2009
    5
    10 for the game itself 0 for the PC version. My PC has well over the requirments yet the thing wont launch at all. well a black window pops up and then an error message "GTA4 has stopped working" searched the web and found stuff that helped others, but did not help me. if u r absoloutly inytent on geting it, then go ahead, i reccomend waiting for a real fix from rakstar. they havnet 10 for the game itself 0 for the PC version. My PC has well over the requirments yet the thing wont launch at all. well a black window pops up and then an error message "GTA4 has stopped working" searched the web and found stuff that helped others, but did not help me. if u r absoloutly inytent on geting it, then go ahead, i reccomend waiting for a real fix from rakstar. they havnet gotten off their asses and done anything the last year and a half, so things arent looking good. this is AFTER i updated to the latest patch. after first install, the game launched. however there were no textures. their were the models and lights. thats it. Expand
  33. Jul 12, 2011
    6
    (Sorry, didn't know metacritic doesn't recognize paragraphs)
    I just purchased this game for dirt cheap and I had absolutely no problems running the game in high detail on my newish PC - 3 years after release. It still feels like a waste of money. I heard many good things about this game from everyone and really seemed up my alley. I also own an Xbox controller for the PC so I was able to
    (Sorry, didn't know metacritic doesn't recognize paragraphs)
    I just purchased this game for dirt cheap and I had absolutely no problems running the game in high detail on my newish PC - 3 years after release. It still feels like a waste of money. I heard many good things about this game from everyone and really seemed up my alley. I also own an Xbox controller for the PC so I was able to enjoy the same controls 360 users have. All in all, I am playing a just plain better version of GTAIV. All that said, after a good 20 hours, I have to say this is the most overrated piece of twaddle in gaming history. I am astounded at how many perfect 10s this game received despite a laundry list of glaring problems, affirming my suspicion that games are rated on graphics and presentation alone, with 0% of fun factor being considered.

    This game has some awesome moments. The realistic graphics really make for some cinematic scenes. Gun fights can be amazing in destructible environments, with pillars being shredded by gunfire. The realistic graphics and physics give the automobile-related incidents a new "oh snap" factor. I really enjoyed how the new realistic and serious twist put more gravity into your violent actions. It's just too bad the game does almost nothing to nurture these elements. First of all, the controls are godawful. Niko moves like he's wearing a 60-lb backpack and the cover button is just plain clunky. The snap-to-target system rarely chooses an enemy close to your reticule. Instead it just seems to choose a random yokel fully behind cover while someone that was in your reticule before you hit the aim button fills you up with machine gun fire. This is great considering that missions have no checkpoints, so there is no feeling of frustration like driving halfway across town to pick up a car again because Niko was too stupid to target the guy 5 feet in front of him or you didn't know you were going to need a really fast car to chase a helicopter. It becomes a bit easier, later, when you realize all of the missions are a exactly the same. Drive to point A (maybe on a timer), kill guy ( maybe chase him in car), maybe lose the police. This gets real old in a game with so much potential for mayhem.

    In fact, that leads into the main problem of the game: it just seems to want to waste your time instead of provide fun things to do. Your friends call constantly to do inane, unwelcome minigames, others constantly call your phone to make you sit through a five minute cut scene before doing the same mission again. You are constantly being nagged to do anything but free roam, which is OK I guess because the game provides absolutely no incentive to free roam. You can go on a rampage, of course, but make sure to save first because the game does nothing but you put in the hospital or take away all your weapons for causing a ruckus, nor does it provide you with anything resembling fun targets (not unarmed civilians) for some good ol' action while free roaming. Instead, why not just follow the storyline? It has its moments, but its altogether too long, thanks to driving around, again with no incentive to go really fast except to have to restart the mission because your passenger flew out the window. I won't get started on the phone as well. I can't believe you have to manually dial any number in something that is supposed to be fun. It's also great that Niko can't carjack while someone flaps his gums on phone with him for 5 minutes. Of course, if you are really bored, you could watch TV in game instead of turning off the game and watching actual good TV (What?), go to a cabaret or comedy club instead of visiting Youtube, or any other diversion that has nothing to do with playing a game. You could also slow down and listen to the radio. There is a huge list of licensed music which I was looking forward too, but have heard maybe 5 songs so far in between the 20 minutes straight of cringe-inducing unfunny radio ads, DJ comments, and news breaks, not to mention the humor of the radio/TV doesn't mix at all with the semi-serious tone of the story. I ended up turning off the music altogether and using Windows Media Player in the background.

    All in all, 99% of what this game has to offer is entirely unwelcome. It's really too bad, because it presented a sweet physics system and infinite potential to turn a modern city upside-down. Instead, it envelops itself in self-important drama, asinine courier tasks, and inconvenience in the sake of immersion.

    Maybe GTA4 was a sign of the times. Maybe it was the draught of games we had in 2008, maybe the economic scare was so serious that we all just wanted to escape into a virtual world, even if it wasn't very fun. Maybe it's just the forerunner in a trend of games for people who hate games but just want to escape.
    Expand
  34. Jan 21, 2012
    6
    A highly over-rated game. It is very clear that Rockstar developed this as a console title, because on PC it is very unoptimized, it requires more from your computer to max than many high-end titles released today, but not looking nearly as good. The combat and driving of the game is also very mediocre and the story uninteresting. It is also restricted to the incredibly dumb Games forA highly over-rated game. It is very clear that Rockstar developed this as a console title, because on PC it is very unoptimized, it requires more from your computer to max than many high-end titles released today, but not looking nearly as good. The combat and driving of the game is also very mediocre and the story uninteresting. It is also restricted to the incredibly dumb Games for Windows Live service, even if you buy from steam. That said, it can still be very fun for short periods of time when trolling around in multiplayer with friends. Expand
  35. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    If it wasn't for Rockstar banging their heads on the keyboard while writing code for the PC port this would've run better. Fortunately they mitigated most of the issues in 1.0.4.0, but things got worse when they changed the shadow mapping system in 1.0.7.0 as I'm getting lower framerates on my mid-end PC. Heck, I've seen games with better graphics that churn out more fps than this.

    The
    If it wasn't for Rockstar banging their heads on the keyboard while writing code for the PC port this would've run better. Fortunately they mitigated most of the issues in 1.0.4.0, but things got worse when they changed the shadow mapping system in 1.0.7.0 as I'm getting lower framerates on my mid-end PC. Heck, I've seen games with better graphics that churn out more fps than this.

