User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 539 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2013
    5
    Sadly this game is mediocre at best.
    First GRID was best racening game, so good that I was waiting for Grid2 and passed first Grid game in anticipation last month. It was great.
    Now, in short my problems with Grid 2: - it feels less real, both in terms of racing meta world and racing itself - there is no money, you can't buy cars, you get them from sponsors trough events which feels
    Sadly this game is mediocre at best.
    First GRID was best racening game, so good that I was waiting for Grid2 and passed first Grid game in anticipation last month. It was great.

    Now, in short my problems with Grid 2:
    - it feels less real, both in terms of racing meta world and racing itself
    - there is no money, you can't buy cars, you get them from sponsors trough events which feels weird
    - instead of money you have a fan base, and you do not manage anything about your carrier, feels like you are some attention whore who is spin by managers
    - weirdly Grid 2 looks worse then first Grid in terms of graphics o_0 especially replays and flashback key features of the game were watered down somehow, especially flashback ;(

    All in all Grid Grid 2
    I am even doubting that same team with same passions was doing this game, it feels completely different, as if different studio was asked to do it
    Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    5
    This game is not good. What car actually handles like this? If you are going to make an arcade style racer then do that. This in between non committal approach is simply boring. Really sad that I paid $44 for this.
  3. Jun 20, 2013
    5
    GRID 2 has a new concept that is uninteresting and not at any point of the game are you interested in this Racing League you're participating in. Unlike the original GRID you have no Team, no co-driver/partner, no goal and no season ending marathon race i.e. the 24-hour Le Mans, which was one of the most intense experiences I've ever had in a racing game. The original GRID somehow managedGRID 2 has a new concept that is uninteresting and not at any point of the game are you interested in this Racing League you're participating in. Unlike the original GRID you have no Team, no co-driver/partner, no goal and no season ending marathon race i.e. the 24-hour Le Mans, which was one of the most intense experiences I've ever had in a racing game. The original GRID somehow managed to create a personality for all the faceless drivers and teams, BECAUSE they were real drivers and real teams. The guy who guided you is annoying and juvenile, compared to the man in the original game, who was not only helpful, but positive and encouraging. As you can tell, the original Racedriver: GRID is much better than it's sequel, which is a half-assed attempt to please fans for never making a proper expansion of their 2008 racing game icon. The many flaws in GRID 2 and lack of goal, excitement and overall personality and attachment disappointed me immensely. Not worth the 60 bucks I payed for it. To this day, the first game is still my all time favorite racing game, GRID 2 is mediocre at best and lacks so many features that made the first game so immersive, that it actually feels older. Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2014
    6
    Grid 2 is an immense departure from the original and rarely impressed me in the ways the original did. Most of the new features, such as LiveRoutes, or the restructured career mode, are pretty much the opposite of what people who play racing games want, and some, such as the over-saturation of social media cutscenes, have no place in a racing game to begin with. The lack of cockpit viewGrid 2 is an immense departure from the original and rarely impressed me in the ways the original did. Most of the new features, such as LiveRoutes, or the restructured career mode, are pretty much the opposite of what people who play racing games want, and some, such as the over-saturation of social media cutscenes, have no place in a racing game to begin with. The lack of cockpit view doesn’t hurt the game, but it definitely opened the door for more lousy design choices, as career mode is a chore to play through, and very rarely does the game challenge you to be a better virtual race car driver. The opportunity for Codemasters to release one final awesome racing game on this console generation has been missed, as Grid 2 is unexciting and entirely forgettable, designed by a team of people who have seemingly never played a racing game before and are totally unsure of what features can make a racing game FUN past the initial few laps. Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    5
    There is some fun to be had with this casual arcade drifting racer but if you expect serious racing then you should stay away from it. Even as an arcade game this is less interesting than say, Shift 2 Unleashed.
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    5
    Mediocre. That is the word I usually use to describe gas station food or my snowboarding ability, not a massively hyped, waited-forever-to-play-it video game. But yet, this game manages to attach that word to itself in my mind.

    On the surface of things, it has all kinds of potential. A deep career mode, online racing, Facebook and YouTube-esque social settings, new cars, new adaptable
    Mediocre. That is the word I usually use to describe gas station food or my snowboarding ability, not a massively hyped, waited-forever-to-play-it video game. But yet, this game manages to attach that word to itself in my mind.

    On the surface of things, it has all kinds of potential. A deep career mode, online racing, Facebook and YouTube-esque social settings, new cars, new adaptable tracks, a host of new racing schools, and those stunning graphics. How could it possibly go wrong?

    Well, the career mode is possibly the biggest part of Grid 2 that Codemasters got wrong. Compared to the first Grid, where you could select what series you wanted to race, from the beginning-of-the-game-tier to the you-have-too-much-time-on-your-hands-tier, Grid 2 hands you a select few races that you must complete before they give you another set of select few races. While the races and series in Grid 2 provide some unique variety, there isn't the same kind of variety of Grid in which one minute I could be crossing the finish line at the Nurburgring short track, and lining up at a figure-8 demolition derby track the next.

    The car selection is another pain in both the online and career modes. You no longer purchase whatever car you want from a specific race discipline. You have to finish "Car Challenges" to unlock a car that you will use in the next set of races. The first time I saw this, I thought "Ok, I'd better pick a car that I will like at the end of this, because I won't be able to pick the other one...", but as soon as I was finished, another challenge popped up. "Wait... So I just have to do two challenges for two cars? Well, that doesn't place any importance on these decisions..."

