User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1077 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    Amazing graphics, beautifully written story. This is a must have game - for those who love the classic mafia wars, the music, the ladies, the buildings of the 1980's. Stunning.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Now, gamers and gentlemen, what you see here right now is "GTA: Vice City", one of the world's most epic PC game mankind ever created. The game's a open-world; you could go out and massacre everybody, destroy gangs, steal cars, and call in the FBI and the army and fight till the death. One of the new features is building investments, which is also a great feature that teaches you to stopNow, gamers and gentlemen, what you see here right now is "GTA: Vice City", one of the world's most epic PC game mankind ever created. The game's a open-world; you could go out and massacre everybody, destroy gangs, steal cars, and call in the FBI and the army and fight till the death. One of the new features is building investments, which is also a great feature that teaches you to stop wasting money on chicks and to get your head into the game. Great graphics for 2003 as well as the game engine. The story's a meh but who the **** cares; it's GTA. A 10 out of 10!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This is my very first GTA, so admittedly I hold it in particularly high regard since it was what initially drew me into the series. At first I thought the game was going to be hopelessly stupid, but there is honestly a lot of hilarious and thoughtful satire/comedy in the game that proved my initial assumptions dead wrong. Vice City had some features that were highly lacking in other GTAsThis is my very first GTA, so admittedly I hold it in particularly high regard since it was what initially drew me into the series. At first I thought the game was going to be hopelessly stupid, but there is honestly a lot of hilarious and thoughtful satire/comedy in the game that proved my initial assumptions dead wrong. Vice City had some features that were highly lacking in other GTAs to come, like the ability to buy businesses and strip-clubs, and other types of properties such as garages for stolen vehicles, among other things. The game's story and characters weren't especially memorable, and definitely weren't as good as what you'll find in newer GTAs, but they were definitely acceptable quality.

    A more relevant attraction to Vice City, for me though, was the terrific variety of radio stations in the game, and the hilarious nature of the game's social commentary. Rockstar did a terrific job of making the game entertaining to both thoughtful individuals, as well as people who just want some short-term fun going nuts and blowing things up, and the diversity and size of the audience they have attracted to the Grand Theft Auto series is a testament to that fact.

    I highly recommend this game! Granted, the graphics are dated, but if you can look past the graphical flaws, you'll find a gem here. If you can't look past the graphics, give some of the newer GTA games a try. They're all wonderfully enjoyable.
    Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    This is what we called ,,evergreen" in gaming. It's definition of pure, clear, maximum satisfying video game art. Can't wait for the ,,Vice City Rage" - fantastic mode, coming soon!
  5. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    This is well worth playing from start to finish. Even after you finish the story, just messing around performing impossible jumps or running from the cops and national guard is worth the price of admission. Shooting backwards with the tank while moving forward for some extra nitro: priceless.
  6. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    My favorite GTA game. The music in this game is amazing. The atmosphere in this game is stunning i love that 80's flair and the pastel colors. I love the graphics, the city, the missions and the character (Tommy Vercetti is insane).
  7. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Graphics 7/10
    Gameplay 10/10
    Controls 10/10
    Story 9/10
    Characters 10/10
    Level design 10/10
    Presentation 10/10
    User Interface 9/10
    Sounds 9/10
    Music 10/10
  8. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    I am very tied emotionally to the roots of 3D GTA, so is difficult for me to say which one is the best. GTA 3 was the very first. Vice City the most vibrant. And San Andreas the biggest and boldest.. And none of them goes below 9, because not only they gained one of the biggest armies of fans, but also punched the industry in the face and showed it where to go.
  9. May 11, 2013
    9
    The game is perfect.Very good and long singleplayer,open world,missions,buildings for missions,and more.I think that the graphic should be a little better,but everything else is perfect
  10. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    A really great game... Nice graphics great gameplay bigger Miami-based city ,an Miami Vice/Scarface based story and an amazing soundtrack...
    It's really one of the contemporary classics which is worth playing it
  11. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    This is my favourite GTA game. The feel of the game and the great music/soundtrack makes for a great experience. The soundtrack in this game is great, and one of the best I've seen (or heard) in a game. However, the pc controls do take a little bit of time to get used to, but the PC port is infinitely better due to the ability to easily mod the game by creating your own character skins.
  12. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    One of my absolute favorite parts of GTA.
    I loved this game, it was fantastic. In addition, the soundtrack was perfect.
    Before GTA 5 came out, Vice City was my favorite part.

    Despite all this, I recommend everyone to play Vice City.
  13. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    This basically takes Grand Theft Auto III adds some new features such as entering more buildings, buying property, and more weapons; tosses it into Florida in the 80's; and lets you take over...literally. The atmosphere is amazing and the story is great too. Definitely would recommend it.
  14. Jan 18, 2015
    9
    Very good game. The atmosphere, music, cars, everything is down pat. The graphics are great for that era, too. The story is great, the characters are engaging and interesting, this game has it all.

