Grand Theft Auto IV PC

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2348 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JustinV
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    This is a very great game,I recommend this game to those who like a open world action game. I was a little disappointed on how you could not mod your car or play some b-ball like in GTA San Andreas.But the city feels alive I also love the the story line.
  2. VinceK
    Jan 16, 2009
    1
    Doesn't work on my PC (a very good one). Much more important than this game though is what the paid 'critics' are saying about how good the game is. Real people think it's junk but the paid 'critics' think it's excelent! Look at the paid 'critics' scores above to see what sites are worth visiting and listening to in the future. As the Doesn't work on my PC (a very good one). Much more important than this game though is what the paid 'critics' are saying about how good the game is. Real people think it's junk but the paid 'critics' think it's excelent! Look at the paid 'critics' scores above to see what sites are worth visiting and listening to in the future. As the 'critics' paid 'reviewers' will 'review' this before it is posted I doubt you'll get to read it. Expand
  3. kcw
    Feb 10, 2009
    1
    Took me 2 hours to get this game installed and the amount of other software you have to sign up to is ludicrous. I've tried to play the game and haven't lasted more than 2 minutes without bsod or lock-up. I've been gaming since speccy days and I've never paid for something so obviously poor and broken as GTA4. I've got a pretty decent spec machine, but what can Took me 2 hours to get this game installed and the amount of other software you have to sign up to is ludicrous. I've tried to play the game and haven't lasted more than 2 minutes without bsod or lock-up. I've been gaming since speccy days and I've never paid for something so obviously poor and broken as GTA4. I've got a pretty decent spec machine, but what can you do with such a poor conversion. I only paid £10 for the game, but still feel ripped off! This kind of thing should not be allowed to happen and I definitely will not be buying another Rockstar game again. Expand
  4. JoeyV
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    This game is absolutely incredible and greatly earned the title of Game of the Year of 2008. The gameplay is fantastic, the story is great, and the dialogue is well written, and hilarious. However, the port to the PC was handled atrociously, and you need an incredibly powerful rig to run it, and even with a top of the line gaming computer, the graphics still cannot be pushed to max This game is absolutely incredible and greatly earned the title of Game of the Year of 2008. The gameplay is fantastic, the story is great, and the dialogue is well written, and hilarious. However, the port to the PC was handled atrociously, and you need an incredibly powerful rig to run it, and even with a top of the line gaming computer, the graphics still cannot be pushed to max settings. Overall, the positives greatly outweigh the many negatives. Expand
  5. TuureO
    Dec 18, 2008
    2
    This game doesn't deserve anybody's money. I had to download 5 different applications, register to many clubs before even being able to play it, and after that i still got a error message. Then when i started the game, and changed the resolution and refresh rate (1600x1200, 85 Hz) The screen went black saying "Sync out of range", so clearly, my screen can't handle that much This game doesn't deserve anybody's money. I had to download 5 different applications, register to many clubs before even being able to play it, and after that i still got a error message. Then when i started the game, and changed the resolution and refresh rate (1600x1200, 85 Hz) The screen went black saying "Sync out of range", so clearly, my screen can't handle that much of refresh rate, but the thing is, i couldn't not change them back since all I could see was black. Absolutely ridiculous. After few weeks when not getting any useful help from rockstar, i had to think of something. Then, i thought maybe i should take few screenshots of the menu, and it worked. The screen was black, but i could take screenshots of it. This way i was able to navigate through the menu with sounds and pictures. The game itself is great, buggy and heavier than crysis, but after that much of trouble, it doesn't matter how good the game is. 2/10. Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'ts one of greatest action game i been ever played. Graphics is very realistic, story is intresting.... But game have many bugs. This is biggest negative of the game. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    This game would have been the best PC game of all time if the scores are to par with the Xbox360 and PS3 versions if it weren't for the following: high system requirements, lag issues, graphics would have been sharper on some areas and too much odd content. As of version 1.06 of this game, most of the issues have been fixed and this gets my vote. If you don't have a 1.5+ GB high-end videoThis game would have been the best PC game of all time if the scores are to par with the Xbox360 and PS3 versions if it weren't for the following: high system requirements, lag issues, graphics would have been sharper on some areas and too much odd content. As of version 1.06 of this game, most of the issues have been fixed and this gets my vote. If you don't have a 1.5+ GB high-end video card, you cannot max out all the graphical settings for this PC game. Expand
  8. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Terrific game. GTAIV offers vast improvements in the graphics department over its predecessors. The game's controls were sometimes annoying - like when it demanded you tap "A" repeatedly in order to sprint, rather than just holding down a certain button to keep sprinting as long as you hold it down. It was also annoying to have to log into the social club and GFWL every time you boot upTerrific game. GTAIV offers vast improvements in the graphics department over its predecessors. The game's controls were sometimes annoying - like when it demanded you tap "A" repeatedly in order to sprint, rather than just holding down a certain button to keep sprinting as long as you hold it down. It was also annoying to have to log into the social club and GFWL every time you boot up the game. That being said, this is still GTA, it's still every bit as fun (if not moreso) than its predecessors. The graphics are superb - a vast improvement over the last generation of GTA titles. The story is also better, and the world is generally more believable and realistic. Whats more, the control system for aircraft in this game makes them much easier to control than the PC editions of Vice City or San Andreas. There are more strip clubs, and the strippers and prostitutes are now rendered in high definition glory, LOL! Ah, the joys of GTA. That stuff aside, there is realy a terrific game here that should not be overlooked. You'll get the familiar GTA-style storyline, with a more serious flavor to it. It has nearly all of the elements that made older GTA games fun, except perhaps airplanes, airports, and businesses you can buy like in Vice City. As for the negative reviews... we all know it's just people whining about the DRM... whether it's GFWL or the social club. Yes, the game requires a modern computer to run nicely. What do you expect? The game came out in like 2008 or 2009. I always laugh at these people who are surprised their 5-year-old "gaming-laptop" can't run it nicely, so then they go to complain about the game and whine. The bottom line: make sure you have a quad-core processor, a reasonably-new video card with at least 1gb memory, and 4gb of RAM. Then get ready for a terrific new installment to the GTA series =). Expand
  9. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    I first played this game on a crappy 2.4 single core AMD computer with 2.5 gb of DDR 1 RAM and a NVIDIA gt 220. It ran like crap, and I had to restart my computer to close it, because my computer couldn't spare the processing power. I love this game. I sunk 24 hours into it even with a terrible system. I now own a computer that runs it like a **** Specs: AMD Phenom 3.4 GHz, NVIDIA GTX 460,I first played this game on a crappy 2.4 single core AMD computer with 2.5 gb of DDR 1 RAM and a NVIDIA gt 220. It ran like crap, and I had to restart my computer to close it, because my computer couldn't spare the processing power. I love this game. I sunk 24 hours into it even with a terrible system. I now own a computer that runs it like a **** Specs: AMD Phenom 3.4 GHz, NVIDIA GTX 460, 8gb DDR3. This game is still amazing. The sheer volume of stuff to do is astounding, and the game reacts realistically to almost every situation. The radio stations are hilarious as all get out, and there's even cameos from famous comedians (Ricky Gervais). I don't touch the gay stuff so much, like dates, but the gunplay is well done too. The cover system is a little buggy sometimes, but it's much better on the PC than on the consoles. My only complaint was that the music on the radio sucks, but you can make your own radio station (Death and Sacred Oath rock). As for the rest of you giving it bad scores cause of your system, don't review a game if you can't run it right. It just makes the game look bad unfairly. Your system sucks, this game owns. Expand
  10. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    love this game, it's a huge favorite. Runs clean on my pc. Love it on xbox 360 as well. Multiplayer greatness as well. I love the fact that there is a free roam mode for multi player. I play it via Steam with my usb xbox controller and its mapped out very well. Running it on a Geforce GTX 460
    AMD Phenom2 Quad core
    8GB Ram 64bit Win 7
  11. Oct 5, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GTA IV was a big step back to me. Look at the massive array of vehicles in San Andreas. Bicycles, dirt bikes, quads, tractors, different types of helicopters and airplanes, the jetpack, etc. Why take all that stuff out?

    GTA IV also completely **** up the physics of the game. Driving is half as fun as it was in the previous games. And people generally respond to this by saying that it's "realistic", but no. It's not realistic in any way. Making it slow paced and boring doesn't make it realistic. It just makes it slow paced and boring.

    The shooting was improved a bit, but still needed a lot of work. The people who defend this game will claim that sticking your arm up while behind cover will cause Niko to shoot inaccurately, but it certainly hasn't worked that way for me. It seems to shoot wherever I point, regardless of the fact that Niko isn't even looking or aiming. Also, when you do choose to aim from behind cover (for whatever reason), it will cause your cross-hairs to move up a bit. Not a serious issue, but it's stupid that you have to keep in mind to aim a little bit below their head.

    The weapon variety was also significantly reduced and simplified compared to San Andreas. Of course San Andreas also had weapons that were just flat out better than others, but GTA IV's weapon system operates by "tiers", where you have tier 1 weapons, tier 2 weapons, etc. One tier being completely better in every way than the other. It leaves no room for options and determining which weapons are best for you personally. Of course, SA had SOME weapons which were flat out better than others, but to a much smaller degree than GTA IV.