    The game seems a tad easier than the previous installments thanks to the cover system (I played through the Gay Tony EP and it was indeed a relief compared to the coverless combat of the III-era games), but the main campaign's overall length seems a little daunting imo.
    Expand
  36. Dec 19, 2010
    6
    Great game but my computer is pretty close to top of the line and has problems with this. I know how to configure it to work optimally but really this game must have some poor programming. Kind of sad as it could have been much better.
  37. Feb 21, 2012
    6
    Rockstar should hang their heads in shame: they've released some weak PC ports in the past (all of the GTA games, really), but this one takes the cake for total failure. Only this year have I finally (3+ years after release) been able to get the game to run solidly. When it runs properly, it's a fantastic game, probably my favorite of the series (although San Andreas is close). That hasRockstar should hang their heads in shame: they've released some weak PC ports in the past (all of the GTA games, really), but this one takes the cake for total failure. Only this year have I finally (3+ years after release) been able to get the game to run solidly. When it runs properly, it's a fantastic game, probably my favorite of the series (although San Andreas is close). That has been a HUGE if, though, with 20-30 minute crashes being the norm, and one fix only leading to other, more difficult problems. Finally I figured out that the game was doing something no other "next-gen" game could pull off: it was taxing my graphics card so much that it was overheating and shutting down. No other game has been able to pull that off (including far more recent titles), and that's a testament to how poorly-coded the game was for the PC: my specs beat the **** out of the PS3 and yet I've had to struggle with an assortment of frame rate issues and texture glitches (the later of which I still haven't been able to solve to this day). It's about time that PC gamers stop taking this nonsense: build the game for the PC FIRST, then you can port it to the lesser systems, not the other way around. Expand
  38. Mar 12, 2012
    5
    As with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. However the PC port is a disaster. Random crashes and bugs, many cheaters online, lots of glitches, cant support SSI. I have a VERY highAs with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. However the PC port is a disaster. Random crashes and bugs, many cheaters online, lots of glitches, cant support SSI. I have a VERY high end alienware desktop, and its still bad. Its about as bad as the PC ports of Saints row 2 and Driver 3. As said before, Play it on console. Make sure you get it on PS3, the online play is free unlike crapbox 360. Expand
  39. AnonymousMC
    Jan 7, 2009
    5
    Un bon jeu dans l' ensemble mais il y a beaucoup de problèmes. Graphiquement c'est très beau si on a la machine qui va avec mais pas assez personnalisable pour trouver un bon compromis qualité-performances. Au niveau missions il y en un bon paquet, les decisions prises dans ces dernieres affectent plus ou moins la suite des évènements. DommageUn bon jeu dans l' ensemble mais il y a beaucoup de problèmes. Graphiquement c'est très beau si on a la machine qui va avec mais pas assez personnalisable pour trouver un bon compromis qualité-performances. Au niveau missions il y en un bon paquet, les decisions prises dans ces dernieres affectent plus ou moins la suite des évènements. Dommage que l'armée ne soit pas de la partie. Pas grand chose niveau personnalisation du personnage mise a part les vêtements et gros point faible a mon gout le nombre d'armes pour un gta: 14 en tout :( . Je pense que Rokstar va nous rajouter du contenu à grands coups d'addons avec déjà lost angels prévue pour le courant du premier trimestre 2009 ce qui montre que l'éditeur n'en a pas fini avec gta4, bonne chose ou mauvaise chose, wait and see ... Expand
  40. ArtemK
    Mar 27, 2009
    7
    Only 7 for PC port. It's not too bad PC port. But the problem is: I reside in Russia and I can't play multiplayer without headache with Hamachi or OpenVPN because... LIVE is not available in many developed countries!
    Another problems conclude in: poor framerate, bad optimization, f***cking DVD protection with activation and many more..
  41. Jason
    Feb 19, 2009
    7
    To be fair this game deserves an 8 if it were polished sufficiently. The details of the gta 4 world is first rate and the pseudo-realism of the whole game. The bad part is that it wasn't optimized properly for the PC (blame over-hyping). If you've got a minimum spec PC, be prepared to play it on low textures and a lower screen-size (800x600 or 800x484). Things look and play To be fair this game deserves an 8 if it were polished sufficiently. The details of the gta 4 world is first rate and the pseudo-realism of the whole game. The bad part is that it wasn't optimized properly for the PC (blame over-hyping). If you've got a minimum spec PC, be prepared to play it on low textures and a lower screen-size (800x600 or 800x484). Things look and play better at that resolution. Don't push it all the way. Graphics are if-fy due to poor optimization with ATI cards. Rockstar should have done a better! Expand
  42. Mwargh!
    Jan 12, 2010
    6
    The port is horrible. Graphics look horrible when not driving around (then the game actually looks great) in your car that loses grip at every corner. Euphoria is really fun, but not long lasting fun. The controls are quite horrible at times, the main character is boring, NPCs are luckily much better made, quite a few missions are just tedious and the cellphone and "friends" are retarded. The port is horrible. Graphics look horrible when not driving around (then the game actually looks great) in your car that loses grip at every corner. Euphoria is really fun, but not long lasting fun. The controls are quite horrible at times, the main character is boring, NPCs are luckily much better made, quite a few missions are just tedious and the cellphone and "friends" are retarded. I have no interest in playing mini-games, ever. The story would be good, if only the missions weren't so shitty that you often forgot why you were even doing them. But, it was fun at quite a few times, and once you imagine that perhaps the rubber factory in town sucks at making tires, driving gets quite fun. You still wish Niko could shift gears properly though. All in all, even with all the shit hiding in every corner, there is the fact that I did actually enjoy the game quite often. It's not a bad game, but it's not really a good game either, there is little from the previous GTA games to be found, but somehow I feel like "at least they tried". A weak 6. Expand
  43. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    I am being honest here. GTA 4 for (random four) the PC is neither a bad nor good game. I cant blame the people that say it is not good. It's requirements are pretty high advanced to play this game with well graphics. The visuals are nice but it doesn't mean its good. The game play isn't well done but at least it has a well thought out plan to TRY and give it a nice port. I don't neither anI am being honest here. GTA 4 for (random four) the PC is neither a bad nor good game. I cant blame the people that say it is not good. It's requirements are pretty high advanced to play this game with well graphics. The visuals are nice but it doesn't mean its good. The game play isn't well done but at least it has a well thought out plan to TRY and give it a nice port. I don't neither an XBOX 360 or a PS3 (yes i suck), so i have to play the game on my computer, for i am a pro at typing and playing FPS games that way. Grand Theft Auto deserves itself a 6. Rockstar games were trying. Expand
  44. Jan 11, 2012
    7
