Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Best of all, the numerous bugs and glitches that brought the PS2 version down a notch have been cleaned up and eliminated, for the most part. Enemies no longer shoot you through solid walls, you no longer randomly lose health while running, and cars remain in your garage until you take them out.
  2. 100
    Side-missions are just amazingly fun.
  3. 100
    A sure-fire classic. It has great graphics, great music, fanatical voice talent, an intelligent plot, dynamic gameplay and a universe of models that will be hard to match.
  4. Vice City doesn't improve much on the few shortcomings of its predecessor. Fortunately, it doesn't have to. [Aug 2003, p.74]
  5. More interiors in Vice City would be welcome, but the city is huge with plenty of unique terrain. It's a little disappointing that jetliners and more planes aren't available, but the thrill of flying the Hunter and going on multiple Vigilante missions makes up for it.
  6. Open-ended and uproariously funny. [Sept 2003, p.67]
  7. 100
    Nearly impossible to put down. [Aug 2003, p.37]
  8. Its longevity is a wonderful thing, since a sequel is still some time away, and this is one game that you really don't want to stop playing. Even after you've gotten tired of the carnage, it's fun to load it up and just cruise around Vice City listening to the radio.
  9. Offers a huge amount of gameplay, with something for everyone. Be prepared to lose dozens of hours to this game without even noticing.
  10. A definite contender for the best game of the year.
  11. An even better storyline and a city with a lot more character.
  12. Best of all, Vice City isn’t quite what we expect from a PC game today. It doesn’t fit neatly into any genre, so a freshness factor makes gunning down cops and knocking over banks seem even more innovative and new.
  13. Vice City is one of those rare games that effortlessly combines atmosphere, engaging gameplay, and great graphics and sound to make a truly unique gaming experience.
  14. Everything here is bigger, better, brighter, faster, longer, sicker, cooler than the series has ever been before (and almost any other game you care to mention).
  15. What few flaws I can find with the game design are more nuisances than actual bugs and easily overlooked in the grand scheme of things.
  16. The PC version of Vice City is just as much fun as the original, with great frame rates, better graphics, more control options, and all the content that made the PS2 version an instant classic.
  17. If by some chance you've put off playing Vice City up till now, don't wait any longer.
  18. Very near the perfect game. It’s engrossing, has a speedy learning curve, and is packed with action. You can play for just an hour, or be sucked in for hours on end.
  19. One of the most mesmerising and consistently entertaining games on any platform, ever. [PC Gamer UK]
  20. 93
    Still, the new additions and control tweaks for the PC are slowly but surely tearing me away from the television.
  21. The game is brilliant and will keep you occupied for the rest of you gaming days. It's fun, addictive, original, and it merges genres very effectively.
  22. 93
    Many of today's action games compel gamers to race through them as quickly as possible, rarely stopping to enjoy the scenery, but Vice City is the total opposite. It's a game you want to soak in; a game you want to take in slowly and enjoy every moment.
  23. Despite the fact that Vice City is ported from the PS2, the new features make the PC version a must buy, even for those who own the PS2 version.
  24. The setting of Vice City is a colourful one and thankfully the games graphics are superb.
  25. An extremely immersive and detailed game that builds on the celebrated strengths of its predecessor. [August 2003, p.58]
  26. It transcends the very genre it once created.
  27. My only problem is when driving fast, after a few seconds the graphics seems to disappear and you’re driving by blotchy scenery, which half of that is gone.
  28. It's the type of game experience everyone asks for but rarely receives. [Aug 2003, p.82]
  29. There isn't a more painful torture than to try a mission for 30 times without any luck. There were moments when I felt that if I hadn't spend a fortune on my computer I would have thrown it outside and I'm really seeing the world from above, from the 8th floor. On the other hand I think I'd go nuts without games like GTA.
  30. PC gamers will be treated to better graphics and more of those great 80s songs which are available on the MP-3 radio station.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1192 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 101
  2. Negative: 6 out of 101
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Now, gamers and gentlemen, what you see here right now is "GTA: Vice City", one of the world's most epic PC game mankind ever created. TheNow, gamers and gentlemen, what you see here right now is "GTA: Vice City", one of the world's most epic PC game mankind ever created. The game's a open-world; you could go out and massacre everybody, destroy gangs, steal cars, and call in the FBI and the army and fight till the death. One of the new features is building investments, which is also a great feature that teaches you to stop wasting money on chicks and to get your head into the game. Great graphics for 2003 as well as the game engine. The story's a meh but who the **** cares; it's GTA. A 10 out of 10!!!!!!! Full Review »
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    8
    On the PC, this game is a highlight of the Grand Theft Auto series. GTA: San Andreas, the next game, was fun, but in the end the ganglandOn the PC, this game is a highlight of the Grand Theft Auto series. GTA: San Andreas, the next game, was fun, but in the end the gangland battles game mechanic proved less entertaining for me than Vice City. GTA4 may have been great on the consoles, but on the PC it was badly implemented with terrible stuttering graphics (even on monster machines) and badly implemented controls. Bearing in mind that this game is now almost 10 years old, it still holds up well. The usual GTA humour is there, the city is large enough to keep you interested and allow you to explore, there's lots of missions and the vehicles are fun to drive if you have a joystick or gamepad. If you grew up in the '80s you'll appreciate lots of the 'in joke' references. Fair enough, the graphics are starting to show their age a little, but this does mean that it will run well on more modest machinery.

    Steam occasionally sell this game for £1.50 and if I didn't already own it I'd snap it up. At this price it's a complete bargain.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This is my very first GTA, so admittedly I hold it in particularly high regard since it was what initially drew me into the series. At first IThis is my very first GTA, so admittedly I hold it in particularly high regard since it was what initially drew me into the series. At first I thought the game was going to be hopelessly stupid, but there is honestly a lot of hilarious and thoughtful satire/comedy in the game that proved my initial assumptions dead wrong. Vice City had some features that were highly lacking in other GTAs to come, like the ability to buy businesses and strip-clubs, and other types of properties such as garages for stolen vehicles, among other things. The game's story and characters weren't especially memorable, and definitely weren't as good as what you'll find in newer GTAs, but they were definitely acceptable quality.

    A more relevant attraction to Vice City, for me though, was the terrific variety of radio stations in the game, and the hilarious nature of the game's social commentary. Rockstar did a terrific job of making the game entertaining to both thoughtful individuals, as well as people who just want some short-term fun going nuts and blowing things up, and the diversity and size of the audience they have attracted to the Grand Theft Auto series is a testament to that fact.

    I highly recommend this game! Granted, the graphics are dated, but if you can look past the graphical flaws, you'll find a gem here. If you can't look past the graphics, give some of the newer GTA games a try. They're all wonderfully enjoyable.
    Full Review »