    Niko is a walking contradiction, he speaks out against violence, but he's perfectly willing to kill if he gets money for it. Meanwhile, the guy he's trying to track down ends up telling him that he sold him out for $1,000. Niko acts all surprised and offended by this - but he does things like that all the time. The cheesy attempt to include a "2deep4u" story winded up backfiring. Rockstar should have stuck with the classic humor based, light hearted style story, rather than what was the equivalent of a B movie written by some emo kid.

    Ultimately, my dislike for GTA IV can be traced back to one thing - Lack of variety. Look at all of the content from SA that they just flat out REMOVED. Just look at the build up of content and gradual perfection of concepts from GTA 3, to Vice City, to San Andreas. I thought Rockstar would continue that system. I was under the impression that what we saw in SA would be perfected and build upon, just as they had done in the past - Not just completely thrown away. I really thought Rockstar was on to something. I thought they had it figured out. I guess not.
    Expand
  12. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    worst pc port game I have ever played in my life. I have duel GTX 680s and the game wont even let me play with hiccups every 2 seconds. lame. companies sacrificing quality for profit as usual./
  13. Nov 28, 2011
    8
    Stand-alone, GTA IV would be a 9/10, but compared to San Andreas, GTA IV is a step forward in graphics, and back in mechanics. The new (well, 3 year old) game engine was built from the ground up, allowing optimized graphics (for console and powerful PC's), but restricting many mechanical abilities, like semi-truck trailers and such. Overall it's a great game, but is lacking content wiseStand-alone, GTA IV would be a 9/10, but compared to San Andreas, GTA IV is a step forward in graphics, and back in mechanics. The new (well, 3 year old) game engine was built from the ground up, allowing optimized graphics (for console and powerful PC's), but restricting many mechanical abilities, like semi-truck trailers and such. Overall it's a great game, but is lacking content wise compared to SA, hence the 8 instead of a 9. Expand
  14. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    Wow, I have to preface by acknowledging the immense hostility in the user score towards this game. I did not play this on the PC at the outset, but I have since been playing it, and although I hear it was incredibly buggy out of the box, patch 1.07 as it stands is wonderful. If you have the machine to play it, it is one of the more beautiful games for the PC, with a rich modding communityWow, I have to preface by acknowledging the immense hostility in the user score towards this game. I did not play this on the PC at the outset, but I have since been playing it, and although I hear it was incredibly buggy out of the box, patch 1.07 as it stands is wonderful. If you have the machine to play it, it is one of the more beautiful games for the PC, with a rich modding community behind it which tries to push the graphics even further. The controls aren't exactly great for mouse and keyboard, but it happily accepts the 360 gamepad, or you can use an emulator to use a PS3 pad. The game itself is pretty damn awesome, and I really have to stress how much better it looks than the console version, as well as having a "clip capture" feature similar to onlive's brag clip feature that allows you to capture and post the details of the random zany accidents you get into when crashing sports cars. I don't like that it uses the "social club", I despise all extraneous logins for any game, but you don't have to log in unless you want multiplayer.

    All in all, because GTAIV is an amazing game, and it really takes advantage of the graphical capabilities of the PC version, unlike so many ports (and I have to add, the graphics tuning utility is EXTRAORDINARILY friendly and informative).
    Expand
  15. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    I'm not one of these, which gives 0 to game because it didn't run on them PC's. I gave this rating because game isn't as awesome as game for 10 should be. Cons: formula isn't nothing fresh. of course, shooting, driving is improved, but it's not deserve the highest score. Even with absolutely gorgeus main plot.
  16. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Number 1 On My Top 3 List It's Best Game Ever Funny Story,Drugs,Guns,Action,Bowling,Pool,Mcdonalds,Internet Cafe,Missions And Best Of All N
    I
    K
    O
    NIKO
    B
    E
    L
    I
    C
    BELIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  17. Jul 30, 2012
    3
    If your gonna get GTA IV get it on consoles This game is amazing but frame rate issues due to poor optimization make this the most un-fun irritating experience I've ever been forced to play aside from batman dark tomorrow
  18. Aug 17, 2012
    6
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is a great game, don't misunderstand me, but the PC version is insane. Because it needs an insanely powerful PC to play it. But, still, if you have a super powerful PC, than this game will be fun, single player and multiplayer. Can't wait to play the console version. 65 out of 100 (For the powerful PCs, 96 out of 100)
  19. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I can say that this game is very high on it's requirements to run it for pc. But it is awesome for it's modding community and thats actually why I got this game. The modding community is awesome and there is very much mods that are available to download. It is just amazing how much mods it is there. The main storyline isn't bad, it has much awesome missions, but after completing them manyI can say that this game is very high on it's requirements to run it for pc. But it is awesome for it's modding community and thats actually why I got this game. The modding community is awesome and there is very much mods that are available to download. It is just amazing how much mods it is there. The main storyline isn't bad, it has much awesome missions, but after completing them many times you might want to do some fun with the game, and get some mods. That is what I did. I highly recommend you to buy this game. :) Expand
  20. May 15, 2014
    0
    This is the most bugged game EVER MADE. This game will not even start for me, even after I called Rockstar and spent 3 hours moving files and such to try to get it to work. It has so many glitches and bugs it is not even fun in any way. I played a console version at a friend's house, and cars still can't turn when going over 5 MPH. This game is a disaster. Don't get it unless it's on aThis is the most bugged game EVER MADE. This game will not even start for me, even after I called Rockstar and spent 3 hours moving files and such to try to get it to work. It has so many glitches and bugs it is not even fun in any way. I played a console version at a friend's house, and cars still can't turn when going over 5 MPH. This game is a disaster. Don't get it unless it's on a humble bundle. Expand
  21. TimothyL
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    People who give this game low ratings must be really, really stingy, or have computers that do not satisfy the high system requirements... It has been a long time since a game with such an expansive world and interactive interface has been released.. and do not be fooled by people who insist that steering can only be done with a mouse, because you can use the keyboard.. As for the issuePeople who give this game low ratings must be really, really stingy, or have computers that do not satisfy the high system requirements... It has been a long time since a game with such an expansive world and interactive interface has been released.. and do not be fooled by people who insist that steering can only be done with a mouse, because you can use the keyboard.. As for the issue people are complaining about having to having to sign up for the RGSC to save the game, you only have to sign up once and when you enter the game, you can choose to have an offline profile, and savegames can from then onwards be done offline and without signing on to RGSC.. However, it is true that GTA IV has relatively high system requirements, but even at low texture details, and low resolution, the game looks great, so maybe people can try turning down the graphics, unless one's computer is really a stone slab with an "on" button... >.< If one's computer can run the game smoothly, the person would undoubtedly be amazed by the sheer fun this game has to offer, so... DO GET THIS GAME!!! (pardon my english, i'm not a british or american...) Expand
  22. hankhank
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    best game
  23. CanonY
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    People who give the game 0 because of problems with their pc are just being plain ridiculous. The game has so many merits. The characters, especially the protagonist, are well done. This game has a lot of satire and pokes fun of a lot of American culture. Playing the missions gets a bit samey after a while, but the game's got tonnes of extra material including hours of hilarious tv, People who give the game 0 because of problems with their pc are just being plain ridiculous. The game has so many merits. The characters, especially the protagonist, are well done. This game has a lot of satire and pokes fun of a lot of American culture. Playing the missions gets a bit samey after a while, but the game's got tonnes of extra material including hours of hilarious tv, comedy shows starring ricky gervais and cat williams, etc. Driving around is a pleasure as are the crashes with the rag doll physics: you can find as many fun ways to die as you like - throwing urself out of helicopters, crashing into trucks and being flung out of the windscreen for not wearing your seatbelt are just some of the possibilities. There's lots of bonus content and many side stories to follow. After each chaotic mission, there'll be a mention in the news on the internet or listen out on the radio about it. Make sure you patch up to the latest version (1.4) before playing, it makes a huge difference to the graphical optimisation of this game and it's virtually unplayable without the updates. I would recommend this game to anyone who doesn't mind violence in games. Expand
  24. AdrianB.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    It is a beautiful game, the city is alive, you can interact with anyone and anything, the graphics and physics are mind-blowing, and the juice of the game is the gameplay, dialogues, radio and tv talk-shows. I can't stop laughing , satire all the way...perfect. If only it would perform better on the PC platform...but with a GTX260/280 and a Quad core CPU ypu will be able to play the It is a beautiful game, the city is alive, you can interact with anyone and anything, the graphics and physics are mind-blowing, and the juice of the game is the gameplay, dialogues, radio and tv talk-shows. I can't stop laughing , satire all the way...perfect. If only it would perform better on the PC platform...but with a GTX260/280 and a Quad core CPU ypu will be able to play the game above 25 fps. Expand
  25. JK
    Dec 13, 2008
    2
    This game is undoubtedly fantastic on XBox 360 or PS3, but don't buy it for PC! It has inane copy protection, no customizable keyboard controls, and ridiculous system requirements to run at a decent frame rate. It is thoroughly disappointing! Don't buy it!!!
  26. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    I don't see what the problem is. My computer was a relatively cheap one (purchased over 2 years ago for $1400 and the game ran perfectly. It had an amazing plot and cover based third person gameplay. The best GTA game to date.
  27. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    The game had a lot of issues about the performance, but, the engine of physics and graphics are amazing, even we are at 2011, the game still up to date, so, worth having this game and upgrade your computer!
  28. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    Why are you people hating???????? Just because you have a bad computer? Not the games fault! It is amazing. Amazing graphics, amazing gameplay, amazing multiplayer, amazing everything! I have it for PS3 and it runs smoothly on the career. On multiplayer, its a bit hard to get in a game, you need to have good internet connection, but its still AMAZING! STOP putting bad reviews cause youWhy are you people hating???????? Just because you have a bad computer? Not the games fault! It is amazing. Amazing graphics, amazing gameplay, amazing multiplayer, amazing everything! I have it for PS3 and it runs smoothly on the career. On multiplayer, its a bit hard to get in a game, you need to have good internet connection, but its still AMAZING! STOP putting bad reviews cause you guys cant play it on awesome graphics!!!!!!
    This game deserves a 11 out of 10. Yey, it's that good.
    Expand
  29. SergeyR.
    Dec 5, 2008
    2
    I played this game on xbox 360 but i wanted it to get on pc only beacause of the playability, the highest resolution and the ''more fps'' but i was really disapointed. the game itself is awsome but i currently have xp professionnal 2.5 g of ram a sli 8800 ultra and a quad core 3.6 ghz and i have BIG troubles get more then 40 fps in mid graphic settings. THE GAME IS I played this game on xbox 360 but i wanted it to get on pc only beacause of the playability, the highest resolution and the ''more fps'' but i was really disapointed. the game itself is awsome but i currently have xp professionnal 2.5 g of ram a sli 8800 ultra and a quad core 3.6 ghz and i have BIG troubles get more then 40 fps in mid graphic settings. THE GAME IS MORE HEAVY THAN CRYSIS!?!?!?!? and there is no, even in max graphic settings, comparaison between the two games in term of graphics. Expand
  30. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Don't get the hype, there is nothing "revolutionary" about this game. All I experienced was an extremely dull game with often repetitive missions and monotonous combat.
  31. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    i played this game with a acer 4551 with an hd4250 and it runs on low graphic but you will have fun, now i have a phenom 955 + hd5770 and i run this on maximun quality, just punt the shows on high and this will double the fps, the game is sick, this is real enterteiment
  32. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Just a fun as all the other GTA's but with better graphics. The characters are more fleshed out and the story is up to GTA standard. These are the big positives, now the negatives. The ending requires you to be a pro helicopter pilot to complete the game, something you don't have to learn anywhere else in the game to the same degree of expertise. Also, if you fail as this very poorlyJust a fun as all the other GTA's but with better graphics. The characters are more fleshed out and the story is up to GTA standard. These are the big positives, now the negatives. The ending requires you to be a pro helicopter pilot to complete the game, something you don't have to learn anywhere else in the game to the same degree of expertise. Also, if you fail as this very poorly thought through part of the game you need to spend 10 minutes of pissing around just to have another shot at it. This is almost as frustrating a the stupid alien world in half-life 1.