    rockstar games are better on consoles they dont care a lot about pc gamers but the game is good not like gta :sa but still it good its big with good graphics and good story ,.,. the dlc was worth the money its the same map with a new story... and some c4 and golden uzi and the DAO-12 WOW?! the very disappointing thing is that i have max out the settings and a lot of **** stuff arerockstar games are better on consoles they dont care a lot about pc gamers but the game is good not like gta :sa but still it good its big with good graphics and good story ,.,. the dlc was worth the money its the same map with a new story... and some c4 and golden uzi and the DAO-12 WOW?! the very disappointing thing is that i have max out the settings and a lot of **** stuff are happening like a lot of cars are very damaged in the back but the graphics arent too good .. i mean when i look back for one sec i see the houses on low details and then maxed and the cars are sill disappearing when they are on my back :C this isnt cool Expand
  45. May 25, 2012
    6
    I quite enjoyed this title but upon completion I felt I was really limited with what there was to do. I would love to have been able to collect a wide variety of vehicles and buy property etc.
  46. Dec 19, 2012
    5
    I've already reviewed this game at great length for the Xbox 360; mainly noting its dissapointment compared to San Andreas or indeed any other GTA (except maybe GTA III). If you're looking for single player content, this game simply doesn't have any. With a generic (for a GTA game) story, repetitive missions, and a plot/setting/context with zero creativity and some half-arsed mini-gamesI've already reviewed this game at great length for the Xbox 360; mainly noting its dissapointment compared to San Andreas or indeed any other GTA (except maybe GTA III). If you're looking for single player content, this game simply doesn't have any. With a generic (for a GTA game) story, repetitive missions, and a plot/setting/context with zero creativity and some half-arsed mini-games thrown in; it's definitely a game which Rockstar played it safe with - something which nobody expects from a Grand Theft Auto title- which always push the boundaries in open-world freedom of expression and creativity. Multiplayer is new and it has got some good variety but somehow doesn't feel right either. The reason for this is down to the controls. Only official Xbox 360 controllers are supported, and the auto-aim means multiplayer has almost zero skill in combat. It's still fun to play though occasionally due to the variety, which includes three co-op missions. So if you decide to use mouse and keyboard, you'll find the default button mapping to be pretty much perfect. However, the one thing that ruins the whole experience of making it fluent; and this applies more on PC than console - is the extremely clunky response for movement and the camera. Sometimes you feel that you have no control over Niko. My final complaint is with the stability issues and lack of optimisation for PC. Yes, you can still have your own music station as before, but the graphics are far too inefficient. Don't get me wrong, this is an amazing looking game even for today, but it is in desperate need of anti-aliasing even at 1920x1080, especially given the nature of the game. If you don't have around 1.5GB dedicated graphics memory you can't really max it or run it well. I have a 1GB GTX 560 Ti and considering I get 48 FPS on BF3 on High in multiplayer, you'd think this game on max would be a piece of cake. But the draw distance consumes ridiculous amounts of VRAM. The Xbox 360 version, despite getting crap framerate, had at least more consistency in graphics. Screen tearing, freezes, pink textures, AI behaving weird, bugs, glitches - anything you can think of is present. Given the quality of the game as a whole, these technical issues make a mockery of all the claimed $100 million budget. There's also the problem that there is no cfg file where you can adjust anti-aliasing or set a frame limit. You can manually limit the frame rate by entering a command line into a shortcut pointed at the executable, but this still doesn't make for smooth gameplay experience. Even commandline fixes within the game directory can't fix the random freezing, crashing and sometimes textures not loading bugs, which is extremely frustrating. OK that's me done complaining. So what credit does this game actually deserve? The most notable and most significant in my opinion, is how the driving mechanics and the car designs themselves are better than any other open-world game. Not only do cars look beautiful and unique, but they handle differently too. It's very fun to just drive on this game and very rewarding. Better than a lot of racing games if you ask me. Other accomplishments include a decent attempt at capturing New York City. Although most of the city looks pretty bland and copy and pasted throughout and most of it doesn't get used in the main story, it's still not a bad effort given the size. It's very grande and distinctly recognizable. The city does feel authentic and AI is quite good - certainly more realistic than the previous games which had rubbish ragdoll physics and very blocky movement. This is down to the brilliant Euphoria engine in conjunction with RAGE. Other good points about this game include the very nicely paced progression and robust game mechanics such as the combat and the wanted system for losing cops. The classic GTA humour and chat stations are here too. The attention to detail is also impressive- everything from easter eggs to the realistic volume of the radio according to how far away you are from your car. What else? The only thing that remains to be credited is that overall, as a package, it's a solid game. It may not do anything new or do anything exceptionally well, and the content is lacking. However if you consider it on its own without comparing to other open-world games it's a very high quality game on the whole. Sure the PC version isn't optimised and it deserves negative marks for its lack of innovation and the miniscule amount of content for an open-world game, but if you can overlook these issues there's a decent experience to be found here. Just tread with caution and be prepared for some heavy technical issues on the PC version. Expand
  47. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    Grand Theft Auto IV has a great engine, the graphics are okay, it has great multiplayer and it runs really smooth. But the score was brought down by low view distance, boring story and one of the worst things to ever happen to games industry also known as games for windows live.
  48. Aug 17, 2012
    6
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is a great game, don't misunderstand me, but the PC version is insane. Because it needs an insanely powerful PC to play it. But, still, if you have a super powerful PC, than this game will be fun, single player and multiplayer. Can't wait to play the console version. 65 out of 100 (For the powerful PCs, 96 out of 100)
  49. BrettB
    Aug 19, 2009
    7
    ok here is the deal GTA IV is a fun but highly flawed game It runs like a pile of crap even on high end rigs this wouldent be such a big deal if the game had great graphics but it doesent the graphics are mearly passable but the physics are top notch. The gameplay is fun but there is not nearly enough weapons or cars and it always feels like you are wrestling with the controls to get yourok here is the deal GTA IV is a fun but highly flawed game It runs like a pile of crap even on high end rigs this wouldent be such a big deal if the game had great graphics but it doesent the graphics are mearly passable but the physics are top notch. The gameplay is fun but there is not nearly enough weapons or cars and it always feels like you are wrestling with the controls to get your car/character to do what you want also I cant see why they took a step back from San An by removing character stats and weapon skills because I found they where one of the things that made San An great. Expand
