Grand Theft Auto IV PC

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2320 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. w00t
    Jan 6, 2010
    8
    This is game really good if you have an AWSOME COMPUTER and that may cost a bit but i can run it great but my comp is really good Intel i5 2.7ghz GTX 260 4gb ddr3. Everything is good except that when you have an sportscar the car you have comes up everywhere but when you change car you just cant find more when you change car idk if thats an bug or something but its bad... And i have a This is game really good if you have an AWSOME COMPUTER and that may cost a bit but i can run it great but my comp is really good Intel i5 2.7ghz GTX 260 4gb ddr3. Everything is good except that when you have an sportscar the car you have comes up everywhere but when you change car you just cant find more when you change car idk if thats an bug or something but its bad... And i have a really weird bug cant higher my shadows in graphics or view distance anyone know why? Expand
  2. EyjoK.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Best game ever! Clueless punks giving this game a 0 when they should jsut play it on console then. For real PC gamers that understand the hardware and know how to configure their systems this game is a 10 all the way. I have been playing it since it came out and i will probably still be playing it after 3 years or so when GTA 5 comes out. The DLC pack even finally came out for PC so i Best game ever! Clueless punks giving this game a 0 when they should jsut play it on console then. For real PC gamers that understand the hardware and know how to configure their systems this game is a 10 all the way. I have been playing it since it came out and i will probably still be playing it after 3 years or so when GTA 5 comes out. The DLC pack even finally came out for PC so i hopefully will be experianceing Liberty City again. This game is a technological marvel on all accounts so OFCOURSE you will need a PC capable of running it. This is not the same game as on the consoles! The PC version looks MUCH better even on low settings( i play all high with everything MAXED OUT at HD resolutions) and the CPU power needed is immense. At least a quad is required as this game is higly multithreaded and a decent GPU (video memory is important). My only complain is the lack of Multi-GPU scaling but maybe with a better cpu the scaling would be better. Maybe a x64 bit version of the game could help boost things but perhaps it would just double the memory requirement. Anyways thank you ROCKSTAR for bringing GTA4 to the PC and doing it so that its much much better then the console version. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    I have to admit this game received mixed reviews. This games still deserves credit though. Its something new. First, I would start with its negative review. So many glitches. It sucked. It lacks a lot from its previous successors.Now, the positive reviews. The game's great. Great graphics, storyline, mechanics and creativity and new features.
  4. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    This game have some optimization problems and you may need a decent system. All performance issues at the side the game is actually very well written. Filled with character and a dark vibe the story is very well made. Gameplay can be a bit clunky but overall it's immersive and you never feel alone in this lively city.
  5. May 15, 2016
    10
    Before i will write review
    To all GTA IV haters
    GTA IV is played by adult players
    GTA V is played by kids and casuals
    Storyline is great
    Main characters are interesting
    Physics is very good
    And whole game is much longer than GTA V
  6. May 13, 2015
    8
    For using DRM's the game gets (-1) from me right away. I've read some negative reviews, and it seems people agree that the game is repetitive in terms of missions. Well, the gameplay of Doom is repetitive too - you just shoot stuff. What is different about GTA is the story. And the story (overall plot and the sub-plot of the separate missions) is very involving. I enjoyed the game forFor using DRM's the game gets (-1) from me right away. I've read some negative reviews, and it seems people agree that the game is repetitive in terms of missions. Well, the gameplay of Doom is repetitive too - you just shoot stuff. What is different about GTA is the story. And the story (overall plot and the sub-plot of the separate missions) is very involving. I enjoyed the game for its gameplay, but more so for its story. Very well done. Windows Live and Rockstar Social Club -both thumbs down! Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2015
    9
    Grand Theft Auto is one of the best game i ever played. Good physics , good story, good open world, yeah, i love this game. This is a must play game, so , take a chance.
  8. Jan 27, 2015
    10
    Definitely a 10, the graphics are beautiful and the single player story is great and deep with great characters. I like it much more than GTA 5 with all the disappearing cars.
  9. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    A history of the rawest of the series, made me doubt in the final game of the dilemma that I believe it. .
  10. Jun 4, 2015
    8
    Poorly optimized game i would give 2/10 for that. Otherwise this game is really good. I like playing as Niko Bellic, the Serbian protagonist. The FPS are same as 800x600 low vs 1980x1080 full hd
  11. Oct 16, 2015
    8
    I like the way Rockstar went with this GTA. I enjoyed the single player missions, the story and characters. In my opinion, the soundtrack is the best one of all GTAs. If you ignore the day one optimization for PC, this game was incredible. My score is 8 out of 10.
  12. Oct 17, 2015
    9
    시작부터 말하자면 일단 그래픽은 꽤나 훌륭합니다. 2008년게임이라는것을 감안하면 충분히 훌륭하죠.
    하지만 락스타 게임즈는 콘솔에서 보여준 최적화를 PC에서 제대로 말아먹고 말았습니다.
    2015년 현재 제 컴퓨터가 GTA5를 풀옵션 30프레임을 무리없이 구동하고 있는데 GTA4 풀옵션 60프레임이 렉이 걸린다는것부터가 완전히 개막장이죠. 하지만 전 그래도 GTA4에 높은 점수를 주고 싶습니다. 일단 스토리가 깊이가 달라졌습니다. 산안드레아스와는 비교할수없을정도로 스토리가 엄청납니다. 제 인생게임 2위인 이유가 바로 이 스토리에 있습니다. 아메리칸 드림을 꿈꾸는 수많은 사람들의 자화상을 게임에 그대로 담았다고 보면 됩니다. 그밖에도 미국에 대한 풍자와 수많은 블랙 코미디를 보니 왜 GTA
    시작부터 말하자면 일단 그래픽은 꽤나 훌륭합니다. 2008년게임이라는것을 감안하면 충분히 훌륭하죠.
    하지만 락스타 게임즈는 콘솔에서 보여준 최적화를 PC에서 제대로 말아먹고 말았습니다.
    2015년 현재 제 컴퓨터가 GTA5를 풀옵션 30프레임을 무리없이 구동하고 있는데 GTA4 풀옵션 60프레임이 렉이 걸린다는것부터가 완전히 개막장이죠. 하지만 전 그래도 GTA4에 높은 점수를 주고 싶습니다.
    일단 스토리가 깊이가 달라졌습니다. 산안드레아스와는 비교할수없을정도로 스토리가 엄청납니다.
    제 인생게임 2위인 이유가 바로 이 스토리에 있습니다. 아메리칸 드림을 꿈꾸는 수많은 사람들의 자화상을 게임에 그대로 담았다고 보면 됩니다. 그밖에도 미국에 대한 풍자와 수많은 블랙 코미디를 보니 왜 GTA 시리즈가 세상에서 가장 유명한 게임 시리즈가 되었는지 알법합니다. 다만 주인공의 일생에 집중을 하다보니 이발 시스템도 사라졌고 의상도 상당히 개성이 없어졌습니다. GTA 시리즈중 가장 자유도가 떨어지는 게임이 나온것이죠. 그래서 이 게임은 의외로 호불호가 갈릴수도 있습니다. 산안드레스에서 엄청난 자유도를 만끽한 유저들은 이 게임을 싫어할수도 있죠. 하지만 게임을 싫어할지라도 한번쯤은 GTA4를 플레이 해보시는걸 추천합니다. 절대 시간낭비는 아닐테니까요.