    Speaking of the cars, I come to the driving physics. I have never personally driven a high performance car around a track, but if I ever get the chance to do it, I better hope that it doesn't behave like the cars in Grid 2. Every single car slides uncontrollably into the nearest immovable object. If I hadn't deliberately turned the car around and driven the wrong way around the track, I would have no choice but to think that every race was scripted, because I certainly didn't turn THAT direction. Or THAT direction. The cars are a nightmare to drive. Even if you come across one of the seemingly rare "Grip" oriented cars, if you try to trail brake into a corner, the back end tries to present itself to the nearest railing. And yes, that was an intended metaphor, since that is exactly how racing in Grid 2 feels.

    Once you finally get used to your rear bumper railings and manage to get the car around the track without totaling it, you can start to enjoy the graphics and some of the unique racing elements that have been added to Grid 2. There are race tracks that change over the course of the race, meaning you have no idea if the left turn you took last lap is still there, or has turned into a straight, or maybe it still is a left... *BANG*. Nope, it was a right. I enjoyed this particular race style the most as it keeps you on your toes, but it is not without it's flaws. Depending on the track and race length, some of the course changes will loop around, and you can still start to memorize the track. They also use Time Trial races, no doubt borrowing from Codemasters' own Dirt franchise, which is refreshing for the asphault-only drift-o-rama that Grid 2 is.

    The graphics however, are great. The reflections, shadows, and scenery are all spectacular. From rolling desert mountains, to twisting woodlands, and urban city-scapes, everything is on par to what I would expect if I drove through them at 120 MPH. Squirrels and rabbits will scamper across the road, flocks of birds will take flight as you drive past, and dirt, smoke and leaves swirl around the cars. All of this lends to create a very immersive environment which feels like you are actually driving past.

    However, once you get over the jaw dropping first impressions, the visual effects dull out and you start to notice certain things that begin to take away from the experience. The squirrel that runs past the same tree EVERY lap. Those birds fly away EVERY lap. Those bystanders are all waving their arms at the EXACT same time. The sun flare seems to be the exact same regardless of the view mode used. Some of the smoke and dust effects seem to bug up and pixelate instead of staying smooth. While not important by themselves, all of it added up breaks the environment's image.

    In the menus, things are not much more interesting than the first Grid. All of the attempted YouTube and Facebook imagery is nothing more than part of the rather shallow story. You can't watch videos of your last epic race, the social wall is nothing more than a repeating series of "Comments" from your competition that you can't respond to, and the available options are mostly zilch.

    Overall, while the game tried hard to take things to the next level, it feels unfinished. Codemasters, this game is mediocre.
    Expand
  7. May 31, 2013
    5
    Grid 2 has some nice Graphics, nice Sound-effects, really good Performance (even on older systems) and very minor to no issues or Bugs in gameplay, BUT, Grid 2 isn´t Grid anymore. Why don´t the call it "Grid Driftdown" or something? Grid2 has nothing to do with realistic driving anymore because you have to drift every corner the whole race long. For sure, grid 1 was no pure racingGrid 2 has some nice Graphics, nice Sound-effects, really good Performance (even on older systems) and very minor to no issues or Bugs in gameplay, BUT, Grid 2 isn´t Grid anymore. Why don´t the call it "Grid Driftdown" or something? Grid2 has nothing to do with realistic driving anymore because you have to drift every corner the whole race long. For sure, grid 1 was no pure racing simulation, but grid 2 has simply nothing do to with that. So if you are looking for a second Grid, you really shouldn´t buy Grid 2, you surely will be disappointed, if you´re looking for an aracde racer it could be for you, BUT games like burnout, flatout, split second etc. have way more to offer then grid 2. I have to agree with many others it´s just an arcade drifting racing thing. Expand
  8. May 29, 2013
    6
    Ok i tried to be fair with this after buying this game i feel somewhat let down i asked alot of questions beforehand on twitter before getting this game an i kind of feel lied to. This game to me is just not fun it does not beat the previous grid and almost feels like it was a dumbed down version of that besides having the no view to fit more in stance, The graphics to me actually lookOk i tried to be fair with this after buying this game i feel somewhat let down i asked alot of questions beforehand on twitter before getting this game an i kind of feel lied to. This game to me is just not fun it does not beat the previous grid and almost feels like it was a dumbed down version of that besides having the no view to fit more in stance, The graphics to me actually look worse then a previous codemasters games im comparing this to dirt 2 dirt 2 on dx11 looks amazing to me grid 2 is all environment details and the cars are significantly less detailed, The damage system cars break away all too easy and almost feel like they are made out of paper compaired to dirt 2's damage system the cars in that game feel way more solid... i crashed several times into the wall to test it out and majority of the time the same damage happened or it just looked ridiculous and not good to look at even as being damage... Compare dirt 2 and grid 2 after about the same level impact http://imageshack.us/a/img832/8935/2013053000004.jpg scratches appear everywhere no matter what you hit most of the time... i duno it just looks half assed to me..

    While i wont completely rubbish this game some good things about it where live routes driving with them on made one of my races alot more interesting not getting use to the same layout and keeping things mixed up playing with the ai on hard i will give them this.

    Livery editor... yeah its there and it works but the way its designed is poor for some stupid reason by some comedic genius decided when selecting a livery it would give you the options at the bottom of the screen to go through while the camera of your car stays static zoomed into the bonnet so you cant see what the hell you are doing unless you press the view car option which takes time to load and get out of when you can see the livery changing dynamically already the view should be side on NOT zoomed into the bonnet.. its frustrating and almost made me not want to customize any of my cars. Screenshot ****

    Handling to me all cars feel the same you are either going sideways or not going sideways every corner or if you don't want to be going sideways every corner you are anyway. It is very arcade and because of this i am already sort of bored of the game and i only just got it today and have played it for about 5 hours.