    Well, almost. I am removing 1 score point for the "try again" missions. Explanation: the missions are a victim of lazy design, where by and large, you need to know beforehand what you will
    Very good game. The atmosphere, music, cars, everything is down pat. The graphics are great for that era, too. The story is great, the characters are engaging and interesting, this game has it all.

    Well, almost.

    I am removing 1 score point for the "try again" missions. Explanation: the missions are a victim of lazy design, where by and large, you need to know beforehand what you will face in order to be able to complete the mission. So you have to make a first attempt, which you will fail, and then a second, which you may well succeed. The missions are mostly not very difficult, but this lazy design amounts to false difficulty, which lenghtens the time spent in the game, but does not increase the enjoyment thereof. Add to that the long and unskippable cutscenes at the beginning of a lot of the missions, and you have something that grates on the nerves in an otherwise thoroughly enjoyable experience.

    It is still very playable as of 2015. You may want to turn up your anti-aliasing to crazy levels however...
    Expand
  15. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    Wonderful free-roam action-game made by Rockstar. The game is set in the 80's and brings the neon and colorful suits with it.

    The story is well written and as all Rockstar(and GTA-games) the game makes fun of itself and is very entertaining. There's enough side missions and activities to have you occupied for a long time.
    Buy it, you won't regret it!
  16. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Another gaming classic from Rockstar. Nothing particularly revolutionary, but in every respect it is fun and engaging. It's better than GTA 3 in every way, and a really special experince. There are numerous Scarface references and easter eggs- from the opening credits to the characters, some buildings and the story. The city is very good, and this game introduces assets- so you can buyAnother gaming classic from Rockstar. Nothing particularly revolutionary, but in every respect it is fun and engaging. It's better than GTA 3 in every way, and a really special experince. There are numerous Scarface references and easter eggs- from the opening credits to the characters, some buildings and the story. The city is very good, and this game introduces assets- so you can buy businesses. Rampages and getting a high wanted level are the most satisfying here. The weapons are also brutal. Overall, the missions are good quality and they've got a real sense of character and humour. The soundtrack of Vice City- including the chat show VCPR- are the best in all of GTA. Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Where do you start with Vice City.

    This game is by far the best game in the series,it has everything you could ask for and more. It certainly boasts one of the best soundtracks in any game ever,to cater for all needs. Taking great inspiration from the 1980's drug wars,you find yourself deep in a world of drugs gangs and crime. The city is awesome,albeit a little small compared to San
    Where do you start with Vice City.

    This game is by far the best game in the series,it has everything you could ask for and more.
    It certainly boasts one of the best soundtracks in any game ever,to cater for all needs.
    Taking great inspiration from the 1980's drug wars,you find yourself deep in a world of drugs gangs and crime.