    Expand
  13. May 14, 2016
    9
    Спустя пару месяцев, GTA 4 появляется и на персональных компьютерах. Её портировали очень быстро по сравнению с другими играми серии GTA. И это как раз-таки повлияло на системные требования. В то время, чтобы играть на максимальных требованиях, нужен был приличный компьютер за приличные деньги. В основном, проблемы с частотой кадров и нагрузкой на системы были связаны с качествомСпустя пару месяцев, GTA 4 появляется и на персональных компьютерах. Её портировали очень быстро по сравнению с другими играми серии GTA. И это как раз-таки повлияло на системные требования. В то время, чтобы играть на максимальных требованиях, нужен был приличный компьютер за приличные деньги. В основном, проблемы с частотой кадров и нагрузкой на системы были связаны с качеством динамических теней. Очень большая разница между низким и высоким качеством. 9/10 из-за оптимизации, а так очередной шедевр от Rockstar! Expand
  14. Jul 5, 2016
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV was one of the most interesting games I have ever played. First of all, it's worth mentioning the plot. It's about a Serbian guy who went to the US, waiting for so-called American dream. Of course, things are different. He will live very badly, he will be a bandit. What regards gameplay, it was an innovative game in GTA franchise. Rockstar Games upgraded graphics, theGrand Theft Auto IV was one of the most interesting games I have ever played. First of all, it's worth mentioning the plot. It's about a Serbian guy who went to the US, waiting for so-called American dream. Of course, things are different. He will live very badly, he will be a bandit. What regards gameplay, it was an innovative game in GTA franchise. Rockstar Games upgraded graphics, the screenwriters created a fascinating screenplay. In a nutshell, this game is unforgettable. The only thing why my score is 9 out of 10 is that the game has some technical issues. Expand
  15. Jul 6, 2016
    10
    Simply my all time favourite and Best GTA ever. The story is great and involving, characters so deep, probably the best Rockstar created so far. Atmosphere so grim and depressive sometimes. The driving mechanics are so good, to realistic maybe, almost like first Mafia game. This game literally do everything better than GTA V. Don't be fooled by the low score here, its mostly due to someSimply my all time favourite and Best GTA ever. The story is great and involving, characters so deep, probably the best Rockstar created so far. Atmosphere so grim and depressive sometimes. The driving mechanics are so good, to realistic maybe, almost like first Mafia game. This game literally do everything better than GTA V. Don't be fooled by the low score here, its mostly due to some technical problems back then, now with modern PC game works neat. And it's like everyone says, GTA V is for kiddies while GTA4 is mostly appreciated by mature players. Expand
  16. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    I bought this game for 8 Euro on Steam and it was worth it. Many people here say they have FPS drops, bugs, etc... But I didn't have any of these problems. The game is fun and for me the story is somehow exiting and if you have already done the singleplayer, go on multiplayer. Bored with multiplayer? Get a trailer get some friends and do **** No internet? Go on singleplayer and do ****I bought this game for 8 Euro on Steam and it was worth it. Many people here say they have FPS drops, bugs, etc... But I didn't have any of these problems. The game is fun and for me the story is somehow exiting and if you have already done the singleplayer, go on multiplayer. Bored with multiplayer? Get a trailer get some friends and do **** No internet? Go on singleplayer and do **** I've played this game for 187 hours. Expand
  17. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    Terribly optimized for a pc to the point of being broken. Even to this day it fails to run on many hardware config's at a playable framerate. If you want to play this game, make sure you are running a quad core cpu with a high clock rate and a single - powerful gpu. Crossfire produces negative scaling, Sli is buggy, and a duel core cpu will produce a scattershot fps. The plus side to allTerribly optimized for a pc to the point of being broken. Even to this day it fails to run on many hardware config's at a playable framerate. If you want to play this game, make sure you are running a quad core cpu with a high clock rate and a single - powerful gpu. Crossfire produces negative scaling, Sli is buggy, and a duel core cpu will produce a scattershot fps. The plus side to all of this mess is that it's far better looking on the stray computer than does meet all these requirements. The game itself fantastic, with an involving (albeit well tread) story, with great action, and a weighty physics system. If this game runs well on your system - 10/10. If it runs poorly. 0/10. Expand
  18. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    Overall, Really good Game. Ive owned this game for several years now, but only just recently got a new computer with Radeon HD 7770, and I'm finally able to play this game it was meant to be played. The other reviewers are right, the game is tough to play when its slow and choppy, and requires a high end videocard. The social aspect of the game is a toss-up. I like that I can callOverall, Really good Game. Ive owned this game for several years now, but only just recently got a new computer with Radeon HD 7770, and I'm finally able to play this game it was meant to be played. The other reviewers are right, the game is tough to play when its slow and choppy, and requires a high end videocard. The social aspect of the game is a toss-up. I like that I can call characters to accelerate through a particular person's quests/storyline, but I absolutely hate how all these new social things like playing pool (yes, u have to actually play virtual pool), or go bowling (yes that too), so forth... its no fun. This is GTA!!! compared to San Andreas or the previous ones, I would have liked less social missions, where the objective is solely to spend time with the person, and more ACTION ... more stealing cars, spectacular shootouts, what about recruiting followers/gang members??? What happened to all that? Expand
  19. Jun 26, 2012
    8
    I am not a pro gamer. After beating borderlands I got this game in an offer in Steam to play with. I have already played the other versions of GTA namely, GTA 2, 3, Vicecity, and san Andreas. One thing that is critically acclaimed to be unique is the cover system, car driving mechanics and AI. Cover system: None of the other GTA provides this. It is really amazing to use cover and die notI am not a pro gamer. After beating borderlands I got this game in an offer in Steam to play with. I have already played the other versions of GTA namely, GTA 2, 3, Vicecity, and san Andreas. One thing that is critically acclaimed to be unique is the cover system, car driving mechanics and AI. Cover system: None of the other GTA provides this. It is really amazing to use cover and die not often. This game gives a lot of scope to creativity unlike other versions. You can try multiple ways to complete a mission, although we will be driven according to the scope of the mission. Car mechanics: This is really cool. Not all the cars burns into ashes when damaged completely. No two cars are same, for instance driving a Hummer is completely different and stable than driving a coupe. The damage sensitivity is also perfectly matched with the car type. However, I have seen few glitches in the missions where the enemies could smash and throw a hummer up in the air. AI: You can't stay and shoot from one place anymore. Enemies come striking at you bombarding like a multiplayer human opponent. I have just beaten the game. I haven't experienced Multiplayer yet. I have seen Social Club not logging in often. Expand
  20. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Awsome game,very nice gameplay modes such as fake internet in the game,hot dog stands,online dating,underground illegal weapon shops,computer in cop car,taxi rides and much more,graphics is nice,has a huge story with different endings,really enjoyed playing this game
  21. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Graphism : 18/20 (Strolling through a beautiful New York is cool !)
    Sounds : 19/20 (Lots of good music as usual, just -1 for the sound of cars not top)
    History : 20/20 (Just huge, with a main frame has multiple choice)
    Gamplay : 18/20 (He lost some fun, but he won at realism !)
    Lifespan : 20/20 (Illimité. .. it's GTA ...)

    Final Score: 19/20 One of the best games of all time !
  22. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    4+/5 (Very Good) I suggest you buy the game and play it. Now. But be warned though, if you play the PC version, the graphics are sometimes buggy and really break the immersion you might have build up while playing. Oh and apparently the game is rough on the hardware reqs. Yeah, it is.

    Buy it. (for X360 if you can, if not the PC version does the job really well)
  23. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    The GTA series are the only open-world games where I've been content just goofing off around the city, and GTA IV specifically has had more replay value for me than any other game I've owned. Years after the initial release, this is still the game I go back to when I'm bored with everything else.
  24. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    After upgrading my computer to 2012 standards, I can finally enjoy the game at it's highest detail. With mods like iCEnhancer , it looks totally amazing, almost real-life visuals! On top of that, good old GTA gameplay and amazing voice acting and euphoria physics are just too much fun to play with!
    Too bad we had to wait 3 years to finally properly run this.
  25. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I don't how they manage to make a game so fun like this one. Even if you end the story the game never ends. The effects and design of this game it's not at 100% mostly because of some vehicles that are not 100% functional like they used to be on GTASA, but that's mostly because it's a new engine. Maybe on the future, with GTAV we will be able to see this game working at 100%, and believeI don't how they manage to make a game so fun like this one. Even if you end the story the game never ends. The effects and design of this game it's not at 100% mostly because of some vehicles that are not 100% functional like they used to be on GTASA, but that's mostly because it's a new engine. Maybe on the future, with GTAV we will be able to see this game working at 100%, and believe me, i'm going to be there, playing it. Expand
  26. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    The most advanced in the series to date, absolutely amazing game. Though has some optimisation issues and it took several years until the majority of PCs started to run this beast smoothly =)
  27. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    By far the best GTA, just know that you should buy it if you have a SUPERULTRAMEGA-PC.
