User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1368 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WesM
    Feb 6, 2008
    0
    This game sucked major. The graphics were something to be desired and there were too many glitches/bugs. As for the story line, IT WAS POINTLESS! And the dialog, wtf with that!? Who calls their mother "moms" all the time, and what kind of black trash would be lowlife enough to call their own kind a "nigger"? This game fails hard.
  2. HougM.
    Nov 3, 2007
    2
    The story, the overall composition and many details would make this game a masterpiece...if the steering and viewpoint issues would ruin everything! The cars behave ok, only the lagging viewpoint behavior lets you run over everything. But the planes, which become a crucial thing on several missions make the whole game a disaster. They are so uncontrollable, they annoy you like hell to the The story, the overall composition and many details would make this game a masterpiece...if the steering and viewpoint issues would ruin everything! The cars behave ok, only the lagging viewpoint behavior lets you run over everything. But the planes, which become a crucial thing on several missions make the whole game a disaster. They are so uncontrollable, they annoy you like hell to the point where you don't want to play on. GTA:SA is just one more example of a game ported absolutely care- and loveless to the PC, lurking the bucks out of those PC jerks for nothing. Expand
  3. MorganL.
    Jan 28, 2008
    2
    This game is a poor translation of a console game. The graphics are ugly, the controls and physics are worse and the camera is blare witch mess. The mini games are just button mashing exercises while the camera points everywhere except the direction you are going. Not that you are missing much; the graphics are washed out and sparse. Unlike other GTA titles the hoods' lack any This game is a poor translation of a console game. The graphics are ugly, the controls and physics are worse and the camera is blare witch mess. The mini games are just button mashing exercises while the camera points everywhere except the direction you are going. Not that you are missing much; the graphics are washed out and sparse. Unlike other GTA titles the hoods' lack any personality or flavor.. Skip this one until the next real PC version of the GTA franchise comes out. Expand
  4. Andy
    Jul 13, 2005
    4
    This game is much, much worse than it's predecesessor, Vice City. The graphics are below average, if not ugly compared to other new PC games. This was something I knew to expect, because PS2 is a pocket calculator compared to a up to date high end PC. The drawing distance is good, but the buildings and characters look very bad. -2 points. The other frustrating thing are the controls This game is much, much worse than it's predecesessor, Vice City. The graphics are below average, if not ugly compared to other new PC games. This was something I knew to expect, because PS2 is a pocket calculator compared to a up to date high end PC. The drawing distance is good, but the buildings and characters look very bad. -2 points. The other frustrating thing are the controls on PC. I do have a joypad, and still they suck big time. Even when I'm using the joypad, the game expects, that I *simultaneously* use a mouse AND a keyboard. Don't the developers know, that a human being has only two (2) hands. Doing the most difficult tricks with the PC is a bad joke. - 2 points And then there's there are the camera views, which are very sloppy work. -1 points. Music is much more worse than in Vice City. -1 points. The Gangster theme compared to Vice City's Miami Vice / Scarface theme is lame and boring. The plot, btw. is a illogocal mess ridden with boring cliches. -1 points. The good parts? There's much to play and explore. The area is huge. The sub missions are fun. TOTAL: 4 points Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    Rockstar games are anything but rock stars. All their games are really bad, especially the gta games before and after Gta 3, their only good game. This game, Gta:SA, has terrible graphics, lame cut sequences, idiotic missions with vague instructions, many of which are made impossible by the game. Eg, park the car, you start to park the car and some other car comes up behind you and won'tRockstar games are anything but rock stars. All their games are really bad, especially the gta games before and after Gta 3, their only good game. This game, Gta:SA, has terrible graphics, lame cut sequences, idiotic missions with vague instructions, many of which are made impossible by the game. Eg, park the car, you start to park the car and some other car comes up behind you and won't move back and many other such complications. The cars are extremely bad as they are bad to look at and take damage very easily unless you move them very slowly. In game driving is terrible unless its a cycle. I am only writing this review because I am very upset that a bad game like this has a metascore of 94 from the so called critics. It deserves barely 54. Expand
  6. XakepUebitsche
    Sep 11, 2005
    0
    Rockstar really let us down on this one. Learn how to test your games boys. The tech support is the worst ever for any game. Seems they think console kiddies to be more important than us true PC gamers. That's the last time I deal with rockstar. Just check google for PC problems and look at their website. It seems on google everyone has porblems and the company website is onlyRockstar really let us down on this one. Learn how to test your games boys. The tech support is the worst ever for any game. Seems they think console kiddies to be more important than us true PC gamers. That's the last time I deal with rockstar. Just check google for PC problems and look at their website. It seems on google everyone has porblems and the company website is only conserned with alittle nude scene some old soccer mom's got #@%@ over. Thanks alot Rockstar your "Hottest game" let us ALL down. Expand
  7. OldGenX'er
    Feb 10, 2006
    2
    V 2.0 for PC. Totally sucks. Non-moddable? I want my freaking money back! Game requires you do some crap moves on a computer that I see in my 10 year old daughter's PS2 games! Ummm... Earth to Rockstar... Adults don't like doing repetitive motion exercises... too much like work. it's rated mature, but has crap like this? The developers transferred this from a console game V 2.0 for PC. Totally sucks. Non-moddable? I want my freaking money back! Game requires you do some crap moves on a computer that I see in my 10 year old daughter's PS2 games! Ummm... Earth to Rockstar... Adults don't like doing repetitive motion exercises... too much like work. it's rated mature, but has crap like this? The developers transferred this from a console game to a PC game apparently without any knowledge of PC gaming. Removing the "Hot Coffee" scenes: fine with me, couldn't care less. Removing the girlfriends altogether would have been more realistic. If I was the protaganist in GTA:SA and Denise mouthed off to me, it would be entirely within character to give her a Molotov rather than flowers. But making it non-moddable unforgiveable with a PC game. Half of the fun of PC gaming is modding them or playing other people's mods. I mean, Rockstar doesn't exactly employ geniuses when it comes to the actual story writing. This wasn't even worth the reduced $15 price tag with all the bugs (patch released for fixes doesn't work for V.2, but the patch fixes those bugs - just plain stupid Release Management). Gave it a 2 just because I like running people over on sidewalks after driving home from work. Expand
  8. SusSStaiN
    Jul 19, 2005
    2
    How can a game be called Grand Theft Auto when there is no wheel support for PC. For a game that has lots of driving involved, I can't believe Rockstar didn't have the competancy to include support for a wheel. Anyone who thought they might be hooning around the streets, "Driving" their car, will be severly dissapointed with this lame offering.