  50. HJ
    Sep 23, 2009
    7
    Let's start out with the good things, the game looks absolutely brilliant, there it has not disappointed. The Gameplay is not bad, but there's something missing that GTA: San Andreas had, it's the whole atmosphere. The Single Player campaign is certainly worth the money. The Multiplayer is very dull, especially for those who have played SA: Multiplayer, which was a mod. Of Let's start out with the good things, the game looks absolutely brilliant, there it has not disappointed. The Gameplay is not bad, but there's something missing that GTA: San Andreas had, it's the whole atmosphere. The Single Player campaign is certainly worth the money. The Multiplayer is very dull, especially for those who have played SA: Multiplayer, which was a mod. Of course i thought rockstar would be inspired by the great concept, but because the game is a console port with very few changes, they even left the "weaknesses" of consoles in, that's why you cannot have Multiplayer servers with lots of players, and the game is very hard to mod. Even worse than that is that you need a Microsoft live account to even just save. Expand
  51. JT
    Dec 18, 2008
    7
    Graphics = 10 Audio = 9 Control = 5 (controls were laggy, and quality of remap was terrible) it would have added alot to the feeling of GTA4 if the controls were smoother and easier to maintain. Story = 6 (weakest story and missions of any of the GTA3's yet) Install and config = 3 (making us install windows live and social club just sucks. Game takes forever to load. Overriding my Graphics = 10 Audio = 9 Control = 5 (controls were laggy, and quality of remap was terrible) it would have added alot to the feeling of GTA4 if the controls were smoother and easier to maintain. Story = 6 (weakest story and missions of any of the GTA3's yet) Install and config = 3 (making us install windows live and social club just sucks. Game takes forever to load. Overriding my graphic settings and not giving me an easy way to have my own settings bad. DRM/CD checks slow down loading considerably. Unfortunately I think this will be the last PC version of GTA. You can easily tell by the quality of the port that Rockstar isn't interested at all in the PC build quality. Expand
  52. Jon
    Jan 19, 2009
    7
    I agree with all of the criticism re. DRM and set up. It seems pointless given how quickly pirated/cracked copies arrive online these days. Quite why the game requires registration to Rockstar Social club AND Windows Live is beyond me. Isn't one enough? I had to retrace my steps when I discovered that although I'd completed registration for windows live, I hadn't I agree with all of the criticism re. DRM and set up. It seems pointless given how quickly pirated/cracked copies arrive online these days. Quite why the game requires registration to Rockstar Social club AND Windows Live is beyond me. Isn't one enough? I had to retrace my steps when I discovered that although I'd completed registration for windows live, I hadn't 'linked' the accounts. I had to re-play from the start to unlock acheivement awards and features - (yeah, all pretty daft and unecessary). On top of this there is a serial key and Securom - which I deplore since I have had real problems with this in the past on my old pc. The irony is that illegal downloaders don't go through any of this, so what is the point? Initially I believed that this kind of DRM was there to stop piracy but now I think it's more about killing the used games market. I have so many registrations to different accounts over the last year that it's just getting silly. I am also annoyed that a game that started life and gained its reputation on the PC is now poorly ported over from the 360 - as a result, despite what the packaging states, the 'real world' system requirements are outrageously demanding. Believe when I say that you need serious hardware to get optimum settings on this game. I have 4GB ram, a quad core and a 1GB HD4870 - well in excess of the recommended specs. I have installed a patch as well as a fix for Windows Live but I still wouldn't deem the gameplay smooth. There are still graphical glitches and stuttering frame rates throughout the game and I hope Rockstar put some serious effort into fixing these. In spite of this I still think it's a cracking game, though I'm die hard and have played GTA from its earliest incarnation. The story and characters are the best yet. The game is as bloody as ever but it really has a conscience and like CJ in San Andreas you'll really be drawn in by the game's central character, Niko. Were it not for the silliness listed above the game would have scored a ten. As the game stands - with the Windows Live, Social Club, Key, DRM and the glitches - I'm afraid I have to give it a 7. Expand
  53. JakeO
    Dec 14, 2009
    7
    In my opinion GTA IV is the best game I've bought this year, but it's terrible without a perfect gaming computer. I have a GTX260 graphics card, 2GB of RAM and a Dual core that's pretty fast - I get disconnected too much for having a 'slow PC' when every texture around me is loaded and every NPC doing their own thing already. GTA IV is perfect for really any type In my opinion GTA IV is the best game I've bought this year, but it's terrible without a perfect gaming computer. I have a GTX260 graphics card, 2GB of RAM and a Dual core that's pretty fast - I get disconnected too much for having a 'slow PC' when every texture around me is loaded and every NPC doing their own thing already. GTA IV is perfect for really any type of gamer, but there is just that problem that me and most other players have with running the game (disconnecting you for no reason) Expand
  54. MooMan
    Dec 15, 2009
    7
    Lots of people bitch about how unoptimized the game is, but i bought it a year after it came out when the price was reduced to $30... I'd love to have bought it for $10. The game overheats my comp like no other, but at least it uses all 4 of my cores =) whoohoo duel core! Other than that, i'd say this game deserves a 7, because its a lot like the other GTA, even the story line. Lots of people bitch about how unoptimized the game is, but i bought it a year after it came out when the price was reduced to $30... I'd love to have bought it for $10. The game overheats my comp like no other, but at least it uses all 4 of my cores =) whoohoo duel core! Other than that, i'd say this game deserves a 7, because its a lot like the other GTA, even the story line. Betrayal, killing, murdering, being an idiot, etc Expand
  55. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    it runs fine on my computer so thats not the real issue, although i did lose my save file after an hour or 2 of play. My real issue with this game is that its boring. GTA vice city and San Andreas are far far better. GTA IVs claim to fame is its graphics and they are quite good. Going on dates. fiddling with the awkward cell phone is just lame. The cars handle like drunken cows. the gameit runs fine on my computer so thats not the real issue, although i did lose my save file after an hour or 2 of play. My real issue with this game is that its boring. GTA vice city and San Andreas are far far better. GTA IVs claim to fame is its graphics and they are quite good. Going on dates. fiddling with the awkward cell phone is just lame. The cars handle like drunken cows. the game tries to have realism but i think that takes away from the grand theft auto aspect of it. It definitely doesn't deserve a 5/10 though, but it also doesn't deserve a 9/10 like Metacritic calculates. all the critics must have been paid off or afraid to take down the giant when it obviously has many bad game-play elements and is very disappointing of a game Expand
  56. Jan 7, 2011
    7
    GTA IV is redone... for the worse or the better is up to you.