    What we have is a **** with a beautiful drop dead body but hideous head. Very frustrating ultimately! But if you put a paper bag over its head and don't ever bother finishing the game because it's a pointless exercise in a game like this anyhow then you get to enjoy one hell of a ride. Another small negative I experienced were serious game stopping technical issues related to playing it on a dual core, you should have quad! Its a very enjoyable sandbox game with some very nice imagery.
    Expand
  33. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    Anyone that says we shouldn't complain about the game not working, is a moron. Most of us have advanced gaming rigs, like myself. There are known issues with this game that Rockstar has not patched. Its not like its a rare occasion that the game isn't working. There are tons of reports on the game being completely broken. Its not a hardware problem you idiots, its software. In other words,Anyone that says we shouldn't complain about the game not working, is a moron. Most of us have advanced gaming rigs, like myself. There are known issues with this game that Rockstar has not patched. Its not like its a rare occasion that the game isn't working. There are tons of reports on the game being completely broken. Its not a hardware problem you idiots, its software. In other words, the game was not created to be compatible-friendly to everyone. We shouldn't be expected to fix their mistakes. Play with folders and files. If I wanted to mess around in the folders, I would have pirated it. Also If it was our rigs, then why do all other games work? Literally GTA IV is the only game to not function properly.

    But besides my game not working right. The Social Club DRM is down only on GTA IV, the website will take my login, but not the game, you know, where its intended to be used. But that's fine, we could always play single player, right? Nope, because we can't save the game when you cant login to the servers. Why bother the game. Me personally can't even start up story mode, and I can't login to the servers to play online. We should not accept this garbage. I'm sure the game is fantastic when its working. But I have to judge it as its entirety. Unfortunately a poor interface destroyed a potentially excellent PC game.

    Personally I have to do a 0 because it was not functioning at all. I tried fixing it for hours, tried all the known methods, and had no luck. If I was able to actually play the game then I could have been a little more focused on the game's mechanics.