  28. Wouldn'tyouLiketoknow.
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    4.2... How is that? Is it all the lame "It's a port" rubbish again? This game was, is and forever will be a great game. I love everything about it. From the gameplay to the graphics and physics; everything about this game is as close to perfect one can get.
  29. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Awesome game. Intriguing story, awesome graphics, fun to play. Well, mybe PC port could be better (back when released only ultra-hi-end PC could run it maxed), but now game runs flawlessly for most gamers. Great modding community.
  30. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    First, I'd like to point out you need a good PC to run this game well. Please, do not attempt to run this on your GeForce 5200FX and then complain about how the game crashes. Most minor issues with this PC game can be easily fixed; just search on Google and I assure you 95% of the time you'll find a fix. Also, make sure you have the most up-to-date version of the game, as Rockstar hasFirst, I'd like to point out you need a good PC to run this game well. Please, do not attempt to run this on your GeForce 5200FX and then complain about how the game crashes. Most minor issues with this PC game can be easily fixed; just search on Google and I assure you 95% of the time you'll find a fix. Also, make sure you have the most up-to-date version of the game, as Rockstar has fixed plenty of bugs and glitches with their latest 1.0.7.0 patch. It's better to light a candle than to curse the darkness.

    As for the game itself, it's incredible. Best storyline in the GTA series, gorgeous graphics, very likeable and memorable characters, great gameplay, fun multiplayer modes, and an incredibly well-desinged city. Not to mention, the PC version of Grand Theft Auto IV has some exclusive features which the consoles do not have. Such as the in-game video editor, which is amazing. It allows to take clips you've captured during gameplay and edit them. You can create a simple stunt video or an incredible machinima with it. It's a wonderful tool. Overall, I think quite a few people fail to realize just how 'big' Grand Theft Auto IV really is. I mean, there's literally thousands of recorded dialogue clips in this game just for the pedestrians. There's a ton of hilarious and well written radio station, TV, and in-game internet content. Hundreds of unique character models, props, animations, and vehicles. So, if you do have a good PC I think you should definitely give this game a try.
    Expand
  31. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    good game, even on pc i still find it very enjoyable compared to console, the only problem i have is with crossfire support, the game wont allow you to use dual graphics cards and thus making me change it back to use of one graphics card everytime i want to play it.
  32. CableGuyS
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    One of the best games of the year, if you can't install it on your computer somthing is seriousy failing on it. I hvae a 3Ghz Duo Core, 8600GT, 3GB of RAM, and it works PERFECTLY fine. So to all the people that give this game a bad score, stop having a winge because you can't even install it on your fail-computer, and stop saying the c ritics were 'paid' to give it aOne of the best games of the year, if you can't install it on your computer somthing is seriousy failing on it. I hvae a 3Ghz Duo Core, 8600GT, 3GB of RAM, and it works PERFECTLY fine. So to all the people that give this game a bad score, stop having a winge because you can't even install it on your fail-computer, and stop saying the c ritics were 'paid' to give it a good review, they obviously know how to build a computer properly. Expand
  33. May 13, 2012
    10
    Best video game franchise in history. I cannot name any flaw, complaint, and frustration like in some of my other reviews. I just hope GTA V will be out this year.
  34. MarcSigglekow
    Feb 10, 2009
    9
    I like the game the gameplay is realy nice and it makes lot of fun Its a nice map , nice and dinamic story / world and the multiplayer is fuckng nice too
    I know there are lot ofs proplem with instaling the gam and and and.... but thats has nothing to do with the gameplay so 9 points - and I didnt had any proplems with the installing and I didnt get One error message
  35. apox
    Feb 10, 2009
    8
    I feel I have to defend against some of the negative views here - I'll try to present a more balanced review. In short, GTAIV, if you get it running, is a fantastic game, and I would rate it 9/10+ if it were not for the technical issues. The city is amazing, the cars handle brilliantly, the story is interesting, the characters are entertaining and the humorous dialogue regularly has I feel I have to defend against some of the negative views here - I'll try to present a more balanced review. In short, GTAIV, if you get it running, is a fantastic game, and I would rate it 9/10+ if it were not for the technical issues. The city is amazing, the cars handle brilliantly, the story is interesting, the characters are entertaining and the humorous dialogue regularly has me laughing out loud. There are bugs, but nothing close to game breaking for me. The bad: Fortunately I upgraded not long after getting this, but my old PC (1.86GHz Core 2) would not run it in any playable way. My new comp (3GHz core 2, HD 4870) runs it at 1680x1050 without any problems. So basically, unless you are well above the min specs, or are planning to upgrade, it's probably not worth getting just now. To me the worst thing is having to sign in to windows live (horrible system, doesn't always connect - and why should i have to always be onl) and rockstar social club to play. It is a rubbish system and I hope sales are hurt by it and rockstar seriously revamp things for their next release. So there you are, I'm sure it could have been many times better than it is had more time/resources been spent on the port than on the copy protection, but if you can get it running, it's a great game. Expand
  36. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    The GTA 4 is a worthy part of the Grand Theft Auto franchise. It's rather similar to Vice City than San Andreas which can make people disappointed but in my opinion it's a perfect game. Great graphics, enjoyable gameplay and a good multiplayer are contained. The system requirements are not as high as they say, they are acceptable.
  37. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I'm not rating this game down because it's a poorly optimized game for PC, because I have a computer that can run it fine. In GTA IV, graphics are obviously the peak. For me, San Andreas was a better game because of more to do, not because of the graphics. In my opinion, GTA IV: 9/10, GTA SA: 10/10.
  38. OabAli
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    GTA IV is one of the best games of all time! Despite all the technical issues on PC, you cannot help believe the fact that its a great experience. The free-aim with the mouse, ability to play your own music, better graphics and numerous other advantages makes the PC version superior to console. Eat your heart out 360 and PS3!
  39. 3kliksphilip
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    OH NO THIS GAME DOESN'T RUN ON MY 4 YEAR OLD LAPTOP! 0 STARS because micro$ucks is gay and hates us all the the illuminatii will take over the world if you bye this game also I think that the world will end in 2012 and also Deus Ex IW was a good game. So 0 stars for this one.
  40. DaveM
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. Worked well for me with a slightly under par CPU AMD64 4400 which was my 20-25 ish FPS bottleneck (9800 GTX+ graphics). Only had an occassional lock up (always within the scripted sequences and never whilst driving etc). Registering Games for Windows and Rockstar Club - a relatively minor inconvenience. I have since re-installed upon a higher specOne of the best games I have ever played. Worked well for me with a slightly under par CPU AMD64 4400 which was my 20-25 ish FPS bottleneck (9800 GTX+ graphics). Only had an occassional lock up (always within the scripted sequences and never whilst driving etc). Registering Games for Windows and Rockstar Club - a relatively minor inconvenience. I have since re-installed upon a higher spec machine I7 920 CPU with 295GTX card and so far not a single problem and over 60FPS. Expand
  41. Alex.
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    I don't know why a lot of people had problems with it. It works just fine on my Hp. And on top of that, I love the game. It's one of the more mature GTA games, and I really like how Rockstar played this one out. One of my favorite games.
  42. Russiangangsta
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    I say the game Grand theft auto IV is a great game, based on my theory, and interpretation. The individual, which is playing gets to experience a lot ideas, missions, actual, places on earth. Basically my vote was fair for the game. The game is especially good for multiplayer. The game is hysterically fun.