    All in all the environments look nice to me the car details are severely lacking i feel like they went all out on the world detail and less on the cars a graphics option was for trees on ultra like really im barely going to notice anything besides the road in front of me i cant give this game a 9 or a 10 i cant give it a 0 either because that would be wrong codemasters will not care what i say because the main reviewers just gave them high scores anyway i have been playing Dirt 2 for the last 2 weeks and i feel it is a much better game then grid 2 even though it lacks alot of the good things from grid like customization more car verity and it is a rally game not a road racer so i shouldn't compare them to me it just looks and handles a lot better.

    With that said im giving grid 2 a 6 out of 10 yeah some things are improved but to me its just a bit of a flat meh experience driving felt dull to me for some reason i was lead to believe via twitter it was to be some amazing game i just wish i didn't pay 70$ for.
    Expand
  9. Jun 2, 2013
    5
    I have been playing it quite a bit online and offline.

    I am a little bit dissappointed, I think GRID 1 was a far superior game to this, I am usually a Sim racer but enjoy these titles every now and again and enjoyed GRID1 a lot using the controller. This game seems dumbed down badly, It has worse Damage modeling and physics, there seems to be a massive emphasis on drifting around
    I have been playing it quite a bit online and offline.

    I am a little bit dissappointed, I think GRID 1 was a far superior game to this, I am usually a Sim racer but enjoy these titles every now and again and enjoyed GRID1 a lot using the controller.

    This game seems dumbed down badly, It has worse Damage modeling and physics, there seems to be a massive emphasis on drifting around every corner to go faster, there is always 1 AI that is miles faster ahead of anyone else and sometimes you are playing catchup for a lap or 2 because he has got a 5 second lead out of nowhere, Then once you catchup you wiull be gaining lead for no reason and always finish 5 seconds or more infront of 2nd place, I am playing on HARD, this might be changed on very hard, Im not sure. Its like Mario Kart in that sense.

    The best part is online play for sure but it needs some work, why upgrade your cars if a stock can can beat it? I have won many races with stock cars and people struggle to catchup,I could just be better but it happens far too often, I don't know what to think about that.

    The other issue I have is the constant stuttering and freezing up for no reason, I made another thread about this and no answer, I have had this problem before on other CM games and it was always related to the huge replay file that saves on my Windows Partition, When i dirlinked, It always was fixed but In this title it remains the same.

    Running on:
    i7 950'3ghz
    12gb DDR3
    SLI GTX580

    It runs well and is very easy on the hardware, My brother can run it on high with his 260.

    Overall Its a fair game but It could have been made much better, It seems rushed in some places.

    5/10
    Expand
  10. Jun 2, 2013
    6
    When I got to know, there won't be view, I was very very disappointed already. However, the trailers, gameplays made me interested in the game again. I bought it and what I got is a weird, mixed experience, that sometimes I can enjoy it, and sometimes it makes me said if I think about my expectations and the first GRID.

    The graphics are pretty good in this game. Cars are highly
    When I got to know, there won't be view, I was very very disappointed already. However, the trailers, gameplays made me interested in the game again. I bought it and what I got is a weird, mixed experience, that sometimes I can enjoy it, and sometimes it makes me said if I think about my expectations and the first GRID.

    The graphics are pretty good in this game. Cars are highly detailed, the tracks are beautiful, Everything looks alright! There are some really nice existing circuits perfectly presentated. Yas Marina circuit is beautiful, it has the nice, color changing building, the background has fireworks, it feels it "lives". It is true to the other tracks too. Nicely animated crowd, airplanes in the background. Sun also looks realistic, also you can see some dust patches on the camera. So the environment, the effects are cool. As I wrote, cars are nice too, but the damage model is far from what we got from GRID. It's just not good enough. Very disappointing.

    Sounds are good, but not excellent. They're better than average. All the cars have nice sound. Can't tell more about, it's right in overall.

    Handling and AI... oh god... Handling is SO arcade-ish... It is so simple compared to GRID. Basically, you can't turn in a corner without burning your tyre. You drift all the time, doesn't matter, what car do you drive. Sometimes, you are drifting even with an Indycar... meh... Also, driving assists are gone!
    Also, what GRID also had, this game doesn't have: view! So disappointing. The "hood" camera is somewhat OK, but that's the only really usable camera in the game. For me, external views were unforgivable. Not useful at all.

    The AI is not that bad, but interesting, the leader always builds up a higher gap to the others. There are patterns that you can see about the AI. It's not right, but can be challenging.

    The career mode is OK, simple, but fun. There are wide variety of game modes (also playable in custom event mode which the typical single player mode). You can unlock new cars. Basically... it's so basic, but fun.

    Well, in overall it's a huge disappointment. Good physics: gone. Great damage model: gone. view: gone. that little fun for simulator fans: GONE! Codemasters, what were you thinking?!