    ##tl;dr Version##
    1. DRM, servers are down only in game. You can't play online.
    2. DRM also is required just to save local story mode.
    3. Thousands of cases of the game not even functions, and users are on their own to fix them.
    4. Personally in my cause, I couldn't fix them.
    Expand
  34. May 25, 2014
    0
    A Rockstar tem uma falta de respeito muito grande pelos PC Gamers... este jogo é pesado demais... e até hoje em dia, nem todos os PC's rodam esse jogo!! Você terá que desembolsar R$ 2.000 (US$ 2.000) pra rodar no máximo!!
  35. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    No one wants to take responsibility for this travesty, but the fact is Steam continues to distribute this buggy game despite the fact that it does not work for Windows 7. I have Windows 7, but this game was written for XP or Vista, as a result I cannot even get this game to start up. If you have Windows 7 save yourself money and time and just do not buy this game. I have always been a fanNo one wants to take responsibility for this travesty, but the fact is Steam continues to distribute this buggy game despite the fact that it does not work for Windows 7. I have Windows 7, but this game was written for XP or Vista, as a result I cannot even get this game to start up. If you have Windows 7 save yourself money and time and just do not buy this game. I have always been a fan of GTA games, but have never tried to play one on PC before; the experience I have gone through with GTA IV has made me never want to buy Rockstar games on the PC platform ever again. Expand
  36. Oct 17, 2014
    0
    **** Final Mission
    Pc Version have problem but Rockstar cant fix it
    im so fast take Boat and chase dimitri BUT Cant take Jacobs Heli
    15 Times retry same result Mission Failed
    Fuxxcking this game **** programer this mission designer !
    totaly GTA 4 is **** game..
    too many money...cant buy nothing
    and sux framelate and so on
  37. HJ
    Sep 23, 2009
    7
    Let's start out with the good things, the game looks absolutely brilliant, there it has not disappointed. The Gameplay is not bad, but there's something missing that GTA: San Andreas had, it's the whole atmosphere. The Single Player campaign is certainly worth the money. The Multiplayer is very dull, especially for those who have played SA: Multiplayer, which was a mod. Of Let's start out with the good things, the game looks absolutely brilliant, there it has not disappointed. The Gameplay is not bad, but there's something missing that GTA: San Andreas had, it's the whole atmosphere. The Single Player campaign is certainly worth the money. The Multiplayer is very dull, especially for those who have played SA: Multiplayer, which was a mod. Of course i thought rockstar would be inspired by the great concept, but because the game is a console port with very few changes, they even left the "weaknesses" of consoles in, that's why you cannot have Multiplayer servers with lots of players, and the game is very hard to mod. Even worse than that is that you need a Microsoft live account to even just save. Expand
  38. AndyD
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    Grand theft auto IV is a really good game, story is great, graphic is great, overall the game itself i would give 9,5 score.. GTA IV actually runs great IF you have a triple/quad core CPU, even a 9500 GT could do high/very high and runs it smoothly IF you have a nice CPU. BUT The DRM, rockstar social club, windows live, and all the must install things just to play the game kinda backs me Grand theft auto IV is a really good game, story is great, graphic is great, overall the game itself i would give 9,5 score.. GTA IV actually runs great IF you have a triple/quad core CPU, even a 9500 GT could do high/very high and runs it smoothly IF you have a nice CPU. BUT The DRM, rockstar social club, windows live, and all the must install things just to play the game kinda backs me off from giving this game a 9 or 10 score. if you could get by the ANNOYING installation, the game is very very good and enjoyable. :) Expand
  39. TimJ.
    Dec 4, 2008
    8
    Having been a fan of the GTA series on the PC since GTA III I had high hopes for this after the somewhat unfocused sprawl of San Andreas. Unfortunately it has not transferred well to the PC with Securom DRM causing many users, including myself, to have problems running the game. Having played the 360 version to death I was very disappointed that my system was considered to be only able to Having been a fan of the GTA series on the PC since GTA III I had high hopes for this after the somewhat unfocused sprawl of San Andreas. Unfortunately it has not transferred well to the PC with Securom DRM causing many users, including myself, to have problems running the game. Having played the 360 version to death I was very disappointed that my system was considered to be only able to manage similar graphical quality. The game would not let me get past 1024 resolution on a system that can play FarCry 2 in widescreen with settings high. It feels like someone has been lazy. The gameplay does not have the fun and variety of earlier versions. Vice City remains the jewel in the crown and whilst it is eclipsed by the physics of GTA IV, this version is essentially joyless in mood and gameplay. The reviews of GTA IV and console continue a proud tradition of over-rating a big release. If you have this on console then don't bother with the PC version, much as it pains me to say it. If you don't have it already then don't expect to be blown away. Expand
  40. Ryan
    Dec 8, 2008
    8
    Great game with great detail. It would have received 10/10, but 2 points are removed for a bad PC port. The graphics look like they came straight from a console (which they did,) the shadows are horrible, and no FSAA support. NVIDIA released a snap beta driver to correct some of the FPS problems so kudos there. There is no wheel support. When you view the controls in setup, it shows an Great game with great detail. It would have received 10/10, but 2 points are removed for a bad PC port. The graphics look like they came straight from a console (which they did,) the shadows are horrible, and no FSAA support. NVIDIA released a snap beta driver to correct some of the FPS problems so kudos there. There is no wheel support. When you view the controls in setup, it shows an XBOX 360 controller.. wtf? Some of the mapped keys that show up in the beginning demo do not work correctly on the keyboard. Overall Rockstar has abandoned its PC roots and pissed off a lot of loyal fans. Expand
  41. netpoke.com
    Jan 12, 2009
    8
    This would easily, easily be a 10 if it wasn't for the innefficient programming. The game is framey even on the console versions. Luckily I managed to get it going with an oc'ed quad-core phenom , and underwater oc'ed 1GB Radeon 2900. The only other quibble is that there doesn't seem to be as many submissions and random trivial activities as previous (e.g. skydiving,This would easily, easily be a 10 if it wasn't for the innefficient programming. The game is framey even on the console versions. Luckily I managed to get it going with an oc'ed quad-core phenom , and underwater oc'ed 1GB Radeon 2900. The only other quibble is that there doesn't seem to be as many submissions and random trivial activities as previous (e.g. skydiving, turf-war, RC helicopter missions etc) Expand
  42. JonasNielsen
    Dec 25, 2008
    8
    It's a sad thing, really. The platform, that has made R* what they are today are left to a sad port of bad performance and loads of bugs. The game is absolutely great, even with the 8-10fps I'm left with, I have lots of fun just roaming Liberty City, which is, truely, alive. Something as simple as a car crash is highly entertaining due to the amazing physics. I would have given It's a sad thing, really. The platform, that has made R* what they are today are left to a sad port of bad performance and loads of bugs. The game is absolutely great, even with the 8-10fps I'm left with, I have lots of fun just roaming Liberty City, which is, truely, alive. Something as simple as a car crash is highly entertaining due to the amazing physics. I would have given this game a 10 for it's gameplay and 0 for it's quality in programming, leaving it with a 5, but judging a game on its initial port job seems unfair to me. It's worthy of an 8, and if R* had done a proper job with the port, and I had an idea people with good PC's are able to run it, I would have given it a 10. But the fact, that someone with a state-of-the-art PC with an i7 920 CPU, GTX280 GPU and >8GB of RAM isn't even able to start the game (as I read on the Steam forums) is enough for me to pull 2 points from the score. I hope, truely hope, that they fix the port issues, and the show a greater respect for the PC in the future. Expand
  43. FredW.
    Dec 5, 2008
    8
    Easily the best GTA so far. It's about damn time they got serious with multiplayer. I haven't had this much fun since GTA 1... and no that's not the one that was on PS2. I am talking about the original PC version. The version that got rockstar on the map. This version also seemed to pay attention to other games. Overall it has a few issues since it was a console game first Easily the best GTA so far. It's about damn time they got serious with multiplayer. I haven't had this much fun since GTA 1... and no that's not the one that was on PS2. I am talking about the original PC version. The version that got rockstar on the map. This version also seemed to pay attention to other games. Overall it has a few issues since it was a console game first an PC second. Aside from those, which will probably be resolved with patches, this is a solid game. If only they could unlock all the mini stuff in free roam mode. Expand
  44. MarioPelletier
    Dec 9, 2008
    8
    This game is excellent...All the missions are interesting and the fun factor is very high...if u liked the other gta you will
    love this one..the big issue here are the graphics...at 1280x
    1024...everything look jaggy on ACL...you need a hell of a
    computer to run it at enjoyable settings...sli not supported...
    waiting for a patch...even with that it is still a must.
  45. Jon
    Jan 19, 2009
    7
    I agree with all of the criticism re. DRM and set up. It seems pointless given how quickly pirated/cracked copies arrive online these days. Quite why the game requires registration to Rockstar Social club AND Windows Live is beyond me. Isn't one enough? I had to retrace my steps when I discovered that although I'd completed registration for windows live, I hadn't I agree with all of the criticism re. DRM and set up. It seems pointless given how quickly pirated/cracked copies arrive online these days. Quite why the game requires registration to Rockstar Social club AND Windows Live is beyond me. Isn't one enough? I had to retrace my steps when I discovered that although I'd completed registration for windows live, I hadn't 'linked' the accounts. I had to re-play from the start to unlock acheivement awards and features - (yeah, all pretty daft and unecessary). On top of this there is a serial key and Securom - which I deplore since I have had real problems with this in the past on my old pc. The irony is that illegal downloaders don't go through any of this, so what is the point? Initially I believed that this kind of DRM was there to stop piracy but now I think it's more about killing the used games market. I have so many registrations to different accounts over the last year that it's just getting silly. I am also annoyed that a game that started life and gained its reputation on the PC is now poorly ported over from the 360 - as a result, despite what the packaging states, the 'real world' system requirements are outrageously demanding. Believe when I say that you need serious hardware to get optimum settings on this game. I have 4GB ram, a quad core and a 1GB HD4870 - well in excess of the recommended specs. I have installed a patch as well as a fix for Windows Live but I still wouldn't deem the gameplay smooth. There are still graphical glitches and stuttering frame rates throughout the game and I hope Rockstar put some serious effort into fixing these. In spite of this I still think it's a cracking game, though I'm die hard and have played GTA from its earliest incarnation. The story and characters are the best yet. The game is as bloody as ever but it really has a conscience and like CJ in San Andreas you'll really be drawn in by the game's central character, Niko. Were it not for the silliness listed above the game would have scored a ten. As the game stands - with the Windows Live, Social Club, Key, DRM and the glitches - I'm afraid I have to give it a 7. Expand
  46. MooMan
    Dec 15, 2009
    7
    Lots of people bitch about how unoptimized the game is, but i bought it a year after it came out when the price was reduced to $30... I'd love to have bought it for $10. The game overheats my comp like no other, but at least it uses all 4 of my cores =) whoohoo duel core! Other than that, i'd say this game deserves a 7, because its a lot like the other GTA, even the story line. Lots of people bitch about how unoptimized the game is, but i bought it a year after it came out when the price was reduced to $30... I'd love to have bought it for $10. The game overheats my comp like no other, but at least it uses all 4 of my cores =) whoohoo duel core! Other than that, i'd say this game deserves a 7, because its a lot like the other GTA, even the story line. Betrayal, killing, murdering, being an idiot, etc Expand
  47. RayMckormick
    Dec 24, 2009
    8
    GTA 4 is a sound game yes it has its flaws but for PC the modding is pretty cool and if you've already played it on xbox you could see how you could play the game differently. on the other hand there may be bugs and i wouldnt recomend paying exact full price. I got it on a steam sale for £4.99/$7.56 (roughly). its worth buying tho and the story is very good.
  48. YuraT.
    Apr 26, 2009
    9
    No comment
  49. MikeGamer
    Jan 14, 2009
    8
    It runs, that's a start. There are some graphical issues even at levels way below the benchmark's recommendations, but only very occasionally (such as when it's raining heavily). Gameplay, story, soundtrack are all superb, 10/10 for each. Bugs such as certain missions (mostly the Fixer ones) taking a long time to load and aforementioned graphical issues detract from an It runs, that's a start. There are some graphical issues even at levels way below the benchmark's recommendations, but only very occasionally (such as when it's raining heavily). Gameplay, story, soundtrack are all superb, 10/10 for each. Bugs such as certain missions (mostly the Fixer ones) taking a long time to load and aforementioned graphical issues detract from an otherwise perfect score. Expand
  50. JakeO
    Dec 14, 2009
    7
    In my opinion GTA IV is the best game I've bought this year, but it's terrible without a perfect gaming computer. I have a GTX260 graphics card, 2GB of RAM and a Dual core that's pretty fast - I get disconnected too much for having a 'slow PC' when every texture around me is loaded and every NPC doing their own thing already. GTA IV is perfect for really any type In my opinion GTA IV is the best game I've bought this year, but it's terrible without a perfect gaming computer. I have a GTX260 graphics card, 2GB of RAM and a Dual core that's pretty fast - I get disconnected too much for having a 'slow PC' when every texture around me is loaded and every NPC doing their own thing already. GTA IV is perfect for really any type of gamer, but there is just that problem that me and most other players have with running the game (disconnecting you for no reason) Expand
  51. seppot
    Feb 12, 2009
    8
    Well, GTA IV really is good game. I dont understand why people are crying that it doesnt work on their computer. COME ON LEARN TO INSTALL GAMES! Well, my computer barely runs this game, but that doesn't mean that the game sucks. The system requirements are too high. I got this game on steam and it have to keep this programs on while playing: Windows live, Rockstar social club and Well, GTA IV really is good game. I dont understand why people are crying that it doesnt work on their computer. COME ON LEARN TO INSTALL GAMES! Well, my computer barely runs this game, but that doesn't mean that the game sucks. The system requirements are too high. I got this game on steam and it have to keep this programs on while playing: Windows live, Rockstar social club and steam. You're going to have a really good computer if you buy this game. I had nothing problems with installation. I give 8 for this becouse this game haven't been designed well for pc but at ps3 this deserves 10. Expand
  52. BrettB
    Aug 19, 2009
    7
    ok here is the deal GTA IV is a fun but highly flawed game It runs like a pile of crap even on high end rigs this wouldent be such a big deal if the game had great graphics but it doesent the graphics are mearly passable but the physics are top notch. The gameplay is fun but there is not nearly enough weapons or cars and it always feels like you are wrestling with the controls to get yourok here is the deal GTA IV is a fun but highly flawed game It runs like a pile of crap even on high end rigs this wouldent be such a big deal if the game had great graphics but it doesent the graphics are mearly passable but the physics are top notch. The gameplay is fun but there is not nearly enough weapons or cars and it always feels like you are wrestling with the controls to get your car/character to do what you want also I cant see why they took a step back from San An by removing character stats and weapon skills because I found they where one of the things that made San An great. Expand
  53. JT
    Dec 18, 2008
    7
    Graphics = 10 Audio = 9 Control = 5 (controls were laggy, and quality of remap was terrible) it would have added alot to the feeling of GTA4 if the controls were smoother and easier to maintain. Story = 6 (weakest story and missions of any of the GTA3's yet) Install and config = 3 (making us install windows live and social club just sucks. Game takes forever to load. Overriding my Graphics = 10 Audio = 9 Control = 5 (controls were laggy, and quality of remap was terrible) it would have added alot to the feeling of GTA4 if the controls were smoother and easier to maintain. Story = 6 (weakest story and missions of any of the GTA3's yet) Install and config = 3 (making us install windows live and social club just sucks. Game takes forever to load. Overriding my graphic settings and not giving me an easy way to have my own settings bad. DRM/CD checks slow down loading considerably. Unfortunately I think this will be the last PC version of GTA. You can easily tell by the quality of the port that Rockstar isn't interested at all in the PC build quality. Expand
  54. MarekP
    Dec 31, 2009
    8
    A. Correa about your PC I have the same with 2 GB RAM and It`s working FAST not SLOW I have Clean system about 500 MB XP 8600 fatal1ty professional 1,7 GB you can always sell It to someone else
  55. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    it runs fine on my computer so thats not the real issue, although i did lose my save file after an hour or 2 of play. My real issue with this game is that its boring. GTA vice city and San Andreas are far far better. GTA IVs claim to fame is its graphics and they are quite good. Going on dates. fiddling with the awkward cell phone is just lame. The cars handle like drunken cows. the gameit runs fine on my computer so thats not the real issue, although i did lose my save file after an hour or 2 of play. My real issue with this game is that its boring. GTA vice city and San Andreas are far far better. GTA IVs claim to fame is its graphics and they are quite good. Going on dates. fiddling with the awkward cell phone is just lame. The cars handle like drunken cows. the game tries to have realism but i think that takes away from the grand theft auto aspect of it. It definitely doesn't deserve a 5/10 though, but it also doesn't deserve a 9/10 like Metacritic calculates. all the critics must have been paid off or afraid to take down the giant when it obviously has many bad game-play elements and is very disappointing of a game Expand
  56. Jan 7, 2011
    7
    GTA IV is redone... for the worse or the better is up to you.

