User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1479 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    Good game, the graphics are good, but are dated now. The story-line was good, but the game needed a bit more prompting about what to do, once I got to the point in the game where you need to buy a bunch of companies it was a bit annoying trying to find which ones I needed to buy. Theres also no way to look around by moving the mouse like in San Andreas, your view stays the same as the wayGood game, the graphics are good, but are dated now. The story-line was good, but the game needed a bit more prompting about what to do, once I got to the point in the game where you need to buy a bunch of companies it was a bit annoying trying to find which ones I needed to buy. Theres also no way to look around by moving the mouse like in San Andreas, your view stays the same as the way your vehicle is facing. The aiming in this game was a little bit awkward as well. The acting was good and the characters were pretty funny too, and the game is very enjoyable, but it needs a bit of improvement. Expand
  2. AlexF
    Oct 9, 2009
    5
    OK at best. Mediocre graphcis. Need a wall map to know where everything is in order to play the game well. Redoing missions is a drag. Doesn't add anything over GTA III, which wasn't all that great either.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Mar 26, 2004
    6
    Overrated game.
  4. Sickmate
    May 3, 2004
    5
    GTA 3 is 400,000 times better than vice city,and 500,000 times bigger.
  5. CraigC.
    Oct 8, 2005
    5
    This game is awesome I played it with my friend and we could get girls on bikes and there were cheat codes.
  6. Jan 2, 2011
    7
    The game is fun and has a great storyline. But the rest is the same as all the others in the GTA series. I do have to say though, It is way too easy. It is more for fun than anything else and I do enjoy the free world play and doing whatever you wish.
  7. Oct 2, 2013
    6
    I loved this game back in the day on the the PS2 and spend many hours playing around in this virtual playground. The story was good, the acting great, the music and vibe brilliant, it basicly took an already awesome GTA3 and perfected it.

    Now, so many years later, i thought i'd revisit this digital Miami on my netbook and i have to say it still holds up pretty well. Sure the graphics
    I loved this game back in the day on the the PS2 and spend many hours playing around in this virtual playground. The story was good, the acting great, the music and vibe brilliant, it basicly took an already awesome GTA3 and perfected it.

    Now, so many years later, i thought i'd revisit this digital Miami on my netbook and i have to say it still holds up pretty well. Sure the graphics are outdated and the gameplay can feel a bit clunky but it is still acceptable seeing it's such a great classic, while this time round i would be able to be a lot more accurate aiming and shooting with a mouse.

    But unfortunately the controls are more or less a disaster. The game is just as i remembered it but even though i'm playing it on the PC now it still feels like i'm playing it on the PS2. That can't be right. In other words, a bad port.
    Aiming with the mouse for instance doesn't feel as smooth as you would expect, and to make matters even worse the vertical sensitivity of the mouse is not affected when adjusting the overall mouse sensitivity so that while panning from side to side will work as you set it, looking up and down will throw your view all over the place with the slightest movement of your mouse. And I understood it's been like that for years too and Rockstar has not even bothered fixing it. What a fail.
    Same goes for the widescreen option by the way. Yes, there is a widescreen option this time round but they even managed to screw that one up. The gameworld itself adjusts to the widescreen ratio fine but the HUD on the other hand does not and just gets stretched. Not only that, aiming is affected by it as well. To be able to hit your target with widescreen mode on you'll have to aim at his/her feet and slightly to the right of him/her. Only way to fix it is to turn widescreen off again.