    I'm sorry, I'm so sorry. It's not good enough. It can be enjoyable, but the game mechanics are so simple compared to GRID. It's just an average racing game. Sorry to say that. There are good points that makes the game somewhat playable and enjoyable, but it doesn't deserve more than a 6 of 10.
    Expand
  11. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    So, if you want to buy this you must ask yourself few questions:
    1) Am i ready to constant drift?
    2) Am i ready for stupid rivals, which are glued to the track and never making the mistakes(like it was in original GRID) 3) Am i ready to stupid rivals, which will always try to knock me out from the track? 4) Am i ready to hear the same engine sound from different cars? 5) Am i ready to
    So, if you want to buy this you must ask yourself few questions:
    1) Am i ready to constant drift?
    2) Am i ready for stupid rivals, which are glued to the track and never making the mistakes(like it was in original GRID)
    3) Am i ready to stupid rivals, which will always try to knock me out from the track?
    4) Am i ready to hear the same engine sound from different cars?
    5) Am i ready to complete stupid goals from sponsors?
    So if all "YES" then buy this game. For me GRID series is a stupid arcade for kids, and it's dead, like NFS, TDU and DIRT. I hope Codemasters will lose their license for F1 games, and guys from F1 will give it to Polyphony Digital. Maybe then Codemasters will learn how to make games about cars a bit arcady, and without: OMG YOU MUST DRIFT IN EVERY RACE OMG.
    Expand
  12. May 29, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed the bump in graphical quality, and how smoothly the game runs, but all the cutscenes and the single-player mode in general is a bit annoying. I also didn't like how the game seems to focus more on 1-on-1 races a lot more than Grid 1 did. Another mild annoyance I had was that despite the game looking better than Grid 1, the replays were much more fun to watch in Grid 1, likely dueI enjoyed the bump in graphical quality, and how smoothly the game runs, but all the cutscenes and the single-player mode in general is a bit annoying. I also didn't like how the game seems to focus more on 1-on-1 races a lot more than Grid 1 did. Another mild annoyance I had was that despite the game looking better than Grid 1, the replays were much more fun to watch in Grid 1, likely due to better camera placement.

    All in all, it's a good game, but they took a lot out of it that I miss from Grid 1, like having my own team, ease of selecting the events I wanted to be in instead of feeling like I am shoehorned into only a few race options, the ability to buy my own cars instead of either just having them given to me or having to win them in challenges, etc... The driving does feel better than in Grid 1, but after a while, I kept just thinking I'd rather just go back and play Grid 1 instead of this game, which I don't think is what the developers were going for.
    Expand
  13. May 31, 2013
    5
    Grid 2 Arcade Racer.

    If you want real simulation racing either take up iracing and their outdated software and silly price structure or wait for something else. Grid 2 is not terrible but it's geared towards the Arcade crowd, and not towards serious racers.
  14. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    Driving physics are excellent as are the graphics. A racing game which provides a real sensation of speed and car handling. The 'campaign' mode offers several different race types and challenges and keeps things varied. In the longer term, after the campaign is completed it is still a game I'd return to for the odd high speed bash.

    A strong 7/10, pleased I bought it.
  15. May 31, 2013
    5
    I can live with the graphics: It's pretty if you like excessive bloom and lense flares.
    I can live with the new menu: if you have a life online with twitter, youtube and facebook.
    I can live with the story: if you're into taking all this stuff very seriously. What I can't live with is the fact that as soon as you turn your car around and drive against the flow, your "opponents" are
    I can live with the graphics: It's pretty if you like excessive bloom and lense flares.
    I can live with the new menu: if you have a life online with twitter, youtube and facebook.
    I can live with the story: if you're into taking all this stuff very seriously.

    What I can't live with is the fact that as soon as you turn your car around and drive against the flow, your "opponents" are not even there. They don't exist. They are just dots on your radar. You are not racing against anyone. It's really sad. But what's even sadder is that your manager tries to keep on telling you that the "race" is happening the other way around the track.

    It totally breaks any immersion I would have had otherwise. And it immediately explains why Codemasters have opted to drop any "rear-view" camera or other tool to let you know where you are in the field of racers. And that's just plain lazy.

    Any racing game that does not simulate the 11 other cars you are supposed to race against and opts for simply cheating by throwing "an ace driver" at you just before the last turn in the race, is not worth it's salt. Dirt Showdown cheated. Infuriatingly so. And Grid 2 cheats much in the same way.

    Think long and hard about spending your dollars on this one.
    Expand
  16. Jun 1, 2013
    6
    Here are a few arguments about whether or not this game is worth your time.

    This review is as short but as accurate as I can so you can easily decide if it's a buy or a rent. See,Codemasters,a company known for great racing games such as Dirt 3,Colin Mcrae Rally changed its perspective this time. The game gets closer to the need for speed series,more particularly due to the
    Here are a few arguments about whether or not this game is worth your time.

    This review is as short but as accurate as I can so you can easily decide if it's a buy or a rent.

    See,Codemasters,a company known for great racing games such as Dirt 3,Colin Mcrae Rally changed its perspective this time. The game gets closer to the need for speed series,more particularly due to the handling. The cars feel way too stuck to the track even when youre drifting,making it rarely that you hit the side of the road,and so removing any doubt that this game might be close to real life driving. In fact,right from the first race you can easily play without having to restart once,nor during the later races in the game.

    The A.I is pretty decent if you choose the hardest difficulty,providing enough challenge to the player. The other cars don't usually block but the games' moments are very enjoyable when it comes to tension sequences. The normal difficulty on the other hand makes it easy for the player to be in the front place without much effort or fear that he might lose his chance of winning,the other cars being way behind most of the time as if their speed is restricted.

    The graphics look quite sharp,car models look great and the environment does a great job immersing the player into the game. When it comes to optimization it's well done,making an intel dual core 2.5ghz run almost limitless when it comes to the framerate.