    Obviously, the engine is new and it gives a more realistic game - before you could crash into AI cars and they would "fly away" now you both get stuck in a crash. I give credit that you can hire a Taxi to get you to a certain destination - and the "retry" option (on your phone) should you fail a mission. All of this to get you
    GTA IV is redone... for the worse or the better is up to you.

    Obviously, the engine is new and it gives a more realistic game - before you could crash into AI cars and they would "fly away" now you both get stuck in a crash.

    I give credit that you can hire a Taxi to get you to a certain destination - and the "retry" option (on your phone) should you fail a mission. All of this to get you through the hustle in the enormous city.

    Also, to my disappointment there are no tanks or military equipment in this game, you can't enter police stations either and such...
    Expand
  57. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    C'est un bon jeu, excepté la perte de possibilité comparé aux anciens GTA, il est graphiquement bien réalisé. Malgré différents bugs et la configuration minimale assez élevée, il mérite selon moi huit sur dix.
  58. Apr 24, 2011
    8
    Really excellent addition to the GTA franchise. Played the game on console (PS3) and now the PC version and the be honest i have not really noticed much difference. A nice constant 60fps (with vsync on) with no slowdown even when it gets busy. Ok so maybe there are a few graphical errors here and there, the game isnt 100% perfect, the gameplay does not suffer however.

    The only other
    Really excellent addition to the GTA franchise. Played the game on console (PS3) and now the PC version and the be honest i have not really noticed much difference. A nice constant 60fps (with vsync on) with no slowdown even when it gets busy. Ok so maybe there are a few graphical errors here and there, the game isnt 100% perfect, the gameplay does not suffer however.

    The only other small annoyance is that it does not seem to be compatible with IE9, had to remove that and revert back to IE8 (and firefox) in order for it to work, otherwise the game would just not launch.

    Gameplay - excellent
    Storyline - a little rough in places but on the whole really good, cut scenes could have done with being shortened though.
    Graphics - A little 'sketchy' in places but overall good.

    Overall - A solid 8/10 from me, without its little flaws game alone would have easily been 9/10.
    Expand
  59. May 17, 2011
    8
    I don't get it why there's so many negative opinions about this game. I finished it twice and had a lot of fun doing it. Never had any problems with game stability or low fps. Sure there were few small bugs but in game such complex its nothing exceptional. Just because your pc is outdated doesn't mean game is bad.
  60. Aug 11, 2011
    8
    Its very long, which is a good thing in how it lasts a long time so you won't get bored, and a bad thing because you may buy another game halfway through completion then play that and forget about GTA. The game has many very fun and exciting missions.

    2 things I don't like: 1. there are too many characters, ( I don't know who half the people in my phone book are) 2. The missions are too
    Its very long, which is a good thing in how it lasts a long time so you won't get bored, and a bad thing because you may buy another game halfway through completion then play that and forget about GTA. The game has many very fun and exciting missions.

    2 things I don't like:

    1. there are too many characters, ( I don't know who half the people in my phone book are)
    2. The missions are too easy, like in the mission where you rescue roman, (around 27% through) you have to kill around 30 people in a warehouse over 4 floors. the enemies AI is really bad, (you can just walk right up to them and shoot them, and they won't shoot you).

    there are things I like about the game:

    1.The map is very big, which is a good thing, because in games like Vice City, the map was very small and game play felt restricted.
    2. The choice of cars, (my personal favourite is the Dodge charger or "Dukes" as it is known in the game.
    3. online mode is very fun but it is annoying when your trying to meet with a friend and some guy keeps killing you.