    So when it comes down to it a great game gets a mediocre port to a platform where it should've shined even more. It is pathetic honestly.
    Don't get me wrong, i can still take pleasure out of GTA Vice City, but not as much as i'd hoped. Very disappointing Rockstar.
    Expand
  8. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    What happens when you take a good game and make it godly? That would be the case of Vice City, the follow-up to GTA III. Rockstar took the game and remade it into nothing but awesomeness fixing all the issues the previous game had and even adding to it. All the problems I had personally with the previous game are long gone and the new additions that I never knew I wanted are incredible, soWhat happens when you take a good game and make it godly? That would be the case of Vice City, the follow-up to GTA III. Rockstar took the game and remade it into nothing but awesomeness fixing all the issues the previous game had and even adding to it. All the problems I had personally with the previous game are long gone and the new additions that I never knew I wanted are incredible, so let's talk about what Vice City has that GTA III doesn't and how Vice City just does everything better than it. The main character this time, Tommy Vercetti actually has a personality unlike the character from the previous game who always kept quiet and nodded his head whenever someone told him to do something, Tommy on the other hand is a really good character with a sense of humor who isn't afraid of anything and will always tend do the most insane **** you'll ever see. The missions this time around are a LOT more fun and aren't as frustrating as the missions in GTA III that would sometimes just make you tear your hair out. The missions are quite challenging sometimes but they are great and even if you fail, you'll always want to try again till you succeed because you'll always be waiting to see what else this game has up it's sleeve, and let me tell ya, this game is just full of surprises in it's excellent storyline. The guns this time are actually affective, you can actually aim with them and the crosshair won't lie to you like it did in the previous game, your shots with the guns in GTA III would fly all over the place and barely ever hit what you wanted it to, that's fixed in Vice City and it's really fun to use the guns, they are all great, the guns are a lot more varied now and there are also more melee weapons now, and they are gory fun! Like Katanas and chainsaws that just leave a disgusting mess full of blood and I love it. There are also a lot more vehicles in the game now, plus the addition of helicopters which are quite hard to control at first but you will get used to it and it can be a lot of fun to fly around. Another great thing about the game and it's storyline is that it's full of humor, the game has really great writing and excellent dialog, and it's actually funny whenever the writers made a joke, I laughed quite a lot myself, especially when I listened to the radio. Lazlow did a great job with the radio in this game, the commercials and stations are hilarious, they make a lot of pop culture references and they make it funny, I really enjoyed this game. I might even agree that this is the best game in the series, but there's San Andreas to compete with the game... Expand
  9. Oct 5, 2012
    7
    Yes, on foot controls suck, there are some difficult missions, but nothing that can't be done for the second or third attempt. Still, this is my favourite GTA game, the 80's presentation is fantastic. (The clothes, the music.) I can 't even mention another well made game, that is set in the 80's. Younger players would probably never appreciate another GTA set in the 80's so I'm pretty sureYes, on foot controls suck, there are some difficult missions, but nothing that can't be done for the second or third attempt. Still, this is my favourite GTA game, the 80's presentation is fantastic. (The clothes, the music.) I can 't even mention another well made game, that is set in the 80's. Younger players would probably never appreciate another GTA set in the 80's so I'm pretty sure we'll never return to Vice City again. Expand
  10. Mar 6, 2013
    5
    I might be slightly spoiled by having played IV, San Andreas, Saints Row 2 and 3 first, but I feel it's just not as good as those are. Several of the missions would be impossible without cheats as far as I could tell, there's some brutal padding between the 3rd last and 2nd last missions, the audio quality was kinda meh, and for a sandbox there's surprisingly little content. I beat theI might be slightly spoiled by having played IV, San Andreas, Saints Row 2 and 3 first, but I feel it's just not as good as those are. Several of the missions would be impossible without cheats as far as I could tell, there's some brutal padding between the 3rd last and 2nd last missions, the audio quality was kinda meh, and for a sandbox there's surprisingly little content. I beat the game in about ten hours. Compared to the 20-45 I spent beating each of those other games, that's a little lacklustre. On the bright side, it's fantastically written, as is par for the course with Rockstar. Expand
  11. ERB
    Jul 30, 2013
    7
    One of Rockstar's most greatest game.But I put a score Of 7 because If you go near the water you suddenly lose health points.But still I consider this as a good game because game play is cool and especially when It is cheated.
  12. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    Arguably, the best part of this atmosphere of the Grand Theft Auto series is one. Wonderful memories tie in with the engine száguldással while Michael Jackson yells on the radio.
    Compared to the excellent visuals for his age, but also in the emerging positive for me. The tasks are boring to me, and unanimous, the side missions towed and pedestrian behavior is very annoying. The artificial
    Arguably, the best part of this atmosphere of the Grand Theft Auto series is one. Wonderful memories tie in with the engine száguldással while Michael Jackson yells on the radio.
    Compared to the excellent visuals for his age, but also in the emerging positive for me. The tasks are boring to me, and unanimous, the side missions towed and pedestrian behavior is very annoying. The artificial intelligence is terrible at 1-2, and the juice of media vehicles horrible management.
    Expand
  13. May 17, 2014
    7
    Not the best GTA, not the worst, but through GTA, however good, but not out of the ordinary, except that its map. The story is good, but the graphics do not go at all in 1080p. Choice of cars and weapons and rather limited life not very high. In short, a set of transition between two installment of GTA, not necessarily comprehensive.
  14. TimA.
    Jul 17, 2003
    7
    This game is better than the previous one, but there is a lot to improve for the graphics! It's good but not that good......
  15. Dalek
    Jul 10, 2009
    7
    I thought that this game was ok, I was really excited when I got it. It was fun at first but then it got harder and the thing that pulled me down is that little helicopter mission to bomb the construction site. Sort of hard on a laptop that may not have Num lock keys. The graphics could had been a little bit better and more things to do.
  16. Mike
    May 14, 2006
    7
    I liked this game, but it was the same as GTA 3 not much difference in terms of grpahics.
  17. Mar 31, 2015
    7
    Like: bikes, your own business, rock band, soundtrack
    Don't like: missions, atmosphere, plot, cars, guns
    Summary: a good game, but previous part (III) is better.
  18. Jan 25, 2016
    7
    - Good: Tommy Vercetti, difficulty, varied missions
    - Mixed: story, atmosphere/mood
    - Bad: bugs, flying, map, mission tracking, ui