    The audio is impressive,vehicles make different engine sounds according to where you are (for ex: in a tunnel) and in general it's hard to forget combined with the great songs this game has.

    There are other mechanics such as acquiring fans and customizing your car that provide an interesting context,youtube videos making you more and more popular during the gameplay,but not after it ends.

    Unlike the first grid, this game chooses to be different,making the hard turns almost non-existent,lowering the skill level required and making itself more arcadey,becoming just another graphic gem that will be replaced in time by other games and forgotten by those who appreciate true races where the pedal has to be at the right time straight to the metal.

    This game is a must buy for casual gamers. Hardcore gamers should stay away from this even if they enjoyed the first grid. Its sequel feels like a totally different game with its name slapped on the box for marketing purposes.
    Expand
  17. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    Let me begin by saying that Grid 2 is a very solid, high quality racing game. It's accessible, fun and far from frustrating. The rewind feature is quicker to use than ever and is very convenient at some points. When you restart a race, you don't have to wait any longer than 3 seconds. You can replay events if you wish, and it has split-screen as well as the ability to just set up a quickLet me begin by saying that Grid 2 is a very solid, high quality racing game. It's accessible, fun and far from frustrating. The rewind feature is quicker to use than ever and is very convenient at some points. When you restart a race, you don't have to wait any longer than 3 seconds. You can replay events if you wish, and it has split-screen as well as the ability to just set up a quick race against the AI. You can customise your car's decal, paint and wheels very simply and only takes 5 minutes to get it exactly how you want. With pre-made decals, very good choice of colours and paint, wheels etc. all unlocked from the start, visual customisation has never been faster in a racing game. The lack of performance upgrades makes races fair. So far, so good. What's more, the career mode isn't as cumbersome as you may think or intrusive of the main gameplay. The number of difficulty options is perfect too. You get street circuits, point-to-point rally-type stages and a few real-life tracks such as Indianapolis, Brands Hatch, Algarve and Yas Marina. Furthermore, the variety of event types is great including some of the more unconventional game modes rarely found in other racing games. The lack of assists further enhances the game's simplicity. Since the handling of the cars is so right, it wouldn't make sense to have assists, and the lack of them makes gameplay fair. You still get manual transmission, as you'd expect of course. Graphics aren't as good as they are demanding, but are very good far from Most Wanted 2012 level but on par with The Run. So what's the problem? We've got a PGR Shift clone, which is great. But there is one HUGE mistake Codemasters made not including INTERIOR VIEW! If this was an arcade game, it would be excusable, since it wouldn't be necessary or suitable. But it's THE ONE GAME you'd expect to have view. Without it, the experience feels very bland compared to what it could've been. If you own an Xbox 360 and have played Project Gotham Racing 3 or PGR 4, you will laugh at this game like it was some sort of joke. What's worse is the online. Not only can you not choose what class of cars or the track you'd like to race on (this is randomly decided by the game, with option to veto), but you have to unlock EVERYTHING. It's as if the single player and multiplayer progression are done the wrong way around. You would expect to have full access to customisation options and no money in online, with everthing unlocked for fair play, but instead you have to unlock everything and if you enter an online race, 99% of the time you won't have a car suitable for the event so the game "loans" you a car but takes off 50% of your winnings for using the car. It's stupid and a major deterrent for playing the online. However, the online does offer weekly challenges in a variety of events and tracks, where there is a bronze silver gold gold medal to earn. These are solo, just you, the car, the track and the target to beat. You can rank up this way too, so this is the only reason to play online. Races are unplayable due to the extreme amount of bashing. Overall, Grid 2 is a racing game which will gel more with those who don't often play racing games. If you're looking for a lower quality, more boring, less exciting, less satisfying, easier, less varied, less fun, less challenging, shorter and worse cars version of Project Gotham Racing without interior view for the PC, this is your game. Otherwise, grab yourself a 360, buy a copy of PGR 3 or PGR 4 and enjoy it far more than this average racing game. Expand
  18. Jun 29, 2013
    7
    All in all a good arcade racer! How anyone can say the original looks better than v2 released 5 years later are clueless and, or have a system not capable of running todays games. The game looks vastly superior to the original and is on par with recently released racing games. Yeah, the original for it's time looked awesome, and it was a groundbreaker in PC arcade style racers for manyAll in all a good arcade racer! How anyone can say the original looks better than v2 released 5 years later are clueless and, or have a system not capable of running todays games. The game looks vastly superior to the original and is on par with recently released racing games. Yeah, the original for it's time looked awesome, and it was a groundbreaker in PC arcade style racers for many years. Get over your preconceptions.

    The only reason I can gather that anyone would rate this title below a 5 is because they're getting owned by AI and, or multi-player. I also think people simply won't give the game the time it takes to pass the learning curve to be good at racing in Grid 2. That's always an issue with such blockbusters and their future release(s). People simply won't give up on their point of view because of the first game and give the game the time it requires to get past their preconceptions and start having fun.

    Sure v2 had it's problems upon launch with no rhyme or reason the the system. So, it became hard for the average user to try and diagnose, or provide a solution. A couple of patches later, new gfx card drivers released and so on have made the game much more stable. Me and many other's are still having a lot of fun online even though the cap is currently lvl30. I managed to beat career mode in very hard setting without too many complications. I simply had to re-run some races to get my 1st place finish because I wasn't familiar with the tracks and, or cars yet (I accept nothing less than 1st place in single player and re-ran several maps until I achieved my goal). Very hard settings helped because when I started playing online I had one up on many of the player base because, after all learning the tracks and a feel for the cars handling is more than half the battle with any racer.
    Expand
  19. Jun 1, 2013
    5
    Little disappointed was expecting more from the people who gave us dirt 3 and f1 2012.
    Graphics are good but the car handling is boring! you have to be uber special to spin out or go off track.
  20. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    Grid 2 is not the sequel everyone has been waiting for. That being said, it is a decent game.