    worth the buy definitely
    Expand
  61. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    this game is like others gta but the graphics are too low which means is a little bad,sorry
  62. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    GTA IV is a fantastic game, with excellent fiction and a city that has its own character. I am on my second play through now in preparation for GTA V for the PC and it feels as fresh as it did 3 years ago. I must say that you really need a fast CPU to get good frame rates from this game... I upgraded from a Core2Quad to a Core i5 4670K recently and the game finally runs at 60fps usingGTA IV is a fantastic game, with excellent fiction and a city that has its own character. I am on my second play through now in preparation for GTA V for the PC and it feels as fresh as it did 3 years ago. I must say that you really need a fast CPU to get good frame rates from this game... I upgraded from a Core2Quad to a Core i5 4670K recently and the game finally runs at 60fps using the same video card... NVidia GTX 480. The game does NOT run better with a better video card. Expand
  63. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    I have not yet finished the game, but have been amused so far. Although I found vice city much more entertaining in comparison. However, my biggest issue is Microsoft LIVE getting in the way. I TRIED to just play single player, thinking I could avoid registering, but the first point I try to save the game, we get blackmailed into registering so we ca save the **** game. **** but I do it,I have not yet finished the game, but have been amused so far. Although I found vice city much more entertaining in comparison. However, my biggest issue is Microsoft LIVE getting in the way. I TRIED to just play single player, thinking I could avoid registering, but the first point I try to save the game, we get blackmailed into registering so we ca save the **** game. **** but I do it, because in the end i want to play. A day or two later, my game wont open because the microsoft LIVE software keeps crashing. So, **** that whole business arrangement. From now on, if I find out that microsoft live is associated with a game, I am going to download it illegally to avoid this crap. Thats how ganster I am. Expand
  64. Apr 27, 2013
    4
    It's GTA. Nothing terribly new, nothing terribly revolutionary. Not a bad sandbox setup but I expect more from a sequel and not just more of the same old, same old. Missions get pretty boring and repetitive. Gun play is so-so. Sadly this game is marred by not breaking from the herd enough and re-invigorating the series in light of Saints Row and Just Cause coming out and putting togetherIt's GTA. Nothing terribly new, nothing terribly revolutionary. Not a bad sandbox setup but I expect more from a sequel and not just more of the same old, same old. Missions get pretty boring and repetitive. Gun play is so-so. Sadly this game is marred by not breaking from the herd enough and re-invigorating the series in light of Saints Row and Just Cause coming out and putting together similar concepts. Oh, and yes, playing it on PC can be a mess depending on your hardware specs and that it is a half-cooked port. Expand
  65. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is, in my opinion, the best Grand Theft Auto game. While it is true that the vanilla game isn't as over-the-top as previous Grand Theft Auto titles, the modding community for this game is massive, and there are tons of mods that can turn the game into a fun sandbox experience rather than a gritty crime shooter. The multiplayer is also great fun, and offers a wide arrayGrand Theft Auto 4 is, in my opinion, the best Grand Theft Auto game. While it is true that the vanilla game isn't as over-the-top as previous Grand Theft Auto titles, the modding community for this game is massive, and there are tons of mods that can turn the game into a fun sandbox experience rather than a gritty crime shooter. The multiplayer is also great fun, and offers a wide array of gamemodes to keep you and your friends occupied for hours. My only complaint is that the game does require a reasonably high-end machine to run well on anything but the lowest settings, so I do not recommend this game for users with lower-end machines. Still, this is a great game with one of the best modding communities out there! Expand
  66. May 16, 2012
    7
    The critic score is an absolute joke. Yes GTA4 is technically a good game, the graphics on pc are excellent, the combat is good enough and the story is good, not great. The game though is boring, you drive to a destination you shoot 5 guys mission completed. Repeat for 12 hours. The vehicle handling is a joke and driving in rain is impossible not realistic at all. The combat is fun butThe critic score is an absolute joke. Yes GTA4 is technically a good game, the graphics on pc are excellent, the combat is good enough and the story is good, not great. The game though is boring, you drive to a destination you shoot 5 guys mission completed. Repeat for 12 hours. The vehicle handling is a joke and driving in rain is impossible not realistic at all. The combat is fun but turn off auto aim to give yourself a bit of a challenge. Nothing to unlock, at all. The weapons are boring, where's the chainsaw? Where's the fun elements of San Andreas? GTA5 should fix the mission variety, unlocks, vehicles, etc. and it will be epic. Expand
  67. Feb 27, 2013
    4
    The game was looking good at first, the graphics and textures are okay, although it's extremely laggy even if you have a PC much above the requirements, which I don't quite understand, so it does not work properly on computers. The cars are cool and the damage engine for them is great. Although there is some bugs with cars such as getting stuck or not seeing any sport cars which oftenThe game was looking good at first, the graphics and textures are okay, although it's extremely laggy even if you have a PC much above the requirements, which I don't quite understand, so it does not work properly on computers. The cars are cool and the damage engine for them is great. Although there is some bugs with cars such as getting stuck or not seeing any sport cars which often happens. The game is quite boring and the missions have no point and it's repetitive, I had no money in this game, then a mission where you rob a bank now I'm rich with nothing to do with the money? The only thing you can buy in this game is clothes and guns. This game is overrated. You are very limited on what you can do, there is no upgrades or level up systems, and it's extremely repetitive, the map is a decent size. The story is very bad, which is linear and repetitive and it's not interesting at all. I would not recommend this game. Expand
  68. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    i am making a new review as update for my review that i wrote in march.i said there is a problem that the game is slow,so i succeded to fix it and now i am doing a new review with an higher score.so here is the new review.
    gta iv is a masterpiece,it is one of the bests games i ever played.the cars are fast,the gameplay is great,the story is good.there is nothing to complaing
  69. May 25, 2013
    10
    I can't believe there are people complaining about how CPU and graphic intensive this game is. It's GTA IV. There's massive amounts of things going on. How does the fact that your PC is terrible, make this a bad game?

    Apart from all that, it had a very nice storyline, that usual GTA feel to it, loads of things going on, things to do etc. Lots of attention to detail. Great game. Enough said.
  70. Jan 7, 2013
    3
    Decent game but wayyyyyyy to many glitches. I find myself redoing missions over and over again because of getting stuck or some weird sh** going on, isn't why there is game tester before you release a game?? I mean seriously it's rockstar shouldn't they know how to flush out these bugs before hand...Also the graphics aren't that great the gun people look choppy I have a great graphics cardDecent game but wayyyyyyy to many glitches. I find myself redoing missions over and over again because of getting stuck or some weird sh** going on, isn't why there is game tester before you release a game?? I mean seriously it's rockstar shouldn't they know how to flush out these bugs before hand...Also the graphics aren't that great the gun people look choppy I have a great graphics card and all gtx 560... car's look good buildings look great as will, story line isn't bad it get real annoying when you gotta pick up your friends and do things with em so often get old... Expand
  71. Feb 2, 2013
    2
    First I had problems installing it, it had a bug in the installation proccess, I 've had to open a support thread. Only then after one month I was told that I was forced to install Microsoft Marketplace manually, I had to create two accounts. One "RockStar Club" and a Microsoft account. It found it very annoying.
    I expected more for this game. I found the controls too hard to grasp at
    First I had problems installing it, it had a bug in the installation proccess, I 've had to open a support thread. Only then after one month I was told that I was forced to install Microsoft Marketplace manually, I had to create two accounts. One "RockStar Club" and a Microsoft account. It found it very annoying.
    I expected more for this game. I found the controls too hard to grasp at first. The graphics is still very good. But I didn't have as much fun as I had with previous GTA. It is for sure a worst GTA. I'd say the experience was bad.
    Expand
  72. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    I love the GTA series but this was disappointing. I guess I should start playing Saint's Row if I want to have fun, and play this if I want... I don't know what it gives me.

    I'm going to finish it, but over half way in it is so dull, the story doesn't have the sense of fun as the others did. I always loved GTA for being a bit ridiculous, but still kind of realistic. They're made this
    I love the GTA series but this was disappointing. I guess I should start playing Saint's Row if I want to have fun, and play this if I want... I don't know what it gives me.

    I'm going to finish it, but over half way in it is so dull, the story doesn't have the sense of fun as the others did. I always loved GTA for being a bit ridiculous, but still kind of realistic. They're made this one too realistic.

    That being said I got it for $5 on Steam so I can't complain.
    Expand
  73. Oct 2, 2013
    5
    Compared to previous games in the series this one is kinda boring. Missions aren't that interesting and most characters are kinda annoying. I don't know something was missing, I guess it just wasn't that crazy as the previous ones (at least for me), and the fact someone keeps calling you on the phone all the time doesn't help.
  74. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Decent-ish PC port. My computer is lucky enough to run it, GFWL isn't screwing up for me or anything, but the missions are a bit boring, and the final mission is bugged. You MUST use a xbox controller or a framerate limiter to be able to do the QTE/Button mashing on the last level(s). Depending on either a deal or revenge. The one thing that the PC version makes up for is the replay editorDecent-ish PC port. My computer is lucky enough to run it, GFWL isn't screwing up for me or anything, but the missions are a bit boring, and the final mission is bugged. You MUST use a xbox controller or a framerate limiter to be able to do the QTE/Button mashing on the last level(s). Depending on either a deal or revenge. The one thing that the PC version makes up for is the replay editor and mods like Simple Native Trainer and LCPDFR. Expand
  75. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    The game of the century, such game will be made once in a century, best game ever, the best free roaming game ever, best gameplay, best graphics, best story and best physics.
  76. Jul 6, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Welcome to Liberty City, again, in High Definition this time. Right after the universally acclaimed and controversial release of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, in 2004, the guys from Rockstar North have been hard at work to bring us a new, different gaming experience. Four years later, we meet Niko Bellic in Liberty City, trying to get away from his dark past, and chase the "American Dream" along with his cousin, Roman.

    I remember when it was first released for the consoles, I was so excited about it that I have watched all of the gameplay missions on YouTube long before it was released for the PC, not owning a console. It's a pity that Rockstar North keeps neglecting their PC fans like that. GTA IV was released on the PC seven full months (and a few days) after the initial console release. Having it come out so late for the PC was definitely a disappointment for me, and dozens of thousands of other fans.

    Grand Theft Auto IV was a major turn in the GTA series. Two major improvements GTA IV brought to the table were new graphics and a brand-new kick-a** engine. At first glance, it seemed as if this game was complete as it was, without the need of a story or anything else at all, it seemed simply amazing, and so it was... at least for a while. Although the graphics and engine improved, the gameplay seemed a little too repetitive after a while, thus making it a little boring, at best.

    The story structure took a different approach from the one in GTA San Andreas: The player was no longer demanded to do this and that and be everybody's b*tch (don't get me wrong, I love GTA San Andreas' plot!), instead he was given more control over the game, that being proved by some critical decisions the player has to make, which all lead to different results.

    In GTA IV you play as Niko Bellic, a Yugoslavian man, in his mid-late 30's who came to Liberty City to chase the American Dream... and kill two guys who betrayed him while he was in the army. That's how to plot kicks off, following a series of twists and events in the search of the almighty dollar and the taste of the sweet revenge.

    Even though GTA IV has a pretty solid plot and activities like bowling, going to comedy clubs, visiting strip clubs, taking helicopter rides above LC, drinking, eating at restaurants and a few others, the gameplay is becoming obsolete after a certain amount of hours into the game. After finishing the main story, I was left looking for ways to get entertained, but shooting cops is not always fun and it became boring after a while doing the same thing over and over again having the same results.