  43. MT
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    This game requires a very powerful computer to run it at high graphic settings. If you have the sufficient computing power, then this game is a blast! It has a much more realistic feel to it compared to the previous GTA games. I have experienced no significant bugs or problems with the game. It's been a lot of fun playing from beginning to end. KEEP IN MIND: Most of the people This game requires a very powerful computer to run it at high graphic settings. If you have the sufficient computing power, then this game is a blast! It has a much more realistic feel to it compared to the previous GTA games. I have experienced no significant bugs or problems with the game. It's been a lot of fun playing from beginning to end. KEEP IN MIND: Most of the people complaining and giving low ratings here seem to be suffering performance issues with the game. The gameplay itself is fun if you can get it running the way you want. You need a strong PC. Expand
  44. MartinZ.
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    I like it how the most users here whine about the shitty performance on their pcs. Well yes, the game requires a very powerful pc to run it smooth, yes, the game requires windows live ( which sucks, but you can make a offline profile to save your game), yes the game requires the shitty social club for multiplayer (which i dont play, so i turned it off), yes it comes with the motherfucking I like it how the most users here whine about the shitty performance on their pcs. Well yes, the game requires a very powerful pc to run it smooth, yes, the game requires windows live ( which sucks, but you can make a offline profile to save your game), yes the game requires the shitty social club for multiplayer (which i dont play, so i turned it off), yes it comes with the motherfucking secure rom. BUT the game itself is addictive and beautiful. I can play it on my i7 920@2.67GHz and my gtx260 and 6gig of ram on all very high settings without a single crash and with decent fps. I played the game many days for now and not one bug occured to me. Besides of the damned programs you need to play it its a very very good game. I didnt enjoyed most of the gangster movies that i watched in my entire live that much than this game. And no, I am not a fanboy, I work hard for my money, and no, you dont need 5000 bucks to play this game, i payed 1000;) Surely a lot of the low rating user out there cant afford a new or at least a good pc;) And why i gave 9 instead of 10? Coz of the missing AA in the game which make look the shadows and a lot of the texture a little bit outdated. Expand
  45. TimothyL
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    This is without a doubt one of the best single player games of all time, and it is even more of a certainty that it features one of the ultimate video game story-lines. The plot is so engaging, the characters instantly likeable, and the cutscenes are anything but boring. Controls are not mastered instantly, but are gratifyingly responsive and comfortable from the beginning. Some have This is without a doubt one of the best single player games of all time, and it is even more of a certainty that it features one of the ultimate video game story-lines. The plot is so engaging, the characters instantly likeable, and the cutscenes are anything but boring. Controls are not mastered instantly, but are gratifyingly responsive and comfortable from the beginning. Some have mourned the loss of the arcade feel of previous games in the series, but this is stupid; yes, it was a proven formula, but the jaded realism of Rockstar's youngest child makes for a sensationally fun game. You can't have honestly played this game and not have marvelled and spent hours pushing the limits of the ridiculous physics of the game world. The graphics deserve a whole passage to themselves in my opinion: I have played Crysis, but these graphics are on a totally different scale. The incredible attention to detail, accompanied by an original visual style, especially in the facial rendering, combine to make an experience that is simply irresistible. I have an 8800GT, 4GB RAM and an e6400 o/c to 3.2Ghz, and it runs on medium-high graphical settings with no lag or other problems. If you don't have a powerful enough P.C, as I did for a long time, don't be quick to down this game. Seriously, save for an upgrade as this game is worth it. Rockstar admittedly however made a terrible decision to integrate with Windows Live, and the unavoidable Social Club. Hopefully in time these services will improve or be phased out because at the moment they are a pointless obstacle, detracting from what is otherwise a masterpiece. Expand
  46. Epzo
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    Ok fools check this out...it is cheaper to buy an Xbox 360 elite and this game rather then spend over a thousand dollars on a computer that can keep up with the graphics. having said that this game rocks and pc users should just suck it up and get an xbox to play this game at an optimal level.
  47. RobertD.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible and has far surpassed my expectations. The sheer quantity of what's on offer is only surpassed by the quality with which it is pulled off. There have been only improvements made since the console versions so why is it getting such a low average compared to those versions. Reviewers should review the pc version as stand alone and the fact it's already been This game is incredible and has far surpassed my expectations. The sheer quantity of what's on offer is only surpassed by the quality with which it is pulled off. There have been only improvements made since the console versions so why is it getting such a low average compared to those versions. Reviewers should review the pc version as stand alone and the fact it's already been seen on consoles should not have any impact on their rating. Pull your socks up reviewers, it's only gotten better since the April releases and they pulled in averages of 98%! Expand
  48. cappie2000
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    One of the most anticipated games of 2008; the controls are perfect, the sound and graphics are stunning!.. the storyline is the best I've ever seen in a game so far, and its my favorite genre: free roaming, mission driven gameplay.. This game has everything I want from a game, therefor, it gets a perfect 10 from me!
  49. MarkS.
    Dec 5, 2008
    9
    I've just started playing this game, but I've seen my son play the PS3 version and is the reason I picked this up. In my first hour of play I was sucked into the world that I actually considered taking the day off from work, just so I could play some more. There are some minor quibbles I have mostly due to this being a console port, but the game is fun and the control not too I've just started playing this game, but I've seen my son play the PS3 version and is the reason I picked this up. In my first hour of play I was sucked into the world that I actually considered taking the day off from work, just so I could play some more. There are some minor quibbles I have mostly due to this being a console port, but the game is fun and the control not too bad. I wouldn't have posted this review so soon, but I had to get this out. The user review system on Metacritic is broken! How can a game that came out only 3 days ago, have such a low user rating? It's because some weasel is "stuffing the ballot box" You shouldn't be able to rate a game unless you write a review, with a minimum word count. It might distract the boneheads who either inflate or deflate the user score. Expand
  50. HugoC.
    Dec 5, 2008
    9
    Great game, great graphics, best pc game of the year. For those how rated this game with lower scores, because they can't run this game on highst settings, please read the technical support from rockstar website. This masterpiece was made to be playable with more great graphics in the future. Now with the medium settings you can enjoy a better quality than the consoles version. This Great game, great graphics, best pc game of the year. For those how rated this game with lower scores, because they can't run this game on highst settings, please read the technical support from rockstar website. This masterpiece was made to be playable with more great graphics in the future. Now with the medium settings you can enjoy a better quality than the consoles version. This is a real good game. Expand
  51. RyanC.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    Despite its numerous bugs and the fact MOST STEAM versions are corupted the game is amazing. GET it on DVD and install it that way. Bugs are getting errored out of the game but the detail and interaction with in the city is amazing. I would give it a 9 for all the bugs but The fact it takes AI to such an amazing level its just aw striking. follow a person around the citty listen to them Despite its numerous bugs and the fact MOST STEAM versions are corupted the game is amazing. GET it on DVD and install it that way. Bugs are getting errored out of the game but the detail and interaction with in the city is amazing. I would give it a 9 for all the bugs but The fact it takes AI to such an amazing level its just aw striking. follow a person around the citty listen to them talk to other ppl shoot even follow them into a cab by holding DOWN USE KEY its great fun once u get passed all the bugs and the HORIBLE MEMORY leak. Expand
  52. SamW.
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    I don't know what the hell is wrong with these people. Are they really so shallow that they let something as minor as having to turn down your graphics settings overshadow the unbelievable game in question? Yes, the graphics were poorly optimized, and no, I don't care. This game is simply too engrossing, too well-written, and too masterful for me to notice.
  53. Joel
    Dec 13, 2008
    9
    this game is awesome, the story is great and your always interested of what is going on and cut scene are not a paint to watch. The computer as a video editor which is awesome 10x better than the halo video play back. the only bad thing i can say is that, some times the AI isn't that good but other then that it is a must buy.
  54. MattT
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    This is a great game. I dunno what all the problems were that people were having with the copy protection or Rockstar Social Club, but I didn't hit any major hurdles getting this game up and running. It installed fine on my up-to-date install of Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit. Took a minute to make my account for Rockstar and Games for Windows, but the game started up fine and ran This is a great game. I dunno what all the problems were that people were having with the copy protection or Rockstar Social Club, but I didn't hit any major hurdles getting this game up and running. It installed fine on my up-to-date install of Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit. Took a minute to make my account for Rockstar and Games for Windows, but the game started up fine and ran fine. Sure, I do have a good video card and the game isn't running at full-detail, but it's a very resource-hungry game. Think about it, the engine renders a LOT at once running around in the city. Multiplayer works great and I've been having a blast playing Mafiya Work. The only thing that is ruining the game is people cheating in multiplayer, but hopefully that'll get sorted out. Expand