    The city is awesome,albeit a little small compared to San andreas,still is great fun to drive around and has alot of memorable places.
    The biggest thing i enjoyed was the ability to buy your own companies and a vast amount of homes.
    Expand
  18. May 14, 2012
    10
    This game brings back memories - it is essentially the enhanced port of GTA III into the modern era, paving way for the highly acclaimed GTA IV. Must play for any GTA fan with tons of fun.
  19. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    What happens when you take a good game and make it godly? That would be the case of Vice City, the follow-up to GTA III. Rockstar took the game and remade it into nothing but awesomeness fixing all the issues the previous game had and even adding to it. All the problems I had personally with the previous game are long gone and the new additions that I never knew I wanted are incredible, soWhat happens when you take a good game and make it godly? That would be the case of Vice City, the follow-up to GTA III. Rockstar took the game and remade it into nothing but awesomeness fixing all the issues the previous game had and even adding to it. All the problems I had personally with the previous game are long gone and the new additions that I never knew I wanted are incredible, so let's talk about what Vice City has that GTA III doesn't and how Vice City just does everything better than it. The main character this time, Tommy Vercetti actually has a personality unlike the character from the previous game who always kept quiet and nodded his head whenever someone told him to do something, Tommy on the other hand is a really good character with a sense of humor who isn't afraid of anything and will always tend do the most insane **** you'll ever see. The missions this time around are a LOT more fun and aren't as frustrating as the missions in GTA III that would sometimes just make you tear your hair out. The missions are quite challenging sometimes but they are great and even if you fail, you'll always want to try again till you succeed because you'll always be waiting to see what else this game has up it's sleeve, and let me tell ya, this game is just full of surprises in it's excellent storyline. The guns this time are actually affective, you can actually aim with them and the crosshair won't lie to you like it did in the previous game, your shots with the guns in GTA III would fly all over the place and barely ever hit what you wanted it to, that's fixed in Vice City and it's really fun to use the guns, they are all great, the guns are a lot more varied now and there are also more melee weapons now, and they are gory fun! Like Katanas and chainsaws that just leave a disgusting mess full of blood and I love it. There are also a lot more vehicles in the game now, plus the addition of helicopters which are quite hard to control at first but you will get used to it and it can be a lot of fun to fly around. Another great thing about the game and it's storyline is that it's full of humor, the game has really great writing and excellent dialog, and it's actually funny whenever the writers made a joke, I laughed quite a lot myself, especially when I listened to the radio. Lazlow did a great job with the radio in this game, the commercials and stations are hilarious, they make a lot of pop culture references and they make it funny, I really enjoyed this game. I might even agree that this is the best game in the series, but there's San Andreas to compete with the game... Expand
  20. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This Is the best Game of last years , Mod Vice City : Multiplayer is very good mod for GTA ahh hot 80's years , beatiful girls and sun and Radio Station , This game was not boring for ever !: ) sorry for my ENG
  21. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    Everything is amazing about this game. Its story, its characters, the script and last but not least, the soundtrack. It really takes you back to the 80 s.
  22. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Grand Theft Auto Vice City is a really good game. It has a beautiful written story, their missions are so funny, the game takes you to 80s in a engaging way, it is not an overstatement give a score of 10.
  23. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    This game is a wonderful play on 1980s Miami. Grand Theft Auto: Vice City contains an overwhelming amount of content, especially considering the fact it was developed in 2003. Although the world is a bit small in regards to Grand Theft Auto IV and Skyrim, for it's time, this game does an excellent job filling the area with lots of content. Almost every spot in the game has some tie inThis game is a wonderful play on 1980s Miami. Grand Theft Auto: Vice City contains an overwhelming amount of content, especially considering the fact it was developed in 2003. Although the world is a bit small in regards to Grand Theft Auto IV and Skyrim, for it's time, this game does an excellent job filling the area with lots of content. Almost every spot in the game has some tie in with a quest. There is no empty space. In Oblivion you could ride your horse around for 10 minutes and find almost nothing to do. In Vice City, Everywhere you drive there's something to do. This brings me to my next point; driving. Often times, I found myself aimlessly driving around just for the fun of it, sometimes doing various vehicle submissions (like the Taxi, Vigilante, and Ambulance missions). The stunts in the game are a bit lacking, as it's often difficult to find a proper set up for a super awesome stunt you want to pull off (no flips on a motorcycle). 10 years after Grand Theft Auto: Vice City hit store shelves it's still a hugely successful game and easily regarded as one of the best open world, action shooters of all time. Expand
  24. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Fiquei com o pé atrás quando meus amigos me falaram da série mas quando comecei a jogar vi que eu podia fazer de tudo e que liberdade esse jogo nos dá para fazer seja bom ou mau e eu disse que você pode até comprar uma produtora de filmes pornográficos e contratar a atriz mais badalada da cidade de uma outra produtora de filmes lógico na base da bala ou salvar todos os carros comFiquei com o pé atrás quando meus amigos me falaram da série mas quando comecei a jogar vi que eu podia fazer de tudo e que liberdade esse jogo nos dá para fazer seja bom ou mau e eu disse que você pode até comprar uma produtora de filmes pornográficos e contratar a atriz mais badalada da cidade de uma outra produtora de filmes lógico na base da bala ou salvar todos os carros com acidentes graves tanto com ambulância como com o carro do corpo de bombeiros, foi aí que percebi o quanto esse jogo bom, fora ser o dono da cidade. Expand
  25. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    10/10, La historia de este juego es muy buena, al final de cada misión, no podes aguantar la intriga de saber que va a pasar después en la historia, uno de los pocos juego que se ambienta en los '80 que realmente te hace sentir en los '80, la música de la radio es perfecta, el voice acting, lo sonidos, el humor, todo es perfecto para mi en este juego.