    Port Quality: 6 Menus: 2 Graphics: 9.5 Sound: 8.5 Tracks: 6 Cars: 6 Vehicle Handling: 6 Single Player mode: 3 Multiplayer mode: 9 Sequel Expectations: 1 Overall: 7 (Port Qualty: 6) This game is a port from console so its mainly geared towards a controller based system. Xbox
    Grid 2 is not the sequel everyone has been waiting for. That being said, it is a decent game.

    Port Quality: 6
    Menus: 2
    Graphics: 9.5
    Sound: 8.5
    Tracks: 6
    Cars: 6
    Vehicle Handling: 6
    Single Player mode: 3
    Multiplayer mode: 9
    Sequel Expectations: 1
    Overall: 7

    (Port Qualty: 6) This game is a port from console so its mainly geared towards a controller based system. Xbox controller or similar is a must unless you actually have the whole setup with wheel, pedals, etc... Also, loading can be slightly jagged vs. smooth even when running from a solid state drive. Game performance can be effected on semi-rare occasion, not enough to be worried about.

    (Menus: 2) The menus in Grid 2 are horrible. Even for the console crowd, simply navigating from starting the game to racing can be tedious. Not a huge downside of the game but noteworthy.

    (Graphics: 9.5) The in game graphics are fantastic, a big improvement from the original Grid. That being said, there was a notable oversight, view. This was a huge disappointment for me because I loved the feeling and challenge of the original Grid in view. The choice that Codemasters made to leave this out has been one of the biggest controversies in the simulation community. The closest view mode is bonnet/hood view and this hurts when you're used to viewing your side and rear view mirror/s. Beyond this oversight, the graphics are really very good. There is greatly improved in-game lighting from the original Grid allowing more realistic looking worlds and reflections. Also, there are squirrels and rabbits running across the course which is nice, but you almost never notice it going 150+ mph

    (Sound: 8.5) The sound has been greatly improved when driving close to barriers and by segmented areas where you can actually hear the sound reflecting off the walls.

    (Vehicle Handling: 6) Cars are based upon 3 systems. Drift, Balanced, and Grip. Drifting around corners is encouraged to achieve a faster lap time which can be frustrating for simulation players.

    (Tracks: 6) There are a lot of courses in Grid 2, unfortunately they are mostly point to point races instead of circuit courses. Granted, there are many variations of each circuit course, but this can lead to a bit on confusion on the first lap. Corner cutting has been implemented to punish those "cutting corners" by stalling your car... this is about as arcade as it gets. Also, corner cutting can be hit and miss, and sometimes you wonder why you're being punished...

    (Cars:6) There is a wide variety of cars to choose from in the game. Most of the cars are street cars (around 50% or 60%) and then the rest are rally cars, super cars, touring cars and a few GT cars. If you can master drifting then the first 2 tiers will almost always be yours since muscle cars can dominate straightaways with their power and fly around turns by drifting.

    (Single Player Mode: 3) Single player mode is pretty disappointing in the way its structured... its good for practice but feels like you're just going through the motions with no real rewards... You get fans instead of money and you don't even use them for anything... cars are readily given to you as you progress and the storyline is limited. Think of single player mode as practice for multiplayer mode.

    (Multiplayer Mode: 9) This is where Grid 2 begins to shine. Multiplayer is fun, frustrating, hilarious, intense, and rewarding. You start with a limited amount of cars and gain money by participating in races to buy more cars and even upgrade them. You can upgrade lower tier cars into the next tier which adds more variety to the mix. Up to 12 people can be in a race making them deep enough for overtaking to be fun and challenging but not necessarily impossible unless you're playing against well seasoned or lucky drivers. VOIP is integrated so bust out your headset and microphone. Level up to unlock newer cars, paint patterns, paint types (ie. Flip, Pearlescent), and sponsors. Granted, sponsors don't give you money, its just for looks.

    (Sequel Expectations: 1) This is not the semi-arcade/semi-simulation game most people were expecting for a title like Grid 2. If it wasn't for the title, being the sequel to Grid, the game might have fared better with rating community.

    (Overall: 7) Codemasters decided to go full arcade with an emphasis on graphics and sound making the driving experience very visually stimulating. Granted, the game lacks in the realism and physics department with things like tire wear, which makes it possible to ignore the consequences of drifting. Multiplayer entirely makes up for the lack achievement in single player mode. It took me a while to get over the lack of a view but in the end this game is a decent arcade driving game with great graphics.
    Expand
  21. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    I haven't played the first game in a while, but I feel was much more impressed at the time than now. Car damage is bad now, you crash it down and it takes a really long time to feel any difference or for your team to tell you something about it. There is drift all the time, you can't really control it. But worst of all, I would love to know who the hell was the stupid idiot that thought itI haven't played the first game in a while, but I feel was much more impressed at the time than now. Car damage is bad now, you crash it down and it takes a really long time to feel any difference or for your team to tell you something about it. There is drift all the time, you can't really control it. But worst of all, I would love to know who the hell was the stupid idiot that thought it would be a good idea to make an effect when you crash that looks like your graphics card is showing artifacts. Really, whoever you are, you deserve to die you freaking moron. Overall, it's fun, but generic and not impressive at all like the first one was at the time. Expand
  22. ber
    Jul 3, 2015
    7
    Very solid arcade racer. Needed to mod it to get the cockpit view which is the only way i can play racing games. It plays really well but the overall package is so lacking. Customization is so minimal and codemasters have totally neglected the online side of it.
    It's a real shame because this game given a bit more time and love could be something so much better.
  23. Nov 26, 2013
    6
    I'm disappointed that Codemasters removed the view that I use for realism. It also became an arcade racing game which killed the first GRID's sim.The old GRID is still better. The career mode is boring but the multiplayer is good. You can buy & upgrade cars.
  24. Jul 22, 2013
    5
    yet another game that is going to proof the corruption going on in the game journalism industry. go ahead and read strategy informers review. its right there, no the left. this game is a 7/10 at most. but i give it a 5
  25. Dec 9, 2013
    7
    I was really looking up to this game, the first installment "GRID" was near perfect, the menu was great, there were teams, sponsors, cars customization, and best of all the slow motion damage. I'm sad to say that most of those features have been either removed or downgraded.

