Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 531 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prove yourself against advanced AI in aggressive races. Catapult your way to the top of a new world of motorsport. A separate online campaign features full RaceNet integration. Race a handpicked selection of iconic cars that represent what some consider to be the best in automotiveProve yourself against advanced AI in aggressive races. Catapult your way to the top of a new world of motorsport. A separate online campaign features full RaceNet integration. Race a handpicked selection of iconic cars that represent what some consider to be the best in automotive engineering from the last 40 years. Take on challenging licensed tracks, city streets and lethal mountain roads. Prove yourself by entering and winning events across three continents. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    85
    GRID 2 for PC is one of the best racing games around, thanks to an excellent AI and gorgeous graphics.
  2. May 28, 2013
    85
    Grid 2 is a racing game that rewards skill without punishing you for the tiniest mistakes, letting you master a simple system with a forgiving attitude. It may stray too close towards the easy side of the scale at times, and it'll be interesting to see how the game works online (which unfortunately wasn't tested in this review), but its career mode is well worth playing and you won't be satisfied until you've mastered every single corner.
  3. May 31, 2013
    84
    GRID 2 doesn’t insist on tuning, there is no setup hassle – just driving fun with a great sense of speed. Unfortunately some problems remain untouched, among them the very aggressive AI.
  4. May 28, 2013
    80
    A well-curated car list, a great sense of speed, and a well-thought out career mode combine in a racer that is a lot of fun to play through.
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    This is a gorgeous, exciting game.
  6. 80
    The more time you spend with Grid 2, the more you feel like its caught in a conflict of personality. However, there are no problems here that can’t be fixed with a patch or two, and racing fans will find plenty to enjoy. Here’s to hoping that Codemasters will support the game post-release.
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    69
    Every situation in GRID 2 feels the same, and there is a reason. Having collected more than 50 cars in my virtual garage, I can’t point out my favorite ones – they all behave the same way, without any distinctive quirks of ‘character’. And locations that repeat ad nauseum only make this feeling worse.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 139
  2. Negative: 72 out of 139
  1. May 29, 2013
    10
    GRID 2 manages to inject a nice dose of realistic physics within an arcade style racing game. The result is a game that simulator purists willGRID 2 manages to inject a nice dose of realistic physics within an arcade style racing game. The result is a game that simulator purists will surely frown upon.... (lack of view, no tuning) but everyone else will enjoy. The locations and cars look absolutely stunning. The single player is meaty and the multiplayer is absolutely worth playing. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    I loved this game!
    The handling is very good for an arcade game and the graphics are amazing!!!!
    Why didn't I give it a 10?? Because I just
    I loved this game!
    The handling is very good for an arcade game and the graphics are amazing!!!!
    Why didn't I give it a 10??
    Because I just hate the fact a $50 dollar game has a lot of DLC!!!
    Give DLCs for free or don't make DLCs!!!!!

    But,... the game is amazing!!!!
    Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2014
    8
    This is literally the best racing game I've ever played. I don't get all the negative reviews. Yes, it's not perferct: there aren't manyThis is literally the best racing game I've ever played. I don't get all the negative reviews. Yes, it's not perferct: there aren't many tracks, you can't remove the "dirty windscreen" look, online feels completey empty (not sure it's Codemasters' fault though), collisions affect you WAY more than the AI cars, there's no way to randomize events unless you're playing split screen, tier three is totally unbalanced blah blah blah but I challenge you to find a better racing game than this. Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2013
    4
    Every since Dirt 3 code master have been going down hill F1 is like a clone each year good but not enough for once a year .Showdown was aEvery since Dirt 3 code master have been going down hill F1 is like a clone each year good but not enough for once a year .Showdown was a game for little kids .And now grid2 with no cam and just pure arcade simple gameplay. And dlc threw at you on day1.Hope they wake up and make some changes in management are else they will lose most of there fans ,Go back to what you do well Dirt sim/arcade Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    3
    One of the worst games Codemasters has ever released. It really lacks imagination. Cars and races are dull and utterly simple. This game is noOne of the worst games Codemasters has ever released. It really lacks imagination. Cars and races are dull and utterly simple. This game is no match for the Dirt franchise. Expand
  6. May 30, 2013
    1
    The physics feel like this game was ported from a phone, not a console. I loved Race Driver Grid but they removed the Race and the DriverThe physics feel like this game was ported from a phone, not a console. I loved Race Driver Grid but they removed the Race and the Driver throughout the game.
    The damage is a complete joke. There is just a traction control sign when your car gets severely damaged. The cars have nothing to adjust. A gt3 race car without brake bias and full traction control.

    The cars are rendered good. Exteriors are the only thing you can see of course, but that wouldn't have ruined the game for me if it was rewarding to play. I don't mind that some opponents drive brashly, but I don't like getting penalized for corner cutting as a result.

    The game overall is the worst driving game I have purchased in numerous years. I own the whole codie collection and after they replaced Colin with Ken Block I should have known that they were going for a "different market".

    I actually preferred the simulation feel in need for speed the run. It's honestly that disappointing.

    Testers notes: G27 Wheel auto sequential mostly H-pattern (which is mappable). Played career until Europe, Played online until I got dnq'd because a person drove into me in a hairpin and I caused an accident.
    Collapse
  7. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    Codemasters' worst game ever.
    Take the first GRID, the older Race Drivers. All were brilliant games with handling so different from car to
    Codemasters' worst game ever.
    Take the first GRID, the older Race Drivers. All were brilliant games with handling so different from car to car that you had something you liked and disliked about each.
    This game is the reason I will never pre-order again and it's also the reason why I've lost all faith in Codemasters. I don't care what they say about GRID Autosport, burnt once, twice shy.
    Expand

See all 139 User Reviews

Trailers