Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1911 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Five years ago Carl Johnson escaped from the pressures of life in Los Santos, San Andreas... a city tearing itself apart with gang trouble, drugs and corruption. Where filmstars and millionaires do their best to avoid the dealers and gangbangers. Now, it's the early 90s. Carl's got to goFive years ago Carl Johnson escaped from the pressures of life in Los Santos, San Andreas... a city tearing itself apart with gang trouble, drugs and corruption. Where filmstars and millionaires do their best to avoid the dealers and gangbangers. Now, it's the early 90s. Carl's got to go home. His mother has been murdered, his family has fallen apart and his childhood friends are all heading towards disaster. On his return to the neighborhood, a couple of corrupt cops frame him for homicide. CJ is forced on a journey that takes him across the entire state of San Andreas, to save his family and to take control of the streets. [Rockstar] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. PC owners definitely will fare better than their Xbox counterparts in this particular gang war.
  2. Computer Games Magazine
    100
    The soundtrack is inspired, with a heavy emphasis on late-'8s/early '90s rap and alternative rock. [Sept 2005, p.50]
  3. More cars, bikes, planes, helicopters and boats (and even a hovercraft) then any previous GTA title plus the sheer size and longevity of San Andreas mean this just has be a part of any self respecting gamers collection.
  4. There's a mind-boggling amount of stuff to do.
  5. 90
    By far the biggest game in the series. Gamers who aren't turned off by the nefarious and illegal activities will find this to be one of the most engrossing games ever produced.
  6. A game with atmosphere and style, and should keep anyone busy for months.
  7. I honestly cannot give Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas a decent score in good conscience just because this could have easily been so much better as a PC title Let’s hope some patches roll around quickly to resolve the worst of the damage.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 219
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Say hello to one of the best games ever made. Graphics are offcourse not very good, but this game is quiet old. The gameplay is amazing, plusSay hello to one of the best games ever made. Graphics are offcourse not very good, but this game is quiet old. The gameplay is amazing, plus the fact that there are so manny cheats, which i love :3
    The story is probably the best. I havent skipped a single cutscene trough out the entire game. It made me **** in excitement to know what the next thing to do was. But it was a little bit repetitive sometimes i thought. The sound is veeeeeery good. The soundtracks from the radios fit prefectly. The voice acting is great and the sound from ALL the different veichels are awesome. Actually, what made this game for me was all the veichels i could drive, anything from different types of planes to helicopters, tanks, dirt bikes, bulldozer and bmx.

    ROCKSTAR ROCKS
    Expand
  2. May 30, 2015
    10
    What can I say? It is definitely the best sandbox game of its kind ever made. It was a milestone not to be reached again. Great and deepWhat can I say? It is definitely the best sandbox game of its kind ever made. It was a milestone not to be reached again. Great and deep story about gang war, perseverance and police corruption based on the 1992 LA riots. Great map design, which make you feel it being even larger than V's map (in reality it is even smaller than half of V's map), because of its rich content and landscape. If you want to explore everything in the game you have to spend at least 400 hours.
    This game has perfect vision (GTA is about serious matter but presented in a funny and humorous way), perfect setting (cheap LA ghetto set in 1992, gangsters, graffiti everywhere) and perfect execution (story, map design, gameplay, content...). Rockstar lost its vision after this game, going for graphics, cutscenes and shallow stories instead, which is NOT GTA in my opinion. Every time I play a new GTA game I feel disappointed and keep going back to SA.
    Expand
  3. smc
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    SO many things in this game are well worth playing. So what if you can't mod it, any intelligent PC gamer would know that when you mod SO many things in this game are well worth playing. So what if you can't mod it, any intelligent PC gamer would know that when you mod someone elses work it is infringing on their rights to sell a unique product. Then again many people just dont care about Rockstar and their goal of making a profit. If it wasnt for the good gamers you wouldn't have a game to play. I am not sure where most people are coming from when they play the game. Driving is really easy and flying the planes is possibly the easiest thing I have ever done. Don't be so quick to blame Rockstar for the issues that you have. If you cant fly then dont fly. Overall i love the game tremendously. Much more in-depth missions and just when you think you are doing good they throw a twist at you, which I like. The missions may be straight forward, but they can be hard to complete which makes it a good game because you just have to beat that mission! No problems whatsoever in playing the game, except that the sound has crashed and I can't get it fixed and there is no patch for it but thats ok because honestly when flying the hydra or the at-400 it can get pretty loud. All in all anyone who has a problem with the game is probably just venting because of their computer systems inability to handle the game since it does use a lot more memory than previous versions did. Well that's my take on it. Completely awesome and love playing it Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    This game left in me for most of my memories of games played. I am grateful to Rockstar's such a great game console 3 is released.
    The
    This game left in me for most of my memories of games played. I am grateful to Rockstar's such a great game console 3 is released.
    The missions are imaginative and enjoyable, and there is no greater experience in bicycle racing down the streets of Los Santos. The game is a lot of vehicles, characters. The side missions fun time with a weary day. It is no coincidence that several times I played through this game.
    The only negative thing I can bring up the helicopter, or even 1-2 vehicle control.
    Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    """Some fixes for the PC version; frame rate limiter must be used for the traffic school and diving under water. Unsure why but turning that"""Some fixes for the PC version; frame rate limiter must be used for the traffic school and diving under water. Unsure why but turning that on lets you do these things. Steam forums is a good place to go for more fixes. Mouse sensitivity is a problem for some, I use a microsoft X5 mouse with adjustable dpi settings. This dpi setting changes is a must."""" Purchased for PC in Nov. 2011. The best part of this game is the story. It is smart and the characters don't 'seem' unrealistic meaning they obey what their characters are supposed to do. The map is HUGE and has many different environments. There are many missions to do and is for some reason you finished them too quickely theree are tons of extras to accomplish. The keyboard controls are remappable with limitations. You cannot adjust for driving and flying seprately. I find that San Andreas a great evolution from the 2 previous titles and GTA3 and Vice City were both excellant games. I find San Andreas more replayable though. The total variety of 'stuff' to do is fun if you wanna burn some free time with nonsense.