    Obviously, the engine is new and it gives a more realistic game - before you could crash into AI cars and they would "fly away" now you both get stuck in a crash. I give credit that you can hire a Taxi to get you to a certain destination - and the "retry" option (on your phone) should you fail a mission. All of this to get you
    GTA IV is redone... for the worse or the better is up to you.

    Obviously, the engine is new and it gives a more realistic game - before you could crash into AI cars and they would "fly away" now you both get stuck in a crash.

    I give credit that you can hire a Taxi to get you to a certain destination - and the "retry" option (on your phone) should you fail a mission. All of this to get you through the hustle in the enormous city.

    Also, to my disappointment there are no tanks or military equipment in this game, you can't enter police stations either and such...
    Expand
  57. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    I have not yet finished the game, but have been amused so far. Although I found vice city much more entertaining in comparison. However, my biggest issue is Microsoft LIVE getting in the way. I TRIED to just play single player, thinking I could avoid registering, but the first point I try to save the game, we get blackmailed into registering so we ca save the **** game. **** but I do it,I have not yet finished the game, but have been amused so far. Although I found vice city much more entertaining in comparison. However, my biggest issue is Microsoft LIVE getting in the way. I TRIED to just play single player, thinking I could avoid registering, but the first point I try to save the game, we get blackmailed into registering so we ca save the **** game. **** but I do it, because in the end i want to play. A day or two later, my game wont open because the microsoft LIVE software keeps crashing. So, **** that whole business arrangement. From now on, if I find out that microsoft live is associated with a game, I am going to download it illegally to avoid this crap. Thats how ganster I am. Expand
  58. May 16, 2012
    7
    The critic score is an absolute joke. Yes GTA4 is technically a good game, the graphics on pc are excellent, the combat is good enough and the story is good, not great. The game though is boring, you drive to a destination you shoot 5 guys mission completed. Repeat for 12 hours. The vehicle handling is a joke and driving in rain is impossible not realistic at all. The combat is fun butThe critic score is an absolute joke. Yes GTA4 is technically a good game, the graphics on pc are excellent, the combat is good enough and the story is good, not great. The game though is boring, you drive to a destination you shoot 5 guys mission completed. Repeat for 12 hours. The vehicle handling is a joke and driving in rain is impossible not realistic at all. The combat is fun but turn off auto aim to give yourself a bit of a challenge. Nothing to unlock, at all. The weapons are boring, where's the chainsaw? Where's the fun elements of San Andreas? GTA5 should fix the mission variety, unlocks, vehicles, etc. and it will be epic. Expand
  59. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    I love the GTA series but this was disappointing. I guess I should start playing Saint's Row if I want to have fun, and play this if I want... I don't know what it gives me.

    I'm going to finish it, but over half way in it is so dull, the story doesn't have the sense of fun as the others did. I always loved GTA for being a bit ridiculous, but still kind of realistic. They're made this
    I love the GTA series but this was disappointing. I guess I should start playing Saint's Row if I want to have fun, and play this if I want... I don't know what it gives me.

    I'm going to finish it, but over half way in it is so dull, the story doesn't have the sense of fun as the others did. I always loved GTA for being a bit ridiculous, but still kind of realistic. They're made this one too realistic.

    That being said I got it for $5 on Steam so I can't complain.
    Expand
  60. Jul 6, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Welcome to Liberty City, again, in High Definition this time. Right after the universally acclaimed and controversial release of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, in 2004, the guys from Rockstar North have been hard at work to bring us a new, different gaming experience. Four years later, we meet Niko Bellic in Liberty City, trying to get away from his dark past, and chase the "American Dream" along with his cousin, Roman.

    I remember when it was first released for the consoles, I was so excited about it that I have watched all of the gameplay missions on YouTube long before it was released for the PC, not owning a console. It's a pity that Rockstar North keeps neglecting their PC fans like that. GTA IV was released on the PC seven full months (and a few days) after the initial console release. Having it come out so late for the PC was definitely a disappointment for me, and dozens of thousands of other fans.

    Grand Theft Auto IV was a major turn in the GTA series. Two major improvements GTA IV brought to the table were new graphics and a brand-new kick-a** engine. At first glance, it seemed as if this game was complete as it was, without the need of a story or anything else at all, it seemed simply amazing, and so it was... at least for a while. Although the graphics and engine improved, the gameplay seemed a little too repetitive after a while, thus making it a little boring, at best.

    The story structure took a different approach from the one in GTA San Andreas: The player was no longer demanded to do this and that and be everybody's b*tch (don't get me wrong, I love GTA San Andreas' plot!), instead he was given more control over the game, that being proved by some critical decisions the player has to make, which all lead to different results.

    In GTA IV you play as Niko Bellic, a Yugoslavian man, in his mid-late 30's who came to Liberty City to chase the American Dream... and kill two guys who betrayed him while he was in the army. That's how to plot kicks off, following a series of twists and events in the search of the almighty dollar and the taste of the sweet revenge.

    Even though GTA IV has a pretty solid plot and activities like bowling, going to comedy clubs, visiting strip clubs, taking helicopter rides above LC, drinking, eating at restaurants and a few others, the gameplay is becoming obsolete after a certain amount of hours into the game. After finishing the main story, I was left looking for ways to get entertained, but shooting cops is not always fun and it became boring after a while doing the same thing over and over again having the same results.

    Every game in the GTA series is known for its great music catalog and GTA IV made no exception. Having a vast amount of radio stations, with hand-picked tracks, the music is great as expected. The sounds were also great. Voice acting was flawless, I was not disappointed for a second, great performance from everyone on the team.

    There are many other aspects of the game that I could talk about, but I'll just stop here as this is not a paid review, it's written almost 5 years after the release of the game and I'm not sure anyone will read this much anyway.

    I gave it a 7 out of 10 because of the delayed release on the PC, for the inevitable repetitive gameplay after a while, also for the lack of places to spend the big hard earned bucks.