    Every game in the GTA series is known for its great music catalog and GTA IV made no exception. Having a vast amount of radio stations, with hand-picked tracks, the music is great as expected. The sounds were also great. Voice acting was flawless, I was not disappointed for a second, great performance from everyone on the team.

    There are many other aspects of the game that I could talk about, but I'll just stop here as this is not a paid review, it's written almost 5 years after the release of the game and I'm not sure anyone will read this much anyway.

    I gave it a 7 out of 10 because of the delayed release on the PC, for the inevitable repetitive gameplay after a while, also for the lack of places to spend the big hard earned bucks.

    Conclusion: GTA IV truly stands out in the GTA series but it could have been even better. It dissapoints at certain points but it makes up on others. Let's hope GTA V will be a combination of San Andreas & IV in terms of gameplay/graphics/plot.
    Expand
  77. May 19, 2015
    7
    I really enjoy the game. Great story and gameplay. The physics are amazingly realistic and revolutionary at the time. For a game that was released almost 7 years ago, the graphics withstands the test of time. The graphics are still relevant to this day. Though the PC version has technical issues, I tried this game in Windows 8.1 and it couldn't run, but it works in Windows 7. GTA IV isI really enjoy the game. Great story and gameplay. The physics are amazingly realistic and revolutionary at the time. For a game that was released almost 7 years ago, the graphics withstands the test of time. The graphics are still relevant to this day. Though the PC version has technical issues, I tried this game in Windows 8.1 and it couldn't run, but it works in Windows 7. GTA IV is poorly optimized for PC. And then there's Games for Windows Live. The game 10/10, the PC version 7/10. Expand
  78. Aug 1, 2013
    6
    Le doy 6 porque tiene buenos graficos; pero la historia es un verdadero desastre. Nada emocionante como las anteriores versiones de GTA. Para pasar el rato.
  79. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    Maybe the console version is a great game, but (for me at least) the PC port is borderline unplayable. The controls are horrendous and the cars drive like greased bricks with an inexplicable tendency to flip over at the tiniest bump in the road. Your character moves like he's 300 lbs and fights like his arms are 2 inches long.
    Really what kills it for me is the control of the vehicles
    Maybe the console version is a great game, but (for me at least) the PC port is borderline unplayable. The controls are horrendous and the cars drive like greased bricks with an inexplicable tendency to flip over at the tiniest bump in the road. Your character moves like he's 300 lbs and fights like his arms are 2 inches long.
    Really what kills it for me is the control of the vehicles (or lack thereof). It's supposed to be a driving game, yet I'm pretty sure no one who developed (or ported) this game has ever driven a car. The cars barely turn at any speed unless you powerslide, at which point you will inevitably over-slide your turn and continue sliding until you hit something or do a complete 180. Also, all the cameras except the on-the-hood one lag behind the turns, making it impossible to see oncoming traffic or obstacles for a few seconds when you make a turn. Oh, and the cars flip over at the slightest hint of an elevation change.
    This may be unnecessarily critical, but one of the things that bothered me the most was the menus. The mouse moves abysmally slowly, even at the highest sensitivity. This is infuriating when setting the GPS: you have to painstakingly move the mouse to the region you want, but when you click, it recenters the mouse and you have to move it back to the spot again to set the GPS. I know this is nitpicking, but when your mouse moves at one pixel per hour, it worsens an already frustrating experience.
    All in all, I was extrememely disappointed with this game, and I don't see me giving it another chance, at least on PC.
    Expand
  80. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    This game should be recognised as one of the all time best games for the PC. The gameplay, the new features, mainly the graphics are all superb. Mind blowing storyline, that's all i can say. I mostly loved the three leaf clover mission which u do under Packie if i am not mistaken. That was the best ever GTA mission i've ever done. That was massive climax in the game.
  81. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    The radio is just the best soundtrack I ever heard. Main defaults: dumb police, disappearing cars and very very bad acrobatics. Otherwise, such a pleasure!
  82. Jun 24, 2015
    7
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is one of the many games in Rockstar's GTA series. But in ways, it is very different. And as you will find out from this review, different doesn't always mean better. In GTA 4, you play as immigrant Niko Belic, who just got off the boat from Eastern Europe. The story is by far the weakest in the series up to that point. Niko isn't that interesting of a character comparedGrand Theft Auto 4 is one of the many games in Rockstar's GTA series. But in ways, it is very different. And as you will find out from this review, different doesn't always mean better. In GTA 4, you play as immigrant Niko Belic, who just got off the boat from Eastern Europe. The story is by far the weakest in the series up to that point. Niko isn't that interesting of a character compared to Tommy Vercetti from Vice City or CJ from San Andreas. But the GTA series best parts aren't from the story. This game looked really good at the time it came out and by today's standards, its fine. Nothing to complain about graphically. The gameplay is the same GTA-style you have always known, just upgraded with cover shooter mechanics. It is done very well and probably the best part of the game. Liberty City itself is.. okay. A definite step down from the huge size of San Andreas. Overall, if you like Grand Theft Auto, buy it. But just know, GTA V is coming out soon and I already know that it is miles ahead this game. Expand
  83. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    I thought it was really fun and runs smooth but that's probably because I have a really good gaming pc. I don't usually play games that long because something new comes out and I switch games but this one seems to never run out of stuff to do. The graphics aren't amazing but this also released back in 2008. There is so much stuff to do in this game and if you mod it, it makes it evenI thought it was really fun and runs smooth but that's probably because I have a really good gaming pc. I don't usually play games that long because something new comes out and I switch games but this one seems to never run out of stuff to do. The graphics aren't amazing but this also released back in 2008. There is so much stuff to do in this game and if you mod it, it makes it even better. Most people reviewed it bad because they don't have a good gaming pc. Expand
  84. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    Absolutely amazing experience. The perfect amount of action, humor, and customization to make every gamer happy. Missions are kept interesting, the story is always kept interesting with lots of plot twists. The open world is large with plenty of vehicles and interaction with civilians and also hidden missions when you pass by certain ones. All of the characters have great personalities andAbsolutely amazing experience. The perfect amount of action, humor, and customization to make every gamer happy. Missions are kept interesting, the story is always kept interesting with lots of plot twists. The open world is large with plenty of vehicles and interaction with civilians and also hidden missions when you pass by certain ones. All of the characters have great personalities and make an amazing experience overall. Expand
  85. Jul 21, 2015
    6
    As a GTA fan, I was quite looking forward to playing this game. As I do not own any consoles, PC was my only way to play this, don't judge me.
    The PC version of this game has optimizations issues, but I can get over it. The only issue I expected was low framerate, which is really not a big deal for me. Graphics still look nice.
    Story of this game is great. You'll meet a lot of characters
    As a GTA fan, I was quite looking forward to playing this game. As I do not own any consoles, PC was my only way to play this, don't judge me.
    The PC version of this game has optimizations issues, but I can get over it. The only issue I expected was low framerate, which is really not a big deal for me. Graphics still look nice.
    Story of this game is great. You'll meet a lot of characters with different personalities and they are done pretty well.
    Gameplay is awesome. I really enjoy walking or driving around Liberty City with the well done physics, but, and that's the main problem, is probably the only thing I can enjoy in GTA IV. There is practically nothing to do apart from going on bowling, buying suits and very few and boring activities. GTA San Andreas is my most favorite game ever released and GTA IV, as a successor, is a huge dissapointment for me.
    6/10 - Could be MUCH better.
    Expand
  86. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    What can I say about this game ? Great graphics, gameplay, easy to shoot, great story, like Niko Bellic the most. But I'm kind of lazy to play this game.
  87. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    I currently run GTA IV on an older gaming rig and have no issues when running it at max settings, even with an ENBSeries mod. I have played through it many times and have found that I'm always finding new and exciting mods to use. There are currently 4,165 car mods on GTAinside.com alone, and that number grows all the time. I have only found one bug with the game, but I'm not allowing itI currently run GTA IV on an older gaming rig and have no issues when running it at max settings, even with an ENBSeries mod. I have played through it many times and have found that I'm always finding new and exciting mods to use. There are currently 4,165 car mods on GTAinside.com alone, and that number grows all the time. I have only found one bug with the game, but I'm not allowing it to tarnish my score, and that is due to the fact that the bug is entirely a third-party fault. The bug in question is the SMPA60 Unrecoverable Fault, which is caused when a mod maker does not update mesh deformation on a car model. This causes that game to crash at random times, often at checkpoints in missions. This also can lead to a corrupt save file, but can often be fixed by moving all saved cars out of their parking spaces. This bug has caused some trouble but I have no qualms with restarting my game and playing through the story again, as it is a well written, gritty, and dark story that manages to draw you in and not let you go. The humor is dark, the action intense, what more could you want? 10/10 Expand
  88. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    Gta IV : Comment dire ... Juste épic ,Super scénario avec des différents choix a faire . Gros point positive : Les Mods téléchargeable .... Amélioration graphique , nouveau véhicule ,nouvelle armes , possibilité d'incarner la police ...
  89. Jul 31, 2014
    9
    The PC version of Grand Theft Auto IV was pretty great, and it was easy for script modders to make their mods for this game. And what is the #1 reason why anyone would wait to get GTA on the computer? For mods of course, and Rockstar made it pretty easy for the modders to make their mods. Additionally, as for the Games for Windows Live, it was not a good choice to choose that, and it'sThe PC version of Grand Theft Auto IV was pretty great, and it was easy for script modders to make their mods for this game. And what is the #1 reason why anyone would wait to get GTA on the computer? For mods of course, and Rockstar made it pretty easy for the modders to make their mods. Additionally, as for the Games for Windows Live, it was not a good choice to choose that, and it's annoying to have to make an account on GWFL and Rockstar (and maybe Steam), but Bethesda Softworks did the same with Fallout 3, and I see less hate going towards them over that decision than Rockstar. Finally, I would like to say, this game although a bit of hassle, is totally worth it with all of the mods you can add to it, get this game while we wait for GTA V on the PC. Expand
  90. Sep 5, 2014
    9
    I think all in all Grand Theft Auto IV is nearly a perfect game. The graphics are nearly amazing, so Liberty City appears alive. Indeed, the world is not as big as in GTA San Andreas, but in GTA IV it is rich in detail. There are interesting characters and different activities to do besides the story-missions. The only thing I am criticizing is that a short time the story-missions alwaysI think all in all Grand Theft Auto IV is nearly a perfect game. The graphics are nearly amazing, so Liberty City appears alive. Indeed, the world is not as big as in GTA San Andreas, but in GTA IV it is rich in detail. There are interesting characters and different activities to do besides the story-missions. The only thing I am criticizing is that a short time the story-missions always have the same process. But the story at all ist very good, too. Even because it conveys in some extend that violence is not (always) a way to solve problems - even in a game like GTA. Expand
  91. Sep 9, 2014
    8
    rockstar did a major screw up with the PC port but it got "kinda" patched. New engine opened new modding opportunities. Bad voice acting. Niko's serbian sounds like some douchebag from the us trying to fit in in a group of slavs. Giving the player choices was a bad idea imo. GTA has a fixed storyline and it should remain that way. i dont get the hate though. Shooting and driving wasrockstar did a major screw up with the PC port but it got "kinda" patched. New engine opened new modding opportunities. Bad voice acting. Niko's serbian sounds like some douchebag from the us trying to fit in in a group of slavs. Giving the player choices was a bad idea imo. GTA has a fixed storyline and it should remain that way. i dont get the hate though. Shooting and driving was better than GTA V. Expand
  92. Jul 5, 2015
    2
    not sure about the game, but if you want to play, you have to spend at least an hour getting behind some drm crap, creating microsoft live profile, rockstar games profile, restart the game 5 times, authentize mail and so on. definetely not recommended to anyone who just want to play.
  93. Nov 23, 2014
    0
    OK, seriously, WTF. I'm not even going to write a review on this. When I downloaded this from Steam it really sucked. The graphics were so terrible. Try harder Rockstar.
  94. Jan 6, 2015
    6
    One of the most overrated games of all time. The map is smaller than usual, your cousin keeps annoying you every 5 seconds for bowling, and the graphics are sub-par on the PC. I don't usually complain about the graphics unless the game-play is executed well....And it's kind of executed well. First of all, escaping from the cops is too easy! If you hide from them for 30 seconds, you are inOne of the most overrated games of all time. The map is smaller than usual, your cousin keeps annoying you every 5 seconds for bowling, and the graphics are sub-par on the PC. I don't usually complain about the graphics unless the game-play is executed well....And it's kind of executed well. First of all, escaping from the cops is too easy! If you hide from them for 30 seconds, you are in the clear. Also, the story is decent but not good enough. But, there are good aspects of this game, too. The car has a great damage effect when you ram into a wall and seems slightly more exaggerated than previous GTA games. I like that because sometimes I like to wreck my car for fun. Also, the underground subway is surprisingly extensive and large and is the site of the fabled Rat Man. Although proven fake, it is still awesome to go down there and relive the nostalgia of the Rat Man. Sometimes, even, I role-play and pretend I'm seeking out the Rat Man. The subway is easily the most interesting part of the map to me. Overall, GTA IV is a decent game, it was a huge misfire from Rockstar that wasn't as good as the previous games. 6/10 (OK) Expand
  95. Nov 21, 2016
    10
    Liberty City is better than ever, The detailed graphics made the Liberty City of the previous games brought life to it. The characters and story are well-done. But at the same time weird for a Grand Theft Auto Game.