    PC vs PS2: Being released in 2005 and made to run on the ps2 the graphics are dated. That being said on any modern computer, running the graphics on maximum, it is a night and day difference to play visually. It is actually pleasent to view the game now. The draw distance is incrased the the resolution is drastically better. Although there are no story line differences between pc and ps2 there is the ability to mod the game (personally unverified for V3.00). Playing on the keyboard is ok but the real plus for me is the free look with the mouse. In the ps2 one had to use the mini joystick to do free look and it was only ok. Although the flight controls are far worse on the computer.

    I highly rate this game but took a point off for the controls. Although only manageable at first, after a few hours of game play I found most of the controls to be second nature.
    Expand
  6. Groundfisher
    Aug 7, 2005
    8
    The missions are too similar to previous GTA games, i.e. drive from A to B, kill someone and drive back to A. Or kill someone and drive back The missions are too similar to previous GTA games, i.e. drive from A to B, kill someone and drive back to A. Or kill someone and drive back to A while some people chase you. Or while the cops chase you. Or before time runs out. The side missions are the same. Whether it's collecting secret packages, spraying 'tags', taking photos or collecting horse-shoes, IT'S ALL THE SAME. Delivering pizzas, passengers, prostitutes or couriering, IT'S ALL THE SAME. Sure, it's fun but no where near as fun as it was the first time you did it in GTA 3 or Vice City. Probably the only differing missions are the flying missions and there's not much variety there, either. For such an open-ended game, the missions are so unimaginative, repetitive, and SHORT. The theme of L.A. street gangs is the worst yet. That's partly because the scope of your typical street gang is too small and offers no real possibly for character development/evolution. And partly because you sense it's aimed at satisfying those who go puppy-eyed when they see Tupac on TV and who romanticise petty crime. With such a theme, the music is predictably the worst of any 3D GTA game. The sheer size of the game world is impressive at first, but not when you realise that so much of it is dead space and offers severely limited interactivity. I'd prefer a world the size of Vice-city with maximum interactivity than a larger world with great pockets of useless space. The graphics are poor. The inclusion of girlfriends is totally pathetic and surely can't interest anyone over the age of 13. I'm a millionaire who takes an unattractive girl to a fastfood restaurant for dinner? What the hell is that? A relationship? There are some neat improvements such as customising cars and a pay'n'spray that eliminates any wanted level, not just the first two wanted levels. Driving schools and flying schools are great optional activities in which to hone skills. There's so much more to say but, in short, Rockstar have to re-conceive of GTA, re-plan missions (don't make them so straight-forward and short) and get rid of all the cutesy-poo girlfriend nonsense and disco dancing. Vice City was captured so perfectly. There is so much to lampoon both in and out of popular culture when it comes to L.A. streetgangs, yet Rockstar panders to it instead of treating it as it treated Vice City. Since GTA is so popular in Japan, it would great if the next GTA was set there because it so nicely opens up the possibility of again humourously reflecting upon popular culture while unleashing total carnage. Oh yeah, bring back the RAMPAGES! The best repetitive side-missions! Expand
  7. MandaP.
    Sep 11, 2005
    0
    Rockstar has forsaken the PC users!

See all 219 User Reviews