  55. MikeN.
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    With Core2 Duo (3 Ghz Wolfdale), 2 gb and Geforce 8500 the game is generally playable, though the framerate can drop to a stutter once in a while. There also appears to be a memory leak that requires a reboot every so often. The two background processes are annoying. Other than that, it is standard GTA fare, with superb cutscenes, lots and lots of interesting characters and a superbly With Core2 Duo (3 Ghz Wolfdale), 2 gb and Geforce 8500 the game is generally playable, though the framerate can drop to a stutter once in a while. There also appears to be a memory leak that requires a reboot every so often. The two background processes are annoying. Other than that, it is standard GTA fare, with superb cutscenes, lots and lots of interesting characters and a superbly designed model of New York City. The missions are solid, if somewhat unoriginal. We've seen this game before, but it still offers far more gameplay and story than anything else you can buy. Expand
  56. DavidP.
    Feb 15, 2009
    8
    Whats with all the 0? I had very few problems with the game and it runs fine and smooth.But....windows live and rockstar social club is annoying.First it takes about 5 mins to load up the game so by then im on Counter Strike or sumthing and the "play"menu pops up and freezes my computer.Another thing is the cops.There AI is so dumb it will be like fighting a piece of paper.Installing was Whats with all the 0? I had very few problems with the game and it runs fine and smooth.But....windows live and rockstar social club is annoying.First it takes about 5 mins to load up the game so by then im on Counter Strike or sumthing and the "play"menu pops up and freezes my computer.Another thing is the cops.There AI is so dumb it will be like fighting a piece of paper.Installing was a pain.It took about 5 hours to complete.After i got all that out of the way i was happy with gta 4 and i recemend this to anyone! Expand
  57. TomB.
    Feb 21, 2009
    9
    This is a brilliant game. How can you winge and winge about it's technical issues? Get the console version if it just don't work on ur pc. Yes the technical requirements are criminal but u should always be prepared for trouble if your pc only just scrapes them. A decent graphics card and a fairly clean hard drive should make the game play fine for a whle. Mine occaisionally This is a brilliant game. How can you winge and winge about it's technical issues? Get the console version if it just don't work on ur pc. Yes the technical requirements are criminal but u should always be prepared for trouble if your pc only just scrapes them. A decent graphics card and a fairly clean hard drive should make the game play fine for a whle. Mine occaisionally crashes and comes up with a message saying "Fatal error please re-install" but i just ignore it and load it again and it's fine. This game has a fantastic story and recently been on offer on steam. A tenner i got it for . Bonus. Good luck to those who can't get it to work. Maybe a console version would be more desirable. Expand
  58. DanielD.
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    The best Game I ever seen for PC Don't mind with the other people that says that is crap or something, if you have a powerful PC with a good VGA you will be amazed with the game! PS: GTA IV uses much CPU Power because it uses the Euphoria engine that uses more CPU power to physics.
  59. CH
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    This game probably has one of the largest criticsusers score difference. Completely undeserved. Alright, maybe not completely but it definitely doesn't deserve 4.2 user score i can assure you. Only reason for that is game's instability on SOME systems. I've played it for a month and it only crushed maybe 2-3 times. I have Core 2 Quad 2,4 Ghz, Nvidia 9800 gtx, 3 gb Ram, Xp This game probably has one of the largest criticsusers score difference. Completely undeserved. Alright, maybe not completely but it definitely doesn't deserve 4.2 user score i can assure you. Only reason for that is game's instability on SOME systems. I've played it for a month and it only crushed maybe 2-3 times. I have Core 2 Quad 2,4 Ghz, Nvidia 9800 gtx, 3 gb Ram, Xp sp2 (changed in registry to sp3 because the game MUST have sp3 lol) and the game is running smoothly on everything MAX except AA (off). I have all the latest drivers and patches. It's one of the best games I've ever played both graphicsaudiostoryhumoreverything is top quality. Just 3 advices before you decide to buy: 1. The game takes really long time to install so be prepared. Have minesweepertetrissolitaire in background :) 2. Even after install it requires some ridiculously complex things to install alongside with the game before it will start. When you buy it may still be wise to scout the net for "alternate" ways to start it :) 3. As others have mentioned, the game requires quite a machine to run smoothly. If you don't have it, don't buy the game. Wait for a couple more years and then try it, You wont regret it, believe me. Expand
  60. LourensD.
    Feb 28, 2009
    9
    This game can easily score a 10/10 - all Rockstar had to do was polish the game a bit and not remove critical things from the game like Ambulance etc etc missions. Other than that the game is insane fun and comes highly recommended from my side. Multiplayer is also a blast with friends and a hit at LAN parties. It runs quite smooth on my 2.5Ghz Q9300 PC. Now we just need to wait for R* to This game can easily score a 10/10 - all Rockstar had to do was polish the game a bit and not remove critical things from the game like Ambulance etc etc missions. Other than that the game is insane fun and comes highly recommended from my side. Multiplayer is also a blast with friends and a hit at LAN parties. It runs quite smooth on my 2.5Ghz Q9300 PC. Now we just need to wait for R* to patch the game up a bit to remove the minor glitches and to allow weaker/older PCs to play the game as well. Expand
  61. BenJ
    Mar 16, 2009
    8
    Great game, apart from the lock up problems and the archaic use of DVD copy protections (having to leave the dvd in the drive is the most annoying concept ever invented). Looks great, plays great, great story. I do understand the criticisms though, the cars are a bit boaty... bit more realism in handling would be nice. However, the frame rates are fine on my 280 in 1920x1200, so I Great game, apart from the lock up problems and the archaic use of DVD copy protections (having to leave the dvd in the drive is the most annoying concept ever invented). Looks great, plays great, great story. I do understand the criticisms though, the cars are a bit boaty... bit more realism in handling would be nice. However, the frame rates are fine on my 280 in 1920x1200, so I don't know what Joel is on about. Expand
  62. CD
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    I really don't understand why so many people hate the PC version of GTAIV. I still have an 8800 GT (which is obsolete) and I can still run the game on graphics high enough that the game doesn't look terrible. I bought the game off Steam, so I can install the game as many times as I need to. The only things that bug me are how some of the achievements require a lot of thinking to I really don't understand why so many people hate the PC version of GTAIV. I still have an 8800 GT (which is obsolete) and I can still run the game on graphics high enough that the game doesn't look terrible. I bought the game off Steam, so I can install the game as many times as I need to. The only things that bug me are how some of the achievements require a lot of thinking to get (like One Man Army), and how the Social Club maximizes every time I play another game and won't open up if I accidentally hit the close button instead of the minimize button. Expand
  63. EnglishDan
    May 25, 2009
    10
    I don't see why people hate this game, good graphics, and I can even play it on my laptop which has a GeForce 9200M chip in it and it plays fine, i also have this on PS3 and i think the PC version is better. The only problem i have is that on my PC which has a GTX 260, GTA wont let me turn the graphics up any further, and i think my PC could handle a lot better graphics, but apart I don't see why people hate this game, good graphics, and I can even play it on my laptop which has a GeForce 9200M chip in it and it plays fine, i also have this on PS3 and i think the PC version is better. The only problem i have is that on my PC which has a GTX 260, GTA wont let me turn the graphics up any further, and i think my PC could handle a lot better graphics, but apart from that, no problems at all. Expand
  64. JackP
    Jun 21, 2009
    9
    INSTILLATION AND PERFORMANCE Yesterday I purchased GTAlV off steam. I let it download over night and when I woke up it was done (aprox 15hrs 320kb/s). It did not take long to sign up for windows live and rockstar social club. I went into the game and started to play. I found there was quite a bit of stuttering on the default setting. I turned them down a bit and now I am getting about 25- INSTILLATION AND PERFORMANCE Yesterday I purchased GTAlV off steam. I let it download over night and when I woke up it was done (aprox 15hrs 320kb/s). It did not take long to sign up for windows live and rockstar social club. I went into the game and started to play. I found there was quite a bit of stuttering on the default setting. I turned them down a bit and now I am getting about 25- 45 fps (36 Average), although on my system it starts to stutter a bit at night. AUDIO: The audio is amazing in this game. Voice over and character acting is up to par with some of the great action movies of all time. The vehicles sound very realistic and civillian comments are always funny! The honking sounds have been reworked and the sirens are very realistic. GRAPHICS: The graphics are good but I think this is the area where it loses one point. The lines look very jagged on my system and I do not think there is a way to turn Anti-Aliasing on. Also when I look at the graphics I think my computer should be handling the game better (more fps) but I can see that rockstar did no maximize the performance of the game. GAMEPLAY: AH yes! The best GTA gameplay to date. You can hail a cab, go bowling, take a subway train across the city, go to stand up comedy performances, watch TV, and a whole lot more! Also a new cover system has been implemented, which works but not as well as Gears of War I would say. I STRONGLY recommend you to buy this game if you have a decent computer! SPECS: 3GB DDR2 800 RAM ASUS 9800GT 512mb Intel Core 2 duo 2.33ghz x2. Expand
  65. ShawnJ