  26. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Es un buen juego,las misiones,trama,historia,ETC son realmente buenos.buenas graficas,ETC aunque sus misiones no esten tan buenas,yo le dare un 9 porque fue mi juego favorito yo lo recomiendo para que lo juegen y disfruten,tanto como yo,espere que les guste,que los compren les gustara mucho como a mi me gusto PD:es uno de mis juegos favoritos y se merece una gran critica porque es un juegoEs un buen juego,las misiones,trama,historia,ETC son realmente buenos.buenas graficas,ETC aunque sus misiones no esten tan buenas,yo le dare un 9 porque fue mi juego favorito yo lo recomiendo para que lo juegen y disfruten,tanto como yo,espere que les guste,que los compren les gustara mucho como a mi me gusto PD:es uno de mis juegos favoritos y se merece una gran critica porque es un juego entretenido y divertido. Expand
  27. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Easily the best GTA game. With it's awesome gameplay and a lot of interesting missions there is a place in your disk for this... The best thing in Vice City is the feeling. The awesome looking Miami feels so good to be in. You don't even want to leave your chair... Must play...
  28. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Grand theft auto vice city is the second best grand theft auto but it has a strong story and really good graphics for how old it is. I would recommend this game to any one who like grand theft. auto and anyone who likes violence.
  29. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    I first played this game in 2006 and it got me addicted. I finished the whole game with and without cheats. This game never gets old. I love its every successor. I am really waiting for GTA 6
  30. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    the best grand theft auto of the franchise!!
    in my opinion,the best game of Rockstar games
    tommy vercetti is the most dangeous killer of games
    vice city is one my favorite games
  31. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This must be my second favorite game of all time. I still remember my amazement after seeing this jewel at my friend's house for the first time. Great graphics, great gameplay, great story, but most of all, amazing soundtrack and 80's atmosphere. Yes, the atmosphere in this game is truly something else, I could cruise around the city for hours in my sports car listening to the radio notThis must be my second favorite game of all time. I still remember my amazement after seeing this jewel at my friend's house for the first time. Great graphics, great gameplay, great story, but most of all, amazing soundtrack and 80's atmosphere. Yes, the atmosphere in this game is truly something else, I could cruise around the city for hours in my sports car listening to the radio not caring about anything and not get bored. No GTA was able to recreate that atmosphere and feel after Vice City. Expand
  32. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    As a "Rockstar Fanboy" who has inhaled every GTA title since my first Multiplayer experience in 1998 i have to say that no GTA title has never gripped me like Vice City. The whole setting, including environment, music, story and (for this time) awesome graphics made a really "complete" game.
    Since then, IMAO Rockstar tries to recreate this feeling for their players but, i regret to say
    As a "Rockstar Fanboy" who has inhaled every GTA title since my first Multiplayer experience in 1998 i have to say that no GTA title has never gripped me like Vice City. The whole setting, including environment, music, story and (for this time) awesome graphics made a really "complete" game.
    Since then, IMAO Rockstar tries to recreate this feeling for their players but, i regret to say that , never got this Miami Vice / Scarface feeling again.
    Expand
  33. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    Amazing game, awesome story, everything about this game is awesome, the only problem is the graphics but whatever graphics don't ruin anything this is better then gta 3
  34. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    I remember playing this game when I was like 5 years old.. LOL. Fun. Probably the best GTA game in my opinion. Tommy killed it. Don't know why they didn't bring him back. The graphics are great, and the story.. just incredible.
  35. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Vice City is actually one of the best games created. Honestly it really is inspiritat from movies such as Scarface, Goodfellas, Godfather, Miami Vice and many altele..Acest genre is a masterpiece. Rockstar Games knows better how to attract players.
  36. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the greatest games of all time in the grand scope of things. Ive been playing games for a long time and I cant remember another game other than San Andreas that blew my mind the way Vice City did. I even remember the whole soundtrack and 10 years later, every time I hear Broken Wings, I Ran, I just Died In Your Arms Tonight, Waiting for a Girl like You, Dance Hall Days,Easily one of the greatest games of all time in the grand scope of things. Ive been playing games for a long time and I cant remember another game other than San Andreas that blew my mind the way Vice City did. I even remember the whole soundtrack and 10 years later, every time I hear Broken Wings, I Ran, I just Died In Your Arms Tonight, Waiting for a Girl like You, Dance Hall Days, Africa, or Owner of a Lonely Heart, I immediately get a craving to play Vice City. VC, along with San Andreas are the only reasons there is still a PS2 hooked up to my TV. Expand
  37. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    I played every GTA to this day, with the exception of Chinatown Wars and GTA 2. And this is still my favorite. But why? I don't even know what makes it so great. The new vehicles, like the helicopters? The amazing soundtrack? The jaw dropping graphics (for 2003, of course)? The whole 80's atmosphere? The city itself? The remarkable characters, references and the actors? The controls.I played every GTA to this day, with the exception of Chinatown Wars and GTA 2. And this is still my favorite. But why? I don't even know what makes it so great. The new vehicles, like the helicopters? The amazing soundtrack? The jaw dropping graphics (for 2003, of course)? The whole 80's atmosphere? The city itself? The remarkable characters, references and the actors? The controls. otherwise, do not have the best response, and the driving is not that great, but I love it anyway. Expand
  38. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    This is like a nostalgic review from me. I liked the story and the missions. The music, cars and the claw hands. This is my favourite GTA entry of all time. before i even get to touch GTA V. for now. I'm waiting for you GTA V next year!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Best of all, the numerous bugs and glitches that brought the PS2 version down a notch have been cleaned up and eliminated, for the most part. Enemies no longer shoot you through solid walls, you no longer randomly lose health while running, and cars remain in your garage until you take them out.
  2. 100
    Side-missions are just amazingly fun.
  3. It transcends the very genre it once created.