    Grand Theft Auto 4 is one of my favourite and one of the best Grand Theft Auto game I've ever played. The characters are detailed and interesting. Niko Bellic is a
    Liberty City is better than ever, The detailed graphics made the Liberty City of the previous games brought life to it. The characters and story are well-done. But at the same time weird for a Grand Theft Auto Game.

    Grand Theft Auto 4 is one of my favourite and one of the best Grand Theft Auto game I've ever played. The characters are detailed and interesting. Niko Bellic is a well-written video game character, he is given character development throughout the game, Roman Bellic, Niko's cousin is lovable and loves bowling and their relationship as cousins are well presented.The Characters are given time to develop and given the fact it focuses on the story more than the customisation and has smaller maps than it's previous game San Andreas, Grand Theft Auto 4 still improves from it.The missions are repetitive in earlier parts but because of the story I don't really notice it. The story is where Grand Theft Auto 4 shines it is the most detailed story in any grand theft auto game, it is realistic and dark .

    The game might have smaller map, less vehicles and less customisation but because of the serious tone, well written characters and deeper story line made this game great and it is one of Rock Star's best Games.
    Expand
  96. Mar 31, 2015
    5
    First off, this doesn't feel like a pc game. Maybe it's fine if you play it with a controller. Either way, I don't like it when during gameplay, at an exciting moment in the plot, suddenly there's this line "Press S" or "Tap R". It completely kills immersion for me. I think this one is a victim of the popularity of console gaming in design. On top of that it was a bad port.

    Apart from
    First off, this doesn't feel like a pc game. Maybe it's fine if you play it with a controller. Either way, I don't like it when during gameplay, at an exciting moment in the plot, suddenly there's this line "Press S" or "Tap R". It completely kills immersion for me. I think this one is a victim of the popularity of console gaming in design. On top of that it was a bad port.

    Apart from that the story didn't really compell me. It was not terrible, but mediocre at best. For me this is the least interesting GTA so far. I guess some people like it, but for me it lacks the magic of GTA 1, 2, 3, Vice City or even San Andreas. I quit playing after 4-5 hours.
    Expand
  97. Jun 28, 2015
    5
    Man I've went through hell and back trying to run this game on various PC models of mines. I upgraded from a GT 640 to a GTX 750Ti and that's probably the only reason I can run the game smoothly. The annoying patches and save deletes I have went through as well as launch issues overtime and just GOD AWFUL optimization where regardless of what rig you have everything cannot be ran at ultraMan I've went through hell and back trying to run this game on various PC models of mines. I upgraded from a GT 640 to a GTX 750Ti and that's probably the only reason I can run the game smoothly. The annoying patches and save deletes I have went through as well as launch issues overtime and just GOD AWFUL optimization where regardless of what rig you have everything cannot be ran at ultra high because then just a crap load of other sh*t will happen. Just like 5 that released without mods It would be a weaker score and try buying this game today and man you will have trouble even being able to launch the game. Expand
  98. Jun 30, 2015
    0
    Year 2015. Installed my copy from steam after 5 years of having uninstalled it.
    Gtx 780 TI + i7 2600k, that is my config. And still, i'm getting unacceptable framerate, bugs everywhere, and stupid Social Club pesting while i try to play.
    What the hell is wrong with this game??? It's been YEARS, literally, and none of the patches released by rockstar is able to fix the crappy performance.
    Year 2015. Installed my copy from steam after 5 years of having uninstalled it.
    Gtx 780 TI + i7 2600k, that is my config. And still, i'm getting unacceptable framerate, bugs everywhere, and stupid Social Club pesting while i try to play.
    What the hell is wrong with this game??? It's been YEARS, literally, and none of the patches released by rockstar is able to fix the crappy performance. And this is not just on PC. I also got it as a gift for my ps3, and the performance is the same s**t.
    Shame on you, rockstar. I promised myself not to buy another game from you, and i will keep staying away from them.
    Expand
  99. Nov 19, 2015
    0
    Its a bad game with bad storyline, bad handling, bad city and bad optymalisation. Every aspect in this game is bad. And its not even have any feel of climate like Vice City or even the San Andreas.
  100. Dec 27, 2015
    0
    i want to say 2 things.                                                                                                                                                         
                                       
    awful port and bugs are everywhere
    i want to say 2 things.                                                                                                                                                         
                                       
    awful port and bugs are everywhere
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. PC Gamer UK
    92
    It's the peripheral distractions of both going out with Roman, and meeting your girlfriends, that really make your virtual life so worth living. Although incredibly simplistic, they're oddly touching...One of the finest videogames ever. [Christmas 2008, p.87]
  2. PC Format
    89
    The most grown-up GTA and the best realised, but it doesn't respect the PC much. Enjoy the multiplayer madness if you can. [Christmas 2008, p.96]
  3. A genuinely ground-breaking blockbuster in videogame history. There were moments playing GTA IV that I thought back to my initial experiences with games, and realised exactly how far we've come. There's never been anything quite like GTA IV in the world. That there makes me genuinely happy to be a gamer.