Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1230 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Five years ago Carl Johnson escaped from the pressures of life in Los Santos, San Andreas... a city tearing itself apart with gang trouble, drugs and corruption. Where filmstars and millionaires do their best to avoid the dealers and gangbangers. Now, it's the early 90s. Carl's got to go home. His mother has been murdered, his family has fallen apart and his childhood friends are all heading towards disaster. On his return to the neighborhood, a couple of corrupt cops frame him for homicide. CJ is forced on a journey that takes him across the entire state of San Andreas, to save his family and to take control of the streets. [Rockstar] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. What does make it great is that it actually delivers on nearly everything it promises while still being fun to just pick up and play.
  2. Sure, the instant replay feature was left out, but this is a mostly untouched Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, one of the best games ever made, and now a version of it can be played on the PC with the best controls and graphics available.
  3. It will surely take up hundreds of hours to even the most casual of gamers.
  4. A jack of all trades and a master of some - San Andreas tries astonishingly hard to let you do anything. And so long as you don't crave any meaningful character interaction outside of mow down with a monster truck first, ask questions later, it very nearly manages to pull it off, too. [Aug 2005, p.88]
  5. Casting morality aside for one moment, GTA: SA is a glorious thrilling ride of delinquency. It offers just enough freedom, and more than enough violence, to make for a truly epic game.
  6. The standout feature of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is the expected graphical superiority over its console counterparts. But for the audiophiles, the ability to design and play your own custom radio station is a feature every game needs to have from this point forward, end of story. DEMAND IT!
  7. I honestly cannot give Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas a decent score in good conscience just because this could have easily been so much better as a PC title Let’s hope some patches roll around quickly to resolve the worst of the damage.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 176
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Say hello to one of the best games ever made. Graphics are offcourse not very good, but this game is quiet old. The gameplay is amazing, plus the fact that there are so manny cheats, which i love :3
    The story is probably the best. I havent skipped a single cutscene trough out the entire game. It made me **** in excitement to know what the next thing to do was. But it was a little bit repetitive sometimes i thought. The sound is veeeeeery good. The soundtracks from the radios fit prefectly. The voice acting is great and the sound from ALL the different veichels are awesome. Actually, what made this game for me was all the veichels i could drive, anything from different types of planes to helicopters, tanks, dirt bikes, bulldozer and bmx.

    ROCKSTAR ROCKS
    Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! The gameplay is great and so is the story. It has fun optional minigames like paramedic and firefighter missions and the car handling is excellent. This game is an absolute must buy for anyone who likes any GTA game. Expand
  3. smc
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    SO many things in this game are well worth playing. So what if you can't mod it, any intelligent PC gamer would know that when you mod someone elses work it is infringing on their rights to sell a unique product. Then again many people just dont care about Rockstar and their goal of making a profit. If it wasnt for the good gamers you wouldn't have a game to play. I am not sure where most people are coming from when they play the game. Driving is really easy and flying the planes is possibly the easiest thing I have ever done. Don't be so quick to blame Rockstar for the issues that you have. If you cant fly then dont fly. Overall i love the game tremendously. Much more in-depth missions and just when you think you are doing good they throw a twist at you, which I like. The missions may be straight forward, but they can be hard to complete which makes it a good game because you just have to beat that mission! No problems whatsoever in playing the game, except that the sound has crashed and I can't get it fixed and there is no patch for it but thats ok because honestly when flying the hydra or the at-400 it can get pretty loud. All in all anyone who has a problem with the game is probably just venting because of their computer systems inability to handle the game since it does use a lot more memory than previous versions did. Well that's my take on it. Completely awesome and love playing it Expand
  4. AzarA
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    While not as good as the original 3D GTA (GTAIII), this is the second best game in the GTA franchise. A really fun game to play which doesn't get repetitive even with it's huge gameworld. Despite what others say, the story is remarkable and clings you all the way. Every aspect of the game is good. Expand
  5. JamieS.
    Jun 10, 2005
    9
    This is a great game. I have the ps2 version, but I got the pc version so I could see it on a monitor. There is a MUCH greater draw distance and the textures are sharper. It's great fun to just go driving and see hills in the distance, even condos on the hills! It can be breathtaking at times. You really feel like you're driving around a real city; there's a range and diversity to the terrain that you just don't get from imagined environments. The only negative point is the scripting and AI. This was a problem I didn't notice on the PS2, but on the PC, they stumble around like clowns. Cops in cars will make u-turns, fail to turn tightly enough, and kill other cops by squashing them against a wall. (I picked up a free baton and a gun this way!) Other drivers will sometimes bizarrely turn off a straight road for no apparent reason and smash into a wall. I saw one guy drive over a dock - his car plunged into the water, and he died. The people will walk into each other and get stuck, hilariously calling each other "fool" while they mill around unable to get out of each other's way (This happened with the gangs). It's a shame..graphically, you really feel like you're exploring San Andreas but when things like that happen suddenly it's just a game again. Also character models are repeated WAAAAAY too often. You can often see as many as five identical clones within viewing distance - five short skirted hookers, or half naked strutting men, or whatever. Once again it detracts from the experience reminding you it's just a game. But overall these were minor flaws, in the main, it's a great experience, I even had my GF watching over my shoulder because she wanted to see what the US looked like ....she was a little shocked by the language. :-) Expand
  6. Angus
    Oct 3, 2006
    8
    Superbly detailed mapping excuses, though not completely the use of the same engine as vice city. The game is huge, and with incredible attention to detail: every hidden cranny, and even people on the sidewalk have their own unique quirk to add to the game. the central storyline is compelling and well scripted and voice acted. That said missions occasionally borderd on absurdly difficult requiring stupefying and frustratingly large numbers of attempts to perfect. Controls were different, but with time easily mastered. Main real criticism is engine which was clearly outdated. On standard details character models during cutscenes looked indistinguishable from those of GTA3, and were clunky and poorly textured. Similarly ground textures rendered slowly when flying. Faults aside level design masks an outdated engine and makes for a superb experience. Expand
  7. MandaP.
    Sep 11, 2005
    0
    Rockstar has forsaken the PC users!

See all 176 User Reviews