    Plain simple: 1. Cars have less visual damage. 2. The new "Replay" feature has been completely downgraded to
    I was really looking up to this game, the first installment "GRID" was near perfect, the menu was great, there were teams, sponsors, cars customization, and best of all the slow motion damage. I'm sad to say that most of those features have been either removed or downgraded.

    Plain simple:

    1. Cars have less visual damage.
    2. The new "Replay" feature has been completely downgraded to the point where all you can do is watch a clip play and click play.
    3. The new menu is pale, there is no better way to say it.
    4. There are no more teams like there was in GRID.
    5. Instead of sponsors and cash there is something new called "FANS", since when do fans mean anything?

    This should have been GRID (1), and the other way around. I hope the Codemasters team learn from their mistakes.

    Since this is more of a comparison than a review, I'm giving it 7 stars. As a game on it's own it is still fun to play and I prefer it over the NFS games, so should you.
    Expand
  26. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    Good graphics, but disgusting physics. If you think physics this is a moving boxes on wheels. Badly implemented multiplayer, which does not go to any comparison with the giants autosim iRacing and rFactor.
  27. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Gdyby Grid 2 nie był Gridem może byłby naprawdę dobrą grą wyścigową. Grid 2 wygląda przepięknie, może nie wykorzystuje w 100% Directx'a 11, ale wiać że został na nim stworzony. Widać jakość tego tytułu, widać po prostu poziom Codemasters. Świetne prowadzenie kampanii, wiele trybów i do tego split screen. Wszystko zrobione bardzo dobrze, problem jednak leży gdzie indziej. Grid 2 to nieGdyby Grid 2 nie był Gridem może byłby naprawdę dobrą grą wyścigową. Grid 2 wygląda przepięknie, może nie wykorzystuje w 100% Directx'a 11, ale wiać że został na nim stworzony. Widać jakość tego tytułu, widać po prostu poziom Codemasters. Świetne prowadzenie kampanii, wiele trybów i do tego split screen. Wszystko zrobione bardzo dobrze, problem jednak leży gdzie indziej. Grid 2 to nie Grid. To nie gra położona na symulacje(Tak jak Grid 1, który może i nie był pełną symulacją, ale starał się do niej upodobnić), najgorsze jest to że twórcy do tego połączyli tak symulację z jazdą arcadową że jeździ się naprawdę słabo. Silnik jazdy jest po prostu denerwujący. Dodając do tego elementy symulacji czy auto które może się zniszczyć, ta gra staje się po prostu denerwująca. Jest do tego nie dopracowana, jak np. boty które czasami jeżdżą wręcz za idealnie. Jako gra wyścigowa-nawet bardzo dobra jako kontynuacja grid'a 2 średniak. Moja ocena 7/10 Expand
  28. Dec 17, 2013
    6
    Actually I don't make reviews because people already tell all I have to say about the game but with Grid 2 is different. I have never saw a decent review showing everything. There's just those who hated and those who loved. So let's start with the pros...

    First the handling. I barely played Grid 1 but with I saw on the internet it was way too easy and that's not good. I think the
    Actually I don't make reviews because people already tell all I have to say about the game but with Grid 2 is different. I have never saw a decent review showing everything. There's just those who hated and those who loved. So let's start with the pros...

    First the handling. I barely played Grid 1 but with I saw on the internet it was way too easy and that's not good. I think the developers saw it and tought: "We must correct this! C'mon give them some hard handling"; and that's that. Besides the fact that your car go mad in every hard curve and you end up pressing the flashback button all the time, I don't see the handling as a negative point. My favorite track is the Mizu Mountain, because it have all you need to know about the game. It have sinuous, hard-curved, simple and even blind parts where you can (will) crash any time. And think with me: you just got out of the hardest drift of your life (the one after the second bridge, probably) and now there's a little simple curve and WOOOOW you crash. Then you Alt+F4 the game and goes right into Metacritic to criticise the game for its "horrible" driving, saying te first was better. C'mon! If you try to drive a Nissan Spec thinking you're driving a VW Golf you'll end up beautifully smashed in the walls. All I'm trying to say is, it doesn't matter if it's harder, because like everything in life (drifting included), it's a challenge and all we do in life is beat challenges, right So don't blame the game for his hard driving, blame yourself for don't being able to master it.

    Graphics Amazing. Effects and scenario textures are all low-res but it's because the game was made to work on Intel IGPUs. But the HDR effects and the motion blur look like they've been made by God itself.

