Gratuitous Space Battles PC

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 76
  2. Negative: 14 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2011
    3
    Now I'll freely admit that I'm not massively into strategy games, but having picked this up in one of the recent indie bundles, I thought I'd give it a go. If ever there was a game that threw up barriers to introducing people to the strategy genre, this would be it. I get that strategy games are often complex, but when the tutorial involves reading screeds of text, going through numerousNow I'll freely admit that I'm not massively into strategy games, but having picked this up in one of the recent indie bundles, I thought I'd give it a go. If ever there was a game that threw up barriers to introducing people to the strategy genre, this would be it. I get that strategy games are often complex, but when the tutorial involves reading screeds of text, going through numerous pages of options and ten minutes later, you finally get to see the battle take place? I'm sure the hardcore strategy nuts are frothing at the mouth reading this already, but from someone who wanted to see what all the fuss was about, I'll try and find a more accessible entry into the genre. Expand
  2. Dave
    Jan 19, 2010
    4
    This game could be very good if not for a few major flaws. The worst of which is that you can't tell anything about the fleet you're going up against. In a game where the only decision you ever make is how to construct your own fleet, this is absolutely the most vital information you could have, and you don't have it. The best you can do is build ships you think *might* This game could be very good if not for a few major flaws. The worst of which is that you can't tell anything about the fleet you're going up against. In a game where the only decision you ever make is how to construct your own fleet, this is absolutely the most vital information you could have, and you don't have it. The best you can do is build ships you think *might* work, see if they do well or not, and then go back and revise based on your best guesses as to why they failed. Expand
  3. ImmanualE
    Nov 19, 2009
    3
    Best thing i can say about this , it made me dig out & play my old Master of Orion 2 Copy,which has Space battles *and* Ship Design which is far superior to this braindead (but pretty!) crap. Why i say this : 1.No Tactics are needed (*No* enemy AI) ,so the "strategy" always boils down to droppin one big ball of ships on one side of the battlefield and a cheap decoy on the other. 2. Design Best thing i can say about this , it made me dig out & play my old Master of Orion 2 Copy,which has Space battles *and* Ship Design which is far superior to this braindead (but pretty!) crap. Why i say this : 1.No Tactics are needed (*No* enemy AI) ,so the "strategy" always boils down to droppin one big ball of ships on one side of the battlefield and a cheap decoy on the other. 2. Design possibilities are pretty limited. First,all slots are assigned to one kind of item (weapons or Equipment). There is hardly ever a reason not to equip as many weapons as you can,and the weapons essentially only differ in being either antishield or antiarmor. The normal slots must usually be filled with the needed stuff (power stations,crew quarters,armor,shields,maybe 1 or more engines which dont make much difference in speed),which leaves even larger ships with few empty slots for specials. Ah yes,one can buy upgrades,which boils down to the same weapons firing a bit faster,the armor is a bit thicker,no game changers here. Then the game has no background story,no campaign,no immersion whatsoever. The Graphics are 2d but nice But this game gets very boring,very quickly. There is simply nothing to do,to experience or to control. Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2012
    0
    I have to give this game a zero for shamelessly putting an ad for one of their other games right on the menu screen. The DLC's are also mostly cosmetic and hardly seem to add anything to the game. In other words just another game where business practices have interfered with game enjoyment. Where would be get if every game had an ad for some other? Oh, also this game is a very goodI have to give this game a zero for shamelessly putting an ad for one of their other games right on the menu screen. The DLC's are also mostly cosmetic and hardly seem to add anything to the game. In other words just another game where business practices have interfered with game enjoyment. Where would be get if every game had an ad for some other? Oh, also this game is a very good exercise in chaos theory. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2013
    1
    I totally agree with cell-gfx who wrote his review on Dec 26, 2011.

    I thought it would be nice to have some game about two groups of starships shooting the sh** out of each other without that disturbing story between the battles. But instead of the story there is such an complexity just to get into the first battle, even though it is still the tutorial. Also the amount of
    I totally agree with cell-gfx who wrote his review on Dec 26, 2011.

    I thought it would be nice to have some game about two groups of starships shooting the sh** out of each other without that disturbing story between the battles. But instead of the story there is such an complexity just to get into the first battle, even though it is still the tutorial.
    Also the amount of tutorial-messages and information boxes mentioned by cell-gfx which seem to pop up randomly on the screen by clicking on any button in the menues. Some time passed until I finally saw the first "battle" well, it is a battle, but during that one I may go into the kitchen, get some coffee or whatever because the battle itself is somewhat non-interactive and, I apologize, that sucks!

    I like the graphics, though. It looks very nice to see all the details of the starships by zooming in like the turrets or missles or even the impacts on the hull.
    Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2013
    0
    This game is horrible. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone. It isn't that fact that I don't get to control my units; it's the fact that the AI is mind blowing retarded and makes mistakes as you watch in rage. Don't walk, but run away from this garbage of a game.
  7. Aug 12, 2013
    2
    In the Beginning this game was very good, but, they have gone Pay2Play in the matter that you need all the DLC to be able to fight others in a multi-player battle, unless you have the same DLC as the other players you cant battle them, the price for all the DLC is 37,43€ further more comes the price of the main game 13,99€ this gives the sum of 49,42 to be able to play the game. So unlessIn the Beginning this game was very good, but, they have gone Pay2Play in the matter that you need all the DLC to be able to fight others in a multi-player battle, unless you have the same DLC as the other players you cant battle them, the price for all the DLC is 37,43€ further more comes the price of the main game 13,99€ this gives the sum of 49,42 to be able to play the game. So unless you are willing to pay 50€ for a game that is from Nov 2009 i suggest you toss your cash some where else. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 23, 2010
    70
    I do like Gratuitous Space Battles. I think it's a great concept, beautifully presented. I just wish it would let me like it more.
  2. PC Gamer UK
    72
    Imperfect spaceship engineering and asynchronous online dueling combine to deliver a flawed star. [Dec 2009, p.94]
  3. Gratuitous Space Battles manages to strike a respectable balance between casual gaming and deep, engaging strategy.