    Good game, aged pretty well. Driving is very fun and missions are varied. The only bad things in this game are bugs and glitches, flying is also very annoying. Mission tracking doesnt exist and map is pretty bad. Overall i would recommend even now, in 2016. :)
  19. May 21, 2016
    5
    This game was born in 2003 as Simpsons Hit and Run , but Simpsons Hit and Run much better than Grand Theft Auto Vice City because I rate Simpsons Hit and Run on 10 of 10 and Grand Theft Auto Vice City on 5/10 and Grand Theft Auto Vice City Stories much better than Vice City . Compare with Simpsons Hit and Run . Graphics in Vice City about as in Simpsons Hit And Run , but storyline in GtaThis game was born in 2003 as Simpsons Hit and Run , but Simpsons Hit and Run much better than Grand Theft Auto Vice City because I rate Simpsons Hit and Run on 10 of 10 and Grand Theft Auto Vice City on 5/10 and Grand Theft Auto Vice City Stories much better than Vice City . Compare with Simpsons Hit and Run . Graphics in Vice City about as in Simpsons Hit And Run , but storyline in Gta Vice City sucks compared with Simpsons Hit and Run and in Vice City can't swim , but in other GTA Games can swim . 5/10 Expand
  20. Jul 7, 2016
    5
    My personal opinion is different from yours. I don't like GTA: Vice City and consider it to be the worst game in GTA games. I didn't like the story at all, I didn't like the setting, I didn't like the city, etc. My choice is GTA: SA (and nah, I am not black). Compared to SA, it hasn't such athmosphere. Well, if you disagree with my opinion, I am not angry.
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Now, gamers and gentlemen, what you see here right now is "GTA: Vice City", one of the world's most epic PC game mankind ever created. The game's a open-world; you could go out and massacre everybody, destroy gangs, steal cars, and call in the FBI and the army and fight till the death. One of the new features is building investments, which is also a great feature that teaches you to stopNow, gamers and gentlemen, what you see here right now is "GTA: Vice City", one of the world's most epic PC game mankind ever created. The game's a open-world; you could go out and massacre everybody, destroy gangs, steal cars, and call in the FBI and the army and fight till the death. One of the new features is building investments, which is also a great feature that teaches you to stop wasting money on chicks and to get your head into the game. Great graphics for 2003 as well as the game engine. The story's a meh but who the **** cares; it's GTA. A 10 out of 10!!!!!!! Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Best of all, the numerous bugs and glitches that brought the PS2 version down a notch have been cleaned up and eliminated, for the most part. Enemies no longer shoot you through solid walls, you no longer randomly lose health while running, and cars remain in your garage until you take them out.
  2. 100
    Side-missions are just amazingly fun.
  3. It transcends the very genre it once created.