    Conclusion: GTA IV truly stands out in the GTA series but it could have been even better. It dissapoints at certain points but it makes up on others. Let's hope GTA V will be a combination of San Andreas & IV in terms of gameplay/graphics/plot.
    Expand
  61. Aug 1, 2013
    6
    Le doy 6 porque tiene buenos graficos; pero la historia es un verdadero desastre. Nada emocionante como las anteriores versiones de GTA. Para pasar el rato.
  62. Oct 2, 2013
    5
    Compared to previous games in the series this one is kinda boring. Missions aren't that interesting and most characters are kinda annoying. I don't know something was missing, I guess it just wasn't that crazy as the previous ones (at least for me), and the fact someone keeps calling you on the phone all the time doesn't help.
  63. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Decent-ish PC port. My computer is lucky enough to run it, GFWL isn't screwing up for me or anything, but the missions are a bit boring, and the final mission is bugged. You MUST use a xbox controller or a framerate limiter to be able to do the QTE/Button mashing on the last level(s). Depending on either a deal or revenge. The one thing that the PC version makes up for is the replay editorDecent-ish PC port. My computer is lucky enough to run it, GFWL isn't screwing up for me or anything, but the missions are a bit boring, and the final mission is bugged. You MUST use a xbox controller or a framerate limiter to be able to do the QTE/Button mashing on the last level(s). Depending on either a deal or revenge. The one thing that the PC version makes up for is the replay editor and mods like Simple Native Trainer and LCPDFR. Expand
  64. Jan 6, 2015
    6
    One of the most overrated games of all time. The map is smaller than usual, your cousin keeps annoying you every 5 seconds for bowling, and the graphics are sub-par on the PC. I don't usually complain about the graphics unless the game-play is executed well....And it's kind of executed well. First of all, escaping from the cops is too easy! If you hide from them for 30 seconds, you are inOne of the most overrated games of all time. The map is smaller than usual, your cousin keeps annoying you every 5 seconds for bowling, and the graphics are sub-par on the PC. I don't usually complain about the graphics unless the game-play is executed well....And it's kind of executed well. First of all, escaping from the cops is too easy! If you hide from them for 30 seconds, you are in the clear. Also, the story is decent but not good enough. But, there are good aspects of this game, too. The car has a great damage effect when you ram into a wall and seems slightly more exaggerated than previous GTA games. I like that because sometimes I like to wreck my car for fun. Also, the underground subway is surprisingly extensive and large and is the site of the fabled Rat Man. Although proven fake, it is still awesome to go down there and relive the nostalgia of the Rat Man. Sometimes, even, I role-play and pretend I'm seeking out the Rat Man. The subway is easily the most interesting part of the map to me. Overall, GTA IV is a decent game, it was a huge misfire from Rockstar that wasn't as good as the previous games. 6/10 (OK) Expand
  65. Feb 8, 2013
    7
    This would get a 9 if not for all the technical problems. What i am talking about is this game would never start because Rockstar social club and windows live. THAT impossible to start the game you NEED xliveless to start it. Now to the game it is about a man named Niko Bellic who moves to Liberty City (New York). He moves there because he pissed of the mob and his cousin Roman said heThis would get a 9 if not for all the technical problems. What i am talking about is this game would never start because Rockstar social club and windows live. THAT impossible to start the game you NEED xliveless to start it. Now to the game it is about a man named Niko Bellic who moves to Liberty City (New York). He moves there because he pissed of the mob and his cousin Roman said he had a very good life there. Well big surprise! He does not he lives in a ****ty apartment in a ****ty neighborhood on the ****ty island and he owns a ****ty cab company. You work for him until you work for likable people that does not call every hour and say EEY COUSIN WANNA GO BOWLING?! When you find out people who where in your child squad from the war you go after the traitor and when you kill him YOU DON'T FEEL DIFFERENT! Expand
  66. Feb 14, 2013
    6
    The game would have been great if its performance wasn't so bad. The game stuttered like crazy when I first bought it, even if I put it on the lowest graphics. Once I installed a patch and got more RAM it ran better, but the frame rate was still low, aside from performance issues the game was enjoyable, but it was a bit darker and less goofy than previous GTA games. The game wasn't quiteThe game would have been great if its performance wasn't so bad. The game stuttered like crazy when I first bought it, even if I put it on the lowest graphics. Once I installed a patch and got more RAM it ran better, but the frame rate was still low, aside from performance issues the game was enjoyable, but it was a bit darker and less goofy than previous GTA games. The game wasn't quite as funny as Vice City and San Andreas, but the missions were still very fun. The soundtrack was not as good as the previous games either, and the character "Roman" was more annoying than funny. Overall the story-line and acting was very good, the soundtrack was ok, some parts were funny but the game really needed to run better. Expand
  67. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    I really enjoyed this game, and was pretty late into buying it. At the time, I did not have the computer required to run it, but when I did, I had a lot of fun. The missions get tedious and boring at times, but the open world without consequences is always something to go back to. The PC port has some annoying bugs, and even after a few years, the graphics are still decent.
  68. Mar 29, 2013
    5
    This is a really rubbish port. The engine runs horribly and there seems to be a particular issue with ATI cards (I have a 7970OC Edition). The FPS is crap and the game is incredibly jerky. I have many games with much better graphics that are smooth as silk. The controls are rubbish too. Niko runs like a spaz, the cars handle like crap and the camera is annoying. The only reason why I'veThis is a really rubbish port. The engine runs horribly and there seems to be a particular issue with ATI cards (I have a 7970OC Edition). The FPS is crap and the game is incredibly jerky. I have many games with much better graphics that are smooth as silk. The controls are rubbish too. Niko runs like a spaz, the cars handle like crap and the camera is annoying. The only reason why I've come up to a 5 is because the environment is really well created, the game is extremely funny and the music tracks are really good.

    However, I am left not being able to play the game though because it's so jerky and the controls are so rubbish. If only the engine worked properly on PC and the gameplay was like GTA3 where the cars handled properly and the character moved around like a proper game character where left was strafe left, right was strafe right and backwards was back-peddle, not turn around and look at the camera like a dick. What do Rockstar care though? They got their money and made more than $1bn from the game.
    Expand
  69. Aug 24, 2013
    7
    The story is great, but the most of the missions involve shoot outs which get's annoying and very repetitive. The PC port is horrible, the controls are fine but the performance is the real issue. My recently bought computer could not keep a steady frame rate at even lowered graphic settings...
    The game doesn't have as much features as San Andreas does, but this one introduces car damage
    The story is great, but the most of the missions involve shoot outs which get's annoying and very repetitive. The PC port is horrible, the controls are fine but the performance is the real issue. My recently bought computer could not keep a steady frame rate at even lowered graphic settings...
    The game doesn't have as much features as San Andreas does, but this one introduces car damage physics, realistic ragdolls ect.
    But other then that, you can't do as much as in San Andreas, in which case the selection of clothing is very limited, you cannot tune your cars, work out to gain strength ect. Later you will be finding yourself not knowing how to spend all of the money you've earned from the missions, there is more ways to earn the cash then to spend it... After all I'll still give this game a very weak 7.
    I'm really looking forward to GTA V and let's hope it wont port as badly as this one did.
    Expand
  70. Sep 9, 2013
    6
    This game is a blast to play. The freedom it gives and the options you have are loads of fun, but... BUT... The story is very hard to get into. One of the worst expositions in a game. It didn't make me interested to play it. You just do very mundane chores for about three hours. A very fun game with a bland story.
  71. Nov 9, 2013
    5
    What a mess, where can I start... This is hard to write, because this game is what ruined one of my favorite game series for me. First of all, the installation process. It took me hours to get running! I had to install Rockstar Games Social Club, then the atrocious Games for Windows Live, verify the game online and click on buttons of message boxes that had screwed up fonts, so I had noWhat a mess, where can I start... This is hard to write, because this game is what ruined one of my favorite game series for me. First of all, the installation process. It took me hours to get running! I had to install Rockstar Games Social Club, then the atrocious Games for Windows Live, verify the game online and click on buttons of message boxes that had screwed up fonts, so I had no idea what I was actually pressing and had to get through all this with trial and error. After I've finally gotten everything running another disappointment followed. The game couldn't run even at 10 fps on full graphics on my gaming PC that could handle anything for years to come after that, worst optimization I have ever come across. The game itself was okay, but OK doesn't cut it for a GTA title. Niko was a very plain and boring character (What was his motivation to do everything he did? He needs money? Wow... great story right there.) and Liberty City felt too grey and boring. The missions were also a pain to get through instead of actually being fun, the same boring thing over and over again. It's too bad, this game could really have been something, in reality it was just an over-hyped piece of Expand
  72. Nov 16, 2013
    5
    Many people here seem to be complaining about performance issues without stating their card.

