Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 474 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prove yourself against advanced AI in aggressive races. Catapult your way to the top of a new world of motorsport. A separate online campaign features full RaceNet integration. Race a handpicked selection of iconic cars that represent what some consider to be the best in automotive engineering from the last 40 years. Take on challenging licensed tracks, city streets and lethal mountain roads. Prove yourself by entering and winning events across three continents. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    85
    GRID 2 for PC is one of the best racing games around, thanks to an excellent AI and gorgeous graphics.
  2. May 28, 2013
    85
    Grid 2 is a racing game that rewards skill without punishing you for the tiniest mistakes, letting you master a simple system with a forgiving attitude. It may stray too close towards the easy side of the scale at times, and it'll be interesting to see how the game works online (which unfortunately wasn't tested in this review), but its career mode is well worth playing and you won't be satisfied until you've mastered every single corner.
  3. May 31, 2013
    84
    GRID 2 doesn’t insist on tuning, there is no setup hassle – just driving fun with a great sense of speed. Unfortunately some problems remain untouched, among them the very aggressive AI.
  4. May 28, 2013
    80
    A well-curated car list, a great sense of speed, and a well-thought out career mode combine in a racer that is a lot of fun to play through.
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    This is a gorgeous, exciting game.
  6. 80
    The more time you spend with Grid 2, the more you feel like its caught in a conflict of personality. However, there are no problems here that can’t be fixed with a patch or two, and racing fans will find plenty to enjoy. Here’s to hoping that Codemasters will support the game post-release.
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    69
    Every situation in GRID 2 feels the same, and there is a reason. Having collected more than 50 cars in my virtual garage, I can’t point out my favorite ones – they all behave the same way, without any distinctive quirks of ‘character’. And locations that repeat ad nauseum only make this feeling worse.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 127
  2. Negative: 66 out of 127
  1. May 29, 2013
    10
    GRID 2 manages to inject a nice dose of realistic physics within an arcade style racing game. The result is a game that simulator purists will surely frown upon.... (lack of view, no tuning) but everyone else will enjoy. The locations and cars look absolutely stunning. The single player is meaty and the multiplayer is absolutely worth playing. Collapse
  2. May 28, 2013
    9
    Codemasters has done an excellent job into making the ultimate racing game. Eye-candy graphics, there's an actual storyline and it makes it a very personal experience. The racing is phenomenal, the drifts might take some time to master but that doesn't take away from the whole racing experience. You're going to have fun regardless. Who cares about no-in car camera no one ever used that in Grid 1. This is worth buying trust me. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    Here is my take on the game..I am into simulators and do not like arcade games where the physics do not represent reality. I think part of what keep the player immersed on the experience is the simulation.
    I have drove more than 2000 miles on these game and can tell that it a good one. Graphics are stunning..just look at screen shots and videos..the physics are 80% there..that's why I gave a 8. Sound is good hand break works as supposed to..I would like to have horn. So if you want my opinion if you should buy the game or not..go ahead..it is worth the money..
    Lots of reviews here I bet played did not drove 100 miles on it..to say the game sucks..it takes some time until you get the hang of it..and also to adjust the Logitech G25 took me some time also. Have fun and see u there.!

    LovaLova69.
    Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2013
    4
    Every since Dirt 3 code master have been going down hill F1 is like a clone each year good but not enough for once a year .Showdown was a game for little kids .And now grid2 with no cam and just pure arcade simple gameplay. And dlc threw at you on day1.Hope they wake up and make some changes in management are else they will lose most of there fans ,Go back to what you do well Dirt sim/arcade Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2013
    3
    This isn't like the original GRID at all. The graphics have not at all improved since the original, and no special effort seems to have been made in improving the graphics on PC. Buildings are blocky, textures aren't high-res and there is too much texture repetition. Perhaps the game has been limited by the static console platforms, but as a PC user it's disappointing to see that little has changed. In actual fact, it seems like a step-down when you consider that the view was removed from the game. The new handling system seems even more arcadey, which is another disappointment as this is what differentiated GRID from other arcade racing games. The actual racing experience is incredibly boring. There doesn't seem to be any background music during racing and the menu music is incredibly dull. It does nothing to excite the user, leading to a very boring experience. The driver AI is also very robotic, and pales in comparison to the AI seen in other games, like the Need for Speed SHIFT series.
    They've also introduced this ridiculous concept whereby winning events will garner 'fans' and likes on social media sites. I really don't want to see some made-up YouTube comments written in txtspeak. Boring. The in-game menu system is also boring, and is too similar to other Codemasters games. The whole game just reeks of staleness, there is nothing fresh here, just tired concepts re-done. About the only thing I think has improved in this game is the lighting system, but it seems that in order to do that other aspects of the game suffered (such as the lack of a view). Even the track locations are stale many of the cities have been done before in other racing games, and again the amount of tracks is minuscule compared to the likes of NFS Shift. All in all, the game is turning out to be a big disappointment and will make a regrettable purchase. In fairness, I'm basing this on around 1-2 hours of gameplay, but I struggle to see how things will get better. Perhaps things will get better, but it will be a chore to get there.
    Expand
  6. May 30, 2013
    1
    The physics feel like this game was ported from a phone, not a console. I loved Race Driver Grid but they removed the Race and the Driver throughout the game.
    The damage is a complete joke. There is just a traction control sign when your car gets severely damaged. The cars have nothing to adjust. A gt3 race car without brake bias and full traction control.

    The cars are rendered good. Exteriors are the only thing you can see of course, but that wouldn't have ruined the game for me if it was rewarding to play. I don't mind that some opponents drive brashly, but I don't like getting penalized for corner cutting as a result.

    The game overall is the worst driving game I have purchased in numerous years. I own the whole codie collection and after they replaced Colin with Ken Block I should have known that they were going for a "different market".

    I actually preferred the simulation feel in need for speed the run. It's honestly that disappointing.

    Testers notes: G27 Wheel auto sequential mostly H-pattern (which is mappable). Played career until Europe, Played online until I got dnq'd because a person drove into me in a hairpin and I caused an accident.
    Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2014
    0
    Worst racing game I bought in a long time. They took everything that was good in grid and put the opposite of that in this game.

    You can
    take corners full speed, the driving is to arcade it looks like the piece of sh*t EA is putting out year after year with NFS.

    Yet another franchise butchered thanks codebasterds.
    Expand

See all 127 User Reviews