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Here's a non biased review of the PC version, and what you will need hardware wise to enjoy it. If you have the cash for a solid high end PC this game "WILL" run fine and it's highly enjoyable! The main reason you will require powerful PC is all down to the game engine been written/coded for the Xbox360's three Core CPU, which ticks along at 3.2GHz. So if your PC has a Here's a non biased review of the PC version, and what you will need hardware wise to enjoy it. If you have the cash for a solid high end PC this game "WILL" run fine and it's highly enjoyable! The main reason you will require powerful PC is all down to the game engine been written/coded for the Xbox360's three Core CPU, which ticks along at 3.2GHz. So if your PC has a slower CPU clock speed and less total Core numbers than a XBOX360; then I'm sorry to say don't even think about buying this game! After testing the game on various PC's it's of my opinion the' minimum real world' PC specification for a good quality GTAIV gaming experience is as follows: Q9550 (Or AMD Equivalent) 4GB DDRII NVidia GTX 260 or 280 (Or ATi Equivalent) Creative ZS2 Soundcard Quality Hard Drive with 85MB+ Read/Write Speeds With the above spec there should no reason for the game not to run smooth, unless your Windows Install is a total mess or the Software Drivers and massively out of date - neither will help matters. I should add, the game runs best via Vista64 or Windows7 64, unfortunately 32 bit versions and XP tend to cause a slight dip in FPS, I know this sounds crazy but its true... The game itself; I won't go into what to expect as most reviews cover that extensively, so will concentrate on what's improved or not over Console versions. Well as people have mentioned, you do have to put up with the clunky 'Games For Windows Live' & 'Rockstar Social Club' to enjoy this game, but if you have the PC power then it's well worth it as the game will look miles better than any Console version, and in my opinion is one the best games around for PC. The ragdoll physics are superb; shooting/blowing/smashing things up can't be topped and so unpredictable , physics really are still some of the best around! PC version has far more traffic and people, so the feeling of a populated City is much improved over Console version. If you have a GFX card with 1GB memory GTAIV is going to look very nice indeed on High/Highest GFX settings when compared to the Console versions, run the two versions side by side and the difference is immense! Mouse Controls make life so much easier for targeting and general movement, however should you be a diehard Console control fan; then buy a Official XBOX360 PC compatible Wired/Wireless control which works a treat. Online is the only area for me where the PC version falls down, support from Rockstar has been poor so far almost year on from release; by this I mean the online anti hacker support, the games online mode has been modded/hacked beyond belief so don't expect a cheat free online experience. On the bright side, the modding community is growing month by month so plenty of game customisation is available should you want to get a little extra out of the game. So there you have it, I've been straight up with no biased views and hope this helps people decide if the PC version is worth a try or not. Expand
  66. JakeX
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Awesome game great storyline, dialouge, And much better then Saint's Row 2 By far!
  67. RickR.
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    Bought this on steam holiday sale for
  68. Kevin
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    It's just one of the best GTA games. The storie is the best of all GTA games. The graphics are phantastics and don't overheat my PC. Sometimes there is a bug but if I restart the game it's away and they are only bugs which aren't relevant for the Gameplay. I don't know what the other have but I vive 9 / 10!
  69. JeffL
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    This game has gotten a lot of flak for its terribad optimization, which when the game launched I hear was almost as bad as the word I used to describe it. The complaint was that you need a quad core processor, and it's been more than a year now, so Rockstar has done something to make it work quite well on my computer with a Pentium D 3.4 (OC'd to 3.62). The game is beautiful This game has gotten a lot of flak for its terribad optimization, which when the game launched I hear was almost as bad as the word I used to describe it. The complaint was that you need a quad core processor, and it's been more than a year now, so Rockstar has done something to make it work quite well on my computer with a Pentium D 3.4 (OC'd to 3.62). The game is beautiful even on medium settings and ~20% view distance, the textures fairly shoddy in spots, but not a huge problem because the beauty comes from elsewhere. The focus is on the world itself and its overall feel, the people getting into fights because of a fender bender that has nothing to do with you. Nuts mumbling to themselves or making prophesies that you can listen to or not. They don't care, they've got their own lives. The physics engine is the real star on the technical side, and is so detailed and realistic that combined with the incredibly detailed design of Liberty City itself we have a real world here - a world that competes with the best MMORPG's for immersion. The narrative is fantastic, and the characters are some of the funniest and most vivid I've seen (and I've only played about 10 hours). This you've all heard, though, so I just want to respond to all the scathing reviews made a year ago and say that Rockstar's fixed the game's major problems, and any dual core processor should serve you well. If you picked this up on Steam's holiday sale like me you're lucky, now start playing if you haven't already! Expand
  70. AndersL
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    I'm giving this game a ten, because it needs it. Many people are giving it 0s because they're too stupid to check system requirements before they buy. GTA 4 is a stunning game. Liberty city is probably the most realistic city ever realized. Many people are complaining about the city being too realistic, that really isnt so true. You can turn your phone on snooze, if you dont I'm giving this game a ten, because it needs it. Many people are giving it 0s because they're too stupid to check system requirements before they buy. GTA 4 is a stunning game. Liberty city is probably the most realistic city ever realized. Many people are complaining about the city being too realistic, that really isnt so true. You can turn your phone on snooze, if you dont want any annoying calls and want to just have fun in the city. You can skip any driving by taking a cab (and if you're too stingy you can call Roman.) But overall, the great thing about the city is that its so alive. You can take a break from all of the carjacking for comedy, minigames, anything. The controls aren't that hard once you get used to them, and adds some extra challenge to driving. Overall, GTA 4 is a fantastic game. Expand
  71. PaulG
    May 2, 2010
    9
    Wow, lots of negative reviews mostly based on the technical flaws. I just bought this off Steam for 7.50, installed it, fired it up and was pleased. For PC specs, I have an AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.4Ghz, 4GB of DDR2 1066Mhz, HD 4770 512 DDR5, 1TB WD SATA harddrive, and an AM2+ motherboard. It cost me a bit over $500 to build it, so a fairly high end PC isn't that expensive if you look Wow, lots of negative reviews mostly based on the technical flaws. I just bought this off Steam for 7.50, installed it, fired it up and was pleased. For PC specs, I have an AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.4Ghz, 4GB of DDR2 1066Mhz, HD 4770 512 DDR5, 1TB WD SATA harddrive, and an AM2+ motherboard. It cost me a bit over $500 to build it, so a fairly high end PC isn't that expensive if you look for deals on parts. AND GTA4 runs great on it with Medium textures and with all view distances maxed with 50+ FPS on the benchmark. I'd like to try higher textures, but it wouldn't let me for some reason. I've only played about 3 hours, but it's all I need. It's classic GTA in the vein of 3, VC and SA. The controls are a little different from the earlier games, but that's because they are more realistic. I personally like driving a car with bad brakes and bad suspension as it keeps me on my toes when cornering. Even sprinting is a little tricky because of your own momentum running around corners. It's excellent physics. The landscape is beautiful and the realtime shadows give it the feeling of a living, breathing environment. Standing under a railway while a train is going by and having its shadow go over you was quite impressive. The people on the street are lively and you can even eavesdrop on someone having a conversation on their cell phone. And from little of the story I've seen, it seems like classic GTA goodness. The only qualm I have is to be forced to install Windows Live to save. I also should mention that there was a recent update (13 Apr 2010) that was to fix some performance issues. Expand
  72. magnetmanca
    May 17, 2010
    9
    I like this game a lot. I've played GTAIV for years and I still think it has some playability in it. Most people back in the day probably had slow PC's when this game was first brought out but now cpu's are way better, especially when you have a Phenom to boot. The Graphics kick the crap out of any previous GTA, plus the people are more life-like than in San Andreas. The I like this game a lot. I've played GTAIV for years and I still think it has some playability in it. Most people back in the day probably had slow PC's when this game was first brought out but now cpu's are way better, especially when you have a Phenom to boot. The Graphics kick the crap out of any previous GTA, plus the people are more life-like than in San Andreas. The Car handling IS great more realistic than before, and anyone who says otherwise probably never drove a car before. The only things I'm missing is some of the stuff they took out from San Andreas like flying airplanes, you only have helicopters. If they could make an expantion pack that had a whole new city that you fly to via the airport that would be awesome. (hint hint) Expand
  73. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    So many people give this game a 0/10, and why? I'll analyze the various reasons people are rating it down. SecuROM: This is probably the only one I really agree with since I had problems with it too, but the game doesn't deserve a 0 because of it. As long as you know what you're doing you can use it without the SecuROM giving you any problems.