    I'm running the game on a GT 635m, It runs alright with no shadows on at 1360x768, Textures Medium, V-Sync on and Tripple buffering, I also went into the Geforce Control panel and manually enabled FXAA which cleans up those edges without destroying frame rate. As for gameplay, I just found it
    Many people here seem to be complaining about performance issues without stating their card.

    I'm running the game on a GT 635m, It runs alright with no shadows on at 1360x768, Textures Medium, V-Sync on and Tripple buffering, I also went into the Geforce Control panel and manually enabled FXAA which cleans up those edges without destroying frame rate.

    As for gameplay, I just found it boring. The physics are good but the storyline is pretty tedious, I can't relate to the main charactor because he seems to be a dick head and no matter how you dress him he looks like a tramp. The whole game world is grey with some kind of weird bloom so without mods it's even ugly to explore.

    There are better games out there, Sleeping Dogs/Saints Row both do a better job of entertaining open world gaming.
    Expand
  73. Nov 21, 2013
    6
    This game is rather hard to rate due to it's terrible port to the PC.
    However, gameplay wise it offers a heck of a lot, but not enough to beat San Andreas or the mighty king that is Vice City.
    I did enjoy the game, but there is so many graphical issues and performance issues that take you from the immersion.
    Not a bad game, not a fantastic one either, but worth a play.
  74. Feb 14, 2014
    5
    I like GTA games but this one is a bit boring. The graphics are really good but the missions failed to keep me entertained. The Windows Live was also something very annnoying.
  75. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    A lot of people claim this is a dull GTA game, and say San Andreas is better. San Andreas had more replay value, but GTA IV's story is one of the most underrated stories in a video game ever. It knows when its a good time to be serious, and when it's a good time to be humorous. However, the PC port requires a high-end graphics card even though my computer can run games with better graphicsA lot of people claim this is a dull GTA game, and say San Andreas is better. San Andreas had more replay value, but GTA IV's story is one of the most underrated stories in a video game ever. It knows when its a good time to be serious, and when it's a good time to be humorous. However, the PC port requires a high-end graphics card even though my computer can run games with better graphics than this fine, so its clearly the game that has the problem. Expand
  76. Apr 1, 2014
    6
    Pro: very good gameplay (shooting, driving, shooting and driving), good storyline and characters, graphic are not so bad, major improvement comparing to gta sa, love the details of small things (tv, pc, taxi service etc)

    cons: bugs, first timer would have lots of problem (system specs, settings, game protection), no checkpoint savegames during missions (imean if you're like 90% to
    Pro: very good gameplay (shooting, driving, shooting and driving), good storyline and characters, graphic are not so bad, major improvement comparing to gta sa, love the details of small things (tv, pc, taxi service etc)

    cons: bugs, first timer would have lots of problem (system specs, settings, game protection), no checkpoint savegames during missions (imean if you're like 90% to complete the mission and you **** up you gotta start from the beginning of the mission), less spacious than gta sa map, no planes, crappy heli controls.

    *never played its multiplayer, so aint saying any comment for that
    Expand
  77. Apr 12, 2014
    5
    This game is a disgrace to the Grand Theft Auto franchise. Let me explain myself. Positives: Most realistic GTA game (ex. Cars shift weight when they turn, new ragdoll physics, car physics, so much physics) Cab rides, officially implemented multiplayer, and finally some freaking beds. Negatives: Story is overrated as COD, can't keep a steady frame rate. EVER. THE MISSIONS. THE MISSIONS AREThis game is a disgrace to the Grand Theft Auto franchise. Let me explain myself. Positives: Most realistic GTA game (ex. Cars shift weight when they turn, new ragdoll physics, car physics, so much physics) Cab rides, officially implemented multiplayer, and finally some freaking beds. Negatives: Story is overrated as COD, can't keep a steady frame rate. EVER. THE MISSIONS. THE MISSIONS ARE SO BAD THAT THERE IS NO WORD THAT CAN DESCRIBE THEM. All the other GTA games had good characters at least. GTA IV? Nope. At least GTA IV: TBoGT made some of them interesting. The world is so drab and devoid of ineteresting environments. Rockstar turned GTA III's Liberty City from a thrilling, backstabbing, gang and drug filled world into 40,000 identical city streets with only the drugs kept into it. Other characters you meet throughout your "adventure" can become you "friends". What does this mean? It means that Roman will call you every 5 minutes to go bowling. Packie will call you every 5 minutes to throw darts, and your terrible plot twist of a girlfriend will want to go out with you on a date every 5 minutes. There's like to clothes stores which sell all the same drab, greyish colors of the city. The only reason I'm giving this game a five is that, being the young boy I am, This was my first GTA game, and even though the missions were repetitive, I thought open world games were so cool. The idea of roaming around a huge area was foreign to me, and I loved every second of it. Anyway, if you want to know what GTA IV was striving to be, (a fun game with realistic, but colorful, graphics and story) download Just Cause 2. It is my favorite open world game (San Andreas being 2nd place, of course). Get it on PC, but use a gamepad of some sort. Expand
  78. Sep 9, 2014
    7
    Just your usual hack and slash GTA game, where you do missions, and wreak havoc on Liberty City. Not the most amazing plot I've ever come across, and I can't say I'm too impressed with the game overall, considering the constant tweaking I had to do with the settings in order to make this poorly optimized PC port run smoothly. Not horrible, but definitely nothing to get excited for.
  79. Oct 21, 2014
    7
    First of all, what an overrated game. Second of all, why are the Critics giving this game such great reviews and everyone else is giving it mixed or negative reviews. Hmm... Mabye because Rockstar is paying them! Nonetheless, Grand Theft Auto IV is a good game but has a weak story, a small map compared to other Grand Theft Auto games, and doesn't have as much variety either. So far, to me,First of all, what an overrated game. Second of all, why are the Critics giving this game such great reviews and everyone else is giving it mixed or negative reviews. Hmm... Mabye because Rockstar is paying them! Nonetheless, Grand Theft Auto IV is a good game but has a weak story, a small map compared to other Grand Theft Auto games, and doesn't have as much variety either. So far, to me, Grand Theft Auto IV is the weakest in the series and is a Rockstar misfire. But, it still gets a 7/10 (good) Expand
  80. Dec 18, 2014
    7
    Too much overrated on consoles and pc. Especially with compare to GTA 5. There are still same old problems with control system in vehicles and with Nico. The characters is only one thing, that`s even better than in GTA 5. Normally I`ve get 8.5/10 but with the fact, that half of people simply can`t played game on their pc, I must give 7/10. If they will gave us problems with GTA 5, I willToo much overrated on consoles and pc. Especially with compare to GTA 5. There are still same old problems with control system in vehicles and with Nico. The characters is only one thing, that`s even better than in GTA 5. Normally I`ve get 8.5/10 but with the fact, that half of people simply can`t played game on their pc, I must give 7/10. If they will gave us problems with GTA 5, I will split up with them forever! Expand
  81. Jan 17, 2015
    6
    a game I played back a long time ago when I was running a phenom II x4 ,4gb ddr3 and a hd4850, maybe it was poorly optimized , but I had some good times with it the graphics were OK, it has some interesting npc's that stood on street corners ranting, one of them was a crazy guy, the other was a minister, mindlessly driving in a semi plowing thru traffic Is something I spent some timea game I played back a long time ago when I was running a phenom II x4 ,4gb ddr3 and a hd4850, maybe it was poorly optimized , but I had some good times with it the graphics were OK, it has some interesting npc's that stood on street corners ranting, one of them was a crazy guy, the other was a minister, mindlessly driving in a semi plowing thru traffic Is something I spent some time doing, there's some interesting side missions, with companions', (in one which you can shoot your date or drive like a maniac and the date is over), story is just average, music at the time was accepatable, Expand
  82. Mar 31, 2015
    5
    First off, this doesn't feel like a pc game. Maybe it's fine if you play it with a controller. Either way, I don't like it when during gameplay, at an exciting moment in the plot, suddenly there's this line "Press S" or "Tap R". It completely kills immersion for me. I think this one is a victim of the popularity of console gaming in design. On top of that it was a bad port.

