GRID PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 468 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 468
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    I would REALLY like to give this game a 7.5. It's pretty fun, but falls short on a few expectations - the handling can be just plain silly at times. It's impossible to do drift-mode games on a keyboard, and open-wheel is extremely challenging due to how easily you can spin out with the 100% ON or 100% OFF input of a keyboard. Sure, I know I *SHOULD* be playing this on a racing wheel inI would REALLY like to give this game a 7.5. It's pretty fun, but falls short on a few expectations - the handling can be just plain silly at times. It's impossible to do drift-mode games on a keyboard, and open-wheel is extremely challenging due to how easily you can spin out with the 100% ON or 100% OFF input of a keyboard. Sure, I know I *SHOULD* be playing this on a racing wheel in the opinion of many. . . But I wish it would at least work on the keyboard. Graphics are fancy, wish there was a better variety of cars & sounds. The game is very buggy on Le Mans with extreme lag despite having a very nice system .. (GTX 480, i7 920 @ 3.6GHZ, 12GB 1600MHZ RAM). I just play the "race day" (arcade mode) for quick action and gave up on the storyline after hitting the challenges presenting by playing with a keyboard. Expand
  2. PaulM.
    Jun 5, 2008
    5
    I'm curious about the high press ratings thus far. The physics and handling will no doubt frustrate arcade racers with its finickiness, and completely disenfranchise any remaining TRD3 sim fans who will throw their hands up in disgust at the comical handling. Arcade, sim, whatever - you just shouldn't be able to take a 90 degree corner at 200 km/h! The 'kitchen sink' I'm curious about the high press ratings thus far. The physics and handling will no doubt frustrate arcade racers with its finickiness, and completely disenfranchise any remaining TRD3 sim fans who will throw their hands up in disgust at the comical handling. Arcade, sim, whatever - you just shouldn't be able to take a 90 degree corner at 200 km/h! The 'kitchen sink' approach to different classes and races is all well and good for variety, but it rings even more of the 'jack of all trades' criticisms leveled at TRD3. The engine sounds are uninspired, force feedback is surprisingly limited given the range of feedback on offer in competitors titles, and the graphics (although beautiful at times) look remarkably unrealistic due to the amount of bloom and brown tinting. Codemasters don't seem to have taken on board criticism from DiRT racers in this regard. I'm disappointed with this release, which seems to stray even further down the marketing-driven path of all candy, no substance. Expand
  3. SamuS.
    Jun 12, 2008
    6
    This game doesn't make any sense. Right in the beginning you get your hands on on a mean monster cars with hundreds of horsepowers, and trying to keep one on the road is difficult, unless you turn on the driving aids. This game puts you to race on a unfamiliar track, making the first few laps total trial by error. When you struggle to keep your ride on the tarmac, opponents flash This game doesn't make any sense. Right in the beginning you get your hands on on a mean monster cars with hundreds of horsepowers, and trying to keep one on the road is difficult, unless you turn on the driving aids. This game puts you to race on a unfamiliar track, making the first few laps total trial by error. When you struggle to keep your ride on the tarmac, opponents flash past you from left and right. And that is frustrating. Without the aids the car handling is really weird. You don't know when you are about to lose traction before it's too late to react. Cars don't feel to have any mass at all, and even the Lemans cars with huge downforce tend to go the corners in a four wheel slide. With driving aids on, the cars go on rails and your only duty is to sit on the accelerator and change lanes to avoid the opponents. The drift events are even more painful, controlling the rear end of your vehicle with the accelerator is vague, resulting in many spins and suddenly ending drifts. A chance to try out your vehicle and examine the track before the race would be nice. The AI is borrowed from Flatout 2. Tracks are so narrow that the AI cars totally cover the whole corner when they drive in a pack, forcing you to brake too early or just smash into them. On the other hand, when you brake too early, the opponents usually don't bother to avoid hitting you. In straights the AI still tends to cover the whole width of the track, leaving very few spots to overtake. At least the graphics look sleek and don't demand too much much from the hardware. In my opinion NFS: Underground 2 is still the best arcade style driving game for PC. Expand
  4. Tom
    Sep 17, 2009
    5
    Physics? Car feeling? This game is absolutely horrible in terms of steering, ESPECIALLY when using a wheel. Even with the wheel weight set to maximum you can drive 200km/h you can spin the steering wheel like a Fiat Punto with car park assist or something. Driving in GRID feels more like a boat race to me. The only good thing about this game is the car damage and graphics.