    Games for Windows LIVE and Rockstar Social
    So many people give this game a 0/10, and why? I'll analyze the various reasons people are rating it down. SecuROM: This is probably the only one I really agree with since I had problems with it too, but the game doesn't deserve a 0 because of it. As long as you know what you're doing you can use it without the SecuROM giving you any problems.
    Games for Windows LIVE and Rockstar Social Club: I really don't see where people are having problems with these. They're usually logged in before my game gets to the menu and that doesn't take too long. They don't really take any performance away and with Games for Windows LIVE you get some achievements to get too.
    Performance: I understand this, but take a look at the requirements before you buy the game. If your PC doesn't meet them, don't get it for PC. I know it's kind of tough on PCs, but it runs pretty smoothly for me on a Sapphire ATI HD 4850, AMD Athlon X2, and 2GB of RAM.
    Gameplay: I guess some people find it boring compared to other Grand Theft Auto games (or just find it boring in general), but if you don't like the game then I guess you'll be more careful before you buy another game in the series then.

    Really though Grand Theft Auto IV is a good game. It has the best graphics for a Grand Theft Auto game so far in the series and if your PC can run it, get it. As usual you can expect to find mods and a custom radio station, but you also get a video editor which is interesting if you want to make your own Grand Theft Auto movies.
    Expand
  74. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    In my opinion it is sad that the game is rated so badly by the reviewers. In my opinion for the PC this game is a masterpiece of programming. I love the graphics, I love the engine, I just love everything of this game. In the beginning I had a huge problem running this game but when I updated it everything was fine, even running it better than Episodes from Liberty City at the sameIn my opinion it is sad that the game is rated so badly by the reviewers. In my opinion for the PC this game is a masterpiece of programming. I love the graphics, I love the engine, I just love everything of this game. In the beginning I had a huge problem running this game but when I updated it everything was fine, even running it better than Episodes from Liberty City at the same graphics. The controls are good, the graphics are awesome, the gameplay is awesome... What else? Expand
  75. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    Great game but lot of bugs. This game often crashes my PC. The background story is highly addictive and the city is good modeled. My pc is not so powerful, i've got Windows 7x64, 4 GB RAM DDR2, Dual Core Processor E6750, and a first generation Geforce GTS 8800 with 640mb of memory.
  76. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    This game is completely awesome. In my honest opinion it easily blows the other titles out the water. Its sad to see that a bunch of people who must be using Atari Mainboards marked this game down to a measly 4.9. I run this game with FULL settings and have no "Herky Jerk" problems, as some have put it. This include ASx16 Full Shadows, Textures, View Distance. 1055t X6 @ 3.5, HD6850, 8gbThis game is completely awesome. In my honest opinion it easily blows the other titles out the water. Its sad to see that a bunch of people who must be using Atari Mainboards marked this game down to a measly 4.9. I run this game with FULL settings and have no "Herky Jerk" problems, as some have put it. This include ASx16 Full Shadows, Textures, View Distance. 1055t X6 @ 3.5, HD6850, 8gb 1600mhz ram Expand
  77. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    GTA has come of age- great graphics, fun story and missions (as usual!). Bugs? I've had zero issues with my Steam copy- not sure what everyone is banging on about....
  78. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    epic game, almost perfect virtual world, very fun gameplay and pretty good multiplayer but unfortunate not enough players.
    definitely worth the money!
  79. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    I think the best game that has appeared in the world! I really like, the best gta is released! I like the whole story, the protagonist straight genius! Very good game and who does not say that computers are stupid or do not like him the whole topic.
  80. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I don't undestand the negative opinions. Ok, when this game was released has a lot of serious bugs. But now, 3 years before, Rockstar has released more of 7 patches... I played this game last 6 months, and i really don't found any serious bug. I think the really bad and serious problems was resolved. The people that vote negative this game, please change your opinion, is possible now onI don't undestand the negative opinions. Ok, when this game was released has a lot of serious bugs. But now, 3 years before, Rockstar has released more of 7 patches... I played this game last 6 months, and i really don't found any serious bug. I think the really bad and serious problems was resolved. The people that vote negative this game, please change your opinion, is possible now on Metacritic. This game is one of the best !!! [9/10] Expand
  81. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I would say that this game is much better on a 360 or PS3 than it is on PC. The reason for this is short and simple: Games for Windows. I respect Windows, and I'm running it on my computer as I type this, but one thing is clear: they need to back the hell off of the gaming market, because they're ruining a lot of nice games. Some good examples: Bioshock 2, GTA IV, The Witcher, Alone in theI would say that this game is much better on a 360 or PS3 than it is on PC. The reason for this is short and simple: Games for Windows. I respect Windows, and I'm running it on my computer as I type this, but one thing is clear: they need to back the hell off of the gaming market, because they're ruining a lot of nice games. Some good examples: Bioshock 2, GTA IV, The Witcher, Alone in the Dark, and many more. The Games for Windows seal is more of a curse than anything else. Luckily, I bought this on Steam for $4.99, so I didn't waste too much. The game itself is great, so I've given it a 9/10, but Games for Windows has nearly rendered it unplayable. God dammit, Windows. Expand
  82. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    This game is fun with so many mission. However it will be kind of boring for just doing mission. Also the game requires a good cpu and graphic card for smooth game play. Anyway fun game overall!
  83. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    1 thing i could say. AMAZING amazing graphics amazing story and you look at the sense of humor this game has and the game is more "open world" than the previous versions
  84. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    I've been playing the Grand Theft Auto games since the first one got released, and this is certainly one of the best ones in todays standard. Sure, personally I prefer Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas and Grand Theft Auto: Vice City over this one, but it's still a very enjoyable game.

    As always, Grand Theft Auto is best played on a computer.
  85. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    PC version worthed the wait. PC version lacks motion blur and depth of field and provides much better graphics and controls, especially LODs. The only thing missing is anti-aliasing, though i've added FXAA via nvidia control panel. -1 for AA-lack and some bugs. Still, the best GTA and open-world game by far.