    Apart from
    First off, this doesn't feel like a pc game. Maybe it's fine if you play it with a controller. Either way, I don't like it when during gameplay, at an exciting moment in the plot, suddenly there's this line "Press S" or "Tap R". It completely kills immersion for me. I think this one is a victim of the popularity of console gaming in design. On top of that it was a bad port.

    Apart from that the story didn't really compell me. It was not terrible, but mediocre at best. For me this is the least interesting GTA so far. I guess some people like it, but for me it lacks the magic of GTA 1, 2, 3, Vice City or even San Andreas. I quit playing after 4-5 hours.
    Expand
  83. May 19, 2015
    7
    I really enjoy the game. Great story and gameplay. The physics are amazingly realistic and revolutionary at the time. For a game that was released almost 7 years ago, the graphics withstands the test of time. The graphics are still relevant to this day. Though the PC version has technical issues, I tried this game in Windows 8.1 and it couldn't run, but it works in Windows 7. GTA IV isI really enjoy the game. Great story and gameplay. The physics are amazingly realistic and revolutionary at the time. For a game that was released almost 7 years ago, the graphics withstands the test of time. The graphics are still relevant to this day. Though the PC version has technical issues, I tried this game in Windows 8.1 and it couldn't run, but it works in Windows 7. GTA IV is poorly optimized for PC. And then there's Games for Windows Live. The game 10/10, the PC version 7/10. Expand
  84. Jun 24, 2015
    7
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is one of the many games in Rockstar's GTA series. But in ways, it is very different. And as you will find out from this review, different doesn't always mean better. In GTA 4, you play as immigrant Niko Belic, who just got off the boat from Eastern Europe. The story is by far the weakest in the series up to that point. Niko isn't that interesting of a character comparedGrand Theft Auto 4 is one of the many games in Rockstar's GTA series. But in ways, it is very different. And as you will find out from this review, different doesn't always mean better. In GTA 4, you play as immigrant Niko Belic, who just got off the boat from Eastern Europe. The story is by far the weakest in the series up to that point. Niko isn't that interesting of a character compared to Tommy Vercetti from Vice City or CJ from San Andreas. But the GTA series best parts aren't from the story. This game looked really good at the time it came out and by today's standards, its fine. Nothing to complain about graphically. The gameplay is the same GTA-style you have always known, just upgraded with cover shooter mechanics. It is done very well and probably the best part of the game. Liberty City itself is.. okay. A definite step down from the huge size of San Andreas. Overall, if you like Grand Theft Auto, buy it. But just know, GTA V is coming out soon and I already know that it is miles ahead this game. Expand
  85. Jun 28, 2015
    5
    Man I've went through hell and back trying to run this game on various PC models of mines. I upgraded from a GT 640 to a GTX 750Ti and that's probably the only reason I can run the game smoothly. The annoying patches and save deletes I have went through as well as launch issues overtime and just GOD AWFUL optimization where regardless of what rig you have everything cannot be ran at ultraMan I've went through hell and back trying to run this game on various PC models of mines. I upgraded from a GT 640 to a GTX 750Ti and that's probably the only reason I can run the game smoothly. The annoying patches and save deletes I have went through as well as launch issues overtime and just GOD AWFUL optimization where regardless of what rig you have everything cannot be ran at ultra high because then just a crap load of other sh*t will happen. Just like 5 that released without mods It would be a weaker score and try buying this game today and man you will have trouble even being able to launch the game. Expand
  86. Jul 21, 2015
    6
    As a GTA fan, I was quite looking forward to playing this game. As I do not own any consoles, PC was my only way to play this, don't judge me.
    The PC version of this game has optimizations issues, but I can get over it. The only issue I expected was low framerate, which is really not a big deal for me. Graphics still look nice.
    Story of this game is great. You'll meet a lot of characters
    As a GTA fan, I was quite looking forward to playing this game. As I do not own any consoles, PC was my only way to play this, don't judge me.
    The PC version of this game has optimizations issues, but I can get over it. The only issue I expected was low framerate, which is really not a big deal for me. Graphics still look nice.
    Story of this game is great. You'll meet a lot of characters with different personalities and they are done pretty well.
    Gameplay is awesome. I really enjoy walking or driving around Liberty City with the well done physics, but, and that's the main problem, is probably the only thing I can enjoy in GTA IV. There is practically nothing to do apart from going on bowling, buying suits and very few and boring activities. GTA San Andreas is my most favorite game ever released and GTA IV, as a successor, is a huge dissapointment for me.
    6/10 - Could be MUCH better.
    Expand
  87. Jul 25, 2015
    6
    qqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqq
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. It's the peripheral distractions of both going out with Roman, and meeting your girlfriends, that really make your virtual life so worth living. Although incredibly simplistic, they're oddly touching...One of the finest videogames ever. [Christmas 2008, p.87]
  2. The most grown-up GTA and the best realised, but it doesn't respect the PC much. Enjoy the multiplayer madness if you can. [Christmas 2008, p.96]
  3. A genuinely ground-breaking blockbuster in videogame history. There were moments playing GTA IV that I thought back to my initial experiences with games, and realised exactly how far we've come. There's never been anything quite like GTA IV in the world. That there makes me genuinely happy to be a gamer.