    Career mode looked like interactive with social networks but after a while you realize the number of fans is actually... just numbers. It lacks of a "grand finale" and have no climax. That's why the 9/10.

    Online is amazing when you don't face people mad about the driving and really competitive. There's a phrase from F&F4 that Toretto said, that also explain my opinion about this. "It doesn't matter if you win by a centimeter or by a mile a win is a win." Really well-made online mode.

    Huge collection of cars, and a (very) few of them have unique handling. I missed the real tuning, that lacks on today's racing games...

    And now the ridiculous point. WHERE THE HELL IS MY MONEY In every racing game I could go over there and buy some upgrades and then over there and buy some b**ches and then over there to go race for more money to buy more b**ches and now... IT'S ALL F***ING DONE And why I don't know. I just want to punch the man who thought about doing this to the best racing game ever.

    Very sad, CM. Very sad...
    Expand
  29. Dec 28, 2013
    6
    I hope everyone here played Race Driver Grid here because it's awesome and people screamed when they knew Grid 2 is here. Well, the sequel is something... different.

    First, the main difference between Grid and Grid 2 is the handling. In Grid 1, the handling is quite user-friendly and it's not that hard to corner. Unfortunately, in Grid 2, every single car is drifty in the beginning.
    I hope everyone here played Race Driver Grid here because it's awesome and people screamed when they knew Grid 2 is here. Well, the sequel is something... different.

    First, the main difference between Grid and Grid 2 is the handling. In Grid 1, the handling is quite user-friendly and it's not that hard to corner. Unfortunately, in Grid 2, every single car is drifty in the beginning. Also the realism is lost as the mix of arcade and simulation handling in Grid became full arcade in Grid 2 (I don't think a car can drift from a corner to another corner), which is a big minus for me.

    Second, the gameplay. It seems that a lot of features in Grid 1 do not move to Grid 2, like teammates and sponsors. The team paint part is ridiculous that every single time I want to see how does the vinyl look, I have to wait for a few seconds before I can see the side of the car, and I have to do it a million times. There's a new feature called "fans" and I don't know what it's for. Also, you can now get all the cars if you complete all vehicle challenges, which I prefer the Grid 1 version you have to buy cars. And WHERE THE HELL IS VIEW?

    Third, the cars. The cars in Grid 2 lacks a little bit variety than Grid 1 and the cars are fewer (as I remember)
    but that's fine for me. The main problem is the handling style. It's actually a bit ridiculous that some grip cars are actually more handy than drift cars, and the balanced cars are not very balanced (that BMW and Hyundai is grippy as hell and Mclaren is drifty I remember). The unique feel of driving in different cars are lost.

    Fourth, the audio. Nothing special I must say.

    Fifth, the graphics. Good in scenes, but definitely not in details. If you crash your car to an extent you can see your car's engine, you'll realize how lazy Codemasters is.

    Well, it's actually a fun game in certain extent but it's definitely a full-arcade game, which is different from Grid 1. I guess I will delete Grid 2 and leave Grid 1 in my computer.
    Expand
  30. Jan 5, 2015
    7
    Pretty and well optimized, lots of drifting but it's generally responsive and rewarding. Lots of variety in handling from car to car and class to class, everything requires it's own approach and adjustments. The game forced me to play without a mini map in the campaign and I liked it so much I turned the minimap for good, since most hard turns have easily visible arrow indicators.
    No
    Pretty and well optimized, lots of drifting but it's generally responsive and rewarding. Lots of variety in handling from car to car and class to class, everything requires it's own approach and adjustments. The game forced me to play without a mini map in the campaign and I liked it so much I turned the minimap for good, since most hard turns have easily visible arrow indicators.
    No driver-cam, AI could be better, and some other little issues. Overall a decent game, but there's other racing games probably more worth the money.

    I notice other people had problems with spinning out of control when taking corners. I don't know if they were also using controllers, but for me the game defaulted to the triggers for the throttle and brakes, which is retarded for obvious reasons. The handling improved immensely after I switched it to a and x.
    Expand
  31. Jun 9, 2013
    0
    I've enjoyed a variety of racing games from semi-realistic to arcade. Grid2 is so enamoured of "drift" driving that that's really all it has to offer. Having attempted to play with a keyboard and a controller (but not a wheel), I have to wonder if this game was playtested with any controller OTHER than a wheel. "Drift" driving is the least entertaining for me, as games of that typeI've enjoyed a variety of racing games from semi-realistic to arcade. Grid2 is so enamoured of "drift" driving that that's really all it has to offer. Having attempted to play with a keyboard and a controller (but not a wheel), I have to wonder if this game was playtested with any controller OTHER than a wheel. "Drift" driving is the least entertaining for me, as games of that type always seem to offer a selection of cars that cannot be driven in any other fashion, and GRID2 was no exception. Each car is eagerly awaiting the slightest opportunity to careen out of control.

    If you're over drift driving, give this one a pass.
    Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 8, 2013
    82
    Grid 2 is an accomplished and visually strong racer let down only by a bafflingly lame Career mode narrative.
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    69
    Every situation in GRID 2 feels the same, and there is a reason. Having collected more than 50 cars in my virtual garage, I can’t point out my favorite ones – they all behave the same way, without any distinctive quirks of ‘character’. And locations that repeat ad nauseum only make this feeling worse.
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    70
    GRID 2 is an action-packed and intense experience, where the cars behave like in a Hollywood movie. It is an entertaining arcade racer, but there are a few flaws. The AI is weak, the number of tracks should be higher and the game is too simplified in a few areas.