  86. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    The best AAA game ever. Rockstar North had amazingly high hopes for this game and pulled it off. Is the story worthy of literary awards? No, but as far as videogame stories go, it is friggin Shakespeare. They actually get you care about the characters, and you really want to know how things turn out. The driving is first rate, smooth and fun, but still requiring skill. It's greatThe best AAA game ever. Rockstar North had amazingly high hopes for this game and pulled it off. Is the story worthy of literary awards? No, but as far as videogame stories go, it is friggin Shakespeare. They actually get you care about the characters, and you really want to know how things turn out. The driving is first rate, smooth and fun, but still requiring skill. It's great fun to master the mechanics, and then proceed to drive fast and furious. The combat, a little clunky, but it is a minor flaw in what otherwise is the best game of this generation. Expand
  87. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    GTA singleplayer gameplayer never fails to entertain me, at least not until I've done everything possible in the game about three times over. GTA IV holds true to that, except with a disappointing end game where you're still limited for monetary income even after the storyline. No army to fight against, no endless wallet, and sadly it's a console port which definitely shows. TheGTA singleplayer gameplayer never fails to entertain me, at least not until I've done everything possible in the game about three times over. GTA IV holds true to that, except with a disappointing end game where you're still limited for monetary income even after the storyline. No army to fight against, no endless wallet, and sadly it's a console port which definitely shows. The multiplayer can be difficult to get working, but a playerbase exists and offers some cheap laughs. Windows Live is a noteworthy problem, but not a gamebreaker. Expand
  88. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I have been playing Grand theft auto series since the very first version of this game. I remember I used to run it from a floppy disk. Its great to see how much this game keeps evolving. I really do not understand why so many people is bashing on this game. While I understand there are considerable flaws mentioned before as bugs and glitches, every damn game has them. BFD. Anyway, the gameI have been playing Grand theft auto series since the very first version of this game. I remember I used to run it from a floppy disk. Its great to see how much this game keeps evolving. I really do not understand why so many people is bashing on this game. While I understand there are considerable flaws mentioned before as bugs and glitches, every damn game has them. BFD. Anyway, the game has a few additions compared to the older GTA series, it has several interactions with NPC characters as friendship, dating etc. I see many people complaining about them, that it takes out the real action of the game, complaints about the story being too long. I don't get it. It is not like you are being forced to date every npc in order to progress as they only add certain perks during the story. When a game is too short, people complain about it. When its too long, they complain too! This game is a great addition to the series and one of my favorites by far. Lots of in game content to do if you wanna stall your progression a bit, you can unlock perks from dating chicks and raising up friends rep, get extra cash from side jobs, there is just lots to do for a single player game. This game is not intended to be finished in one or two sits, if that is your intention, you should stay away from it. Also, to maximize fun, I totally recommend not to use any sort of cheats and take your time with all the game brings up to this release. As for the graphics, I play with 2 different computers, the poorest GPU I play this game with is a nvidia 9600gt, which is pretty old and run the game pretty well. It is not all about your graphics card, you need enough RAM memory and a decent processor to get it run smooth. I bought it for about 13-15 bucks on steam, I am about 40 hours played and there is still lots to do. Worth every penny. Not to mention there is still the multiplayer option, for those who like playing versus or free for all matches. The only thing I can really say that I dislike about the franchise this far is the requirement of social club and games for windows live registration. You got to create one account on each site in order to utilize all the game features. All in all, its a really fun game if you are a fan of the series and worth every dollar spent. Expand
  89. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This game is one of the best games I ever played. It is very fun and I can't stop playing it. The graphics are very good, and the playability is very well-made. It's worthy of a ten.
  90. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    If you don't mind the 'realism' this is one of the best action games ever. The game looks awesome, the storyline is epic, the weapons are fun, and you can have at least hundred hours of playtime..
  91. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Personally one of the only games in my steam library (besides Portal series/HL series) that I've actually completed and played again! The new generation of sandbox gaming.
  92. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is more than capable of being a 10/10 but its let down by a disappointing port to the PC. The video editor is a great addition but more time spent making this game run well would have been preferred.
  93. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is the best of the series, a third-person shooter that combines frantic shooter sections with a deep storyline, which focuses on the protagonist Niko Bellic, who seeks his fortune in the land of opportunity, but soon discovers the hostility of a city that thinks only of capitalism do not worry about criminals and the mafia who commit crimes of crimes, killingGrand Theft Auto 4 is the best of the series, a third-person shooter that combines frantic shooter sections with a deep storyline, which focuses on the protagonist Niko Bellic, who seeks his fortune in the land of opportunity, but soon discovers the hostility of a city that thinks only of capitalism do not worry about criminals and the mafia who commit crimes of crimes, killing necessario.Niko Bellic if it was subjected to the orders of someone willing to pay well, in order to support himself and his cousin Roman who made you think by e-mail to be wealthy and was full of debiti.Vi will then catapulted into an adventure without equal that will have you playing for hours.
    Also speaking in general Grand Theft Auto 4 has a graphics among the most efficient of all time, which allows them to rebuild the city of New York to the smallest detail, and a physics engine that reacts depending on the circumstances and stress esterne.Le sections multiplayer are truly beautiful and I recommend everyone to try them. I think there is a lot of ignorance about this title Rockstar, one of the most beautiful and profound of all.
    Expand
  94. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Kill People Shoot School. this game has so much swag it had me rolling in stitches when i killed Hoes In the street and nobody cared because hoes. #YOLO
  95. Dec 6, 2014
    10
    This game deserves a much higher user score. The port issues have been fixed within day from release with patches and apart from being a bad port at launch, this is an excellent game.
  96. Paul
    Jan 1, 2009
    9
    The port is not so good as it is on ps3, well yeah. but still it's one of the most breathtaking games. i love it. rockstar, failing too much can cause you out of business, next gta will not be wanted so much as this one, this is for sure now.
  97. WimHermans
    Dec 25, 2008
    10
    Notwithstanding the ridiculous high requirements from PC side, game is just the best made until today. Great job, everyting is possible! If you can play it you ll enjoy. but not many people will be able to play it thats the biggest prob
  98. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is the best GTA game and maybe the best SandBox game but on consoles.....
    On PC this is very good game with very good graphics. GTA IV is one of my favorites games but this can be better. Too many bugs, no bad but no good optimalize ruined this perfect SandBox. Graphics in game is really nice but i can't play on max. because i have old but no bad PC...[optimalize....]
    Grand Theft Auto IV is the best GTA game and maybe the best SandBox game but on consoles.....
    On PC this is very good game with very good graphics. GTA IV is one of my favorites games but this can be better. Too many bugs, no bad but no good optimalize ruined this perfect SandBox. Graphics in game is really nice but i can't play on max. because i have old but no bad PC...[optimalize....]
    On low grahics i have max 30 fps...... This isn't my PC fault because i played Crysis 2 on high graphics but Crysis 2 have better optimalize......
    Missions on game is really no lined and all times u can played new kind of missions. I advice this game all GTA fans and people who likes great SandBoxes. My rate is 9.1/10.
    Expand
  99. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    After playing GTA:SA, I must say that the graphics have certainly improved (drastically), and Liberty City is bigger and better than ever. Although this game is slightly less open world than I would have hoped, (in comparison to GTA:SA), the ragdoll and crash physics system is more or less fun and hilarious to play with.
    Microsoft does, however, need to optimize the packets sent in
    After playing GTA:SA, I must say that the graphics have certainly improved (drastically), and Liberty City is bigger and better than ever. Although this game is slightly less open world than I would have hoped, (in comparison to GTA:SA), the ragdoll and crash physics system is more or less fun and hilarious to play with.
    Microsoft does, however, need to optimize the packets sent in multiplayer, as there is severe drag and lag unrelated to ISP provided speeds and quality.
    Expand
  100. TomD.
    Dec 7, 2008
    10
    I just can't believe that users are giving this game a low rating. Yes there are some bugs with getting the game running on your pc. Yes it comes with an intrusive and slow game launcher. Yes it forces you to use games for Windows Live. Does it have high minimum specs to play at a smooth frame rate? Sure does. Are these issues a major pain in the butt? Sure they are. But none of I just can't believe that users are giving this game a low rating. Yes there are some bugs with getting the game running on your pc. Yes it comes with an intrusive and slow game launcher. Yes it forces you to use games for Windows Live. Does it have high minimum specs to play at a smooth frame rate? Sure does. Are these issues a major pain in the butt? Sure they are. But none of those issues changes the fact that this is one of the best games ever to come to a PC. If you are looking for a PC game for the holiday season - this is it. Period. This game is incredible, it offers dozens of hours of gameplay - and because of its scalability, it will look even more incredible on your next PC. It would be a shame if someone didnt buy this game because of all the whiners taking out their frustation by giving it a low score. If you are smart enough to read and know how to use google- you should be able to get this game running in a few minutes without any problems. One of the best games I have ever played on the PC. Right up there with Bioshock, Half Life series, Crysis, and Doom series. Just buy it now and be happy. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. PC Gamer UK
    92
    It's the peripheral distractions of both going out with Roman, and meeting your girlfriends, that really make your virtual life so worth living. Although incredibly simplistic, they're oddly touching...One of the finest videogames ever. [Christmas 2008, p.87]
  2. PC Format
    89
    The most grown-up GTA and the best realised, but it doesn't respect the PC much. Enjoy the multiplayer madness if you can. [Christmas 2008, p.96]
  3. A genuinely ground-breaking blockbuster in videogame history. There were moments playing GTA IV that I thought back to my initial experiences with games, and realised exactly how far we've come. There's never been anything quite like GTA IV in the world. That there makes me genuinely happy to be a gamer.