  9. PalliN.
    Jul 5, 2005
    3
    Poor programming, awful graphics, awful controls, awful camera, bad theme. This is pretty mediocre release in every way, graphics are like "welcome to 5 years ago" and did the developers even try the pc-controls? Or were they blindfolded while making the lazyass camera? And well, the whole hiphop-theme of the game is just awful idea after brilliant 80's scarface ripoff. Main Poor programming, awful graphics, awful controls, awful camera, bad theme. This is pretty mediocre release in every way, graphics are like "welcome to 5 years ago" and did the developers even try the pc-controls? Or were they blindfolded while making the lazyass camera? And well, the whole hiphop-theme of the game is just awful idea after brilliant 80's scarface ripoff. Main character is just so.. Boring? Hopefully this is the last one of the series (Vice City should've been), time to move on. Still, Not a zeropointer this time, but close. Expand
  10. CM
    Mar 19, 2006
    1
    This game sucks. I have a top end machine, latest drivers, no probs with any other games, and this one reboots at random. Not to mention crap graphics, lame controls, and what is with the stupid bicycle mission????? Whoever gave this a high rating must be employed by rockstar and is kissing ass because for a pc this game is pure crap. Waste of $20 bucks, I'll be going back andThis game sucks. I have a top end machine, latest drivers, no probs with any other games, and this one reboots at random. Not to mention crap graphics, lame controls, and what is with the stupid bicycle mission????? Whoever gave this a high rating must be employed by rockstar and is kissing ass because for a pc this game is pure crap. Waste of $20 bucks, I'll be going back and buying a copy of Vice City for $10 at least it was fun enough to play a second time. Expand
  11. DanteG.
    Feb 10, 2007
    2
    Horrible graphics, lazy camera. A complete disaster in game design and control. The PS2 version is a million times greater.
  12. ScottW.
    Feb 26, 2007
    1
    Pathetic oh Pathetic it is absolutely rubbish. The graphics and physics are apauling! They are making a Grand theft auto VI on 360 so I hope they make this one the best yet.
  13. SamW.
    Jun 22, 2005
    4
    Disagree with the majority here, i think it's a poor piece of 3d programming. bad points: texture corruption, very difficult control system and poor graphical quality compared to other games. I am very disppointed with this product.
  14. VitoL.
    Jul 12, 2005
    4
    Fun, but the missions just get me frustrated, It seems like they add stuff just to mess you up over and over... Also, in some missions, like the driving class to learn car moves, some of them are almost impossible with the settings I have, I try to change my settings, and something always makes it too hard, for exm... On the move I am on now, you have too use the LeftMouseButton to back Fun, but the missions just get me frustrated, It seems like they add stuff just to mess you up over and over... Also, in some missions, like the driving class to learn car moves, some of them are almost impossible with the settings I have, I try to change my settings, and something always makes it too hard, for exm... On the move I am on now, you have too use the LeftMouseButton to back up, hold Q and E down at the same time to look behind you, then the LEFT key to turn, then the UP to stop reversing and the again to drive forward, all in 5 seconds. It is just flat out irritating, also some of those same missions the car views keep me from seeing the cones and I always hit them. And the graphics, though it does have a high setting, I have to keep it on low draw distance and low graphics for it not to lag, and I have a new pc. Expand
  15. Bloopy
    Jul 4, 2005
    1
    The controls suck in this game, very hard to move.
  16. MandaP.
    Sep 11, 2005
    0
    Rockstar has forsaken the PC users!
  17. Danielle
    Jun 22, 2006
    2
    the controls are crap and the screen jumps and its not very clear, this shud ov been made much betta i want my money back.
  18. CoryFarmer
    Aug 2, 2006
    0
    I want my $20 dollers back.
  19. DaveW.
    Feb 25, 2006
    0
    second edition is non moddable not even worth playing.
  20. Sep 24, 2014
    0
    It not working in window 8. Why help me.... .....................................................................pls i need in window 8. How i cam do it tel me
  21. Mar 2, 2015
    3
    Nice work, Rockstar. After your last HD pack, you ruined the game forever. Not to mention that many fantastic songs were cut out of the game making this experience even less enjoyable now. I don't think anyone should buy this game now.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Kudos to Rockstar for actually including gamepad support for the PC!!
  2. It will surely take up hundreds of hours to even the most casual of gamers.
  3. It is the perfect crime game.