  5. Sep 15, 2010
    5
    Graphics are really nice and so is damage but thats about as good as this game gets. Racing is mediocre. No qualifying so you normally start toward the back. No tuning of any kind. Le Mans races are not even worth compleating if you make just one mistake, because you have no chance of catching up before the chequred flag is waved. Drift races are nigh on impossible on street circuits.Graphics are really nice and so is damage but thats about as good as this game gets. Racing is mediocre. No qualifying so you normally start toward the back. No tuning of any kind. Le Mans races are not even worth compleating if you make just one mistake, because you have no chance of catching up before the chequred flag is waved. Drift races are nigh on impossible on street circuits. AI and handling doesn't even pretend to be realistic, this is an arcade racer through and through, so if you have a steering wheel heres a tip, don't bother getting it out for this game cos its more trouble than its worth, stick with keyboard its far easier. This is not a terrible game so long as you don't expect too much, its more aimed at console gamers where they don't know any better. Expand
  6. SeU
    Apr 10, 2010
    6
    Very fun & good looking game, but it is so arcade. The cars spin out at the slightest provocation for no real reason (just to name one minor issue)... If this game would have been as realistic as it was fun, it would truly have been one of the best racing games of all time.
  7. DynaC.
    Jul 26, 2008
    7
    Lousy Wheel support, and bad menu interface really wore down the enjoyability of this game.
  8. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    Shortly: strange physics, frustrating AI, no possibility of learning a track without having to struggle with opponents. Codemasters have ruined a decent idea - it seems like developers weren't sure what they wanted to make. What we have is a mix of racing sim and arcade, two totally different types of racing games. Racing without any assists ends up with trying to keep the car on theShortly: strange physics, frustrating AI, no possibility of learning a track without having to struggle with opponents. Codemasters have ruined a decent idea - it seems like developers weren't sure what they wanted to make. What we have is a mix of racing sim and arcade, two totally different types of racing games. Racing without any assists ends up with trying to keep the car on the track, enabling them causes weird behaviour of it. It might be enjoyable after some time, but only if you are a very patient person.

    If you want to find a game styled like this, I'd recommend NFS Shift instead of GRID.
    Expand
  9. DanielA.
    Jun 22, 2008
    7
    One thing is for sure, don't play it with a keyboard, the car will go in a unending spin at every key pressed... said that, this game is awesome, graphics are cool and crashes are fantastic. Much better than the latest NFS games out there. Get a gamepad or a steering wheel first.
  10. Aug 27, 2012
    5
    I've been playing racing games for the past 12 years with a keyboard only, I've never used a steering wheel at all. GRID is not hard to drive with a keyboard. GRID's physic and simulation levels are only about 100% higher than the classic game NFS Most Wanted. But not as high as Evolution GT, as Evolution GT is about twice as hard to drive than this game. FlatOut is even harder to driveI've been playing racing games for the past 12 years with a keyboard only, I've never used a steering wheel at all. GRID is not hard to drive with a keyboard. GRID's physic and simulation levels are only about 100% higher than the classic game NFS Most Wanted. But not as high as Evolution GT, as Evolution GT is about twice as hard to drive than this game. FlatOut is even harder to drive than GRID. Difficulty to drive levels: NFS Most Wanted is level 1, GRID is level 2, FlatOut is level 3, Evolution GT is level 4. The down thing is that you may need to pay extra to get the cheat code for NO CAR DAMAGE, that's why some think this game is hard with the car damages ON. Play this game for may be for 5 years untill you can tell where you're on the race track without the mini map in the HUD? The down part is - there is no notros or turbo that allow you 'rocket' your sportcar ahead for a short 3 seconds. Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2011
    7
    Definitely better than SHIFT. Playing it with a xbox 360 gamepad, the steering is smooth but sometimes unresponsive. Too much physical contact during racing. All races feel like demolition car races.
  12. Aug 30, 2012
    5
    Can't save the replays. Crashes soon or later during a race or in the view replay, either poor CPU or PSU, it really pushing the minimum system requirement to the limit! Crashed mostly during view replay. It made most of other racing games look more slower after playing this game. Very easy to win the race by the hardest difficulty (extreme) if spawn in the front, more fun if spawn in theCan't save the replays. Crashes soon or later during a race or in the view replay, either poor CPU or PSU, it really pushing the minimum system requirement to the limit! Crashed mostly during view replay. It made most of other racing games look more slower after playing this game. Very easy to win the race by the hardest difficulty (extreme) if spawn in the front, more fun if spawn in the middle of other race cars. Can't believe so many AI bots spin out of control in the hardest difficulty (they're suppose to be professionals!), it looks like a scene from the old movie Days of Thunders. I wonder what the flashback is, I don't even use that to win the races. The instant replay works, but how to take over the driving when it's on? Only if they can let the player adjust the level of per driving assistance than having them either on or off. 60% arcade ... Expand
  13. May 30, 2012
    7
    A lot of noobs are rating this poorly because they are bad at driving. It is not supposed to be easy to drive at top speeds, racing people at 120 mph. If you think it's supposed to be easy, you're retarded. I do not think this game is too challenging either, it's just right, but no you won't be good the first time you play - if you were, that would mean the game is piss easy. Now, to theA lot of noobs are rating this poorly because they are bad at driving. It is not supposed to be easy to drive at top speeds, racing people at 120 mph. If you think it's supposed to be easy, you're retarded. I do not think this game is too challenging either, it's just right, but no you won't be good the first time you play - if you were, that would mean the game is piss easy. Now, to the actual review. It's a great racing game, much better than the need for speed series and all that boring stuff, the tracks and cars look amazing, there are some interesting ideas, like the sponsors. Unfortunately the game is still a pale shadow of what the original gran turismo's (1/2/3) were, where you could customize your car and buy tons of unique vehicles. The vehicle count in this is very low and you're forced to take a certain vehicle for certain events. I feel the actual racing in this game was nailed perfectly but as many indie games it lacks in content. This game deserves a 7/10, for being one of the few racing games of this generation that I actually admire and is fun to play Expand
  14. Aug 15, 2012
    6
    I used to love playing GRID with my keyboard, the drifting and racing was cool, with plenty of different cars and race types to enjoy. But then I tried it with a gamepad, and racing wheel... I noticed that there's a permanent driving assist that keeps you on the racing line, making it very hard to make mistakes. With a pad or wheel this is frustrating because the road is inconsistent, youI used to love playing GRID with my keyboard, the drifting and racing was cool, with plenty of different cars and race types to enjoy. But then I tried it with a gamepad, and racing wheel... I noticed that there's a permanent driving assist that keeps you on the racing line, making it very hard to make mistakes. With a pad or wheel this is frustrating because the road is inconsistent, you get used to a certain amount of required steering, but as soon as you deviate from the racing line everything changes. It doesn't matter what car or track you're on then, the permanent assists make this as arcade as you can get. Don't mistake this for a simulator, everything about it is fake, even AI crashes are scripted, if you're behind then they slow down, if you're ahead then they speed up. GRID is still some fun, but head to proper simulators if you want a fair challenge. Expand
  15. Dec 2, 2013
    5
    Too easy to win, has done 16 laps with use of keyboard only, not a single flashback used, car damage ON, spawn as the last car in the race 12th car; BMW 320SI in the race, YOKOHAMA, DOCKS ROUTE B2 AND THEY WANT TO CHARGE YOU FOR CHEAT CODES! They can't make those AI cars go any faster, I can't see where they're in the rear mirror! Only the drift racing part in this game using theToo easy to win, has done 16 laps with use of keyboard only, not a single flashback used, car damage ON, spawn as the last car in the race 12th car; BMW 320SI in the race, YOKOHAMA, DOCKS ROUTE B2 AND THEY WANT TO CHARGE YOU FOR CHEAT CODES! They can't make those AI cars go any faster, I can't see where they're in the rear mirror! Only the drift racing part in this game using the keyboard to drive gives it a little more fun! Don't worry, that's why there is a choice of 50 laps and not 60 laps. Expand
  16. AWG
    Aug 13, 2013
    7
    A very good racing game. A little bit difficult at the beginning but never unfair. Awesome graphics. Just a suggestion: play it with a wheel or don't play it.
  17. Jul 15, 2015
    5
    It's Need For Speed without any of the features that Need For Speed has. You get the same cartoonish handling & physics, but none of the excitement of buying a collection of cars and working through a career. It's not a good racing sim, and not a good arcade game. Graphics are fantastic, though.
  18. Oct 23, 2015
    7
    Mucho drifting, mucha tontería... Hay juegos de este estilo mucho más recomendables para hacer lo que se hace en este juego (DIRT 3) Es un poco repetitivo en todos los aspectos..
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Race Driver: GRID is tearing up the tarmac this summer without a challenger in site.
  2. 90
    While the game's focus is clearly on driving, managing sponsors right will double or triple the income of winning an event and is a fun minigame on its own; making lots of money is crucial to entering higher-level, ultra-costly racing series.
  3. Codemasters' racing studio know what they're doing and have again got the key elements right.